USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_life_level_term Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes

brand_insurance_life_level_term Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes

Overall rating:
3.571 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
8
22 out of 3563%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Review 1 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

USAA was Great... medical exam company is horrible

Written on12/27/11
Customer avatar
MD11
fromMaryland
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I had a wonderful experience working with the team at USAA to determine the best fit of life insurance and the correct term. After my verbal medical history I was given an appt within a week. However on the day of my in home appt the examiner did not show up and I received no phone call. I called the exam company and was told they had just received the paper work and did not have an examiner in my area. A few more days past I had to call the office to found out now I had to go to in office to get the exam but that they did not know the time available. Another week pasted and I finally got a phone call saying that my appt would be a week and a half later, ONE MONTH after my inital phone call with USAA.....I am very disappointed with this process .
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Only Life Policy to cover Acts of War

Written on9/10/11
Customer avatar
Remmie
fromAtlanta, GA
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Marine Corps
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
As a Life Insurance Agent and now going to Afghanistan as a private contractor, I wanted to get as much prior to going. One of the biggest exclusions on Life policy's is does not cover Acts of War. Being a contractor it will not cover me BUT FOR MILITARY IT WILL. This is the only policy that myself and the rep knew of that would cover it. You do have to max out your SGLI and you can then get up to that amount of usually 400k. If you or anyone you know is about to deploy to a hostile area tell them about this. Worst case buy it for the deployment and then get rid of it. USAA def knows how to look out for its military members. Semper
I recommend this product.
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Wasted my time

Written on9/9/11
Customer avatar
Stephanie NSG
fromLas Vegas, NV
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I had never applied for term life insurance, I just had my second child at 28 and decided I needed to protect my family. They quoted me the best rate they had a month after I had my baby and stressed that my rate would be raised in two weeks; after the date of my birthday. I went to the exam and waited for my results. They jacked my premium up 25% from the orginal quote due to my weight a month after having my baby. Why would they have me go through the process knowing about the birth then tell me that I weight too much for the rate they quoted me?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Process!

Written on8/17/11
Customer avatar
Troop1
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I have been working this process for well over 2 months and still as of yet, the same answer..I need this I need that, underwriters and sale should communicate better, if the customer is informed on all that is needed upfront, we can potentially hasten the process by providing the information, answers to the questioner, lab work, medical records.....on and on. I have not received an answer yet! Maybe next month when they get around to me, I'll have to decline because the rate is too high. Now I'm being pessimistic, I know, the process is evasive, impersonal and finally, who knows where this data is stored!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Terrible expierence

Written on7/26/11
Customer avatar
bdd624
fromJacksonville, FL
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I recently applied for life insurance. The expierence was the worst I have ever had with any company. After 4 months of reviews, losing paperwork and incompetence I got a phone message that it was approved and I had 2 days to buy it or the application would be closed. I found another company and bought insurance at a cheaper rate in two weeks. I have had USAA autho and home insurance for 37 years and this expierence was so bad I am looking to replace both.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

good value

Written on7/4/11
Customer avatar
Suzannek
fromAlexandria, VA
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My only problem is that I pay my premium annually, and there is no account alert option to tell me when my bill is due. Since my husband is the primary member and we use his login for all other accounts, I rarely if ever check mine and it can be a surprise when a large sum just debits from my checking account.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Poor Customer Service

Written on5/6/11
Customer avatar
Sgt Rock
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I was quite surprised by the customer service when attempting to get life insurance through USAA. USAA has always been top notch in every other area of business I have done with them. The individual asking me questions appeared to be reading from a screen, which is okay, the only problem is, she had no knowledge whatsoever of what she was asking. When I would tell her I didn't quite understand the question, all she could do is regurgitate the question again. Then she says, make an appointment with a doctor to get my answer. I don't think so. I went with a different company.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

As Advertised...

