USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_renters Renters Insurance

brand_insurance_home_renters Renters Insurance

Overall rating:
4.344 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(340 reviews) 270
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 340 reviews
5 Stars
261
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
12
1 Star
38
282 out of 34083%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Renters Insurance
Review 1 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Services Provided

Written on8/22/14
Customer avatar
Ellabelle
Military Affiliation:Family
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Really pleased with the services that have been provided. Polite and well mannered agents. I carry various services with USAA and with each time I have had a question the helpfulness and accurate knowledge provided has been a step above and beyond. Thank you USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent coverage and service

Written on4/10/14
Customer avatar
Bostonite
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
A few years ago, soon after we moved into our first apartment, we were broken into and had two computers, an ipod, a wallet and a few other items stolen from our living room while we were asleep in the other room. Luckily we had renters insurance. USAA responded immediately and covered each of the items we claimed, even reimbursing the cost to get a new license! The burglary was upsetting but USAA's swift and kind coverage made it much easier to deal with. Highly, highly recommended.
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Thoroughly Disappointed

Written on5/11/15
Customer avatar
The Hares
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
After experiencing a house fire and all the emotions that come along with it, I thought I had piece of mind in having USAA renter's insurance. Not so much. I have left voicemails with some being returned days later and others not. I have posted in the online claim center, only to have a random note posted by another adjuster saying they will pass it along. Then my adjuster has a medical issue and is out for a while and cannot talk on the phone. So I keep using the online claim center and many questions still go unanswered today. My claim started in March, it's May now and I am still waiting for this to be resolved so I can start my life again. Looking at buying a house now and WILL NOT be using USAA for home owners insurance. Switching companies and closing all accounts after this ordeal. Wish I could provide even more detail as this has been aggravating to say the least.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy Moderator USAA5/12/15
The Hares,

I am sorry to hear that you have had such a difficult time getting immediate assistance with your claim. I have contacted the Claims Service Manager and requested she contact you today.

Thank you for reaching out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

It has the potential to be better...

Written on4/30/15
Customer avatar
PerryFamily
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
When my husband and I first started banking with USAA, we thought they were great. Our insurance was with them for an affordable price and we decided later (after a household issue) to add rental insurance. That was our undoing... Our rental insurance was affordable but after using it 3 times, we were told that they were not allowing us to renew our policy. Had they told us, when we filed claims, that we would be penalized for using it, we would have sought a different venue (with our housing agency) to be reimbursed. However, they did not. We've called and tried talking to Customer Service but each time we do the person we speak to is rude, short and refuses to help us. Our complaints are simple: being removed as customers for filing "too many" claims (that were each needed) and being charged ridiculous interest fees on a credit card we're trying to pay off. We've not used that card in months, trying to pay it down and yet the interest charges continue to stack up.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/5/15
PerryFamily,

Thank you for reaching out and sharing your concerns. A bank representative is looking into your banking concerns; and an insurance specialist will take a look into your renter's policy and follow-up with you shortly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Replacement Value?

Written on4/25/15
Customer avatar
Robert4
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
If you expect full replacement value, be advised depreciation is applied. In my case, 'full" does not mean "full."
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA4/27/15
Robert4,

In order to better assist you, I have asked for an international specialist to reach out and call you to obtain additional details.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Experience

Written on3/31/15
Customer avatar
DCroswhite
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
From customer service, online acess, to products USAA is the best banking experience I've had.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA4/1/15
Thank you for the compliment! We strive each and every day to provide our members with exceptional service and highly competitive products.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Proof of renters insurance

Written on3/18/15
Customer avatar
costergaard
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Why does the proof of renters insurance - the only way to print it out - not have my name on it? That's not helpful for me to "prove" I have insurance.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/19/15
Costergaard,

Mystery solved! If you pulled up the Account Summary page for the Renters Policy and clicked the "Print" button (located in the top right corner by the date) then you got a screen shot of what's on that page.

Now go back to the Account Summary screen and on the left side under your address you'll see the “View and Print Proof of Renters Insurance” PDF option. Here is where you can view and print off the confirmation of renters coverage document that includes your name, address, coverage effective dates and limits. I posted a copy of the document for you on .com under Documents. Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I have no complaints "AT ALL" and all praise.

Written on2/23/15
Customer avatar
SFC (R) McCormick
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have conducted traffic accident investigations and during that time I noticed how fast USAA got help to their customers who needed them. I had an incident where I needed USAA involving a broken windows in the house that I rent, and they came through promptly. 90% of my banking business is with USAA and I am trying to get to 100%.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/23/15
What a way to warm up this Monday morning! Thank you so much for sharing your kind words! We're committed to providing the best service in the industry and appreciate when our members inform for us of how we are doing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

No one offers better customer service

Written on1/22/15
Customer avatar
Sailortex
fromReading, PA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
When we lost power to our apartment while on vacation our friends did us the huge favor of unloading and airing out our fridge and apartment before we returned. Every meat, cheese, vegetable and condiment needed to be replaced. On a hunch, we called USAA and asked if we were covered (by our renter's policy) and we were. We estimated our loss and provided it to the USAA associate and received a check in the mail only 2 days later. It was the only time in our 20+ years of military experience when we did not dread replacing all the condiments and 'essentials' like we normally would after a PCS move. USAA makes placing a claim guilt-free and easy as pie. Thank you USAA!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA1/29/15
Thank you for the shout out, but most of all, thank you for being a member!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Was Lied to

