USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

Overall rating:
3.409 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(1102 reviews) 947
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1102 reviews
5 Stars
545
4 Stars
55
3 Stars
94
2 Stars
122
1 Star
286
626 out of 110257%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Review 1 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Superb customer service

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Esther in San Antonio helped me with insurance quotes. Her knowledge and professionalism are the qualities in USAA staff which keep me as a member. Please pass my highest praise on to her...she enjoys her work, is most courteous and is a great asset to the company. I'm sure she has a bright future with USAA.
Anyone can contact me for more details, if needed, to support this excellent employee. JHM
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/2/15
Deuce32,

Thank you for relaying your personal experience with one of our fantastic Member Relations Specialist. We strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time. Your comments will be shared with Ms. Esther and her supervisor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

20 years and going

Written on7/2/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We have been with USAA for over 20 years now. We have been greeted by name when we call, have been very well treated, and have had our very few claims handled before we could could take a breath. Excellent customer service.
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

A mixed bag

Written on1/21/16
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I would actually rate banking 5, auto insurance 5 homeowners ins 2.
I recently saw my credit report and I was rated poor for insurance risk based on number of claims. The last claim they paid on my house was 2006 when they replaced my roof only after a hail storm that got most of my neighbors new roofs. usaa told me I had no damage., but when a roofer looked at my roof and called usaa back out and pointed out all the damage and they paid to have it replaced. I found that anytime you call the claims department and ask if you are covered for something, they count this as a claim. When I discovered this and called the claims department to complain, the girl there told me they had to count it as claim because it was Texas state law. I doubted this, but I did ask her why they don't warn people calling in, to call the policy department first to find out if they are covered and what their deductible is, so it doesn't count against them as a claim. She had no answer for that.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

won't be able to use them much longer...i'm so sad

Written on1/19/16
Customer avatar
fromtexas
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
i love usaa. they are just awesome. they def take care of their people and their customers. we are hoping to purchase a home that is larger here in the near future however, and the quote i got from usaa was 4000 a year for home owner's ins. def can't afford that. i know it's replacement cost, but i would rather downsize should something happen. so i'll be forced to find another company for home owner's ins. which is really depressing. i've been with usaa for 25 years! highly recommend!!!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator1/20/16
Dear allijesse,

Thank you for so much for your kind words! We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you and look further into your policy details before you decide to look elsewhere for insurance. An insurance specialist will be reaching out shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Will ALWAYS be a member

Written on1/2/16
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
So far a member for 40+ years. There is no other insurance provider as far as I'm concerned. I'll never forget the fast service USAA provided us when hit by hurricane Alicia. Speedy, no hassle claim service can be counted on no matter what the type.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

A phone call away even on christmas sunday

Written on12/28/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Great help when we were looking to save on our existing coverage with allied.
I have has USAA for 10+ years with my auto and 1 claim was effortless, my only complaint was the limited days of a car rental when the repair facility couldn't finish my car in time.
I just saved 300+ on my home insurance from what was already excellent coverage and was able to increase my coverage with USAA when making the switch with the savings.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator12/29/15
Dear JJ1988,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind words! We're delighted to hear you were satisfied with the assistance you received. You deserve the best, so we strive to provide it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Home Valuation System Questionable

Written on12/7/15
Customer avatar
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Overall my experience with USAA had been absolutely great and I have been a member for more years than I care to remember. My wife had one serious accident in those years and I could not have asked for better support from USAA. I think they hired the best lawyer in town. When the going gets rough, USAA has your back!
However, there seems to be a significant discrepancy between the home valuation system that USAA uses and outfits like Zillow. I can see a $10-20K difference perhaps, but $40-60K for a home valued under $300K? I pointed this out and didn't seem to get a satisfactory answer.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA12/8/15
Stealth Guy -

A homeowner specialist will be contacting soon to address your questions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great help finding home insurance in fl

Written on11/30/15
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Love USAA been with them in part since 18 years old. 27 years later- This is a keeper for the rest of my life
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome coverage

Written on11/27/15
Customer avatar
I love USAA
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator11/30/15
Dear Kat5,

Thank you for your kind words! We are excited to see that our members care so much for us as we do them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Ever Service Provider

Written on11/17/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We have been members of USAA for 34 years. We have always been amazed at the service they provide, whether it is Homeowners Insurance. Car Insurance, Flood Insurance (Referral), Boat Insurance, (Referral), or Claims, USAA is always top of the line. That's why we've been with them for 34 years! Thanks USAA!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator11/18/15
Dear cici1,

Thanks for trusting USAA with your business! We're proud to serve you and thrilled to hear our team is taking great care of you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Home Owners Insurance

Written on10/27/15
Customer avatar
fromMA
Military Affiliation:National Guard
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
When the winter hit in New England this past year there were so many homeowners affected by ice dams. We had 5 of them and we were cringing knowing we would have to put in a claim. I had never put in a claim before and had heard horror stories.
I have to tell you that my experience gave me much more faith in USAA. They were at my home quickly and gave me a dedicated claims rep that was always in contact. She even told me when she was going away so I wouldn't be waiting around for an answer if she wasn't in the office. She was great and easy to work with.
The claims rep always stayed in contact, followed up and took care of any concerns we had. USAA did cover our damages and our home was back to normal. The most difficult part of the damage was getting contractors to do the work.
I am very impressed with USAA's homeowners insurance.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

