USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_no_fee_checking_main Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA

brand_no_fee_checking_main Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA

Overall rating:
4.527 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(15225 reviews) 12783
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15225 reviews
5 Stars
12,385
4 Stars
887
3 Stars
526
2 Stars
443
1 Star
984
13480 out of 1522589%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
311 Questions | 1532 Answers
Customer reviews for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Review 1 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Outstanding Service

Written on12/11/09
Customer avatar
Rutin
fromKissimmee, FL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Excellent customer care service. Top of the line, in my 35 years as a client, consumer and as a customer in this market economy, USAA representatives are the most corteous, humble/soft tone, tactful, perceptive, diligent, and knowledgeable people on the planet. I wish I could just invite you all home for a Christmas dinner give thanks to the Lord. GREAT JOB!!
Happy Holidays to the USAA Family
A Customer since 2007
I recommend this product.
+294points
650of 1006voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I was wasting money

Written on11/19/09
Customer avatar
Earlene Yount
fromFayetteville, NC
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I became a member of USAA three years ago after a friend showed me how much money I was wasting in stamps, ATM fees and in time writing checks to pay monthly bills. I have a roll of stamps collecting dust thanks to the online bill pay. I have no regrets becoming a member of USAA.
I recommend this product.
+76points
184of 292voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Umbrella

Written on11/19/09
Customer avatar
njgej6649
fromNeptune, NJ
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've a member for about 10yrs. & the service to me has been excellent. I've brought all my care under the USAA umbrella ie: Funds, Insurance (Car & Home) & Banking
I recommend this product.
-27points
61of 149voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Services

Written on9/11/09
Customer avatar
HKS1
fromAtlanta, GA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I must say I used other banking services for 15 years before marrying into the military and using USAA for my Checking needs. Their service, partnerships and programs are really leading the industry. My ability to scan and electronically deposit checks is a life-saver for time - instant deposit credit rather than mailing in the check and waiting for it to be processed. The cash back option on the Debit card and interest deferrment on the Credit Card during deployments have all been incredible. Thank you USAA.
I recommend this product.
+298points
370of 442voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Absolutely The Best

Written on7/4/15
Customer avatar
JESTER9632
fromST. PETE, FLORIDA
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Best Insurance Rates, and Great Bank. No one else comes close!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing Bank

Written on7/3/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have never had an issue with USAA in the entirety of my business with them. They are an amazing bank, and i really couldn't see myself ever switching to another one. I have tried Bank of America, WAMU, ACU and so far USAA takes the cake in all fields
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA internet experience

Written on7/2/15
Customer avatar
B man
fromHI
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I would like to say there is no other bank I would alternate unless USAA changes. This product they provide and internet experience is the best I have come across in any corporation. USAA is very easy to use and comes with many resources for service members. I have never come to any issue that was not resolved quickly by the staff. I took a little time to learn when becoming a member, easily seen this was the way of the future having everything done online. I enjoyed the quick and easy use of the web site.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA remains the best company out there

Written on7/2/15
Customer avatar
lml52
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a USAA client and consumer for 39 years. It is a tough market & economy out there more than ever before yet USAA continues to have the most courteous, pleasant and dedicated representatives anywhere. And though the market has created constraints for USAA, this company continues to dedicate itself to it's consumers in providing the best products without jeopardizing it's fiscal responsibilities. Have they met all my needs? While they could not insure my new home because I live in Florida in a hi-risk area they went out of their way to find me an insurance carrier who is A+ rated and reasonably priced, how could I be unhappy with that level of dedication! The grass is really no greener on the other side so think very carefully before you choose to leave USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome!

Written on7/2/15
Customer avatar
Jay8
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
When I got into a car accident several years ago, USAA representatives were extremely helpful setting up and closing out my claim. The representative that I contacted first, kept trying to make sure that I was ok first and foremost. Customer service for any other issues have been resolved immediately. I'm proud to have USAA as my financial institution and my wife has switched over because the assistance that I've been provided from this. Yes, I plan to be a member for life!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent information and Analytical tools

Written on7/2/15
Customer avatar
Lamb1988
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The details of your cash flow is excellent. You can categorize (and create/edit customized categories and subcategories) everything that you buy from your checkings/savings and it get a clear picture of how you budget. The only thing I would change is: A category cannot be selected until the fees are fully processed (usually a couple of business days). I wish they would let you pick a category even if the payment has not been processed yet. Again, Excellent visual tools.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Service

Written on7/2/15
Customer avatar
SalB
fromItlay
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I'm a customer of 26 years and I have seen many changes with good and not so good results. Overall the customers service is the best of all similar companies.
Howevergetting a person on the phone it is aleays lengthy and time consuming; but still better and shorter than any other company or service that I deal with.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Once great, now 2nd rate

