USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_renters Renters Insurance

brand_insurance_home_renters Renters Insurance

Overall rating:
4.382 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(327 reviews) 258
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 327 reviews
5 Stars
255
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
10
1 Star
35
275 out of 32784%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Renters Insurance
Review 1 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Renters Insurance - I Love USAA

Written on9/30/11
Customer avatar
21 yr old SrA
fromSan Francisco, CA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Initially when my landlord told me I would need Renters Insurance in order to move into the house I thought UGH. Medical insurance, car insurance and now renters insurance. All these monthly costs "just in case" something happens. I have the typical mind set of someone my age who assumes that nothing will happen to me when in reality I'm Murphy's law. My parked car was bashed in, vandilized and all of my property inside (laptop, deck, sub, amp,cash etc) stolen. After I called my insurance company at 2100 on a Sunday night I felt slightly more at ease. My auto insurance would cover all the damage to my windows, tail light, scratched exterior of my car as all of the car audio equipment inside my car. My renters insurance covered the rest of my stolen property. The whole process was completed in a week. My car repairs were done in 4 days and the Audio Store installed all of the equipment at the Auto Body Shop. I got my car back just the same but brand new and all of my stuff replaced :D
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Service Ever

Written on11/5/09
Customer avatar
Slay
fromNavarre, FL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Had a little time today to put something together so I thought I'd weigh in on everything I've read here. I've used USAA for about 10 years now for auto, homeowners, renters, banking, auto loan, you name it. I've had to file 3 or 4 misc claims over the years and have NEVER been unsatisfied with customer service or the "red tape" involved with anything. An absolute pleasure to utilize this company!
A couple of side notes to you Florida homeowners and electronic gadget users. Hurricanes happen frequently here, and USAA homeowners insur does not cover us. But, USAA WILL refer you to a partner who CAN insure your home. Which other insur company that you know of will actually do that? And for you iPod, Laptop, and Camera owners that are concerned because after 4 years your stuff broke or stopped working and USAA won't "buy you a new one"....stop crying....your stuff was old. Electronics fail and everyone knows that, so while USAA is handling serious claims, just go buy another one..shesh
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Customer Service is a Hassle!!!!

Written on6/23/09
Customer avatar
usaa customer
fromhawaii
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have no idea where these 5 stars are coming from. Maybe from the USAA staff themselves. But good thing i read these reviews before getting this feature as well. Currently i've been using USAA for about 4 years for auto insurance and rencently for CDs. Now they do have some GREAT rates in those areas and im gonna continue using them for that purpose only. But i can surely say this feature deserve 1 star because just as CDs this service seems to be easy to set up but hard to cancel as with a CD i had recently closed. It took me 45 min and talking to 3 customer service reps jsut close my CD and get the money back in my savings account. The fine print specifically says you have 10 days to make changes to your CD before it automacally renews so i had absoliutely no idea why such a hassle to get whats legally yours back. And i guarentee this service is just the same..easy to set up hard to cancel. but as before the auto and CD rates are great but this seems fishy just to add my 2 cents.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-36points
1of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So glad I had it!!!!!!!!!!!!

Written on10/22/11
Customer avatar
Alia
fromColorado
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
For the first 6 years of our marriage my husband and I did not have any kind of renters insurance and took a huge chance with our belongings. Last year I decided after seeing how affordable the policy was to get the coverage we needed for our belongings. In May our house was robbed. Amongst the things we lost, we lost our sense of security the most. In the wake of the robbery there was so much to think about and so many things to do. It was comforting to call USAA the day following the robbery to hear the voice of a genuinely concerned USAA representative assuring me they were there to help and would do what ever it took to help us start to pick up the pieces. The representatives that helped me were all first class. The claim was paid quickly so that we could start to replace the things we lost. 5 months later as I write this, I am still in awe at the swift, compassionate and caring manner that USAA took care of us in our time of need. I will be with USAA for life. Thank you USAA!
I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Disappointed

