USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_no_fee_checking_main Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA

brand_no_fee_checking_main Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA

Overall rating:
4.531 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(14891 reviews) 12514
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14891 reviews
5 Stars
12,124
4 Stars
876
3 Stars
514
2 Stars
425
1 Star
952
13198 out of 1489189%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
311 Questions | 1528 Answers
Customer reviews for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Review 1 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Outstanding Service

Written on12/11/09
Customer avatar
Rutin
fromKissimmee, FL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Excellent customer care service. Top of the line, in my 35 years as a client, consumer and as a customer in this market economy, USAA representatives are the most corteous, humble/soft tone, tactful, perceptive, diligent, and knowledgeable people on the planet. I wish I could just invite you all home for a Christmas dinner give thanks to the Lord. GREAT JOB!!
Happy Holidays to the USAA Family
A Customer since 2007
I recommend this product.
+293points
647of 1001voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I was wasting money

Written on11/19/09
Customer avatar
Earlene Yount
fromFayetteville, NC
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I became a member of USAA three years ago after a friend showed me how much money I was wasting in stamps, ATM fees and in time writing checks to pay monthly bills. I have a roll of stamps collecting dust thanks to the online bill pay. I have no regrets becoming a member of USAA.
I recommend this product.
+76points
184of 292voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Umbrella

Written on11/19/09
Customer avatar
njgej6649
fromNeptune, NJ
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've a member for about 10yrs. & the service to me has been excellent. I've brought all my care under the USAA umbrella ie: Funds, Insurance (Car & Home) & Banking
I recommend this product.
-28points
60of 148voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Services

Written on9/11/09
Customer avatar
HKS1
fromAtlanta, GA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I must say I used other banking services for 15 years before marrying into the military and using USAA for my Checking needs. Their service, partnerships and programs are really leading the industry. My ability to scan and electronically deposit checks is a life-saver for time - instant deposit credit rather than mailing in the check and waiting for it to be processed. The cash back option on the Debit card and interest deferrment on the Credit Card during deployments have all been incredible. Thank you USAA.
I recommend this product.
+298points
370of 442voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Financial direction

Written on3/2/15
Customer avatar
Freddy31
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I will never boast of being a good money manager. For shell shocked vets like me,
a willing, courteous, amiable, interested human being makes a big difference. That is the type of persons I have dealt with since day one.
USAA will have my business until the end.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

excellant all around service

Written on3/2/15
Customer avatar
frosting
fromMelbourne,Fl
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I love the easy deposit at ups,then bill pay it has taken almost of my budget stress away.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Insurance Claims

Written on3/2/15
Customer avatar
N Harriott
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The Auto insurance claims department in Tampa, Florida are exceptional people. Customer service treated me like I was their only customer.
Thank you!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Superb Customer Service

Written on3/1/15
Customer avatar
L Arnold
fromShreveport, LA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA has Superb Customer Service. We have been with USAA for over 14 years, and we are pleased with the Auto Insurance, Retirement Services, and Banking.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA, a long time friend

Written on2/28/15
Customer avatar
bigjoe
fromSavannah, GA
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've had USAA auto insurance for over 30 years, it is top of the line as far as customer service and rates are concerned. I now bank with USAA and find that for my purposes, nothing beats USAA. Thank you.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Embrace pet insurance.

Written on2/28/15
Customer avatar
lonewolf2629
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA is a veterans best friend, thank you USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Excellent, Love USAA But..

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
Leela
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Look, I do business with USAA because they always had my back. I love USAA because they have excellent products and services for the military community. However, I only have one issue with them. I got blindsided by USAA today. They told me I had fees from 2010 that I never knew about and deducted over 150.00 dollars from my checking account sending my account into the negative! Mind you I was NEVER contact about this fee from 2010! I Imagine my shock and surprise. USAA could have told me about this BEFORE I opened an account with them so I could investigate the verity of this. Still love them but dang I think I need to do a hurt feelings report, LOL
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great packagge

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
Jeep
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I love the package of services availably to me. I've always had great customer service and overall experiences.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Best

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
Em123456
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I believe this statement pretty much sums up my experience with USAA: USAA is the best.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I love you

Written on2/26/15
Customer avatar
TamiB
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
No other way to put it. I love you. I never thought banking could be so easy. You have sooooooooo many incentives and options that it amazes me. No fees, no fees, no fees - yeah that's awesome - but above and beyond is the reimbursement of atm fees. Mobile Check deposits!! Early Government paycheck direct deposits - Who does that??? USAA!!!!!!!!! Thank you for serving those who have served - ABOVE AND BEYOND the call.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Fantastic Customer Service

Written on2/26/15
Customer avatar
Nova321
fromMelbourne Florida
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I had the fortunate opportunity to speak with Rick today.
He solved my checking issues very quickly and to my complete satisfaction. Thank you!!
A.N.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Tax Reports

Written on2/25/15
Customer avatar
knewheart
fromSevern, Maryland
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
USAA disappoints with their decision to cease providing investors with Schedule D. Tax forms provided in My Documents, while they may contain the information needed to prepare Schedule D, they are lengthy (0ver 20 pages long). Schedule D was routinely provided, free, in prior years. Surely USAA can renew/update the software that they used to perform this service to their investors. Deeply disappointed with this decision. Surely the commission they collect for each trade is worth providing this service. Time to reconsider my brokerage account.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Long Deposit Waits

Written on2/25/15
Customer avatar
unsatisfied1111
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Website quotes 3 business days on holds but takes 7-10 business days to clear funds. Account now holds every transfer/easy pay deposit I do 100%. All others features on account are great.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Very Slow

Written on2/25/15
Customer avatar
crazflyfisher
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
It takes an unbelievably long time for transactions to clear, also when you contact customer service they have no idea how to help you, one of the people I talk to told me that they didn't bank with USAA so they didn't know what the process was and they were unable to help me. I think I am going back to my old bank.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA has it all!

Written on2/24/15
Customer avatar
T Red Dawg
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I recently opened a USAA account at the recommendation of a good friend. Needless to say, I was pleasantly surprised at all the features and benefits USAA offers. Quite frankly, I was blown away! I have FINALLY found a bank who's got it all! Everything from an outstanding mobile app, to a superb online banking experience, to exceptional customer service even at 9:30 at night! I am USAA's newest #1 fan!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best banking app EVER!!

Written on2/24/15
Customer avatar
Chellie484
fromSatellite Beach, FL
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have several bank accounts due to owning a business, being retired and having personal and joint accounts with my spouse. The USAA app is by far the best of the 3 different banking apps I use!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.