USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_renters Renters Insurance

brand_insurance_home_renters Renters Insurance

Overall rating:
4.274 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(354 reviews) 283
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 354 reviews
5 Stars
266
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
12
1 Star
46
289 out of 35482%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Renters Insurance
Review 1 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Services Provided

Written on8/22/14
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Family
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Really pleased with the services that have been provided. Polite and well mannered agents. I carry various services with USAA and with each time I have had a question the helpfulness and accurate knowledge provided has been a step above and beyond. Thank you USAA.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent coverage and service

Written on4/10/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
A few years ago, soon after we moved into our first apartment, we were broken into and had two computers, an ipod, a wallet and a few other items stolen from our living room while we were asleep in the other room. Luckily we had renters insurance. USAA responded immediately and covered each of the items we claimed, even reimbursing the cost to get a new license! The burglary was upsetting but USAA's swift and kind coverage made it much easier to deal with. Highly, highly recommended.
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

customer service and overbilling

Written on1/28/16
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My policy expired due to non-payment, ooopps!! Once my policy was paid and my acct. was current, a new policy was automatically reissued. The problem: the old policy never cancelled out and I was on the verge of being billed TWICE for my renters insurance. Unfortunately, it took maybe about an hour to settle the dispute because they had to go in the system and figure out the problem.
During this "lengthy" process, my customer service experience was GREAT!! Again, though it took about an hour to fix the error, Natalie, my service rep, would check in with me and explain what she was doing. Furthermore, the problem was fixed with an explanation, human error, and I received an apology, TWICE and was informed the issue will be resolved automatically at midnight!!
THANK YOU, USAA....FOR YOUR SERVICE!!!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator2/2/16
Dear Spc. Q,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind words even though it did take a bit of time to straighten out! We're delighted to hear you were satisfied with the assistance you received. You deserve the best, so we strive to provide it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Undeniably the best!

Written on7/22/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have had USAA's renter's insurance for years. We never had any issues updating our policy, changing addresses, etc. We've always received USAA's amazing customer service. Last year we experienced a fire in our apartment building due to lightning. I had absolutely no idea what to do. So I called USAA and received the best customer service of my life (I wish I could remember the lady's name). She took care of everything, was concerned about our safety (and not just money!), and provided emotional support while we dealt with this issue. They told us exactly what we needed to do, they provided the services of the best third party company for restoration, and made sure we were taken care of every step of the way. We received our money faster than probably anyone else in our building (who had other insurance). If you are concerned about this service, don't be. This is something that you NEED. Definitely recommend USAA and will keep them when we finally buy a home. Thank you USAA!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/23/15
Morenachica,

Oh what a traumatic experience you endured! I did some research and found the young lady you referenced as providing you with such great service her name is Lindsay. Here at USAA, we are committed to providing the best service in the industry and appreciate it when members like yourself inform for us of how we are doing! I will pass along your kind words to both Lindsay and her supervisor.

Have a great Thursday!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

No Hassle

Written on6/20/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA reps were welcoming and very professional in the store. Once we got inside the booth for the teleconference the rep was extremely AWESOME! Filing our first ever claim was quick, painless, and well done.
The money came within 24hours, too.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA6/22/15
SGTGB,

Alright now! That's how filing a claim should be - quick, efficient and minimal stress involved. Thanks for sharing your recent claims experiene.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I'm so proud to read such a rare forum.

Written on6/10/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
It's so extremely rare, almost nonexistent, to go onto a community page... Read an extremely poor review, where with most ANY OTHER FORUM the administration would simply blow off the ugly, occasionally irrational comments, by chalking it up to "human emotion" and the need to vent, due to rejection or miscommunication.
But, instead, USAA actually PROVES the comments ARE not ignored, yet quite the opposite!!
Please accept my heartfelt "Thank you" for helping those, regardless of the facts; and more having to do with the way USAA has always BEEN THERE, with the willingness to help those who don't know where to turn to, next.
Thank you!!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/11/15
Jslmsn,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind words! We strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time no matter the channel of communication. We really do appreciate all feedback whether it is positive or negative!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Experience

Written on3/31/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
From customer service, online acess, to products USAA is the best banking experience I've had.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA4/1/15
Thank you for the compliment! We strive each and every day to provide our members with exceptional service and highly competitive products.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I have no complaints "AT ALL" and all praise.