Written on7/10/09
Customer avatar
Daisy
fromSumter, SC
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I recently purchased a new home. When I called USAA to set up my homeowner's insurance, I was told by the representative that I would need to continue my renter's insurance until after my household goods were delivered to my new home. I understood this would cover my goods while in transit. Upon receipt of my goods, several items were broken or damaged and I filed a claim with USAA online (appreciated the convenience). However, what USAA didn't tell me is that the renter's insurance doesn't cover broken or damaged items. It only covers missing items. I might as well have canceled my renter's insurance when the homeowner's insurance was effective and saved some money. I'm severely disappointed in the service I received. USAA should have been honest with me and explained what the renter's insurance would cover during the move. I am a long time customer of USAA and do most of my banking, investing, and insurance transactions with USAA. This is the 2nd time I have been let down.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Irresponsible Landlord

Written on10/1/10
Customer avatar
Zack n Tawn
fromSLC, UT
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My wife and I got married a few months ago and for our first appartment we decided to go with a private individual. After losing my wedding ring in the ocean we decided it wold be a good idea to take out a policyon our valueables, including the few things we had accumulated as a couple so far. We did and at a great rate from USAA. A while later I got a call from my wife stating that the upstairs tennants had a toilet overflow which leaked into our closet. needless to say one whole side of the closet was ruined in all $2000 of our few belongings. The landlord initally was willing to help but in the end he did nothing for us and even refussed to cover our deductable. Luckily, USAA was able to send us everything online and they were great to work with. Representatives were helpful in every aspect, they deposited the money electronically to our checking account in a few days so that my wife could replace her ruined clothes. Not what I expected from an insurance company!
I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Recent Burglary

Written on12/31/09
Customer avatar
Pick
fromOmaha, NE
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Recently my garage was broken into, and many things were stolen. I had heard horror stories about the claims process, and was worried to say the least. I didn’t think I would get close to what my property was worth.
Upon filing my claim, I was assigned Gisela as an adjustor. She helped me through the entire process including the itemization. After which, her appraisal of my losses exceeded my estimate (which I had included on the police report) by $1k. I was pleasantly surprised to say the least. Gisela deserves an extra measure of gratitude. Her overwhelmingly helpful nature transformed this from an extremely negative experience to a neutral if not somewhat positive one. That’s saying a lot considering what happened. I cannot say enough good about her.
USAA continues to surprise me, and I have never had a negative experience. With people of this caliber on their team, USAA will be my bank/insurance agent for years to come. A+ for every service they offer!!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Be careful with the "Computer" insurance

Written on5/1/09
Customer avatar
VP Ike
fromJacksonville, FL
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
After 5 years as a customer and hearing many great things about USAA I had my first and last claim in March. I purchased the additional computer coverage as recommended by the agent as I take my computer with me on deployments and was told that pretty much any damage is covered. After returning from a deployment my computer began to overheat and it eventually died. I was denied my claim after much hassle. Even though I used my computer for media viewing and streaming, it has USB ports, a mouse and keyboard interface, a WIFI card, an optical drive and runs Windows XP, it is a proprietary box that is not technically considered a computer by USAA. I canceled all of my services with USAA and actually found better prices on Auto and Property insurance through local companies. USAA was willing to lose a 5 year customer and the many years I likely would have remained a customer over what ,after deductible, would have ended up being a $250 claim. I'm glad I left.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+16points
28of 40voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Worth it "just in case"

Written on12/9/09
Customer avatar
Renters Insurance
fromGalveston, Texas
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
People always say to me "really, you have USAA? I so wish I had it too!" I felt good about my insurance, until I needed it.
When Hurricane Ike destroyed my stuff, the headache began. I was told that I didn't have replacement cost coverage (I did, and if you don't, you should really get it!), and some of the initial payouts were ridiculous. It took months and multiple adjusters before my claim was finalized.
I was disappointed and frustrated, then I listened to people who DON'T have USAA. They have multiple policies (fire, theft, flood and wind...all seperate policies) and pay upwards of $60-80/month for the same coverage. And their claims and payouts took much much longer. I pay just a few dollars, and only need one policy.
USAA took care of the little things immediately, like helping me buy food since I'd lost even the condiments as a result of the storm and relocation. My friends didn't know insurance companies would even care enough to do that.
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Easily the Best Decision I've Ever Made

