USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

Overall rating:
3.474 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(1027 reviews) 874
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1027 reviews
5 Stars
525
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
88
2 Stars
112
1 Star
251
605 out of 102759%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Review 1 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Superb customer service

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
deuce32
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Esther in San Antonio helped me with insurance quotes. Her knowledge and professionalism are the qualities in USAA staff which keep me as a member. Please pass my highest praise on to her...she enjoys her work, is most courteous and is a great asset to the company. I'm sure she has a bright future with USAA.
Anyone can contact me for more details, if needed, to support this excellent employee. JHM
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/2/15
Deuce32,

Thank you for relaying your personal experience with one of our fantastic Member Relations Specialist. We strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time. Your comments will be shared with Ms. Esther and her supervisor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Top Notch Customer Service

Written on7/10/14
Customer avatar
RFM
fromCrofton, MD
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am consistently blown away by USAA's customer service.
I called USAA this afternoon with my hair figuratively on fire because my wife and I are moving. We're only moving within the state, but we were hit rather hard by home prices going down, so we're planning on renting out our previous residence.
The person I spoke with not only set us up with a policy for the new home and the rental, but she also noticed that my wife (we were just married four months ago) was still listed as my fiancée. The marital change helped us save a bit of money on the policies than we would of without the change.
That extra little bit of attention to detail is what keeps me with USAA because it makes me feel like someone is looking out for me rather than just the bottom line.
I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

20 years and going

Written on7/2/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We have been with USAA for over 20 years now. We have been greeted by name when we call, have been very well treated, and have had our very few claims handled before we could could take a breath. Excellent customer service.
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Customer Service Is Fantatic

Written on5/22/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have to thank Patricia for her time and efforts in getting me quotes for homeowners' and auto insurance. She went the extra mile.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Careful when you make a claim

Written on5/21/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
USAA usually hits the nail on the head, but be aware - if you make a claim on your homeowners insurance they may not renew your coverage. We PCS'd to VA and because we had an open liability claim, they denied our renewal. Not an increase in monthly payments or higher deductibles, just a straight up denial. They value customer care, but as a 13 year member I was surprised there was nothing they could do for me. We moved to another insurer, and sure enough - the premiums are cheaper.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/22/15
Brian -

Sorry to hear that USAA was not able to write your new homeowner's policy. Depending on the severity and circumstances of the liability claim, this could impact our ability to continue coverage. I have asked for a specialist to look into your concerns further and reach out to you personally to talk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Premium Increase / Claim.

Written on5/19/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Recently had to replace roof utilizing a Claim with USAA. Was handled quickly, professionally with no problems. My complaint, I guess complaint is, shortly after my claim was paid out, my Annual Insurance Policy Premium was due and billed to my Escrow. It had increased by come $1700.00. I was in total shock. My Escrow paid the Premium, however, I was over and had to pay the extra back into the escrow. Upon talking with a Customer Service Agent it was explained that along with the Claim, Annual insurance rate had increased. This put me in a financial bind, unexpected to where I had no choice but readjust my policy deductions and deductibles. Just wanted to voice my view on this, otherwise I love USAA!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/19/15
Dear KENNETH HAYS,

Your membership is extremely important to us! USAA considers many factors when determining premiums; claims activity is just one factor. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review both your homeowners and auto policies.

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

After 28 years I'm leaving

Written on5/18/15
Customer avatar
Super Sniper
fromColorado Springs, CO
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
USAA is not what it used to be. Premiums are not competitive anymore, and customer service is disgraceful.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/19/15
Super Sniper,

I'm sorry to hear that we failed to leave up to your expectations. I would like a chance to look into your concerns further to see if we can find a way to restore your confidence in USAA. We will be in contact with you shortly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Very Disappointed

Written on5/18/15
Customer avatar
Marine wife 1
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
My husband has been a member for the last 21 years, and I have been for 15 years. The military is moving us to Louisiana, by no choice of our own, and we were looking to buy a house there, because the rental prices are so high. We found a great house and are ready to put an offer in, so I wanted to get a homeowners insurance quote. Needless to say, I was floored by the quote I received. I have friends down there and they don't pay that much for their insurance, so the only reasonable conclusion that I can come to is that it is because we had claims. I thought that was what insurance was for. I didn't realize that to keep homeowners insurance costs down I should really just pay out of pocket for all repairs. I am highly disappointed and we are left with no other choice, but to shop around. Otherwise we will not be able to buy the house we love. After reading many reviews it seems that I am not the only one. I have always loved USAA, so this makes me very sad.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/19/15
Marine Wife 1,

First, congratulations on finding your dream home! Regarding your concern about obtaining homeowners insurance, allow us an opportunity to review your account to see if there's anything additional we can do. You and your husband have been with USAA for such a long time, we would hate to lose you. Hold tight, I have assigned a specialist to your account and asked that they contact you within 24 hours.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing Service As Always

Written on5/15/15
Customer avatar
Pafields
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a USAA member for decades. I remain impressed by the quality of service and knowledge of everyone we speak to! Always top notch!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Insurance is great-Until you have to use it!

