USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_value_items Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes

brand_insurance_home_value_items Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes

Overall rating:
4.51 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 147 reviews
5 Stars
121
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
14
128 out of 14787%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Review 1 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Outstanding Service

Written on9/24/14
Customer avatar
Jake Snake
fromNellysford, VA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Recently I had to file a claim under my Valuable Personal Property Insurance policy. From beginning to end the service rendered was clear, concise, and most professional. In just over a week, the claim was settled to my satisfaction and appreciation. USAA once again demonstrated that customer service is utmost in the sixty years I have been a member.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Firearms requirements unlike other coverage reqs

Written on1/27/15
Customer avatar
L!berTy_0r_D3ath
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I first want to say I applaud the efforts of USAA for covering firearms, however the requirements to provide Serial # and Model should be removed. There is no requirement for one to provide those for regular items that are covered under policies. Say for instance the 6 t.v.s I have, all have model and serial numbers and each of them are about as much as a firearm, but in the end, should a fire result in the total destruction of my home and it's goods there is no need from USAA to have those at anytime.
Remove the requirement for Serial/Model #s and I would think this is an All Star coverage option.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Worst Online Utility I Can Remember

Written on12/23/14
Customer avatar
Buckeye60
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Multiple problems ...
1. I uploaded a file and then tried to make another change, but could not because it said a current change was pending. Received an email saying the change was complete. Online still says pending and to call USAA for service.
2. In trying to add an item to the policy I've created 4-5 different items, but can only access it on the 3rd or so step of update policy.
3. I called USAA a few days ago and the agent gave me answers to questions I did not ask or the wrong answer. I asked if I can have an engagement ring and a diamond as separate items. She said the value of the diamond when set in the ring will change. Not what I asked. I asked if she say any other items other than 1. She said no and then continued to say I see the other items you tried to enter.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Get it if just for the discount

Written on11/14/14
Customer avatar
Yakoma
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Found that my Auto Insurance rate went down by $200/year simply by having annual VPP coverage costing $37/year. Even if I don't have a claim, I'm ahead by $163/year. YMMV of course, but look into it. See Auto Insurance page and How To Reduce My Premium (or something like that) button.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great, but be careful when you submit a claim

Written on9/12/14
Customer avatar
Kim79
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I loved this insurance, very convenient, great customer service. Looking back, I almost feel like I should not have used it... But isn't that what insurance is for? To take advantage of it, if something happens? I've had USAA valuable property insurance for several years, I filed three small claims... I lost an ear ring, my son lost his silver bracelet and I lost a ring - all small claims. Well, the last one was $400 and they decided to not renew my policy....I really had it for the high ticket items, like my husband’s Rolex, my SLR Camera, etc... something that really hurts when it gets lost/broken.... and now I don't have that peace of mind anymore :(
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Better that most, but still not great

Written on8/19/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I recently filed a claim on my VPP insurance. After being formed that I would be contacted before 5PM the same day, I received no contact until I called myself on the fifth business day. A large increase in claims due to severe weather had caused a backlog, which was understandable, but my claim had not been initially processed.
Either through misrepresentation of the policy by the customer service agent selling it, through misunderstanding of the policy by me, or a combination of the two, I was under the impression that I was receiving better coverage for what I've been paying. It turned out that when I needed it, my claim was denied because what happened was a "reasonable risk" for my insured items.
Logically, being involved in a wreck in an automobile is a "reasonable risk" for anyone driving, hence the need for automobile insurance, and it surely wouldn't be cause for denying a claim. However, that logic does not apply to USAA's VPP insurance, and my claim was denied.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA saved the day!

Written on6/8/14
Customer avatar
Kristin Z.
fromTwentynine Palms, CA
Military Branch:Marine Corps
During a trip to the beach, I realized my diamond engagement ring had fallen off while I was surfing. I looked for it for days hoping I had taken it off and it was hiding somewhere. I was devastated when my search was exhausted without finding the ring. Luckily I had covered it under the personal property insurance through USAA! Thomas (my rep) was so kind and made the process extremely easy. Within days I had been offered the value of my ring or a replacement of the center diamond. We chose to use the cash value to purchase a similar ring to replace it. Although it's not the same ring I had lost, USAA did a great job bringing peace to such a tragedy. I highly recommend them for any policy and we pretty much use USAA exclusively for all our banking, insurance, and loan needs.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent

Written on5/16/14
Customer avatar
TJOUSN
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Let me start off by saying that I work in the insurance industry. I'm licensed as both an agent and an adjuster and I work as a risk manager for a large company. So, I know how insurance works and I'm familiar with what policies typically cover and common exclusions (and if I'm not, I know how to read insurance policies to find out).
Anyway, my wife's necklace was stolen from our apartment while we were on vacation. No B&E (it was likely the pett sitter, the maintenance guy, the cleaning person...). We filed a police report and the claim was resolved two days later with payment in our account.
Great service and we couldn't be happier.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Personal Property Scam

Written on4/4/14
Customer avatar
sehinger
fromPortland, OR
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
When my antique family ring was damaged, I sent it to USAA to be fixed or replaced. They deemed it "unfixable" but would not pay out the cost to replace. Their claim was wear and tear caused the large hole in my dainty filigree ring. They asked for a jeweler to appraise how much it would cost to fix my "unfixable" ring and they would pay that amount. My jeweler agreed the ring was destroyed, so I received less than $300 for a irreplacable, "unfixable" ring I had insured for $3600. I have been paying the premium for the cost of the ring USAA had no intention to reimburse for. Frustrating and disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great value

