USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_renters Renters Insurance

brand_insurance_home_renters Renters Insurance

Overall rating:
4.31 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(349 reviews) 278
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 349 reviews
5 Stars
265
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
12
1 Star
42
288 out of 34983%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Renters Insurance
Review 1 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Services Provided

Written on8/22/14
Customer avatar
Ellabelle
Military Affiliation:Family
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Really pleased with the services that have been provided. Polite and well mannered agents. I carry various services with USAA and with each time I have had a question the helpfulness and accurate knowledge provided has been a step above and beyond. Thank you USAA.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent coverage and service

Written on4/10/14
Customer avatar
Bostonite
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
A few years ago, soon after we moved into our first apartment, we were broken into and had two computers, an ipod, a wallet and a few other items stolen from our living room while we were asleep in the other room. Luckily we had renters insurance. USAA responded immediately and covered each of the items we claimed, even reimbursing the cost to get a new license! The burglary was upsetting but USAA's swift and kind coverage made it much easier to deal with. Highly, highly recommended.
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

renters

Written on7/29/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Don't even bother with usaa for this we made a few claims like we pcsed to guam and movers stole stuff and two food spoilage claims only because we has just went shopping and lost everything $5.00 for not even a gallon of milk ya you would have called too. To make a long story short i get a letter in the mail telling me they are dropping me to secure insurance with a local agent so I call get a jerk on the phone who tells me insurance is not meant for things like that its meant for fires and big stuff like that so why do I pay for something I can't use?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/30/15
Justin Merchant,

Sounds like there's an opportunity here to hit the "reset" button and have a more fruitful conversation respecting the non-renewal notice. A specialist from our underwriting team will be contacting you to address your concerns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Undeniably the best!

Written on7/22/15
Customer avatar
morenachica
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have had USAA's renter's insurance for years. We never had any issues updating our policy, changing addresses, etc. We've always received USAA's amazing customer service. Last year we experienced a fire in our apartment building due to lightning. I had absolutely no idea what to do. So I called USAA and received the best customer service of my life (I wish I could remember the lady's name). She took care of everything, was concerned about our safety (and not just money!), and provided emotional support while we dealt with this issue. They told us exactly what we needed to do, they provided the services of the best third party company for restoration, and made sure we were taken care of every step of the way. We received our money faster than probably anyone else in our building (who had other insurance). If you are concerned about this service, don't be. This is something that you NEED. Definitely recommend USAA and will keep them when we finally buy a home. Thank you USAA!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/23/15
Morenachica,

Oh what a traumatic experience you endured! I did some research and found the young lady you referenced as providing you with such great service her name is Lindsay. Here at USAA, we are committed to providing the best service in the industry and appreciate it when members like yourself inform for us of how we are doing! I will pass along your kind words to both Lindsay and her supervisor.

Have a great Thursday!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Renter Insurance

Written on7/15/15
Customer avatar
djsanti1
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I didn't ask for my neighbor to burn their apartment. Nor did I ask the firefighters to waterlog my apartment putting out the fire. So I didn't need your claim agent telling me I was close minded and needed to get a personal loan to find myself another apartment, because I had 3 weeks to vacate the hotel. She did not care of the situation I am now placed in. One of the claim agents was extremely disrespectful and not up to the standards I have known USAA to have. They are more concerned with saving USAA money and not in the best interest of the customer. I am not in a good financial place for this to have happened at this time, which is why I have insurance to cover me. I am not looking to make money, but nor am I looking to lose money. I expect USAA to stand up and support me in my time of need, this is what I have been paying for. I am truly disappointment with USAA's behavior on this claim and surprised to have been treated this way!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/16/15
DJSANTI1,

I'm terribly sorry to read about your loss experience. I pray that you and no one else involved were injured. Your feedback regarding your recent interaction with a claims specialist is concerning, as this is not indicative of how we conduct business. I'm reviewing the claim further and will enlist the support of a claims business expert to contact you right away.

Thank you for reaching out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

$500 dollar deductible. No good.

Written on7/8/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
My renter's insurance has a $500 deductible. After my house was struck by lightning I had around $400 in damage, needless to say I got nothing out of it. I'm really glad I am mandated to have renters insurance which is proving to be utterly useless.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/9/15
Dylan -

Despite your most recent loss, glad to know that you sustained minimal damages. I have asked that a representative reach out to you to review your policy and discuss the option of modifying your deductible for future losses (if you desire).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

No Hassle

Written on6/20/15
Customer avatar
SGTGB
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA reps were welcoming and very professional in the store. Once we got inside the booth for the teleconference the rep was extremely AWESOME! Filing our first ever claim was quick, painless, and well done.
The money came within 24hours, too.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA6/22/15
SGTGB,

Alright now! That's how filing a claim should be - quick, efficient and minimal stress involved. Thanks for sharing your recent claims experiene.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I'm so proud to read such a rare forum.

