USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_renters Renters Insurance

brand_insurance_home_renters Renters Insurance

Overall rating:
4.382 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(327 reviews) 258
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 327 reviews
5 Stars
255
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
10
1 Star
35
275 out of 32784%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Renters Insurance
Review 1 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

I am done with USAA

Written on4/10/14
Customer avatar
Finally had enough
fromMacon, GA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have been a member of USAA for a very long time and I am now finally giving up. I am done with USAA. My business will go else where. They do not want to cover anything they say they will cover. I have had problems with claims on vehicles and now renters insurance. I no longer trust or reccomend this insuance for any one.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent coverage and service

Written on4/10/14
Customer avatar
Bostonite
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
A few years ago, soon after we moved into our first apartment, we were broken into and had two computers, an ipod, a wallet and a few other items stolen from our living room while we were asleep in the other room. Luckily we had renters insurance. USAA responded immediately and covered each of the items we claimed, even reimbursing the cost to get a new license! The burglary was upsetting but USAA's swift and kind coverage made it much easier to deal with. Highly, highly recommended.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great coveage bad deductible

Written on4/10/14
Customer avatar
nonzeroarkon
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I'm writing this to in form the people with one start reviews that you have to ask them over the phone to cover falls, thrown or accidental damage to TV's, Computers, etc.
Overall it took less then 24 hours for the replacement money to enter my account and I would recommend this service to everyone.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Wasted

Written on3/29/14
Customer avatar
MooreMW
fromLuke
Military Branch:Air Force
I suggest you do not waste your money on their rental policy it does not protect broken items, only stolen.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

SERIOUSLY?

Written on3/2/14
Customer avatar
schmoo11
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Even after my last post about USAA lying to me when I continued the policy even after moving for several months as I was advised it would cover damage during moves (USAA REFUSED TO HONOR THIS CLAIMING IT ONLY COVERS FIRE AND THEFT, which is not what the website states either) I asked for a refund and closure of the policy they still HAVENT done it?! But I did get THREE calls asking to help so they could push to the CEO? Yea right. their idea of help was oh ok sorry to hear that....CLOSE MY POLICY! It was given to me under false pretenses and I want it refunded. Dont call me unless you have something positive that your going to do about it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Renter insurance is very limited

Written on2/26/14
Customer avatar
Lia More
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
We had a major toxic mold problem in our rental, we are currently living in a hotel and were told by a professional mold expert our belongings cannot be salvaged. We have been paying for their premium rental insurance for years and have never had to use it. Now that we have a problem, nothing is covered. Not our hotel or any of our belongings. :(
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best insurance I've ever had

Written on2/7/14
Customer avatar
wmiller98444
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We were hit with a massive claim from Hurricane Irene a few years ago. We were renting a townhouse and a tree split our top floor in half. Within the first hour of notifying USAA of this, we had money in our account to assist with food and hotels (our home was obviously unlivable). The best recommendation I can give to anyone is to take photos of the contents of your home (inside and out) prior to an event like this--it made the claim process SO EASY! All we did was take after-photos when we were able to, as well as proof of the home being condemned. Everything else was quickly and professionally taken care of by USAA. Though we lost all of our posessions, the process was so quick and easy that it assuaged our fears about going through such an emotional event. Both my husband and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND using USAA for insurance--you can't go wrong!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

USAA will not cover belongings at work on post.

Written on2/5/14
Customer avatar
MKLeggett
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Guess what- if your belongings at work are damaged, your homeowners or renters policy DOES NOT cover them. My husband had $1000-2000 of medical books destroyed by water at his work office, but because they are considered "business" items and not stored at home, they are not covered. AT ALL. Time to either clear out your office or change your renters policy company, since USAA does not cover your belongings no matter where in the world that you are (which is what they say they do). Please share this- this is absolutely ridiculous and sad, and I want all my fellow medical military friends who keep reference material in their office to know USAA's policy on this.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Renters Insurance

Written on12/27/13
Customer avatar
TJNERR
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Army
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I applied for renters insurance in an apartment. A few months later it rained really bad, the rain damaged my sofa and some of my childs items . I was told to send proof and answer several questions. I did as i was told and they told me they will be calling me 24-48 hours from the time i made a claim. When they called back they told me my renters insurance doesn't cover my damaged because the rain didn't "gradually" come in. It was diappointing because I thought that a renters insurance would come in handy for any damages to your apt/house.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I wouldn't trust any other company!