Written on5/15/15
Customer avatar
SAL1
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Had been a loyal USAA Customer for close to 20 years (Home, Car, Credit Card, and College Savings)... In the Northeast we had a horrible winter- Snow, Ice, etc- which led to significant damage on my home. Claims process was slow... But I was patient.... Received a call yesterday from an underwriter telling me they would not renew my policy because of roof damage (no kidding- Ice Dams, cause Roof Repair).... Never asked if I was getting it fixed-(which I was) just told me I need to find new insurance as of 7.12
So much for customer loyalty- I thought USAA was different. Just a fraud company, dropping loyal members with little to no regard for their well-being.
Again- great company- until you have to actually use the services you've been paying for. Buyer Beware
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/18/15
SAL1,

Thank you reaching out. I have asked for an Underwriting specialist to reach out to you regarding the mitigation repairs you have done and see if we can make things right for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Bait and Switch

Written on5/15/15
Customer avatar
tgsapo
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Hard to believe that our premium increased $500 per year because we filed a claim for $2500 worth of water damage. Thought Homeowner's Insurance was there to protect, not swindle. If it wasn't for the earthquake coverage...
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/18/15
TGSAPO,

USAA considers many factors when determining premiums; claims activity is just one factor. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review your homeowners. Thank you for reaching out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So far Ahead of Other Companies

Written on5/14/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Other insurance agencies are suppose to be more "personable" because they have agents but are actually much harder to get in contact with and access information. I still get notified via mail with my homeowner's and it is hard to get information other than that. I love how I can contact any number with USAA and they have all my information. I can get an email, fax, text etc. without having to have a walking filing cabinet with all my information in it at all times. I am a millennial that just doesn't agree with my parents or grandparents approach to handling insurance by having to go talk to someone 3 hours, going out of my way. I want my insurance to go out of their way so I don't have to and this is all included with USAA.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/18/15
SISSY,

Thanks for trusting USAA with your business. We're proud to serve you and thrilled to hear our team is taking great care of you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Why no answers to rate increase questions?

Written on5/12/15
Customer avatar
Foxiam
fromSouth Hadley, MA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I was considering adding USAA Homeowners insurance to the auto and life insurance I have with them. Looking at the customer reviews, many have complained about two each 20% rate increases over two years with NO explanation or justification of the increases from USAA. Every complaint or issue brought up on the website is first closely vetted and then given a "We'll look into it and get back to you" type answer. If there is a frequently asked question, especially on subject like large rate increases without apparent cause, why is there no effort made to formulate an answer discussing the reasons, for ex. "we insure a higher than average number of homes near a coast or exposed to hurricane activity", or some other explanation that allows that the customer possesses some intelligence, fairness of judgement and understanding of insurance? We need a lot more TRANSPARENCY from USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/13/15
Foxiam –

Good question! Here at USAA we believe in transparency and continually seek ways to improve how we communicate to our members. In reference to your question about rate increases – no two accounts are the same. There are multiple variables that are considered when a homeowner policy is presented for renewal: claims history, state specific rate revisions, age & size of home, a member’s depth of products and home rebuild value just to name a few.

Typically 2 months prior to a policy renewing, members will receive their policy which we encourage them to review. The main page of the renewal reflects “Important Changes” that are bulleted out giving the member an overview of any major changes to their policy. If a member desires further explanation of their policy they are encouraged to:

• Contact USAA and speak with a representative who can conduct a full policy review and answer any questions, or go online to review their policy and adjust coverage accordingly.

