USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

Overall rating:
3.504 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(1000 reviews) 849
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1000 reviews
5 Stars
519
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
85
2 Stars
108
1 Star
238
596 out of 100060%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Review 1 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Superb customer service

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
deuce32
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Esther in San Antonio helped me with insurance quotes. Her knowledge and professionalism are the qualities in USAA staff which keep me as a member. Please pass my highest praise on to her...she enjoys her work, is most courteous and is a great asset to the company. I'm sure she has a bright future with USAA.
Anyone can contact me for more details, if needed, to support this excellent employee. JHM
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/2/15
Deuce32,

Thank you for relaying your personal experience with one of our fantastic Member Relations Specialist. We strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time. Your comments will be shared with Ms. Esther and her supervisor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Top Notch Customer Service

Written on7/10/14
Customer avatar
RFM
fromCrofton, MD
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am consistently blown away by USAA's customer service.
I called USAA this afternoon with my hair figuratively on fire because my wife and I are moving. We're only moving within the state, but we were hit rather hard by home prices going down, so we're planning on renting out our previous residence.
The person I spoke with not only set us up with a policy for the new home and the rental, but she also noticed that my wife (we were just married four months ago) was still listed as my fiancée. The marital change helped us save a bit of money on the policies than we would of without the change.
That extra little bit of attention to detail is what keeps me with USAA because it makes me feel like someone is looking out for me rather than just the bottom line.
I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

20 years and going

Written on7/2/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We have been with USAA for over 20 years now. We have been greeted by name when we call, have been very well treated, and have had our very few claims handled before we could could take a breath. Excellent customer service.
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Bad Rules

Written on4/15/15
Customer avatar
Captain7
fromS. W. Florida
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Been a menber since 1959.
Home & Car
Moving and will not write on new house.
Will CNX existing policy because of renting house.
Yes, we do live in Florida.
Still a Bad Rap!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA4/16/15
Captain7,

Thank you for your feedback. To ensure that all available options were considered during the new home application phase, I have asked that a specialist review your account and contact you in the next day or two.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Homeowners insurance lacking

Written on3/31/15
Customer avatar
KRD67
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have been forced out of my home due to a sudden issue with the septic tank backing up and there is no option for loss of property use for this issue. My family now needs to find a home for several weeks since we are unable to use any water function in the home until the situation is resolved and all costs coming out of our own pocket. So much for insurance.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA4/1/15
KRD67,

Sorry to hear about your recent septic issues. While I'm sure you provided our representatives with all the details related to the loss in order for them to determine whether it would be covered under your homeowner's contract, I'm still going to ask that a Claims Manager review the matter and touch basis with you. Thank you for reaching out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Homeowners and Auto

Written on3/30/15
Customer avatar
RLH
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Rates are exceedingly high on auto and homeowners. Badly managed a recent claim on my homeowners policy.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/31/15
RLH,

Thank you for reaching out. We would like the opportunity to address both concerns and have asked a representative from insurance and claims reach out to you. Please allow us a day or two to respond.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Simply the best

Written on3/19/15
Customer avatar
MLUCA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've had USAA for my home and car insurance for nearly a decade. By far the best service, pricing, and overall peace of mind you can get. No one comes near.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/20/15
MLUCA,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind words! We look forward to many more years of assisting you with all of your life’s needs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

My homeowner's policy keeps going up!

Written on3/18/15
Customer avatar
Pianohand
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
For two years in a row I have had an outrageous mortgage payment (escrow) because my insurance went up! For many people, forking out an unexpected $300 - $400 is a significant financial blow. It isn't so much the fact that the premiums increase, but that I have no way of knowing in advance to prepare. I have been a loyal USAA member since 2001. The auto insurance has been great, but I am definitely about to go elsewhere with homeowners. Please USAA, consider the fact that I have never had a claim filed on homeowners, yet you continue to pile on the extra surcharges! I'm starting to think gas prices are down because my insurance premiums are up! Help us out with this USAA!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/19/15
Pianohand,

Thank you for reaching out. As a homeowner, I can appreciate your concerns in trying to forecast potential changes to your mortgage payment. Here at USAA we provide members with their renewal policy (Auto and Homeowner) a minimum of 60 days prior to the policy actually renewing. On the cover page of your policy under Important Messages, we'll highlight any changes to the policy (such as a premium increase and what factors may have changed). At any time, you are welcome to call and request a policy review OR you can complete a policy review online. To ensure your questions have been fully answered, I’ve asked a specialist to review your policy (plus the auto) and then contact you to go over things in more detail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Terrible Customer Service