Written on12/17/13
Customer avatar
Akdawna
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Marine Corps
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been with USAA for 8 years and recommend them to EVERYONE with Military affiliation! The customer service is always amazing! The money we save being with USAA is HUNDREDS a month!And coverage is something I have never had to worry about!
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So easy

Written on10/8/13
Customer avatar
amashaw
fromVirginia Beach, VA
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA made the transition to our new home so simple and fast! Thank you!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Peace of Mind!

Written on9/9/13
Customer avatar
TheSlifkas
fromVancouver, WA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Every time we call USAA they are always amazing! Not only do they help us with what we need, but they make sure that everything is taken care of and do a complete review of our account to make sure everything is updated. We are always pleased with the service we receive from them and couldn't ask for anything more! The USAA representatives are extremely friendly, happy to help, and try their very best to ensure we are taken care of.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

damaged property

Written on8/29/13
Customer avatar
laurie57
fromsan antionio tx
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
i wish i would of know that my property would not be covered under the moving process, if i would of know this, i would of cancelled my renters insurance, i found my big screen televison was broken, i was under the impression that it would be covered, since it says stolen or damaged property on my policy. if this is the case, please cancel my insurance (renter's) since it is of no use to me, i have my belonging in storage at this time. please let me know when you have cancelled it.
i like being with USAA, but this is of no use to me right now.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I am amazed at just how much they offer free

Written on8/10/13
Customer avatar
JANNTN
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a member almost a year now. I have accessed so much self help information that I am trying to use that to improve our chance of helping ourselves. Forms are available free. Explore the site and i believe you too will be as surprised as myself.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Renter's Insurance

Written on8/5/13
Customer avatar
Tee-Chan
fromAustin, Texas
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I just recently found out what A Grandparent/Grandchild Tea Party over Skype could do to my laptop! I filed my claim late friday and was looking to call my INS agent today (monday morning) which is so conveniently posted on MY USAA page. She was busy assisting another member but the gentleman that answered ( I need to ask his name, he was awesome!) was happy to assist with the entire process, we completed my claim including the appropriate research and documentation within 20 minutes. I can't believe how quick and easy the process was. This wasn't even a dire emergency, I can't imagine how amazing their customer service would be through something like a theft or natural disaster. Thank You USAA!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Raised my rates 36% because of a $500~ claim!

Written on7/13/13
Customer avatar
traveller1543
fromWashington, DC
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Received my rental policy renewal and they raised my rates 36% because I claimed a stolen iPhone last year. 36%?! I've been insured with USAA for over 12 years and never had a property claim until this. Evidently my "no claim discount" was withdrawn. Best part! The "no claim discount" can't be reinstated for 5 YEARS! So 5 years of 36% higher premiums. Thanks USAA! You helped me realized I should look for other insurance providers!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Customer Service

Written on6/25/13
Customer avatar
Lynn76
fromAtlanta, GA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been in a financial bind and have decided to relocate from my home to an apartment. During this stressful time, I have had to call USAA numerously to make changes to my renters insurance. Each time the representatives were excellent and considerate. My third and hopefully last person was so nice, I wish that I could call and talk with him every day. Thank you USAA for great overall service and EXCELLENT customer service! I will refer everyone to you!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Outstanding Service

Written on6/13/13
Customer avatar
Persh
fromColorado
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Due to its low cost and fantastic service... Renters insurance from USAA is highly recommended. My ATV trailer was stolen from my residence early Sunday morning. I called the non-emergency police line to report it stolen and receive a case number. I called USAA Monday morning to make a claim. Service was fantastic, as is all customer service with USAA. I received replacement funds on Tuesday. Thank You
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Incredible Service

Written on5/1/13
Customer avatar
Kira Phoenix
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was having a bad week in March. Not a few days after I had my car accident (which of course was a week after buying it), my macbook pro fell off the desk at work and cracked the motherboard. Thankfully, I was walked through the claims process and I was assured that everything would be taken care of. When there was a dispute concerning the value of my macbook, I was given the chance to prove it's worth, and the next day I had the funds deposited into my account. Thank you USAA for your help!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Renters Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Lights Out....no worries

Written on4/21/13
Customer avatar
djshadow2002
fromJBLM
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
In 2012, a snow storm hit our area which resulted in loosing out electricity for 3 days. The food in our fridge/freezer spoiled due to the power outage. All we did was call USAA in regards to our coverage and without any hassle, we received money to buy our groceries all over again. Thank you USAA for great service!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.