Written on3/25/11
Customer avatar
Sad in Colorado
fromColorado Springs, CO
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Just got confirmation of our policies and everything was completed in ~3 weeks -- term insurance 20 year policy at $750K each for both my wife and I. Final policy price was as quoted on the website AND our paramed appt was within 10 days of submitting our initial online applications (paramed came to our house and whole appt lasted less than 90 min -- I even had a EKG completed). Truthfully, the process couldn't have gone better. I have had issues with USAA in other service areas lately (new mortgage application and home insurance issues) and was wary of how this all would go. But, as I said, we couldn't be happier -- this whole process from start to finish is what we have come to expect from USAA -- great service, great price, great product.
I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Invasive demeaning interview

Written on3/16/11
Customer avatar
almost objective
The interview for this policy was one of the most invasive, demeaning events of my life. I understand they need information to calculate my policy, but I can't fathom the length and bredth of things I was asked. This policy is not so well priced as to make this worth while.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Term Life Coverage

Written on3/4/11
Customer avatar
YoDawg
fromDayton, Ohio
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Been with USAA since 1989. They are an excellent insurance company. I was looking at getting $150K coverage for 25 years and was quoted $52 a month. After all the tests the final price came in at $83 a month. I could have got $250K from another company without an exam for $89 a month. So I will not be using them for Life Insurance.
I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

BANKING, LIFE, RENTER'S

Written on2/2/11
Customer avatar
BlackQueen
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I LOVE USAA, BUT SOME REP'S AREN'T SURE ABOUT WHAT THEY ARE DOING. NEVER PAY INSURANCES IN ADVANCE B/C WHEN YOU CALL BACK ITS ANOTHER PROBLEM EVERYTIME YOU CALL. I AM DISAPPOINTED IN THE LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES DEPARTMENT FOR THE FIRST TIME. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN ONGOING SINCE JAN 28 2011 UNTIL TODAY JUST BECAUSE I PAID IN ADVANCE FOR THE FOLLOWING YEAR. ONE REP GAVE ME THE WRONG PRICE AND I THOUGHT FOR SURE I WAS PAID UP TIL THE FOLLOWING YEAR. I HAVE HAD THE RUN AROUND AND I DON'T APPRECIATE THE BUISINESS AT ALL.
I recommend this product.
-14points
8of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Disappointed

Written on1/28/11
Customer avatar
101st ABN Soldier
fromFt Campbell, KY
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I called earlier this week to set up additional life insurance prior to my upcoming deployment. I answered a few questions and the rep. set up an appointment for an over the phone medical review.
Long story short: Instead of taking my family out and spending time with them on a Friday night i was stuck at home waiting for a call that never came. I was given a 2 hour block time that they would call in and noone called me. Very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Very Disappointed Considering "Military" Title

Written on1/15/11
Customer avatar
safghf
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Military Branch:Army
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
We applied for a "Military Life" policy through USAA for my husband to try and ensure coverage upon his ARMY retirement. It makes more sense for us to start a policy now when he is young and in great health than trying in 10+ years when anything can happen. We knew he wouldn't find coverage in the civilian mkt because of the nature of his work (skydiving), but thought surely that USAA's policy would be designed to accommodate what the ARMY requires of him. Instead we received a quote that was 6Xs higher than the online quote. This was based solely on his job. For a policy that covers war, a much more dangerous proposition than the job my husband does, I was highly disappointed and quite frankly upset at the antiquated actuarial tables used to decide our premium. Also, although most of the customer service reps were great, one suggested we simply lower the coverage amount to meet a premium we wanted to pay. This was not what I expected from a military friendly company and we declined.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Rediculous - No credit cards on Life Insurance

Written on9/10/10
Customer avatar
KKBR
fromDallas
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
It's rediculous that USAA won't accept automatic bill pay via credit card for our life insurance policy when USAA does for all our other policies. I was told it's due to "credit card transaction fees." Welcome to the 1990's. The small life insurance balance should just be added to the other amounts so it's the same transaction.
USAA is pretty progressive on some things, but on this they are operating in the dark ages or like silos between business units.
It needs to change.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-11points
6of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Disappointed

