USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

Overall rating:
3.451 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(1054 reviews) 901
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1054 reviews
5 Stars
531
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
91
2 Stars
115
1 Star
263
612 out of 105458%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Review 1 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Superb customer service

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
deuce32
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Esther in San Antonio helped me with insurance quotes. Her knowledge and professionalism are the qualities in USAA staff which keep me as a member. Please pass my highest praise on to her...she enjoys her work, is most courteous and is a great asset to the company. I'm sure she has a bright future with USAA.
Anyone can contact me for more details, if needed, to support this excellent employee. JHM
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/2/15
Deuce32,

Thank you for relaying your personal experience with one of our fantastic Member Relations Specialist. We strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time. Your comments will be shared with Ms. Esther and her supervisor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

20 years and going

Written on7/2/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We have been with USAA for over 20 years now. We have been greeted by name when we call, have been very well treated, and have had our very few claims handled before we could could take a breath. Excellent customer service.
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

What has happened to USAA?

Written on8/1/15
Customer avatar
Hoover Guy
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
My homeowner's policy premium has increased every year since I bought my current house in 2009. As a matter of fact, it has increased over 300%. This is with zero claims activity and zero changes to my house.
My personal favorite justification for these continual increases was an inspection ordered by USAA in May 2014 that caused my premiums to jump 25%. When I recently started paying attention and questioned the continual increases, I discovered the "inspector" had no clue what he was doing. He incorrectly added almost 1,000 square feet to the area of my house and claimed my house was on a partial slab/partial crawlspace foundation. Both completely incorrect.
USAA has decided to become "Super-Mega USAA" and has left common sense, customer service and great rates on the side of the road to achieve this goal. I have an offer from Costco for the same coverage for $900 less. It appears that after 31 years, USAA has left me, so it's time for me to leave USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/3/15
Hoover Guy,

Your 31 years of membership means a great deal to us. To best serve you and to address your specific concerns, I have asked for a homeowner specialist to review you policy history then contact you directly to discuss the account. Thank you for reaching out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

High Cost of Homeowners

Written on7/27/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
As I near retirement, I am concerned about the cost of my homeowners insurance. The same home has been insured with USAA for 30 years with no claims. The house is 1975-6, 2310 sq. ft., with no remodel, appraised at $155K, with market value listed at $166K. Premiums are just shy of $2,000 annually, which seems awfully expensive. I also have banking and car insurance with USAA, and excellent credit.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/28/15
RangerBarbie -

I understand your concerns about costs and am here to help! One of our finest service professionals has been assigned to give all your policies a full 360 review. You can expect a call in 1 business day.

Thank you for reaching out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Homeowners Insurance Rates

Written on7/24/15
Customer avatar
ebelow
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Almost 8 years in my current house and our premium continues to go up about $400 a year despite no claims. I've been a member for over 15 years and this is the first time I'm considering shopping around for another provider for our insurance needs. There are many other insurance companies sending out quotes for home owners insurance that are, on average, $1000 less per year.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/24/15
Dear ebelow,

We would like the opportunity to review your policies with you before you decide to make a switch. Your membership is very important to us and we would hate to lose such a valuable member. A specialist will be in contact with you for further discussion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Nearly $800 Increase in Premiums Overnight

Written on7/21/15
Customer avatar
baldeagle79
fromColorado Springs, CO
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I saw that my mortgage payment increased by over $150/month, and it turns out it's because USAA increased my premium by over $800 per year. I didn't make a claim last year, nor did our area have any serious fires, floods, or anything of the sort.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/22/15
Baldeagle79,

To best assist you, I have assigned an insurance specialist to review your homeowners policy. They'll be able to provide details into the rate increase as well as look for opportunities to possibly lower the premium. You should receive a call within the next 24-48 hours.

Thank you for reaching out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Homeowner's insurance

Written on7/20/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I just recently moved into a new home and USAA made it extremely easy to get insured! The options were very easy to choose from and when I had a question, the representatives were top notch!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

HOMEOWNERS POLICY YEARLY INCREASE

Written on7/19/15
Customer avatar
YEARLY RATE INCREASE
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Our homeowners policy is with USAA for almost 15 years and not a single claim has been filed, but I still don't understand why USAA keep increasing our rate every year. Their only explanation is the replacement value of my home in my area has increased. We saved our money, bought a small house, and paid it off, but seems like i'm still paying mortgage with USAA. Maybe it's time to start looking for other insurance company. They keep telling me to insure my cars with them to get a discount, how about "LOYALTY" discount?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/20/15
Yearly Rate Increase,

Without a thorough review of your policy, it's difficult to say what specific variable/s are triggering the rate increase. Claims activity, estimated rebuild value are two of many variables that are considered. Having both your auto and home insured will result in an auto/home discount which is pretty nice.