Written on6/10/15
Customer avatar
jslmsn
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
It's so extremely rare, almost nonexistent, to go onto a community page... Read an extremely poor review, where with most ANY OTHER FORUM the administration would simply blow off the ugly, occasionally irrational comments, by chalking it up to "human emotion" and the need to vent, due to rejection or miscommunication.
But, instead, USAA actually PROVES the comments ARE not ignored, yet quite the opposite!!
Please accept my heartfelt "Thank you" for helping those, regardless of the facts; and more having to do with the way USAA has always BEEN THERE, with the willingness to help those who don't know where to turn to, next.
Thank you!!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/11/15
Jslmsn,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind words! We strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time no matter the channel of communication. We really do appreciate all feedback whether it is positive or negative!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Florida Homeowners

Written on5/28/15
Customer avatar
biggsisback
fromTampa
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Wish I had home owners insurance through USAA in Florida. USAA operates one of their HQs from my area in Tampa and can't insure me due to they avoid Florida homeowners like the plague. If you PCS to FL from another state, be advised, the first home you own is the only home you can insure with USAA based on a PCS move. Retire and change homes like I did in Florida and say good BYE!
.
USAA takes care of us and we them...just NOT in Florida. Maybe the wake-up call is coming, maybe not. Send a message to them you want coverage in Florida!!!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/28/15
Biggsisback,

Here at USAA we're continually looking for opportunities to expand our homeowners coverage there in the state of Florida. With the addition of Geo-hazard technology, we're able to better underwrite properties in areas of concern for coastal storm damage, high winds and sinkhole activity.

I have asked that a homeowner specialist pull your recent quote and give you a call to discuss what options may be available to you today. Thank you for reaching out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

renters insurance cancelled

Written on5/26/15
Customer avatar
pkolp
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Our extended family has been with USAA for decades. When I signed up for renters insurance I thought this would be good for our family. I was wrong. Like other reviewers I received notice that our policy would be cancelled b/c we had 3 claims in 3 years. Now, we have had renters insurance for years and years....and never a claim. We had a string of bad luck over the last 3 years. the agents we worked with during these claims never even bothered to educate us that this would be "counted against us". How is this possible? Is it my fault for not reading all the "underwriting terms". Probably. But given the litany of other "services" USAA is trying to promote why would they not even try to help us on this? Last, if you were to look at the 10-15+ years of us having renters insurance this "sample" over the last 3 years would not be representative of our TRUE history. And we should not be considered a "high risk" ......So USAA what is your response to this?
~Respectfully, Paul
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/27/15
Pkolp,

Claims activity is a major variable considered each renewal. Your annual premium could be impacted in the form of a surcharge. In some cases, the policy may be non-renewed due to frequency and trend of losses filed. If there’s extenuating circumstance related to a loss/es that you would like considered, you can appeal the decision. The nonrenewal notice provides you the name and direct contact number of the underwriter who reviewed your policy. To help expedite things for you, I have notified underwriting of your concerns shared and asked for a representative to review your file and then contact directly. Thanking for reaching out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Thoroughly Disappointed

Written on5/11/15
Customer avatar
The Hares
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
After experiencing a house fire and all the emotions that come along with it, I thought I had piece of mind in having USAA renter's insurance. Not so much. I have left voicemails with some being returned days later and others not. I have posted in the online claim center, only to have a random note posted by another adjuster saying they will pass it along. Then my adjuster has a medical issue and is out for a while and cannot talk on the phone. So I keep using the online claim center and many questions still go unanswered today. My claim started in March, it's May now and I am still waiting for this to be resolved so I can start my life again. Looking at buying a house now and WILL NOT be using USAA for home owners insurance. Switching companies and closing all accounts after this ordeal. Wish I could provide even more detail as this has been aggravating to say the least.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy Moderator USAA5/12/15
The Hares,

I am sorry to hear that you have had such a difficult time getting immediate assistance with your claim. I have contacted the Claims Service Manager and requested she contact you today.

Thank you for reaching out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

It has the potential to be better...

Written on4/30/15
Customer avatar
PerryFamily
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
When my husband and I first started banking with USAA, we thought they were great. Our insurance was with them for an affordable price and we decided later (after a household issue) to add rental insurance. That was our undoing... Our rental insurance was affordable but after using it 3 times, we were told that they were not allowing us to renew our policy. Had they told us, when we filed claims, that we would be penalized for using it, we would have sought a different venue (with our housing agency) to be reimbursed. However, they did not. We've called and tried talking to Customer Service but each time we do the person we speak to is rude, short and refuses to help us. Our complaints are simple: being removed as customers for filing "too many" claims (that were each needed) and being charged ridiculous interest fees on a credit card we're trying to pay off. We've not used that card in months, trying to pay it down and yet the interest charges continue to stack up.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/5/15
PerryFamily,

Thank you for reaching out and sharing your concerns. A bank representative is looking into your banking concerns; and an insurance specialist will take a look into your renter's policy and follow-up with you shortly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Replacement Value?