Written on12/16/14
Customer avatar
TheWelshman
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I had USAA renters insurance for 6 years. Over that time, USAA doubled my premium without ever notifying they were going to do so. Finally I had enough and called in to cancel. The representative kept me on the phone for over 45 minutes trying to convince me not to cancel. Finally I agreed to keep the policy in place until I found another one. He then said I could call back and cancel the policy to the date I had called. I found another policy within a week that was HALF THE PRICE WITH THE EXACT SAME COVERAGE. I called back in to cancel and imagine my surprise when USAA WOULD NOT KEEP THEIR WORD. To add insult to injury they took about $10 off the premium I had just barely paid for the 2 days into the period I had just come. Terrible service and dishonesty, I will never use USAA for anything again. Goodbye USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator12/17/14
We cannot apologize enough for this experience, and we understand why you are upset. We appreciate your feedback and a specialist will be in contact with you to further review this issue and provide you the best assistance.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Stolen Bagpack =*(

Written on11/7/14
Customer avatar
Honinbou
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was on vacation about 1000 miles from home, when at a music festival my backpack as stolen with a lot of valuables in it [tablet, cell phone, clothing/jewelry, etc.]. Fortunately, I had renter's insurance and within 3 days USAA had a check that covered the costs of all my lost items as if they were NEW retail value. They saved my butt.
I don't know yet if my premiums will go up, but so far I am very pleased with this policy.
Most people seem to be confusing renter's insurance and thinking it covers damaged/misplaced items, but it really is for theft protection it seems.
Thanks USAA
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Re: website needs improved functionality

Written on6/25/14
Customer avatar
RD Allison
fromSan Diego, CA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I'd like to cancel my renter's insurance, but there doesn't appear to be a way I can find to do this on the website.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great company

Written on5/22/14
Customer avatar
Krystopher Berry
fromFort Campbell, KY
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Love the things you all do for me and my family. The service youi provide is amazing. and I would not want to go any where else.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

I am done with USAA

Written on4/10/14
Customer avatar
Finally had enough
fromMacon, GA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have been a member of USAA for a very long time and I am now finally giving up. I am done with USAA. My business will go else where. They do not want to cover anything they say they will cover. I have had problems with claims on vehicles and now renters insurance. I no longer trust or reccomend this insuance for any one.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great coveage bad deductible

Written on4/10/14
Customer avatar
nonzeroarkon
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I'm writing this to in form the people with one start reviews that you have to ask them over the phone to cover falls, thrown or accidental damage to TV's, Computers, etc.
Overall it took less then 24 hours for the replacement money to enter my account and I would recommend this service to everyone.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Wasted

Written on3/29/14
Customer avatar
MooreMW
fromLuke
Military Branch:Air Force
I suggest you do not waste your money on their rental policy it does not protect broken items, only stolen.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

SERIOUSLY?

Written on3/2/14
Customer avatar
schmoo11
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Even after my last post about USAA lying to me when I continued the policy even after moving for several months as I was advised it would cover damage during moves (USAA REFUSED TO HONOR THIS CLAIMING IT ONLY COVERS FIRE AND THEFT, which is not what the website states either) I asked for a refund and closure of the policy they still HAVENT done it?! But I did get THREE calls asking to help so they could push to the CEO? Yea right. their idea of help was oh ok sorry to hear that....CLOSE MY POLICY! It was given to me under false pretenses and I want it refunded. Dont call me unless you have something positive that your going to do about it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Renter insurance is very limited

Written on2/26/14
Customer avatar
Lia More
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
We had a major toxic mold problem in our rental, we are currently living in a hotel and were told by a professional mold expert our belongings cannot be salvaged. We have been paying for their premium rental insurance for years and have never had to use it. Now that we have a problem, nothing is covered. Not our hotel or any of our belongings. :(
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best insurance I've ever had

Written on2/7/14
Customer avatar
wmiller98444
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We were hit with a massive claim from Hurricane Irene a few years ago. We were renting a townhouse and a tree split our top floor in half. Within the first hour of notifying USAA of this, we had money in our account to assist with food and hotels (our home was obviously unlivable). The best recommendation I can give to anyone is to take photos of the contents of your home (inside and out) prior to an event like this--it made the claim process SO EASY! All we did was take after-photos when we were able to, as well as proof of the home being condemned. Everything else was quickly and professionally taken care of by USAA. Though we lost all of our posessions, the process was so quick and easy that it assuaged our fears about going through such an emotional event. Both my husband and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND using USAA for insurance--you can't go wrong!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

USAA will not cover belongings at work on post.

Written on2/5/14
Customer avatar
MKLeggett
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Guess what- if your belongings at work are damaged, your homeowners or renters policy DOES NOT cover them. My husband had $1000-2000 of medical books destroyed by water at his work office, but because they are considered "business" items and not stored at home, they are not covered. AT ALL. Time to either clear out your office or change your renters policy company, since USAA does not cover your belongings no matter where in the world that you are (which is what they say they do). Please share this- this is absolutely ridiculous and sad, and I want all my fellow medical military friends who keep reference material in their office to know USAA's policy on this.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.