USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Youth Prepaid Card

Youth Prepaid Card

Overall rating:
3.931 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(489 reviews) 461
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 489 reviews
5 Stars
312
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
30
1 Star
87
363 out of 48974%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
101 Questions | 154 Answers
Customer reviews for Youth Prepaid Card
Review 1 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Teen Banking Ever

Written on12/12/09
Customer avatar
JavaMom
fromHouston
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My kids have had the prepaid card since middle school and now have graduated to the youth banking program. USAA offers the BEST teen banking program anywhere. My oldest child deposits her paycheck every week using the online deposit feature and when she was in Europe last summer, we could transfer her funds instantly. All my kids have learned how to manage their money and it's much safer than carrying around cash everywhere. We have experienced EXELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE whenever a card has been lost or misplaced.
I recommend this product.
+42points
94of 146voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I can't believe they provide this great service!

Written on12/5/09
Customer avatar
NewMexes
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Wow! Only USAA would provide this free service for our children. The Pre-Paid card has been an excellent way for our kids to manage their money, and we can monitor how they are doing even while off at college. It's convenient- I've added money to their card while they are standing in line at a student bookstore. It keeps them on a budget; they know the next deposit won't be there until X date, and they have to plan. LOVE IT!
I recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

No common sense allowed

Written on7/11/13
Customer avatar
Debra TJ
fromPhoenix, AZ
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have used these cards for years to make funds immediately available for my kids, but USAA has allowed computers to run them instead of giving people the ability to use good judgement. The computer can RANDOMLY place a hold on funds transferred, even when there are more than enough funds available in both USAA and the external bank, and NO ONE at USAA has the ability to override that. So now, the confidence I had that I could always make money available to my kids has been destroyed. I will start using CHASE, where I know the funds will be immediately available and where a human can override a computer's bad decision.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/15/13
We apologize and can certainly see how this can be a frustrating process to go through. Please keep in mind for all future transfers from an external bank they are subject to a hold. We may hold all or part of the funds transfer up to 5 business days. The hold details are provided prior to the completion of the transfer request.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Hold on funds for prepaid-disappointed entirely

Written on1/26/13
Customer avatar
Prepaid disappointme
fromOhi
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Greatly disappointed! Prepaid experience with USAA is leaving a sour taste in my mouth. Checked into the USAA prepaid card for my teen, sounded like a great option. Transferred money from outside account, ordered her card and NOW being told the funds are on hold for numerous days. Money from my account went to USAA several days ago, yet not accessible.
No big deal, right? Thought to asked how often holds would be placed on transfers & have been told it can be every time or just once in a while, no way to tell since it's outside funds that are being placed on her card. Asked about options to avoid funding delays: use a credit card (numerous complaints from others), or open a NEW account with USAA so funds are internal. There was a reason I don't have their banking, but now to "fix" the prepaid holds, just open an account.
Time to close out USAA credit card and leave bank entirely. Think I'll stick with the insurance side and say adios to the banking for good!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator1/30/13
Thank you for your feedback. The USAA Funds Availability policy states that all transfers from an external bank are subject to a hold. We may hold all or part of the funds transfer up to 5 business days to ensure funds are collected officially. We hope you consider opening new accounts with USAA as we would like the opportunity to be your provider of choice. Thank you for your membership.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

COULD be great -- NIX THE TRANSFER MINIMUM PLS!!!

Written on11/7/12
Customer avatar
disappointedmom
fromSan Diego, CA, USA
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I was getting "$4-ed" every week re: my 10 and 8-yo's allowances, and wanted to teach them about current money tools. YAY, USAA prepaid cards!
I went to a USAA fin svcs ctr to be sure there'd be NO MINIMUM TRANSFER. The USAA telerep told me there'd be a $10 min to open, but then I'd be able to transfer whatever below the $1000 limit. She also indicated there was no min balance, so the kids could spend their hard-earned $.
WRONG -- usaa.com allows no transfers less than $10. So USAA helped me teach my kids:
- you can't trust a cust svc rep to know what they are talking about;
- how to be signed up for a product you can't really use;
- they should be ok with waiting 2.5 wks to get paid for their weekly chores
- smart $ products are only for those who earn a prince's wage
I'm able to write a check or make an e-payment of less than $10 anytime-why is transfer to prepaid card different? Notify me when this stip is removed, and I'll pull these back out of the lockbox for my kids to use.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator11/10/12
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the overall situation and we hope we may regain your trust in USAA. This is information that we gather to pass along to our management teams. To add funds to a USAA Prepaid card, it is a minimum of $10 to add funds to the card as you stated in your feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Good Product but "Buyer" Beware