Written on4/25/15
Customer avatar
Robert4
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
If you expect full replacement value, be advised depreciation is applied. In my case, 'full" does not mean "full."
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA4/27/15
Robert4,

In order to better assist you, I have asked for an international specialist to reach out and call you to obtain additional details.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Experience

Written on3/31/15
Customer avatar
DCroswhite
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
From customer service, online acess, to products USAA is the best banking experience I've had.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA4/1/15
Thank you for the compliment! We strive each and every day to provide our members with exceptional service and highly competitive products.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Proof of renters insurance

Written on3/18/15
Customer avatar
costergaard
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Why does the proof of renters insurance - the only way to print it out - not have my name on it? That's not helpful for me to "prove" I have insurance.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/19/15
Costergaard,

Mystery solved! If you pulled up the Account Summary page for the Renters Policy and clicked the "Print" button (located in the top right corner by the date) then you got a screen shot of what's on that page.

Now go back to the Account Summary screen and on the left side under your address you'll see the “View and Print Proof of Renters Insurance” PDF option. Here is where you can view and print off the confirmation of renters coverage document that includes your name, address, coverage effective dates and limits. I posted a copy of the document for you on .com under Documents. Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I have no complaints "AT ALL" and all praise.

Written on2/23/15
Customer avatar
SFC (R) McCormick
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have conducted traffic accident investigations and during that time I noticed how fast USAA got help to their customers who needed them. I had an incident where I needed USAA involving a broken windows in the house that I rent, and they came through promptly. 90% of my banking business is with USAA and I am trying to get to 100%.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/23/15
What a way to warm up this Monday morning! Thank you so much for sharing your kind words! We're committed to providing the best service in the industry and appreciate when our members inform for us of how we are doing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

No one offers better customer service

Written on1/22/15
Customer avatar
Sailortex
fromReading, PA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
When we lost power to our apartment while on vacation our friends did us the huge favor of unloading and airing out our fridge and apartment before we returned. Every meat, cheese, vegetable and condiment needed to be replaced. On a hunch, we called USAA and asked if we were covered (by our renter's policy) and we were. We estimated our loss and provided it to the USAA associate and received a check in the mail only 2 days later. It was the only time in our 20+ years of military experience when we did not dread replacing all the condiments and 'essentials' like we normally would after a PCS move. USAA makes placing a claim guilt-free and easy as pie. Thank you USAA!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA1/29/15
Thank you for the shout out, but most of all, thank you for being a member!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Was Lied to

Written on12/16/14
Customer avatar
TheWelshman
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I had USAA renters insurance for 6 years. Over that time, USAA doubled my premium without ever notifying they were going to do so. Finally I had enough and called in to cancel. The representative kept me on the phone for over 45 minutes trying to convince me not to cancel. Finally I agreed to keep the policy in place until I found another one. He then said I could call back and cancel the policy to the date I had called. I found another policy within a week that was HALF THE PRICE WITH THE EXACT SAME COVERAGE. I called back in to cancel and imagine my surprise when USAA WOULD NOT KEEP THEIR WORD. To add insult to injury they took about $10 off the premium I had just barely paid for the 2 days into the period I had just come. Terrible service and dishonesty, I will never use USAA for anything again. Goodbye USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator12/17/14
We cannot apologize enough for this experience, and we understand why you are upset. We appreciate your feedback and a specialist will be in contact with you to further review this issue and provide you the best assistance.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Stolen Bagpack =*(

Written on11/7/14
Customer avatar
Honinbou
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was on vacation about 1000 miles from home, when at a music festival my backpack as stolen with a lot of valuables in it [tablet, cell phone, clothing/jewelry, etc.]. Fortunately, I had renter's insurance and within 3 days USAA had a check that covered the costs of all my lost items as if they were NEW retail value. They saved my butt.
I don't know yet if my premiums will go up, but so far I am very pleased with this policy.
Most people seem to be confusing renter's insurance and thinking it covers damaged/misplaced items, but it really is for theft protection it seems.
Thanks USAA
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Re: website needs improved functionality

Written on6/25/14
Customer avatar
RD Allison
fromSan Diego, CA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I'd like to cancel my renter's insurance, but there doesn't appear to be a way I can find to do this on the website.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next Page>>