USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Youth Prepaid Card

Youth Prepaid Card

Overall rating:
3.931 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(489 reviews) 461
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 489 reviews
5 Stars
312
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
30
1 Star
87
363 out of 48974%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
101 Questions | 154 Answers
Customer reviews for Youth Prepaid Card
Review 1 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Teen Banking Ever

Written on12/12/09
Customer avatar
fromHouston
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My kids have had the prepaid card since middle school and now have graduated to the youth banking program. USAA offers the BEST teen banking program anywhere. My oldest child deposits her paycheck every week using the online deposit feature and when she was in Europe last summer, we could transfer her funds instantly. All my kids have learned how to manage their money and it's much safer than carrying around cash everywhere. We have experienced EXELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE whenever a card has been lost or misplaced.
I recommend this product.
+42points
94of 146voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I can't believe they provide this great service!

Written on12/5/09
Customer avatar
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Wow! Only USAA would provide this free service for our children. The Pre-Paid card has been an excellent way for our kids to manage their money, and we can monitor how they are doing even while off at college. It's convenient- I've added money to their card while they are standing in line at a student bookstore. It keeps them on a budget; they know the next deposit won't be there until X date, and they have to plan. LOVE IT!
I recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

they show the merchant name

Written on4/13/12
Customer avatar
fromnew york
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
my usaa debit card always show they mechant name and the address maybe u proly talk about back then 1970s lol usaa debit card always show the merchant name ok thats a response foe a cooment thats make
I recommend this product.
-16points
0of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Convenient for parents and smart for kids

Written on3/1/12
Customer avatar
fromLumber Bridge, NC
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This has been a great way for our kids to manage spending. Their allowence is auto deposited from our checking account so they know when "pay day" is. They are able to see where they spend their money and they tend not to spend a couple of dollars here or there as this method of payment makes the think about their purchases.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Student Prepaid Card

Written on1/20/12
Customer avatar
fromOverland Park, KS
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My teenager uses the student debit card all the time. It's a nice way to track his spending while giving him freedom. We would love to switch our checking over to USAA but I cannot because of the way they list their transactions as addresses on his details page. It would be a record keeping nightmare. My sister has USAA checking and she confirms that it IS this way for debit card purchases as well. When you use your card the purchase shows up as an address--not the merchant name. I called USAA to report the issue and they said it's how the merchant reports the info to them. Well, none of my other cards have this issue and I use them at the same merchants. Hope they fix it someday so we can move our accounts.
I recommend this product.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great product from USAA

Written on1/7/12
Customer avatar
fromIndiana
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I got this card for my teenage son. It has came in handy many times when he was away from home and needed cash right away.
I am working right now on opening cards for my two younger kids to put their allowance on. I think this will help them see where they spend their money and hopefully make them save for future purchases.
THANKS USAA for such a great product!
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great money manager

Written on1/6/12
Customer avatar
fromSacramento CA
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My kids & I love this card. I live in a metropolitan area, so it gives me peace of mind that my kids are not carrying cash around (which can get lost or stolen & not replaced). If they lose the card, or it gets stolen I can replace it. I can transfer funds via computer or the USAA app on my phone. I can get alerts if my kids go anywhere innappropriate. My kids can buy stuff online without asking me to use my card. I have their allowance on an automatic schedule, so I never have to fuss.
My only con is that it's hard for them to just call and check their balance. There needs to be a dedicated number where they just enter the card number & get the balance. Right now they have to try and remember the policy number.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

A Must-Have for Parents of Teens

Written on1/6/12
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
We've only been USAA members for a short time, but we couldn't live without the teen prepaid card. My sons can text me, tell me they need cash and I can transfer the money from my phone within minutes. It is one of the best uses of technology by any bank, store, etc. and I try to do most things online, so I know a good service. Thanks so much!!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great for teens and kids at college

Written on12/29/11
Customer avatar
fromMN
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We use this prepaid card for our kids. I keep a balance on the card and they know they have it for an emergency. It gives me great peace of mind to know they have this available and that I can add money to it instantly and via computer. I can also monitor how they are using it. No product compares.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great for Allowance and life lessons

