USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA

brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA

Overall rating:
3.613 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(913 reviews) 766
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 913 reviews
5 Stars
499
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
76
2 Stars
94
1 Star
196
570 out of 91362%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Review 1 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Constant Good Service

Written on7/29/10
Customer avatar
Member1983
fromPowhatan, VA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Had a few minutes to comment on the overall good service USAA has given us over the years. We have our homeowners, auto and mortgage through USAA. They have always been courteouse and prompt. Every way of communication (e-mail, phone, mail) has always resulted in quick and kind service. They definitely strive towards good customer service.
I recommend this product.
-146points
31of 208voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Claims Allowed Renters and Future Policies

Written on4/6/14
Customer avatar
LKGFUN251
fromVirginia Beach, VA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Policy Holders beware, USAA underwriting policy, if two claims have been made against your Homeowner or Renter's Policy USAA will not endorse future policy requests for five years.
Unfortunate victim of two car burglaries within 60 days, claims were less than $4k, Laptops and other high dollar electronics were stolen. Claims processor made no indication of such underwriting guidelines.
Attempted to buy another Homeowner's Policy fora new home and was denied coverage, based on claims against Renter's Policy.
Customer for over 10 years, no prior claims.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great insurance, coverage,features

Written on4/3/14
Customer avatar
ananaymous
fromLander Wyoming
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA is the best insurance. They give me good advice for coverage and ways to save money.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Need procedures to change

Written on4/2/14
Customer avatar
DisgustedinNO
fromNew Orleans, La
Military Affiliation:National Guard
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I live in the New Orleans area and after Hurricane Katrina most insurance companies made policy changes that make attaining home owners insurance near impossible. USAA is one of those companies. I understand that a lot of money is lost because of natural disasters but does that warrant not offering insurance to the affected area completely? Currently USAA does not, nor do their 3rd party agencies offer new home owners insurance policies to anyone living in the New Orleans area. Myself like most of you reading this review have sacrificed a lot for this country and when a company that wholeheartedly says they support us denies service to some of us, that's unfair. It has been nearly 9 years since Hurricane Katrina, its time for insurance companies including USAA to realize that the people in New Orleans aren't leaving and return to servicing the area; like the residents have returned to live here.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Written on3/26/14
Customer avatar
Member 25 years
fromArkansas
Member for over 25 years. My homeowners premium have increased every year. I don't mean 1 or 2 percent. It has been a 10 or 15 percent jump each time for the last several years. It is time to change companies.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Increasing Rates

Written on2/24/14
Customer avatar
steve_b8
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
what is up with the huge rate increases. Mine went from $515 to $600 with no claims ever on the house. USAA always used to have the best rates.....time to start looking around for new home and car insurance.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Rate Increases are Extreme

Written on2/19/14
Customer avatar
cats2014
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I purchased my home in Dec 2009 and sold in Dec 2013. My homeowners insurance increased every year since 2009. Ultimately, the premium doubled in four years. No claims were ever made against this policy. The increases need to be regulated.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Terrible Custoemr service and coverage

Written on2/19/14
Customer avatar
Tennessee Homeowner
fromAshland City, TN
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I filed a claim in September and consistently sought updates until finally receiving a denial in February. The customer service could not have been worse and this is the second time there has been a coverage related issue with USAA. The first was a plumbing leak that USAA claimed was pre-existing and the current issue is hardwood floor damage that has an uncertain cause. Due to the uncertainty of the cause, whether is is a plumbing leak, surface water, or some other moisture problem, USAA denied that claim as well. Unfortunatley I have trusted USAA with all of my financial needs and will now be switching,
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Automatic Rate increases

Written on2/16/14
Customer avatar
Woody009
fromMaryland
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Member for nine years. My homeowners premium have increased every year. I don't mean 1 or 2 percent. It has been a 10 or 15 percent jump each time. It is ironic that my taxes have gone done but my insurance premium continue to increase. I've never filed a claim and expected my charges to stabilized at some point. My mortgage company is always the first to notify me of an increase. That is so sneaky. I would like to remain a member of USAA but it is beginning to be to costly and self-serving.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Started off Good ending Bad

Written on2/13/14
Customer avatar
jejerun
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I've had Home Insurance with USAA for over 15 years. At the present time I'm having the total House remodel because I'm thinking of putting my House on the Market. I cannot live in the House at the Present time because of the repairs. There is no running water, I got Email from USAA that stated that if the House is unoccupied my coverage is limited. Why? I paid my Housing Insurance up front for a full year. They want to change the coverage in the middle of the term? I paid for full coverage I should get it throughout the Term regardless.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Home Insurance rates continue to rise too fast.

