USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_no_fee_checking_main Free Checking Accounts

brand_no_fee_checking_main Free Checking Accounts

Overall rating:
4.536 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(14165 reviews) 11919
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14165 reviews
5 Stars
11,554
4 Stars
834
3 Stars
484
2 Stars
405
1 Star
888
12572 out of 1416589%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
310 Questions | 1528 Answers
Customer reviews for Free Checking Accounts
Review 1 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Outstanding Service

Written on12/11/09
Customer avatar
Rutin
fromKissimmee, FL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Excellent customer care service. Top of the line, in my 35 years as a client, consumer and as a customer in this market economy, USAA representatives are the most corteous, humble/soft tone, tactful, perceptive, diligent, and knowledgeable people on the planet. I wish I could just invite you all home for a Christmas dinner give thanks to the Lord. GREAT JOB!!
Happy Holidays to the USAA Family
A Customer since 2007
I recommend this product.
+288points
637of 986voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I was wasting money

Written on11/19/09
Customer avatar
Earlene Yount
fromFayetteville, NC
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I became a member of USAA three years ago after a friend showed me how much money I was wasting in stamps, ATM fees and in time writing checks to pay monthly bills. I have a roll of stamps collecting dust thanks to the online bill pay. I have no regrets becoming a member of USAA.
I recommend this product.
+78points
182of 286voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Umbrella

Written on11/19/09
Customer avatar
njgej6649
fromNeptune, NJ
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've a member for about 10yrs. & the service to me has been excellent. I've brought all my care under the USAA umbrella ie: Funds, Insurance (Car & Home) & Banking
I recommend this product.
-25points
60of 145voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Services

Written on9/11/09
Customer avatar
HKS1
fromAtlanta, GA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I must say I used other banking services for 15 years before marrying into the military and using USAA for my Checking needs. Their service, partnerships and programs are really leading the industry. My ability to scan and electronically deposit checks is a life-saver for time - instant deposit credit rather than mailing in the check and waiting for it to be processed. The cash back option on the Debit card and interest deferrment on the Credit Card during deployments have all been incredible. Thank you USAA.
I recommend this product.
+299points
369of 439voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great Bank...very friendly.

Written on4/23/14
Customer avatar
Babis
fromCincinnati, OH
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I joined USAA after enlisting into the Army. So far they have really been good, granted me a credit card with really low credit and the deposit@home feature has been a life saver. I would recommend USAA to any service member.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

BEST CREDIT UNION EVER

Written on4/23/14
Customer avatar
CassYett
fromSaratoga, NY
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I LOVE USAA. I have nothing bad to say about the company. They care about their members and it shows. I will never use another bank or credit union again.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I love USAA!!!

Written on4/23/14
Customer avatar
TonyGjr
fromKihei, HI
Military Affiliation:Reserves
Military Branch:Army
This has be one the best decision I ever made; getting a USAA checking account that is. It has allowed me to move money around with the sort of ease I haven't experienced before. I doubt I'll ever switch away from USAA if the service remains the same. Every other bank I've dealt with pales in comparison.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Exceptional Customer Service

Written on4/22/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I had a complicated problem involving 3 separate USAA accounts. Vickie patiently listened to my issue, making sure she understood the details, and then talked to service reps in other departments.
She successfully explained the issue to the other departments so I did not have get bounced around in call transfers and re-explain my situation each time.
Vickie came back to me with action steps and made sure the other reps 'played fair' by making sure they did not charge me additional fees.
I hope to receive her as a rep when I have to call USAA again. Thank you Vickie!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Convenient with Full Service Features

Written on4/22/14
Customer avatar
PattiMad
fromAlabama
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a customer for over 10 years and there is nothing I can't do online or on my cell phone. I haven't been to a bank for years!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Just a great company...

Written on4/22/14
Customer avatar
k3lz09
fromDublin, GA
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Usaa is prompt at taking money out, not difficult to contact and very reliable
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Thanks Guys.

Written on4/20/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I was about to open another account. I don't have a problem with my present bank, other than it's a bit of a drive, and no problem with USAA. After reading your feedback I realized, leave it a ; "if ya ain't broke, don't fix it".
Good job.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Customer Service 2d to NONE!!!

Written on4/19/14
Customer avatar
Your Ford Man
fromJacksonville, NC
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have always received the best customer service and assistance by any organization I have come across in my young 50 plus years of being on this planet! Keep up the fantastic work and ethics that YOU ALL have USAA workers!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Layout of the web pages

Written on4/19/14
Customer avatar
Steve165
fromGeorgia
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Good site but needs to be updated. Time consuming to find items on a page. There is a lot of wasted space (white space) on each line - that is left and right - this could be improved by widening the page vs going down the page.
Also links are difficult to click on because the link is tied to a specific word or phrase vs an icon & phrase. Example is Pay bills & other links on right side of banking page "I Want To".
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Customer Service!

Written on4/17/14
Customer avatar
MadMMat
fromEvans Ga
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been with USAA forever and their customer service is beyond reproch!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Area for review

Written on4/17/14
Customer avatar
elpotter
fromTennessee
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The one frustrating thing about the site for me is the lack of, in most instances, the name of the vendor or firm for which a debit charge has been made. E.g. there is a general category selection, but usually the only identifying item from the accounts, checking, description area is a non identifying name. In many cases you have no idea where the debit was made. You have run through the various debit cardholders in the "family" to determine if they made a purchase and where. A description such as "Store 59" does not determine where the purchase was made. So, you don't know if it is your purchase or not.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The people at USAA are my heroes.

Written on4/16/14
Customer avatar
BYUguy
fromUtah
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
They were able to completely stop one of my transactions that I made by mistake that was being routed to another bank and place it where it needed to go, saved me at least a week of sleepless nights (well, more sleepless because of finals). Thanks USAA!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Checking Account

Written on4/15/14
Customer avatar
Lou V
fromNew Joyzee
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Excessive Fees for a member-owned institution.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Banking Holds

Written on4/15/14
Customer avatar
cruzan1
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Be aware that this bank has started putting random holds on deposits for up to 10 business days. This is really creating havoc in a lot of lives. Do not deposit a check if you need access to the money within a two week period (90% of the population).
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Banking

Written on4/15/14
Customer avatar
Mike N.
fromSpringfield
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've had other bank accounts and always seemed to be in the red only twice was my fault. But when I went to Usaa my account has been in the black.No hidden fees and no keep the change that always confused me.They are great. And when needing help from them the costumer service always tries to be polite.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA is still military

Written on4/15/14
Customer avatar
Witchman
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA strives to have the same level of excellence as the armed forces. Im fact I worked for awhile with a company that handled USAA's mortgage business and USAA was the most demanding of all our partners. As for rates and such, let me just say during the telemarketing of the 90s, when insurance companies called me, all I had to say was I have USAA and they would hang up.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.