Written on1/3/14
Customer avatar
Michael in ABQ
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Military Affiliation:National Guard
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I lost my wedding band while I was carving pumpkins with my kids for Halloween. I spent days digging through the trash and compost pile multiple times trying to find it. I had given up hope of finding it when I remembered my valuable personal property insurance from USAA. I called up and within a few minutes got a claim started. I went to a local jeweler with my wife's almost identical wedding band and they were able to find a very similar replacement. I ordered it, and when it came in a few days later I scanned my reciept and uploaded it using the USAA mobile app. When I called a few minutes later the representative I had been working with had my scanned reciept and processed my claim in a couple of minutes. A few days later I received the exact amount I paid for my replacement ring in my checking account. I couldn't have asked for an easier process. At $24 a year it was well worth it considering my ring cost over $600 to replace.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

My husband lost his wedding ring

Written on7/17/13
Customer avatar
Scavonez
fromDallas, TX
Military Affiliation:Family
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My husband lost his wedding ring while we were on our 1 yr. anniversary vacation. We were both devastated, but as soon as we got home we called USAA. I have always been highly satisfied with my experiences with USAA, and this experience was not any different. Within 3 days we had the funds to replace his wedding ring. I highly recommend VPP insurance and all the other services USAA provides!
I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Outstanding products and service

Written on6/3/13
Customer avatar
katlamb2
fromMemphis, TN
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Marine Corps
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My experience with USAA is simply beyond perfect. I have been treated with the best customer service that can be found. Access is superb and people are just wonderful. How can anyone survive without them as their bank.
Thanks USAA team...USA says it all.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Unbelievable Policy

Written on5/7/13
Customer avatar
JohnEdgley
fromIslip, NY
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Its been years since I seperated from service, and haven't really thought about USAA. When it came time to insure my fiancee's engagement ring...I called USAA. The customer service was second to none I've ever experienced, and the policy rate couldn't be any more reasonably priced...
2 thumbs up!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Lost My Wedding Ring

Written on3/18/13
Customer avatar
Tonia-USAAMember
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have jewelry insured for a set value and when I lost it right out of my purse I was so upset. I called USAA and since my jeweler had my receipt on file and pics of my ring, I received my insurance money in just a week or so. It was so smooth with no hassle. I would recommend this insurance!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Always the Best

Written on3/9/13
Customer avatar
Neva Tee
fromLaguna Niguel CA
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've been a USAA member, one way or another, since 1968, and have always been impressed with everything about USAA, from customer service to competitive premiums to quality of products. The three times I've had a claim (2 car accidents, 1 house disaster) in those 45 years, USAA has been there 100%, no trouble, no arguments, just excellent results. And every once in a while a competitor of USAA will insist they can do better than my current insurance company...until they find out that the company is USAA. Love it.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Experience

Written on3/6/13
Customer avatar
Npeterson
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The warranty for my wedding rings fell out of service for a small amount of time and in which, one of the accent diamonds on my band fell out. I paid for the replacement through my jeweler out of pocket then made a quick call to USAA to double check that I could get reimbursed for my payment. I was on the phone for five short minutes, scanned my receipt, and had the money refunded to my USAA checking account all in less than 12 hours. Wonderful, quick service and great personnel on the other line.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Renters/valuable personal property insurance

Written on3/4/13
Customer avatar
USAA2254
fromMinot, ND
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Greatest service provider in insurance!! Claim was handled very professionally in only a matter of days! So happy i put my trust in USAA!! I've yet to be disappointed.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Hassle to claim anything and rude customer service

Written on2/14/13
Customer avatar
antimorris
fromSan Antonio, TX
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I have to say that the VPP insurance with USAA has disappointed me greatly. While getting it was simple and the rates are reasonable, if you ever have to make a claim (even a small one) it becomes quite the hassle. I had a camera lens (~$200 claim) that got busted and needed repair. Not only was the insurance rep at USAA I spoke with very rude towards me, but they made getting the claim done difficult because of their requirements and the fact that I am currently stationed overseas. Then, after they finally processed the claim I get a letter saying that my insurance is under review as I made a claim on it and they may not continue to cover me (they determined they would). This was after a single $200 claim after having the policy for 5 years and a USAA member for 15 years. I have never been treated like this by any other insurance company and we are shopping around to move our VPP to another company after this.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very please with replacement of my chipped diamond

Written on2/5/13
Customer avatar
tangolovers
fromSanta Ana, CA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was very worried when I saw the huge chip in my 1.65 center stone. It took a little more work and time than I had expected, but USAA came throough as always and paid for the entire stone. I was very happy that I was able to completely replace my stone with almost exactly the same one.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Valuable Personal Property Insurance Rates & Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Insurance company in the world

Written on1/18/13
Customer avatar
1LTVietVet
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a member since 1972! After leaving the AF in 1976, I sold insurance for another company (big mistake) and learned that USAA was the best in the industry at that time. I am still convinced that USAA is still the best company in the industry. I have all my property insured with USAA and all valuables. When IKE came thru, USAA also came thru to help repair all my damages - and a lot sooner than all the other insance companies according to my neighbors. I am now a 40 year member and hope to go another 40! Keep up the good work.
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.