Written on7/1/11
Customer avatar
Taylor J
fromLexington, KY
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My parents recently switched to USAA from a prominent insurance agency. When they suggested I call to compare quotes, I wasn't interested. Luckily, I took my mother's advice to heart, and was astounded at my savings!
The customer service with USAA was the first outstanding aspect; completely personal, no hassle, patient and understanding enough to hear all of my questions. I searched for the catch, the fine print, the exceptions and found none.
When I switched my car insurance over, the agent recommended renters insurance since I'm out on my own. I was skeptical, but when he detailed how much coverage - and confident peace of mind - I would have for such a low monthly premium, I couldn't pass it up. The customer service rep offered a free checking account, again hassle free. I opened one because I received another discount! I just saved on my car insurance by protecting myself, my home and my money! This is one satisfied and loyal customer!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Additional Computer Coverage

Written on8/28/09
Customer avatar
Will2
fromSan Antonio, Tx
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
If you have a computer over 3 years of age, good luck having your claim being fulfilled. My laptop has a faulty video card and is highly known to be defective. (Search defective Nvidia video cards). The PC technician that diagnosed my laptop mentioned that the life of the video card failed over time but was much faster than what normal wear and tear would incur. This was relayed back to me as "Normal wear and tear" and is not covered under the additional computer coverage.
For the little hope that I had, "Mechanical breakdown, faulty construction, and errors in hardware or software design" are also not covered. This means, you will be paying for all repairs.
The additional computer plan is for those who want false hope and is exactly what I received for several years.
On the plus side, the representatives I spoke with were understanding and showed empathy. They were also very curious, but it was not worth it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-12points
7of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Thank You for being My Right Choice

Written on8/20/09
Customer avatar
Mike from AK
fromErie, PA
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am grateful that I've had to make no other claims except against my PCs. The PC clause which I added onto my policy before leaving for Afghanistan years ago turned out to be a great benefit. Came back to a damaged computer at home and a couple of years later, damaged a computer in Iraq. USAA handled both claims with no hassle and within 72 hours of contact, the claim was completed.
Not a complaint, but a note: Computers lose value quickly, so USAA only replacing the computer at current market price (or the baseline available on the market at the time) is a shrewd move to their advantage. Still, they do take into account upgrades you've made and so on. All in all, it's a fair trade: you wind up with a system with at least as much capacity as the one you lose. Since they each time they've done it quickly, I lost virtually 0 productivity time.
This feature in my renters insurance is well worth it. Thanks USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Renters Insurance

Written on4/7/09
Customer avatar
Redbeardo
fromMuncie, IN
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I had purchased renters insurance when I went to college, for when i first moved into an apartment. One time, my house was robbed, but the thieves only took a high end game system with the games and a few dvds. USAA made the process pretty quick, and had the police come over to file a report. Unfortunately, the police never found who did it, but luckily USAA did pay me for the stolen items minus the deductible (something around $200) USAA covered what I paid for the items, despite X many years old. I only kept receipts for about half of the items stolen, one being the system itself. I am glad I had insurance through them, and was possibly the best experience i had with an insurance company.
I wish they would lower the deductible for certain amounts of goods stolen (deductible was $200 for about $700 of things stolen) but they did insure what I paid for them. I would recommend this to anyone renting, ever.
I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

!!!WAY!!! to over priced!

Written on10/7/09
Customer avatar
Brandon8605
fromTacoma, WA
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Ive always been with USAA and really like them & they are very good with us. They are decently priced and competive atleast with the car insurance. I recently moved out on my own and would like to get renters insurance. They priced me $50 a month for a $5,000 policy. $600 annualy. Thats !!!WAY!!! to over priced & will not pay that. I plan to switch my insurance exactly for that reason.I called American Family & was quoted $180 in full annualy & thats a $50,000 policy. My mother is through USAA & pays like $27 a month for a $25,000 policy. We only live like 5 min apart. Shes 192nd & im 140th. Is it just me or is that pretty unfair and way to overpriced??? I understand prices being a little more for me cause my age but what they quoted me is WAY to much and I will not pay that! I dont want to switch my insurance, so I think something should be done with that!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-9points
6of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best insurance I've ever had