Written on2/9/14
Customer avatar
Browser
fromSouth Carolina
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Rates becoming too high. Little flexibility in setting insurance limits/coverage options. Member for over 30 years, but will be looking elsewhere due to big annual increases in an older home.
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best insurance company

Written on2/8/14
Customer avatar
ACS603
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Be it home or auto, I have had nothing but the best service from USAA. Fast service on claims, changes to policy etc.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

USAA refuses to fix my roof

Written on2/5/14
Customer avatar
rhlau93
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
When I was deployed to Iraq we had a severe hail storm that did a lot of damage to the East Tennessee area. We had quite a bit of damage to our roof and noticed that it was leaking after the storm. My wife was left to handle the claim with USAA. We had a roofer come out and give us an estimate and said the roof needed to be replaced. USAA sent out an adjuster and said the roof was fine and there was nothing wrong. We had the original contractor come out and meet with the adjuster a few days later and the USAA adjuster refused to go on the roof and look at the damage. The contractor apologized to my wife for the actions of the USAA contractor. The few times I was able to call home from my deployment and get updates my wife was extremely aggravated and stressed out from dealing with USAA. Pretty sickening considering they claim to be here for the military. Since then, we've had 2 leaks from the same place and they said nothing was wrong. Now we have termites from the leak.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Rates keep going up in huge leaps

Written on1/20/14
Customer avatar
John Morgan
fromPiedmont, South Dakota
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Bought a new home in 2010 to retire in. Good first year homeowners insurance rate with USAA. It is now 4 years later and my rates keep going up each year in very large amounts. I read where South Dakota (where I live) has low rates on average for home owners insurance. I don't understand why my rates keep rising so dramatically. No home owner claims either.
Have been with USAA for over 35 years, but the romance may be coming to and end. I am checking with other insurers at this moment.
Too bad, I really liked USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Great coverage, but rates are not competetive.

Written on1/17/14
Customer avatar
JoeB316
fromWoodstock, GA
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I have mixed feelings about USAA homeowners insurance. There customer service and coverage is top notch. However, for a new policy I recently applied for, I found that a competitor's premium was less than half of USAA's rate for similar coverage. Since I was purchasing a second home before selling my first, I actually had issues getting approved for the mortgage because of USAA's rate. Once I switched to a competitor, I was able to be approved because of the significantly lower premium.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Features

Written on1/3/14
Customer avatar
BASHELBYGIRL
fromlillington, nc
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Usaa is awesome. Customer service is great. They have helped me lower my rates and always answered my questions. I have been with them for almost 30 years. Would recommend this company to everyone!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Specific to Homeowners Insurace

Written on12/24/13
Customer avatar
jklepoer
fromAZ
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I've had USAA Auto for over 20 yrs. The few claims have been handled very well. I had my first homeowner's claim in December of this year and it has not been a good experience. I was told I could choose whoever I wanted to repair the damage, but I felt pressured to choose their preferred provider even though I had a long and trusted relationship with a local company.
To add insult to injury, I was issued a 3 party check naming myself, my HOA and my lender as the pay to the order of. I had the president of my HOA endorse the check, but that wasn't good enough. This thing just keeps getting worse. My house is still not whole and I have the potential for liens placed on it unless I can get these checks deposited. USAA customer service and my adjuster have been of little help.
All this for a $5k water remediation claim. I hate to think what it would have been if I had personal property damage.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Sole claim in 25 yrs, $200 rate increase

Written on10/31/13
Customer avatar
no
fromVirginia
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My tree fell on neighbor's $40.00 chain link fence. USAA paid $1000 to neighbor (no challenge to the repair cost). Immediately raised my insurance by $200. I was furloughed at the time of repair. It would have been cheaper for me to stiff the cable company for a month and pay cash for the fence repair. Lesson learned. I paid for a service, twice.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

USAA Homeowner Insurance Buyers Beware

Written on10/31/13
Customer avatar
TxTarheel
fromSan Antonio, TX
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Everyone needs to review, update and complain about USAA forcing insurance percentage options that aren't needed and charging for them.
USAA should be able to make recommendations but not control options offer to their customers.
I reduced my yearly by over 100 bucks by reviewing my policy. However, I am still over paying. I am being forced to take a percentage instead of an amount that is reality!
USAA only offers percentages for household items of 50 or 75% of house value. Customer should have option of amount they want to cover.
USAA only offers percentages for outlying buildings like storge barns, fencing, driveways - if you don't have these you are still forced to select 10% and if your house is valued at 200k you are paying for 20k on outlying buildings that you might not have!
USAA forces a relocation amount - customer should have option to take this or not or be able to put in amount.
These forced percentages are as bad as fees forced on customers!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes | USAA
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

service reps don't know their products

Written on10/24/13
Customer avatar
fcolo
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Recently had losses from simultaneous flood and sump pump/sewer backup. On the phone last week the USAA representative said that my homeowner's insurance would cover losses up to $10K beyond flood insurance coverage. This was comforting but WRONG! USAA homeowner's insurance now will not cover any losses from simultaneous or sequential flood and sump pump events. This ignorance was displayed by a second rep today when I submitted the sump pump claim. Yes, I should have read the new policy closer, but there is no excuse for the agents' ignorance or deception. In contrast, the flood claim rep (a subcontractor to USAA) was extremely knowledgeable and direct - no surprises there. I suspect USAA training is deficient.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.