Written on10/17/12
Customer avatar
Soccerdoodman
fromPortland, OR, USA
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I have had one of these cards for my oldest daughter while away at college the last 4 years. Man has it been convenient! It has been so great that I recently got one for my 16 year old to have for emergencies now that she is driving....BEWARE!
In the past, when I funded or added money to my oldest daughter's card I just charged the amount to my USAA Rewards Visa (why not get some rewards right?). I have NEVER had a any finance or interest charges for these transactions...I have the records to prove it.
Now, however, when I got the most recent card for my younger daughter, USAA is calling my transaction a "cash advance" and hitting me with interest on my credit card. Despite paying my balance off every month, this interest seems to roll over monthly and will NEVER end unless to pay your entire credit card bill off the day of the "cash advance" (per their spokesperson).
My advise now is BEWARE and only fund this with your checking account....
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator10/19/12
Thank you for your feedback. Please review the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about our Prepaid cards by searching on the top right side of USAA.com screen. Refer to the question: "How do card managers add money to the card?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

The Prepaid spending card has a catch

Written on10/17/12
Customer avatar
UnhappyMom
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I had a prepaid card for my older son years ago. I would load it with funds from my USAA credit card when needed. I recently opened a prepaid card for my younger son and am being charged interest as a cash advance since I loaded it from my USAA credit card. There was no warning or fine print about the fees. This is a change that was not clear, and makes this product very unattractive to me. When I called about it, after talking to 2 different USAA representatives, neither could explain why the fees and neither one knew how to close down the card so I won't be charged any more fees. I am being charged for having a balance unused on the prepaid card. I am very very disappointed in USAA. This is not the service I expect from them.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator10/19/12
Thank you for your feedback. Please review the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about our Prepaid cards by searching on the top right side of USAA.com screen. Refer to the question: "How do card managers add money to the card?" We hope this helps. Thank you for your membership.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

USAA allows this PrePaid Card to go in a Deficit

Written on5/3/12
Customer avatar
Prepaid Card
fromFlorida, USA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Got an email from USAA that my sons prepaid card was $1.38 in a deficit becuase of charges over the limit??? I got him this prepaid card so this would not happen!!! This is not a true prepaid card and you will be paying what your kids overspend!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

they show the merchant name

Written on4/13/12
Customer avatar
jean20
fromnew york
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
my usaa debit card always show they mechant name and the address maybe u proly talk about back then 1970s lol usaa debit card always show the merchant name ok thats a response foe a cooment thats make
I recommend this product.
-16points
0of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Convenient for parents and smart for kids

Written on3/1/12
Customer avatar
cimba33
fromLumber Bridge, NC
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This has been a great way for our kids to manage spending. Their allowence is auto deposited from our checking account so they know when "pay day" is. They are able to see where they spend their money and they tend not to spend a couple of dollars here or there as this method of payment makes the think about their purchases.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Student Prepaid Card

Written on1/20/12
Customer avatar
JoCo Bulldogs
fromOverland Park, KS
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My teenager uses the student debit card all the time. It's a nice way to track his spending while giving him freedom. We would love to switch our checking over to USAA but I cannot because of the way they list their transactions as addresses on his details page. It would be a record keeping nightmare. My sister has USAA checking and she confirms that it IS this way for debit card purchases as well. When you use your card the purchase shows up as an address--not the merchant name. I called USAA to report the issue and they said it's how the merchant reports the info to them. Well, none of my other cards have this issue and I use them at the same merchants. Hope they fix it someday so we can move our accounts.
I recommend this product.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great product from USAA

Written on1/7/12
Customer avatar
Ccarrie31
fromIndiana
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I got this card for my teenage son. It has came in handy many times when he was away from home and needed cash right away.
I am working right now on opening cards for my two younger kids to put their allowance on. I think this will help them see where they spend their money and hopefully make them save for future purchases.
THANKS USAA for such a great product!
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great money manager