Out of respect for our members’ privacy, we do not publish personal details related to their policies on this site. As a moderator, we will acknowledge feedback shared (positive or negative) and ensure a specialist best suited for the line of business in question is assigned in order to research the matter and then personally contact the member.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Very Poor Electronic Support

Written on5/12/15
Customer avatar
dxthomas
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I cannot tell if I still have home owners insurance with USAA or not. There is no feedback from USAA. Not sure if bank is making payments or what? Have to do the research to see if I am even covered any more. USAA is a dinosaur technically. They making doing business with them too hard.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/12/15
Good day DXTHOMAS,

A quick review of your account does show that you have an active homeowners policy. You can confirm this by logging on to usaa.com. Once logged in, under the My Accounts tab, scroll down to the Insurance section where you will see the Homeowners option. Click and there you will find all the information you're seeking.

To make sure your concerns have been addressed, I've asked a specialist to contact you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Lacks flexibility to tailor a policy

Written on5/11/15
Customer avatar
mdshaffer
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
USAA seems to believe they know better than the member how much it will take to rebuild your house in the event of a total loss. As a result they only offer cookie-cutter policies based on their formulas. In my case this results in more insurance for my dwelling and personal property than I need or want, driving up my annual homeowner insurance cost.
As background, I purchased the land separately and contracted with a builder to build the house. I know exactly how much it cost to do so in 2007. In 2014, I met with a builder that I would want to use and got a good solid estimate to rebuild a (larger) house on the land, including debris removal. But I can't tailor a policy to fit that need. I have to fit inside the box as the range of options is limited. Thus every year I seem to have a lengthy discussion and come away not totally satisfied.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

rates can change due to arbitrary criteria

Written on5/9/15
Customer avatar
bad 1
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Received a notice my roof was last replaced in 99 so we are raising rates for that and increased replacement costs. There is not a way to show roof is coated annually and replacement costs have remained the same.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

This product is troublesome

Written on5/2/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Overall USAA is fantastic however the Home Owner's Insurance setup I have is problematic. USAA connects me with the American Family Home Insurance Company and every year I receive notices about "non-payment of premium". I usually have to call 3-4 times and still don't leave the call confident that things are being handled. This year, after being assured all will be taken care of I have received a Policy Cancellation notice for lack of premium payment. I have provided feedback to the phone reps at USAA but that feedback doesn't appear to be going anywhere. This needs to be fixed.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy Moderator USAA5/4/15
Karl,

Thank you for reaching out and providing feedback. I can understand your frustration and I want to make sure this matter is addressed once and for all. Allow us opportunity to look into this deeper and a manager will be following back up with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

What happened to usaa

Written on5/1/15
Customer avatar
Mikelt2
fromChicagoland
Three calls. Five hours on the phone to transfer my current policy and establish a new home owners policy. Every premium estimate is different. 35% more than comparable policies from other agencies. No effort to keep a long time customer. This is not the company that I am used to doing business with so I won't anymore.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/4/15
MikeIt2,

I'm sorry to hear that you had such a hard time transitioning your homeowner's policy. In order to best assist you and hopefully regain your trust, I have asked one our homeowner specialist to take a look at the quotes we've provided and any other competitor quotes you may have provided us. Thank you for reaching out and allowing us a chance to make things right.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Home Owners My Opinion Apples vs Oranges | Texas

Written on5/1/15
Customer avatar
trilly
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Yes. There are opportunities to save on homeowners insurance. It is not without a level of risk. The risk is all upon your coverage comfort level. One of several thing in a recent hunt for 'savings' at least in Texas as I understand it is USAA provides a "open perils" policy vs a "named perils" policy and full cash value vs a pro-rated cash value. Read and Research! This is also the comparison cost gap in competition premium savings. Well worth the piece of mind to most. Make sure policies are Apples to Apples and not Apples to Oranges. That great savings you hear from the competition are the oranges or 'name perils' and cash value policies. Read the fine print and if you are willing to take that annual premiums savings risk. Unfortunately/generally tenure seems to carry very little weight. 2x years here. Unfortunately I've learned it seems to comes down to how many claims you have had in the past 5 years from today. No matter the type or cost even if they are beyond your control.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Customer Service!

Written on4/30/15
Customer avatar
Sharleen1
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Thank you USAA for your prompt and professional service so that I could get my new homeowner's insurance in place before I closed. This save me a lot compared to my prior carrier. Three employees worked very hard to make sure I got what I needed in one day!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/1/15
Sharleen1,

CONGRATULATIONS on your recent home purchase! I too am in the process of closing on my home and understand how costly things can get when trying to move. I'm happy to hear we were able to save you $$$ and get you insured by closing. I'll make sure the three represenatives who helped you are acknowledged for their excellent service!

Make sure you take a little bit of that savings and treat yourself to a nice dinner once you're settled! Have a great weekend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.