Written on2/23/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have conducted traffic accident investigations and during that time I noticed how fast USAA got help to their customers who needed them. I had an incident where I needed USAA involving a broken windows in the house that I rent, and they came through promptly. 90% of my banking business is with USAA and I am trying to get to 100%.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/23/15
What a way to warm up this Monday morning! Thank you so much for sharing your kind words! We're committed to providing the best service in the industry and appreciate when our members inform for us of how we are doing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

No one offers better customer service

Written on1/22/15
Customer avatar
fromReading, PA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
When we lost power to our apartment while on vacation our friends did us the huge favor of unloading and airing out our fridge and apartment before we returned. Every meat, cheese, vegetable and condiment needed to be replaced. On a hunch, we called USAA and asked if we were covered (by our renter's policy) and we were. We estimated our loss and provided it to the USAA associate and received a check in the mail only 2 days later. It was the only time in our 20+ years of military experience when we did not dread replacing all the condiments and 'essentials' like we normally would after a PCS move. USAA makes placing a claim guilt-free and easy as pie. Thank you USAA!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA1/29/15
Thank you for the shout out, but most of all, thank you for being a member!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Stolen Bagpack =*(

Written on11/7/14
Customer avatar
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was on vacation about 1000 miles from home, when at a music festival my backpack as stolen with a lot of valuables in it [tablet, cell phone, clothing/jewelry, etc.]. Fortunately, I had renter's insurance and within 3 days USAA had a check that covered the costs of all my lost items as if they were NEW retail value. They saved my butt.
I don't know yet if my premiums will go up, but so far I am very pleased with this policy.
Most people seem to be confusing renter's insurance and thinking it covers damaged/misplaced items, but it really is for theft protection it seems.
Thanks USAA
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great company

Written on5/22/14
Customer avatar
fromFort Campbell, KY
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Love the things you all do for me and my family. The service youi provide is amazing. and I would not want to go any where else.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great coveage bad deductible

Written on4/10/14
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I'm writing this to in form the people with one start reviews that you have to ask them over the phone to cover falls, thrown or accidental damage to TV's, Computers, etc.
Overall it took less then 24 hours for the replacement money to enter my account and I would recommend this service to everyone.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best insurance I've ever had

Written on2/7/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We were hit with a massive claim from Hurricane Irene a few years ago. We were renting a townhouse and a tree split our top floor in half. Within the first hour of notifying USAA of this, we had money in our account to assist with food and hotels (our home was obviously unlivable). The best recommendation I can give to anyone is to take photos of the contents of your home (inside and out) prior to an event like this--it made the claim process SO EASY! All we did was take after-photos when we were able to, as well as proof of the home being condemned. Everything else was quickly and professionally taken care of by USAA. Though we lost all of our posessions, the process was so quick and easy that it assuaged our fears about going through such an emotional event. Both my husband and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND using USAA for insurance--you can't go wrong!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I wouldn't trust any other company!

Written on12/17/13
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Marine Corps
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been with USAA for 8 years and recommend them to EVERYONE with Military affiliation! The customer service is always amazing! The money we save being with USAA is HUNDREDS a month!And coverage is something I have never had to worry about!
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So easy

Written on10/8/13
Customer avatar
fromVirginia Beach, VA
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA made the transition to our new home so simple and fast! Thank you!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Peace of Mind!

Written on9/9/13
Customer avatar
fromVancouver, WA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Every time we call USAA they are always amazing! Not only do they help us with what we need, but they make sure that everything is taken care of and do a complete review of our account to make sure everything is updated. We are always pleased with the service we receive from them and couldn't ask for anything more! The USAA representatives are extremely friendly, happy to help, and try their very best to ensure we are taken care of.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I am amazed at just how much they offer free

Written on8/10/13
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a member almost a year now. I have accessed so much self help information that I am trying to use that to improve our chance of helping ourselves. Forms are available free. Explore the site and i believe you too will be as surprised as myself.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Renter's Insurance

Written on8/5/13
Customer avatar
fromAustin, Texas
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I just recently found out what A Grandparent/Grandchild Tea Party over Skype could do to my laptop! I filed my claim late friday and was looking to call my INS agent today (monday morning) which is so conveniently posted on MY USAA page. She was busy assisting another member but the gentleman that answered ( I need to ask his name, he was awesome!) was happy to assist with the entire process, we completed my claim including the appropriate research and documentation within 20 minutes. I can't believe how quick and easy the process was. This wasn't even a dire emergency, I can't imagine how amazing their customer service would be through something like a theft or natural disaster. Thank You USAA!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Customer Service

Written on6/25/13
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta, GA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been in a financial bind and have decided to relocate from my home to an apartment. During this stressful time, I have had to call USAA numerously to make changes to my renters insurance. Each time the representatives were excellent and considerate. My third and hopefully last person was so nice, I wish that I could call and talk with him every day. Thank you USAA for great overall service and EXCELLENT customer service! I will refer everyone to you!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Outstanding Service

Written on6/13/13
Customer avatar
fromColorado
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Due to its low cost and fantastic service... Renters insurance from USAA is highly recommended. My ATV trailer was stolen from my residence early Sunday morning. I called the non-emergency police line to report it stolen and receive a case number. I called USAA Monday morning to make a claim. Service was fantastic, as is all customer service with USAA. I received replacement funds on Tuesday. Thank You
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next Page>>