Written on3/18/15
Customer avatar
Alicia2015
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I had several items stolen recently from my car. The worst part of the theft was dealing with USAA homeowner's insurance. I was required to provide proof of ownership for all items stollen. I spent at least 5 hours digging up old pictures and receipts. My adjuster ignored my claim for the next 2 weeks and did not respond to phone calls. I complained on the USAA website and she did not even bother to respond. I called and asked for a new adjuster and USAA refused to provider a new adjuster. My adjuster was upset that I had complained about her, so she went out of her way to undervalue my claim. I complained again to her supervisor who did eventually fix things. However, it took about 40 hours of my life getting receipts and calling USAA and e-mailing USAA, over 6 weeks to get paid, and a lot of frustration. I don't trust USAA to be there for something more serious. I'm now looking at other insurance companies.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/19/15
Alicia2015,

Your membership and trust is extremely important to us and I apologize that you had such a difficult time resolving your claim. I can assure you that this is not the norm, thus your feedback about this occurrence is greatly appreciated. Your feedback is being shared with our claims management team.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Absolutely horrible service and misleading

Written on3/18/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Twice i filled out forms asking if personal property was covered and not only was it not covered they filed a claim for me and now my risk level is hi. Furthermore the time I have had real issues they didnt cover it. And when they did cover something they didnt warn me that the value was so low it wasnt worth the risk increase. I can honestly say I hate USAA home insurance. Auto has been great.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/19/15
I appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us. To better assist you, I have asked a Claims Service Manager to look at your account and contact you personally to gather additional details in order to address your concerns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Home Security INCREASES premium?

Written on3/18/15
Customer avatar
Harrisonburg VA
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I have used USAA for a long time and stand by their reputation and customer service. Having said that, I recently talked with two different agents for a new homeowners insurance quote and was told that my premium would INCREASE if I had a security system installed. The logic that was being used was "if your home is a complete loss, we have to factor in re-wiring for a new security system". I'm baffled by this. USAA encourages its members to utilize discounts on ADT and yet your policy premium increases. I'm disappointed and currently looking at other options for homeowners insurance.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/18/15
Harrisonburg VA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. I have requested an insurance specialist take a second look at the quotes provided and then follow-up with you personally to discuss.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Rate Increases are out of control

Written on3/17/15
Customer avatar
USN Chief
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
My policy premium increased $400 2 years ago. It increased $400 last year. The increase is over 40% in two years. I've called USAA several times and the only explanation is that the cost of building materials has increased. They cannot show me, or reference to me what they are looking at to see such dramatic increases. In the meantime, the cost of oil is down, the cost of fuel is down, and subsequently - the cost of ALL building materials is down. I have not made any claims on my policy in the 10 years I have been living in this house. It is my belief they are increasing my rates to pay for the claims of others. I'm fed up. Honesty would be nice, but to increase my rates nearly 50% in two years is simply not going to sustain. Soon, I will be literally paying more for the privilege to have USAA insurance over the cost of my mortgage. No explanation, no help from them. They just keep begging me to pay more. I'm shopping around. This is enough!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator3/17/15
USN Chief,

Your membership is extremely important to us and the last thing we want is to lose your business. USAA considers many factors when determining premiums; cost of building materials is just one factor. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review both your homeowners and auto policies.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Another year,Another increase

Written on3/15/15
Customer avatar
nissantun3r
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I just get sad when I see these increases in both my homeowners and Auto insurance.Now that my roof age is being factored into the equation I think its time for me to open my eyes and start looking around. Money is tight for some people in this world and for you guys to nickel and dime us like this gets a little old.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/16/15
Nissantun3r,

Thank you for giving feedback. Your membership is extremely important to us and the last thing we want is to lose your business. USAA considers many factors when determining premiums - age of roof is just one factor. I have asked a specialist to analyze your homeowner's policy and then contact you directly to discuss their findings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

29 year member with 1 significant problem

Written on3/11/15
Customer avatar
Bconrad344
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Our Homeowners insurance went up over 20% for the 3rd year in a row without any explanation. We have never made a homeowner claim and our mortgage is less than 1/3 the value of our home. We are not able to update online as we do with all other USAA products. This is not the level of service we had come to expect after nearly 30 years as a USAA member.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator3/12/15
Bconrad344,

Your membership is extremely important to us and the last thing we want is to lose your business. USAA considers many factors when determining premiums; claims activity is just one factor. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review both your homeowners and auto policies.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Home Owners Insurace In Florida too expensive.

