USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_no_fee_checking_main Free Checking Accounts

brand_no_fee_checking_main Free Checking Accounts

Overall rating:
4.536 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(14157 reviews) 11913
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14157 reviews
5 Stars
11,548
4 Stars
833
3 Stars
484
2 Stars
405
1 Star
887
12565 out of 1415789%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
310 Questions | 1528 Answers
Customer reviews for Free Checking Accounts
Review 1 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Outstanding Service

Written on12/11/09
Customer avatar
Rutin
fromKissimmee, FL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Excellent customer care service. Top of the line, in my 35 years as a client, consumer and as a customer in this market economy, USAA representatives are the most corteous, humble/soft tone, tactful, perceptive, diligent, and knowledgeable people on the planet. I wish I could just invite you all home for a Christmas dinner give thanks to the Lord. GREAT JOB!!
Happy Holidays to the USAA Family
A Customer since 2007
I recommend this product.
+288points
637of 986voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I was wasting money

Written on11/19/09
Customer avatar
Earlene Yount
fromFayetteville, NC
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I became a member of USAA three years ago after a friend showed me how much money I was wasting in stamps, ATM fees and in time writing checks to pay monthly bills. I have a roll of stamps collecting dust thanks to the online bill pay. I have no regrets becoming a member of USAA.
I recommend this product.
+78points
182of 286voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Umbrella

Written on11/19/09
Customer avatar
njgej6649
fromNeptune, NJ
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've a member for about 10yrs. & the service to me has been excellent. I've brought all my care under the USAA umbrella ie: Funds, Insurance (Car & Home) & Banking
I recommend this product.
-25points
60of 145voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Services

Written on9/11/09
Customer avatar
HKS1
fromAtlanta, GA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I must say I used other banking services for 15 years before marrying into the military and using USAA for my Checking needs. Their service, partnerships and programs are really leading the industry. My ability to scan and electronically deposit checks is a life-saver for time - instant deposit credit rather than mailing in the check and waiting for it to be processed. The cash back option on the Debit card and interest deferrment on the Credit Card during deployments have all been incredible. Thank you USAA.
I recommend this product.
+299points
369of 439voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Thanks Guys.

Written on4/20/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I was about to open another account. I don't have a problem with my present bank, other than it's a bit of a drive, and no problem with USAA. After reading your feedback I realized, leave it a ; "if ya ain't broke, don't fix it".
Good job.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Customer Service 2d to NONE!!!

Written on4/19/14
Customer avatar
Your Ford Man
fromJacksonville, NC
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have always received the best customer service and assistance by any organization I have come across in my young 50 plus years of being on this planet! Keep up the fantastic work and ethics that YOU ALL have USAA workers!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Layout of the web pages

Written on4/19/14
Customer avatar
Steve165
fromGeorgia
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Good site but needs to be updated. Time consuming to find items on a page. There is a lot of wasted space (white space) on each line - that is left and right - this could be improved by widening the page vs going down the page.
Also links are difficult to click on because the link is tied to a specific word or phrase vs an icon & phrase. Example is Pay bills & other links on right side of banking page "I Want To".
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Customer Service!

Written on4/17/14
Customer avatar
MadMMat
fromEvans Ga
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been with USAA forever and their customer service is beyond reproch!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Area for review

Written on4/17/14
Customer avatar
elpotter
fromTennessee
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The one frustrating thing about the site for me is the lack of, in most instances, the name of the vendor or firm for which a debit charge has been made. E.g. there is a general category selection, but usually the only identifying item from the accounts, checking, description area is a non identifying name. In many cases you have no idea where the debit was made. You have run through the various debit cardholders in the "family" to determine if they made a purchase and where. A description such as "Store 59" does not determine where the purchase was made. So, you don't know if it is your purchase or not.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The people at USAA are my heroes.

Written on4/16/14
Customer avatar
BYUguy
fromUtah
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
They were able to completely stop one of my transactions that I made by mistake that was being routed to another bank and place it where it needed to go, saved me at least a week of sleepless nights (well, more sleepless because of finals). Thanks USAA!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Checking Account

Written on4/15/14
Customer avatar
Lou V
fromNew Joyzee
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Excessive Fees for a member-owned institution.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Banking Holds

Written on4/15/14
Customer avatar
cruzan1
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Be aware that this bank has started putting random holds on deposits for up to 10 business days. This is really creating havoc in a lot of lives. Do not deposit a check if you need access to the money within a two week period (90% of the population).
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Banking

Written on4/15/14
Customer avatar
Mike N.
fromSpringfield
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've had other bank accounts and always seemed to be in the red only twice was my fault. But when I went to Usaa my account has been in the black.No hidden fees and no keep the change that always confused me.They are great. And when needing help from them the costumer service always tries to be polite.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA is still military

Written on4/15/14
Customer avatar
Witchman
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA strives to have the same level of excellence as the armed forces. Im fact I worked for awhile with a company that handled USAA's mortgage business and USAA was the most demanding of all our partners. As for rates and such, let me just say during the telemarketing of the 90s, when insurance companies called me, all I had to say was I have USAA and they would hang up.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

interest

Written on4/14/14
Customer avatar
pauloy
fromPlymouth, IN
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
You pay a very small amount of interest on almost $ 3o,ooo.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Yes, yes & yes!.

Written on4/14/14
Customer avatar
ncameron
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been with this company since I was a sophomore in high school. The customer service is great, and I never have had a bad experience when talking to them. I would say their customer service is probably the best I've experienced with any company!. The online system works great, is easy to navigate and to understand as well.
Thank you
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Sound Financial Support

Written on4/14/14
Customer avatar
BestLife14
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've been affiliated with USAA since 2010 and I have nothing but positive things to say about the company. The insurance products are fantastic (auto and home) and definitely lower in costs than any competitor - especially in my residential state where insurance rates are some of the highest in the country.
I have contacted the financial planning division on several occasions and EVERY analyst I've spoken with has been professional and extremely helpful. I've encountered some major life changes which have affected my finances and ability to provide for my family, however, USAA continues to work with me and show me how my future goals are still attainable.
It is certainly the best financial institution I've involved myself with. Thank you for your support of ALL military members.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Why go anywhere else?

Written on4/14/14
Customer avatar
lust4life
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This checking account is far superior to any I've had previously. It took some time to switch over all my bills, etc to a new account but it was well worth it. USAA is so much better than those fee hungry banks that rob you at every opportunity! USAA even returns ATM charges that these other banks charge. I like the at home deposits that go into your account immediately. I love this bank!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome Financial Institution!

Written on4/12/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPortland, OR
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I love USAA for being so confident and for thier wonderful customer service! I am so happy that we switched over from a Mega Bank to USAA!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Free Checking Accounts
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Terrible Website Ruins Otherwise Great Product

Written on4/12/14
Customer avatar
Mike 77
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The overall product is excellent, including customer service, ATM rebates, etc. But these days, you interact so much with the banking website that it needs to be top notch. And USAA's banking website is absolutely awful.
About a year ago, they launched a new site (that ruined a perfectly acceptable website). I've waited awhile to complain because I wanted to give it time to get used to, but the new layout is absolutely awful. Why? 1) WAY TOO MANY OFFERS (I counted 7 scattered throughout the last time I logged in), 2) too hard to navigate to basic things like altering a bill pay, 3) too much junk cluttering things up (that typically doesn't even relate to me).
I use the website for checking balances / transactions and paying bills. Give me a website that meets these basic needs without confusing the heck out of me please. (A good place to start would be to limit the offers to one per page -- look, I know you offer car and home insurance but you don't need to tell me every day.)
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.