SHOCKED

Written on10/10/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was online reviewing my policies and saw 3 1/2 stars (out of 5) for USAA and was SHOCKED! I've been with USAA for over 20 years (consecutive for the past 10+). Once, I went to another company lured by the lower price. But, you get what you pay for and I came running back to USAA. We've called on USAA several times over the past decade and the service we've received was always OUTSTANDING. Monies paid out came within days (2-3), and never with any problems or attempts to leave us dangling in the wind. Every time I call USAA the person providing service is always kind, respectful and courteous. Currently, USAA insures our vehicles, home and valuables and we'd never look to go anywhere else. Their rates are competitive (usually less), and the times they aren't I'd say it's with good reason. Our son went with a popular company. He realized when its time to use the insurance they weren't reliable. He's now with USAA and has no complaints. You get what you pay for - go with USAA.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Roof and basement

Written on9/17/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I had two fairly large claims.
1. a flooded basement
2. My roof was blown to pieces (wind)
USAA was very thorough and paid top dollar to have the home fixed correctly, you pay a bit more for their insurance (although very competitive), but you're getting excellent coverage and when #%*! hits the fan, you're going to want to be covered well. After how they have treated me, I plan on being a member for life.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator9/18/15
Blue Lion,

Thank you very much for you feedback! We appreciate your membership.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Only Problem in with Customer Care in Home Insuran

Written on9/9/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I love this bank!
Recently I called and asked for help understanding how my Homeowners Insurance worked in practicality. I wondered if mold damage due to the water from a fireman's hose was covered. The female representative danced all around the question and never answered me directly. I kept asking and she kept avoiding. This is not like any experience I have ever had in the past.....so.....I had to knock them down one notch. Consequently I asked for a full copy of my policy, I'm reading it like a class project and I will have a million questions to be clarified when I call back. This one woman will cause a new rep. to spend hours with me........and if they are successful I'll be happy again.....AFTER many many many hours of boring reading, research and written questions and phone work. NOT GOOD. Maybe she was an agent from another insurer that just got hired and she was used to being evasive, I don't know, but I have never had that happen with USAA before.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Customer Service has been far and beyond excelent

Written on9/4/15
Customer avatar
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
To all USAA Personnel
The services that I have received has been excellent. When I had an issue happen that was not my fault, USAA stepped in and helped me resolve it. When I fellow agent made changes unacceptable to me I sent an e-mail and received a phone call and with in a short time it was resolved. I have never had such faith in a company that looks out for their clients.
Thank you USAA for your unwavering support and providing me with the coverage I need.
God bless to all
1SG
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator9/8/15
Dear 1SG,

Thanks for trusting USAA with your business. We're proud to serve you and thrilled to hear our team is taking great care of you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Homeowner's insurance

Written on7/20/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I just recently moved into a new home and USAA made it extremely easy to get insured! The options were very easy to choose from and when I had a question, the representatives were top notch!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Houston Area Flood Victim

Written on7/10/15
Customer avatar
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was recently a victim of the flooding in the Houston area; therefore I had to file a flood claim. USAA started off very slow by taking seven days to get an adjuster out to me but once they did come out, they made up immensely by resolving my claim quickly. My structural property adjuster worked with me in evaluating my home that had been completely remodeled just a little over a year ago and provided me with a very adequate quote. I even found some minor errors in the evaluation of some items and my adjuster quickly made the adjustments. Next in line was the personal property adjuster. This is where I have heard plenty of horror stories about claim holders not getting anywhere close to what “they feel” their property is worth. I do stress “what they feel”. But my experience was great. The adjuster explained to me how the property claim process works and then she got to work evaluating my property. I was extremely satisfied with USAA flood insurance.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/13/15
1Ranger,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Good to hear that your needs were met and it sounds like you are on the road to recovery! Let us know if we can be of further assistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Customer Service

Written on6/16/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The customer service with this organization continues to be top notch! I recently got a Home Owner's Insurance quote and it was super easy to do and it was all over the phone! The representative was very knowledgable and professional.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

NOT WORRIED

Written on6/8/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
When disaster strikes and all the other insurance companies take cover, I have no fear because I have USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA delivers again!

Written on6/8/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have used USAA my entire life... for banking, auto insurance, personal property insurance, renters/homeowner's insurance, and other services. I would imagine mostly everyone buys insurance hoping to never have to use it. However, if one ever does have to use it, I would also imagine it is stressful to most thinking about dealing with the claims process. Unfortunately, I have had four instances in the past few years where I have had to use my insurance..... but thankfully, having USAA, each claim process has been extremely efficient, incredibly easy, and about as low stress as I would imagine an insurance claim can be. Yes, some USAA policies are more expensive than others out there. But to me, it is well worth it, because I can drive, sleep, and live with less worry knowing USAA will be there to deliver if ever needed!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/9/15
SIB,

Thank you for the compliment and informing us of how we are doing!! We really do appreciate when our member’s take time out of their busy schedules to share their feedback, good or bad. Your membership and loyalty are greatly appreciated!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 48 Next Page>>