I have asked for an insurance specialist to review your homeowner's policy and then reach out to you to discuss your concerns and see what other opportunities for savings are available.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

What happened to USAA???

Written on7/16/15
Customer avatar
Navy Veteran 1998
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
My wife's auto premiums have gone up for the past two years with no answers (she has no claims or tickets), despite me spending hours on the phone with customer service. Well, I received my Homeowners bill recently and the premium went up over 30% with no claims. I have owned the home for ten years and it was new construction. My premiums have gone up about 5% a year (bill went from $1100 in 2005 to $1400 last year), this year the bill is nearly $2000. I spent over an hour on the phone with Quincy, the CSR and he basically couldn't tell me why the bill went up. They sent an inspector out to estimate the rebuild cost of the home and the cost that the inspector came up with was more than 30% higher than the price of a newly constructed home in my development. I have worked construction in the past and can tell you the costs are ridiculous (not even talking about the debris removal and permit fees, just the build cost). Now my premium is under review, but I'm going to look elsewhere.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/17/15
Navy Veteran 1998,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and allowing us a chance to re-address. Your comments bring to light two issues that need further review - premium increase and estimated rebuild value of your home. I've asked a product expert familiar with auto and homeowner coverage to examine both your policies in order to pinpoint the exact reasons why your premiums increased. The specialist will contact you (likely within the next business day) to review their findings plus discuss ways to offset the premium increase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Responsiveness of customer service is poor

Written on7/13/15
Customer avatar
mjt1
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have tried to file a claim for via my flood insurance and its a complete nightmare. All I get is a completer run around by the USAA guys. The claim adjuster assigned to the case is not helpful. And no one at USAA knows how to escalate a call to someone who can help.
If how they handle a flood claim is indicative of how they handle property claims, then I would highly recommend shopping elsewhere.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/14/15
mjt1,

Let's see if we can turn this matter around and get you the help you needed. I'm happy to get you elevated to a Claims Service Manager so they can review your claim and follow-up with you on how best to proceed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

4th Year Rate Increase!

Written on7/13/15
Customer avatar
skmadl
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
We have been with USAA for a very long time. Have credit cards, auto loans, car insurance, and now homeowners Insurance. I am extremely disappointed in this service, and am in the process of signing on with another homeowners carrier. In the 4 years we've owned our new home our rates have climbed $900!! No claims, excellent credit, excellent track record. Makes no sense. We can no longer afford USAA. When I wrote in about it, I received a canned "we can't help you" answer with nothing real to back up the increases, and in the last paragraph she actually mentioned car insurance... which told me they weren't even on the same page... we were discussing homeowners insurance, remember?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/13/15
Skmadl,

I retrieved a copy of your letter and the response/s provided by one of our representatives. Let me connect you with a specialist who will take a closer look at your policy and contact you directly to discuss specifics. Thank you for reaching out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Houston Area Flood Victim

Written on7/10/15
Customer avatar
1Ranger
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was recently a victim of the flooding in the Houston area; therefore I had to file a flood claim. USAA started off very slow by taking seven days to get an adjuster out to me but once they did come out, they made up immensely by resolving my claim quickly. My structural property adjuster worked with me in evaluating my home that had been completely remodeled just a little over a year ago and provided me with a very adequate quote. I even found some minor errors in the evaluation of some items and my adjuster quickly made the adjustments. Next in line was the personal property adjuster. This is where I have heard plenty of horror stories about claim holders not getting anywhere close to what “they feel” their property is worth. I do stress “what they feel”. But my experience was great. The adjuster explained to me how the property claim process works and then she got to work evaluating my property. I was extremely satisfied with USAA flood insurance.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/13/15
1Ranger,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Good to hear that your needs were met and it sounds like you are on the road to recovery! Let us know if we can be of further assistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Appraised too high and stuck with high premium

Written on7/9/15
Customer avatar
DanRRaider
fromFrisco, Texas
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I switched carriers a year ago out of frustration. They sent an appraiser to value my recently purchased house and over appraised it by double the rebuild price. While flattered, said appraised value did not coincide with the mortgage appraisal and any other comparable. I explained to no avail. I went with them because I had already closed with USAA as my carrier. I gave USAA a second chance at the end of the policy term and when they wouldn't budge on something so obvious. I switched to another carrier and saved a few thousand a year. To be fair, USAA did have a better deductible, but that was about it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/9/15
DanR Raider,