Written on3/9/15
Customer avatar
tamba
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
USAA could spend our money more wisely by cutting the "warm and fuzzy" recruiting commercials and using the money to cut premiums. Why are we recruiting customers anyway? If you are eligible to join USAA, I'm sure you know it.
My Home Policy last year came in at $5,000. Only by drastic cuts in coverage could I bring it down to a more manageable figure. The policy took a almost $2,000 jump because USAA said I was over 1000 feet from the nearest fire hydrant. I contacted the Chief of our Fire Company and he personally looked into the matter. He wrote a letter to USAA and while agreeing that I was over 1000 feet from the nearest hydrant, he felt it did not diminish his capability to handle any fire emergency at my home. He stated that three trucks would respond to a call in my neighborhood. All three would be carry at least 1000 gallons. One truck manned by NAS whiting field professionals. A tanker truck also dispatched.
USAA would not mitigate. Quoted ISO Ratings.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator3/9/15
Tamba,

Your membership and feedback is extremely important to us. USAA considers many factors when determining premiums. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review your homeowner policy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Just recieved new home insurance policy

Written on3/4/15
Customer avatar
Marker
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Like others, I just received our home insurance policy for the coming year and I was shocked to find out it has a 20.1% increase over last years! I have come to expect great service from USAA, but to have this kind of increase without ANY kind of explanation nor claims since we bought the house 13 years ago is really disheartening. REALLY should be some kind of cover letter saying WHY we just became 20.1% riskier?
Since we pay for the insurance through the mortgage payments, I would expect USAA to take the extra step of alerting their policy holders about such increases instead of letting them figure it out on their own - feels a bit like they hope many won't notice?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator3/4/15
Marker,

We would like to let you know your membership is extremely important to us and we really do appreciate your feedback! USAA considers many factors when determining premiums; claims activity is just one factor. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review your homeowner’s policy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Home Warranty Question Goes Unanswered

Written on3/3/15
Customer avatar
Tony22
fromHuntsville, AL
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Contacted USAA Home Warranty Department and asked them about a coverage question. Representative put me on hold for ten minutes and basically came back and told me that I would have to contact another department (Claims ) even though my question was not a claim yet. When I asked some follow up questions all she could tell me was this is what the senior consultant on duty recommended. So I spent about 20-30 minutes on the phone just to find out that I have to call back tomorrow and explain everything all over again to another department. I expect a lot better service from USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Property insurance very poor and very expensive

Written on3/2/15
Customer avatar
PLH
fromColorado springs, CO
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Raised insurance rates on my property without any consideration to fire mitigation performed on the property. Poor communication.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator3/3/15
Your membership is extremely important to us and we really do appreciate your feedback. USAA considers many factors when determining premiums. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and contact you to review your homeowner’s policy.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

After 30 Years ... 1st Complaint with Customer Svc

Written on3/1/15
Customer avatar
JKJr
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Been with USAA 30 yrs. Recently had a 25% increase in homeowner premium without explanation and zero claims. Cust. Svc initially tried to blame the state of Va. then admitted USAA asked for the increase ... BUT it's only the first of two consecutive increases that are coming to USAA members in VA (perhaps other states as well) without as much as a letter of explanation from USAA. We are now shopping around and going to check auto, life, personal property policies as well. Extremely disappointed with the increase when data for the state of VA suggests that rates have held steady or fallen. The focus on serving those who have served certainly seems to have changed for USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/2/15
JKJr,

Thank you for providing us with feedback. To ensure your concerns have been thoroughly researched, I have asked that a specialist review your policy and follow-up with you shortly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Time to switch .... Everything?

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
SEG
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
After receiving a 20+ % increase on my homeowners policy AND being assigned a specialist, I feel like it's time to switch providers.
I was told that if I wanted a lower rate I would need to reduce my coverage which makes sense, but does not explain a 20% increase on a claims free property.
Further it was mentioned that by moving the homeowners policy, the change would impact the multi-policy discount that I receive. Bottom line, looks like it's time to shop out a provider that wants to provide a competitive rate for Banking, Home, Vehicles and Watercraft.
These policies used to be on auto pilot, trusting I was getting the best rates. That is obviously not the case any more.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.