Written on7/1/11
Customer avatar
fromWest Warwick, RI
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Only once did the child make a mistake with an overcharge (no charge to me). We had a nice chat and the threat of losing the coveted card was enough. She has learned the importance of money, money management, and now prudent spending. Weekly transfers of her allowance are easy - and easy to suspend, if needed. She loves it and I love the growth I have witnessed. We need this for grandchildren, too!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Life Saver

Written on6/28/11
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I ordered these cards for my kids when I went on an unaccompanied tour. Best decision ever. It helped me stay connected and reward them without a third party instantly. There is no wait time for money availability and the kids learn how to manage their finance. I was able to help provide a surprise birthday party for my husband with the use of my tween daughter's prepaid card while deployed. She was able to shop and enjoy the thrill of being responsible for putting together a party for her dad with the help of a neighbor. He did not see it coming.
I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Youth Prepaid Card = Great Idea

Written on6/17/11
Customer avatar
fromBroken Arrow, OK
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The Youth Prepaid Card is a great idea to teach kids how to use the card and stay within the budgeted amount. I like the fact that is is free to use, free to load, and the parents can monitor and add funds as needed. Who would have thought that one day kids' allowances would go electronic. Thank you usaa.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very Good Card for Parents and Teens

Written on4/16/11
Customer avatar
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This prepaid card is a great start for teens. It show them how to use a debit card and the parents are in control of the card. The card used to have a feature where anyone could add money to the card even if they weren't a USAA member which was great. My cousin used to add money to my son's card all the time. That feature is no longer available and is missed greatly. It was a great assest to the card. Other than that, the card is great. I can control my son's spending while teaching him how to save money and keep up with his balances. He also has a youth savings account. I would definitely recommend a parent to get this for their teen or pre-teen. If your child happens to lose their card you can immediately put a hold on the funds and get a replacement quickly.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

A Great Tool for Helping Children

Written on4/11/11
Customer avatar
fromColorado Springs, CO
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This is a great tool for sending money to and teaching distant children how to manage finances.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Grand idea

Written on3/21/11
Customer avatar
fromPhoenix, AZ
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I opened this card for my child when she turned 14 she is now 18. deposited allowance, extra funds, school clothes money, etc. this account has taught my girl to budget her money and has made those nickle and dime purchases a thing of the past. I believe that it is a awsome teaching tool for those teenagers. It is great that the funds hit the account right then as she has been caught a few times needing a little extra funds.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great for training

Written on3/7/11
Customer avatar
fromCharlotte, NC
Military Affiliation:Reserves
Military Branch:Army
Teaching kids financial responsibility can start with this card. It is a must for those who care about their kids financial future.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Debit Card is the best

Written on3/3/11
Customer avatar
fromPrior Lake, MN
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We got the USAA debit card for our teenage daughter a few years ago. It is the best! She is learning to use it wisely. I highly recommend the USAA debit card!!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Pre-Paid Card Great for my teen

Written on2/10/11
Customer avatar
fromSanford, NC
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Military Branch:Army
My teenage son does not live with us so having the prepaid card is perfect for him. We have him the card and have an allowance automatically transferred each week. On the weeks we are unable to get out to see him, he doesn't have to wait for his allowance.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Pre Paid Card

Written on2/1/11
Customer avatar
fromMcChord AFB, WA
Military Affiliation:Reserves
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We love this prepaid card for our 11 year old son. He likes to check his balance online and it makes him feel like he has adult responsibility when using his card at the store. He really enjoys when mom and dad load his card for his allowance and he has more money to spend. Our son would prefer his money on this card rather than carrying cash. We think it's perfect for him at this young age and can hardly wait to get our daughter one when she gets older.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Youth Prepaid Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Grandparents

Written on12/28/10
Customer avatar
fromLITH ILL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Seems that the grandparents (and others) have had their ability to fund teen cards recinded.
This was a great service. How about bringing it back?
I recommend this product.
+9points
17of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 Next Page>>