So sad to hear that you moved your homeowners to another carrier last year. USAA strives to provide highly competitive products to its members; I'm disappointed we missed the mark with you Dan. If circumstances with your current carrier should ever change, please consider giving USAA an opportunity to earn back your confidence and business.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Extremely Disappointed

Written on7/7/15
Customer avatar
John15
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have been a member for 49 years. Never had a problem with Auto insurance. This was my first homeowners claim. It was for hail damage. All the other homes had immediate response from their insurance companies. Most in a day or 2. All shingles in our development have been discontinued. My vent boots and skylight flanges were damaged. I have 8 skylights. My contractor states they will lose shingles when repairing these. Other homes had similar damage and have had their roof shingles replaced so as not to be mismatched and unsightly. Waited 2 months while they waited for an Engineers report. I asked for a copy and also asked to have my issue raised to a higher level. They sent the report, and 10 minutes later a note saying the check is in the mail (for flanges but no shingles.) So done working with me. Communication was totally lacking. So, I will have the only home in the development with non matching shingles.
I guess it is time to look at another Insurance Company. Very Unfortunate ..
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/8/15
John15,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We understand your frustration and want to help. Your feedback has been provided to a Claims Service Manager for additional review. You can expect a follow-up call shortly in hopes of getting things resolved.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Written on7/6/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
On hold with USAA right now about my homeowners. When I bought the home they were competitive at $530. Now they have bumped me up to $837 for no apparent reason. No claims, nothing! Unless they get it back under 600 I'm changing my homeowners and auto insurance today
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/7/15
Dear Ryan,

Your membership is extremely important to us! I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review both your homeowners and auto policies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

One Frustrated Customer

Written on7/5/15
Customer avatar
Sgt Van
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I am a big customer service guy and usually USAA has great customer service. We use USAA for everything and recently for the homeowners/flood insurance. The homeowners insurance was bought online (no complaints). The Flood insurance was a different story. I called for flood insurance and received a quote but needed to provide an Elevation Certificate. I sent them the documents and received another quote the next day on email for 3x the amount quoted earlier. I called back and the agent said he would look into it and call me back. He never called me back. The next agent looked at my information and then told me my paperwork was invalid. I sent that same certificate to 3 other insurance companies and not one company had any issues with the certificate. I talked to one agent they gave me email and number. Because of the customer service in the Flood department I decided to take both home and flood insurance elsewhere. So I would not suggest using the USAA flood insurance department.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/6/15
Dear Sgt Van,

We would like to review this matter before you decide to take such drastic measures. Please allow us the opportunity to do so, after which we’ll be in touch regarding the issue.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good insurence company

Written on7/1/15
Customer avatar
frank1906
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a member since 1994. Always had good customer service. I recommend USAA for anybody in the military starting out. It's sad after 20 years that I am going with a different comnpany.. It seems the premiums just keep going up, and I don't file claims. At one time, if you din't have a claim, you got a rebate, not anymore... But I will always like this company
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/2/15
Dear frank1906,

Your membership is extremely important to us! USAA considers many factors when determining premiums. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review both your homeowners and auto policies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Lost membership loyalty???

Written on7/1/15
Customer avatar
Tweeder
fromSt Petersburg, FL
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Just noticed one of my home owners policies went up yet again with no claims. I lost my loyalty discount and have no idea why. I have investments, 2 home owners policies and my auto policy. This is the last straw, I have been loyal for years. Time to move on!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/2/15
Dear Tweeder,

We would like to review this matter before you decide to take such drastic measures. Please allow us the opportunity to do so, after which we’ll be in touch regarding the issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Costs Not Justified with Loss of Customer Service

Written on6/30/15
Customer avatar
New Pages on Web Sit
fromNC
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I recently received a homeowners quote for a new home and it is excessive both in cost and coverage as compared to my current USAA policy / home, and lacks discounts for the same items such as security systems. Why the loss of value and the increase in cost to the member?
Policy cost is 65% more annually than current home while the purchase price / market value of the home is only 33% more, and that includes raising the deductible to $1,000 from $500 and the cost to rebuild / cost of living is less in the area of the new home.
This is a normal $300k single family home in the midwest, nothing fancy here.
You've already lost my mortgage business because of cost and poor customer service.
I never thought I would go elsewhere for insurance quotes.
Recommendation: restore the service and discounted cost reductions that USAA has provided for the last 25 years that I have been a USAA member.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/2/15
Dear Mr. Bunck,

Your membership is extremely important to us! USAA considers many factors when determining premiums. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review both your homeowners and auto policies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Customer Service

Written on6/16/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The customer service with this organization continues to be top notch! I recently got a Home Owner's Insurance quote and it was super easy to do and it was all over the phone! The representative was very knowledgable and professional.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 46 Next Page>>