Written on7/2/15
Customer avatar
Seasoned member
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I've been a member for 13 years and raved about USAA for their customer service and their product features that were unlike any competitors; better and cheaper auto insurance w/ dividend, fee refunds on ATMs, better loan rates and terms, etc.
More recently since the company has branched into more and more banking services, the company seems to have lost focus of what made them special. Now when I call I am transferred all over, I hear "We can't" more than the former "We can", the competitions products are on par or better and every time I have to deal with them I leave the call dissatisfied.
They are still friendly on the phone, so I guess that's something, but their employees don't seem as empowered anymore, more like they're being limited.
I found a better deal on car insurance and went to switch and they warned/threatened me that if I left, when I came back they'd look at me as a new member and I'd get a worse deal. I can't believe I'm saying this about USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Customer Service

Written on7/1/15
Customer avatar
tacbeba
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
i have made telephone calls with questions about my accounts and I have found the customer service to more than meet my needs. Nice and kind service. My computer issues resolved quickly and a huge relief to me. Thank you for your service USAA staff.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

love all the services

Written on7/1/15
Customer avatar
tecee
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
have had the services from insurance since i was a teenager and now checking and savings. i also have sent my daughters to USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Customer service is REASON ENOUGH but there's more

Written on6/30/15
Customer avatar
Gravy89
fromKansas City, MO
Military Affiliation:Reserves
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
As newly weds, my husband deployed for 8 months and our uncertainties were there, but when it came to relying on the phenomenal help of USAA for our banking, insurance and car loan, it was very certain. They are extremely good at assisting with any issue over the phone or web and I couldn't be more happy to be a member.
-Wife of a Handsome Airman and proud USAA Member
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/1/15
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. USAA is pleased to serve those who serve our country. We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Funds transfers are not easy to accomplish

Written on6/29/15
Customer avatar
DAF
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I opened a USAA checking account using an electronic funds transfer from my local checking account. That is the same account I have been using to pay my USAA insurance and credit card accounts for several years. After the account was open for a month, I attempted to deposit a few thousand dollars into the USAA account, but was informed the very same local account I used to open the checking account is NOT VERIFIED FOR FUNDS TRANSFERS! This makes no sense, and the verification process seems to be a convoluted and time consuming series of small deposits back and forth.
During my nearly 40 years of membership, USAA has been a five star company, UNTIL NOW. Clearly this account does not meet my needs as there are too many hoops to jump through. Maybe good for others but not for me.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/30/15
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the funds transfer process. One of our representatives will be in contact with you to discuss your feedback. We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great

Written on6/29/15
Customer avatar
Welcome
fromWest Harrison, NY
Military Affiliation:Family
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a member for over 30 years. I love so many things about USAA. When I had tickets and accidents!! within a very small timeframe, I was not dumped. Instead, I was placed into a special section of Progressive for USAA members only. I will be welcomed back with open arms, when the time comes.
I have found some great features on the website. I especially like that I can put ALL of my bank (other bank's CC and savings) on the same page as my USAA accounts. I can even arrange them however I want. I like to use the "scheduled transactions" feature. I have not "balanced" my checking account in 30 years.
I have my IRA with USAA. I am very pleased with the outcome and information on my accounts.
In the past few years, more and more people are recognizing the USAA card (because they are a member) and I get the feeling I am part of a special family.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/29/15
Thank you for your feedback on your experiences with USAA. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the products, services and features USAA has to offer. We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

To all USAA staffs

Written on6/28/15
Customer avatar
duke2008
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am Navajo warrior, retired, and DV. I am living in both on/off the Navajo Nation. But I get supports and services by USAA when living both places. Thank-you. Albert
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

One problem after another

Written on6/27/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I am changing banks as soon as I finish my research, which can't be too fast. I have never seen so many mistakes on statements, and the fact that you can't talk to anyone in person, or the same person twice, makes you feel as if you are an insignificant pip. Then, we recently sold a house to a couple who went to USAA for their loan. USAA exhibited complete incompetence, and we lost that sale after waiting over a month. I left a conventional bank thinking that a vet would see better service with USAA. Not a chance.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/29/15
Thank you for sharing your experiences. One of our representatives will review your feedback and contact you to discuss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Free Checking Accounts: No Monthly Fees, Free ATMs Nationwide | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Security Features

Written on6/27/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been with USAA for 10 years now and appreciate the added security they use to secure my Funds and Identity. My grandson got into my Facebook and bought almost 200 dollars worth of things for gaming, without USAA's security features it would have gone through, they however did the one thing I never expected and called me to verify the transaction. Would recommend this establishment to any young service member that is just starting out.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/29/15
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on our products and services. We are happy to hear we were able to assist your grandson. Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 640 Next Page>>