Written on8/26/10
Customer avatar
Scott72727
fromNew York, NY
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Relatively young and healthy I actually already had a term life policy with another company but wanted to move my business to USAA as I've been generally very pleased with their services. I am in excellent health but was quoted a rate more then 5 times(!) the teaser shown online because I scuba dive recreationally (always within recreational limits, but more frequently then a once a year vacation diver). USAA's underwriters seem to use an outdated or extremely overly cautious evaluation of so-called "risky" hobbies, which seems odd for an organization so dedicated to the military. When calling to receive the decision, I was given a runaround for almost 10 minutes, answering questions about financial status and account balances which I had already provided twice by the representative before she finally explained the offer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent customer service

Written on8/10/10
Customer avatar
Nakota
fromTexas
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I cant believe the customer service I have recieved from USAA along with the absolutly awesome rates and ability to get the rates in such an easy way. I really appreciate how they call me by my first name after I asked them to as well. (did not want to be at work while I was at home) However, appreciated that they recognized that I am in the military. Thanks for everything USAA. You treat us the way we need to be treated and recognize us for what we do.
I recommend this product.
-69points
18of 105voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Company

Written on7/28/10
Customer avatar
ValK
fromChicago, IL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have used USAA for over 25 years and have had only great experiences. Great Auto insurance rates, easy to use website and now mobile deposits. I recommend USAA to my friends and family.
I recommend this product.
-24points
9of 42voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

What you see is NOT what you get...

Written on6/23/10
Customer avatar
tblu
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Let me start by saying this is the first complaint I've had about USAA after almost 20 years. That's why I rated 2 stars instead of one. The online quote for life insurance was doubled after all was said and done. If you are of "average" health, like I am, the online quote rate is NOT for you. I wasted a lot of time and USAA wasted a lot of money with the paperwork and medical testing, to tell me my rate would be double the online quote. And again, as the USAA rep said himself, I am of "average" health. I thought "average" would be the target of an online quote for a company of USAA's caliber. They need to be quite specific about what kind of person qualifies for their online quote rate before both parties commit the time and money necessary to proceed. I turned down the quote and will shop elsewhere, with my eyes open!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
20of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Don't Wait!

Written on5/30/10
Customer avatar
Amber The Army Wife
fromFt. Hood, TX
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My husband's best friend was another man in his unit. I am great friends with his wife. They deployed the second time together. I didn't know about this insurance until the night I got a phonecall from her asking me to please come over because her husband had been K.I.A in Baquba, Iraq. I never thought about getting an additional coverage for my husband before that night. SGLI covers some, and you get a Death Benefit of 10k from the Army...but when you have children, it's not enough. I called the next day and got this coverage for my husband. For less than $35 a month I know that our family could survive in the case of my husband paying the ultimate price like 8 of his friends did that deployment. Thank you again USAA for helping the active duty military families.
I recommend this product.
+38points
74of 110voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Term Life Insurance Rates and Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Paid out when guidelines weren't firm, yet

Written on4/17/10
Customer avatar
S Gentry
fromTexas
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My husband purchased his term life insurance policy before his last Iraq deployment . After it was active I asked about a dismemberment rider.
Fast forward a few months... in March 2007 he was injured severely. One of his injuries was a severed eye nerve and he lost all vision in his right eye.
The policy terms at the time included a 25 k payout for loss of a limb, or eye sight. I figured at most we'd get 12.5 k since my husband still has intact vision in his left eye.
Both my husband and me agreed, that we should submit documentation for a claim. The worst thing we could hear was "No."
It didn't take more than 10 days and we got a call that the 25k were being deposited and into which bank account would we like to have it put.
Back at home in Texas in the summer of 2007 we got a letter in the mail informing us about changes to the policy terms. Partial loss of limb(s) are described in more detail, & one eye blindness is now officially covered.
USAA consistently does the right thing!
I recommend this product.
+101points
101of 101voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.