Written on2/7/14
Customer avatar
wmiller98444
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We were hit with a massive claim from Hurricane Irene a few years ago. We were renting a townhouse and a tree split our top floor in half. Within the first hour of notifying USAA of this, we had money in our account to assist with food and hotels (our home was obviously unlivable). The best recommendation I can give to anyone is to take photos of the contents of your home (inside and out) prior to an event like this--it made the claim process SO EASY! All we did was take after-photos when we were able to, as well as proof of the home being condemned. Everything else was quickly and professionally taken care of by USAA. Though we lost all of our posessions, the process was so quick and easy that it assuaged our fears about going through such an emotional event. Both my husband and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND using USAA for insurance--you can't go wrong!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Way to Buy Renter's Insurance Coverage

Written on1/31/11
Customer avatar
Colonialpara
fromNew Jersey
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been using USAA Renter's Insurance for the last 14 years and have found the process to be seamless and effortless and with very reasonable pricing for the coverage I have. I recently upped the coverage for personal property but saw only a minimal increase in premiums. I like that I can get the declarations page when and where needed so that when I move, I can provide a newly updated form to the rental agent or property owner/manager as needed. The USAA representatives are all very well informed and very courteous. It is becuae of their sterlin reputation for customer service that I have consolidated ALL of my financial services needs (except for local checking) with USAA.
The website is easy to use and intuitive and navigation is a breeze. I recommend USAA without reservation.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

USAA INSURANCE CONTINUING TO DISAPPOINT

Written on7/28/09
Customer avatar
CharlesH
fromDrayden, MD
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I have had all forms of insurance through USAA for several years and their service and rates have typically been very good. However, I can't say that has been the case over the last couple of years. First they dropped my homeowner's coverage in the MIDDLE of the policy because the home is insured in Florida and we PCSd (after ZERO claims). I can understand not renewing based on market conditions in Florida but to drop in the middle of the term is UNSAT. Second, I just received my renter's insurance renewal that shows a 58% increase! Nothing has changed other than the amount USAA is asking for. I can understand some increase, but 58%? Come on. The only explanation received from USAA on the phone was that rates went up, sorry. USAA Insurance seems to be following a bad trend.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Lost power, USAA took care of it

Written on7/3/12
Customer avatar
Toni22
fromFort Meade, MD, USA
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a member of USAA for a while now, I have a checking account as well as a car loan and insurance through them. When I lived on my own I had renters insurance and I considered dropping it when my husband and I moved in together on base. A USAA rep explained that the insurance would still cover theft or property damages, so I decided to keep the policy because it was so cheap! With the storms of the past weekend knocking out the power for days, there was no way to keep our stocked refrigerator fresh. I hesitated to call USAA but I'm glad I did. Thanks to them our fridge will be stocked again. There was no deductible and they put me at ease-sometimes calling an insurance company is intimidating. I love being a member of a bank that cares about its customers.
I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Read the fine print & don't listen to the agent

Written on4/7/09
Customer avatar
Nick123
fromTX
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I got renters insurance along with the added features to cover my digital camera and laptop. In fact, I specifically told the agent selling it to me that I wanted those two items specifically covered. He told me fine and he'd set me up with it. Eighteen months later my digital camera lens goes bad. No problem I thought, I had it insured. I call the claims department and apparently it was not covered. It was never added to it. The money I spent on renters insurance for the 1.5 yrs could have been better spent buying another lens. Also, regarding the laptop coverage, it doesn't cover any defects out of warranty. I've been with USAA for a long time and so I thought I could trust them. I guess the moral of the story is don't believe the agents. I was very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-62points
21of 104voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I had no idea

Written on10/29/09
Customer avatar
oksademicks
fromSE Texas
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
After Hurricane Rita we realized that people who rent also need insurance. We were afraid of spending a massive amount of money to insure what little we had left, but after calling USAA we realized how cheap renters insurance was. Luckily for us we took advantage of this wonderful insurance. Hurricane IKE destroyed hundreds of dollars of our personal belongings, with 4 babies under 3 that's a LOT of money and the apartment owners weren't even willing to replace the flooded carpet much less give us a break on our rent. Then, we remembered that we were insured. Did you know renters insurance even covers the food in your refrigerator if the power is out long enough to ruin it? I cannot tell you how many times USAA has helped us out of life's little (and BIG) holes.
I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.