Written on1/6/12
Customer avatar
Shellyca1969
fromSacramento CA
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My kids & I love this card. I live in a metropolitan area, so it gives me peace of mind that my kids are not carrying cash around (which can get lost or stolen & not replaced). If they lose the card, or it gets stolen I can replace it. I can transfer funds via computer or the USAA app on my phone. I can get alerts if my kids go anywhere innappropriate. My kids can buy stuff online without asking me to use my card. I have their allowance on an automatic schedule, so I never have to fuss.
My only con is that it's hard for them to just call and check their balance. There needs to be a dedicated number where they just enter the card number & get the balance. Right now they have to try and remember the policy number.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

A Must-Have for Parents of Teens

Written on1/6/12
Customer avatar
snkywfe
fromAtlanta
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
We've only been USAA members for a short time, but we couldn't live without the teen prepaid card. My sons can text me, tell me they need cash and I can transfer the money from my phone within minutes. It is one of the best uses of technology by any bank, store, etc. and I try to do most things online, so I know a good service. Thanks so much!!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great for teens and kids at college

Written on12/29/11
Customer avatar
MNproud
fromMN
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We use this prepaid card for our kids. I keep a balance on the card and they know they have it for an emergency. It gives me great peace of mind to know they have this available and that I can add money to it instantly and via computer. I can also monitor how they are using it. No product compares.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Good idea but...

Written on10/21/11
Customer avatar
USMCFamily03
fromIowa
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Marine Corps
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
While I whole heartedly agree that this is a great tool for parents and teens it would be even better if they allowed the USAA member to open up a pre-paid card for themselves.
For budgeting reasons I wanted to open a pre-paid card for my own use under my own name. The representative who I spoke to advised me that the cards are not available to anyone over 21. The rep agreed with me that they needed to be opened to the public but that upper management continued to deny it even at the encouragement of phone staff.
This disappoints me. I really wish USAA would change the policy. It would make USAA absolutely perfect for us.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Insufficient to meet my needs

Written on10/8/11
Customer avatar
StevenGroves
fromColorado
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Wanted to be able to provide my significant other or elderly parent with an pre-paid card and this apparently is not the device to do so nor have I found ANY way to get them one. This take the ability to immediately support people important to me in my life with just-in-time funds (which I love being able to do for my children).
I sat on the phone for at least 1/2 hour, talked to 3 people, 2 of which thought, like I did, that I should be able to do so. The last person said that if they were over 21, the pre-paid card could not be issued. I asked what will happen when my son turns 21? They did not know but were certain I could not issue one to my significant other or parent.
Am not sure what's creating the issue - US Govt / banking regs or USAA policy but ti sounded like USA policy.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not intuitive

Written on10/3/11
Customer avatar
Lazy Banker
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Normally I adore anything USAA does. Usually everything USAA does is user friendly, intuitive and requires no thought which is exactly why we all love USAA. We think too much the rest of the time to have to worry about HOW to bank. We should be worried about WHAT we are doing with our money instead.
That being said, the prepaid card is neither intuitive nor easy to use. The directions for activating the card do not work. The phone number posted for activating the card is not another phone line. It dumps you into the main USAA line which requires you to activate your card before you can use it, which you cannot do from the main phone line. There is no activation online either.
Second, adding money is not intuitive. It should be easy. I should not be frustrated when I am on the USAA site. Frustration is for other places.
USAA, you are great. But please, please, please fix this prepaid card thing and make it as wonderful as all of your other services. Thank you.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

AGE RESTRICTION

Written on7/6/11
Customer avatar
RUDDWEISER
fromFROZEN TUNDRA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I CAN GET THIS FOR MY CHILD. BUT, CAN'T HAVE ONE FOR MYSELF? I KNOW USAA HAS DEEP MILITARY ROOTS. HOWEVER, USAA DOES NOT HAVE TO DELIBERATELY AVOID MAKING SENSE.
MANY INDIVIDUALS HAVE PARTNERS THAT ARE FINANCIALLY UNRELIABLE. THIS COULD BENEFIT THEM. MANY PEOPLE HAVE COMPULSIONS THEY CANT CONTROL. HAVING A PREPAID CARD KEEPS CERTAIN SAFEGARDS IN PLACE.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great for Allowance and life lessons

Written on7/1/11
Customer avatar
R Hurst
fromWest Warwick, RI
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Only once did the child make a mistake with an overcharge (no charge to me). We had a nice chat and the threat of losing the coveted card was enough. She has learned the importance of money, money management, and now prudent spending. Weekly transfers of her allowance are easy - and easy to suspend, if needed. She loves it and I love the growth I have witnessed. We need this for grandchildren, too!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.