USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

Overall rating:
3.44 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(1062 reviews) 907
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1062 reviews
5 Stars
532
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
92
2 Stars
117
1 Star
267
613 out of 106258%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Review 1 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Superb customer service

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Esther in San Antonio helped me with insurance quotes. Her knowledge and professionalism are the qualities in USAA staff which keep me as a member. Please pass my highest praise on to her...she enjoys her work, is most courteous and is a great asset to the company. I'm sure she has a bright future with USAA.
Anyone can contact me for more details, if needed, to support this excellent employee. JHM
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/2/15
Deuce32,

Thank you for relaying your personal experience with one of our fantastic Member Relations Specialist. We strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time. Your comments will be shared with Ms. Esther and her supervisor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

20 years and going

Written on7/2/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We have been with USAA for over 20 years now. We have been greeted by name when we call, have been very well treated, and have had our very few claims handled before we could could take a breath. Excellent customer service.
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Disheartening

Written on8/24/15
Customer avatar
Unfortunatley I wish I could say that the current reviews are untrue but after being with USAA for over 20 years and looking at other companies... USAA is almost double the cost to other companies with very similar offerings! Also, dependent upon the service rep you talk to - I ended up speaking to 3... Depends on the level of customer service! USAA used to be bar none on customer service now it's few and far between. Shame on you USAA and you should be taking these reviews seriously and acting on them!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/26/15
Vivo,

Anytime a member calls, our goal is to ensure that they receive the same level of service and professionalism that they’ve come to expect from USAA. I regret to hear this was not the case for you. We do value the feedback provided by our members here in Ratings & Reviews. ALL reviews are reviewed by a dedicated, season social team. Based on the content of each review, we’ll either provide a direct in-line response to a general question or in most cases; we’ll assign a business expert to review a member’s unique personal situation and contact them directly as we’re going to do in your case.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Rates have climbed recently

Written on8/19/15
Customer avatar
fromLittle Silver NJ
USAA used to be the cheapest insurance while still providing exceptional customer service. Something has happened in the past year or two. They are not the most expensive insurance company ive price checked. I had to leave and move to Geico. Whats up USAA?
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Written on8/16/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
very unhappy with usaa changing the premium on my insurance without prior notice and billing my mortgage company
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/17/15
The Real Walter,

USAA will provide its members (and any lien holder listed on the policy) a copy of the renewal contract at least 60 days in advance. This is done so you as a consumer have the opportunity to review the policy and any changes BEFORE they take effect. Your policy will be delivered based on your preference selection (either by standard mail or electronically at usaa.com). A quick review shows your homeowner policy was mailed to your home address 10 weeks prior to the renewal date. Keep in mind your policies are always available for immediate review and changes at usaa.com.

A representative will contact you directly to review your policy for any premium savings opportunities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Written on8/6/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
They will cancel your homeowners insurance in a SECOND!!!!! WARNING!!!! I have been been a USAA customer since 1990 and have auto and banking with them. WARNING, they will cancel your homeowners without warning! I will be cancelling everything I can as soon as I get this straight. I am talking to USAA on the phone right now at 7:30 PM and they are saying there is nobody that can help me. The customer service is not what is used to be when I signed up in 1990.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

USAA refusal to insure my entire house.

Written on8/6/15
Customer avatar
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I've been a USAA member for almost 43 years and have always believed that they had my best interests at heart. No more. I recently requested an update to our homeowners policy in Colorado. USAA advised me that they would not include our upper level in coverage because it was not finished. It has a roof, walls, windows, a floor and full electrical. The only feature missing is plumbing. I assumed that refusal must be an industry policy, but I've queried several insurance companies, including a family friend who has been in insurance for almost fifty years. He was astounded that USAA would refuse to insure for replacement because it was "unfinished". As he pointed out, in case of our home being destroyed we would still need to replace that space. Anybody else run into this issue?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/7/15
Colorado Mt.,

Adequately insuring our members' homes is paramount. I wanted to make sure everything is in order respecting your homeowner’s policy so I asked that an insurance specialist reach out.

Danny from our Advocacy Resolution unit sent me an update stating he had a wonderful conversation with you and confirmed you are adequately insured. Let me know if you need anything further.


Have a great weekend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Disappointing

Written on8/4/15
Customer avatar
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I have been a USAA member (Banking and Auto Insurance)for almost a decade now and I was looking for a homeowners insurance policy for my new home. I was extremely disappointed to find that their rates on mirrored or similar products from other companies were almost double! I had told my fiancee that there was no beating USAA's pricing so don't waste your time. Within 10 minutes of searching I had found over 5 providers with rates as low as half, and lower if I switch my car insurance to them as well. Unfortunately it looks like it's time to make a switch all around.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/5/15
Travis Porter,

Thanks for taking time to share your concerns. Overall, USAA does provide highly competitive products. At times, we may find that we are not competitive in a certain area. Feedback from our members like yourself, helps us to identify those opportunities.

No two companies rate their products the same. To ensure you are really getting a savings with another company, an insurance specialist will happily review any quotes you have. Mr. Porter you can expect a call shortly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

What has happened to USAA?

Written on8/1/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
My homeowner's policy premium has increased every year since I bought my current house in 2009. As a matter of fact, it has increased over 300%. This is with zero claims activity and zero changes to my house.
My personal favorite justification for these continual increases was an inspection ordered by USAA in May 2014 that caused my premiums to jump 25%. When I recently started paying attention and questioned the continual increases, I discovered the "inspector" had no clue what he was doing. He incorrectly added almost 1,000 square feet to the area of my house and claimed my house was on a partial slab/partial crawlspace foundation. Both completely incorrect.
USAA has decided to become "Super-Mega USAA" and has left common sense, customer service and great rates on the side of the road to achieve this goal. I have an offer from Costco for the same coverage for $900 less. It appears that after 31 years, USAA has left me, so it's time for me to leave USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/3/15
Hoover Guy,

Your 31 years of membership means a great deal to us. To best serve you and to address your specific concerns, I have asked for a homeowner specialist to review you policy history then contact you directly to discuss the account. Thank you for reaching out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

High Cost of Homeowners

Written on7/27/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
As I near retirement, I am concerned about the cost of my homeowners insurance. The same home has been insured with USAA for 30 years with no claims. The house is 1975-6, 2310 sq. ft., with no remodel, appraised at $155K, with market value listed at $166K. Premiums are just shy of $2,000 annually, which seems awfully expensive. I also have banking and car insurance with USAA, and excellent credit.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/28/15
RangerBarbie -

I understand your concerns about costs and am here to help! One of our finest service professionals has been assigned to give all your policies a full 360 review. You can expect a call in 1 business day.

Thank you for reaching out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Homeowners Insurance Rates

Written on7/24/15
Customer avatar
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Almost 8 years in my current house and our premium continues to go up about $400 a year despite no claims. I've been a member for over 15 years and this is the first time I'm considering shopping around for another provider for our insurance needs. There are many other insurance companies sending out quotes for home owners insurance that are, on average, $1000 less per year.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/24/15
Dear ebelow,

We would like the opportunity to review your policies with you before you decide to make a switch. Your membership is very important to us and we would hate to lose such a valuable member. A specialist will be in contact with you for further discussion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Nearly $800 Increase in Premiums Overnight

Written on7/21/15
Customer avatar
fromColorado Springs, CO
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I saw that my mortgage payment increased by over $150/month, and it turns out it's because USAA increased my premium by over $800 per year. I didn't make a claim last year, nor did our area have any serious fires, floods, or anything of the sort.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/22/15
Baldeagle79,

To best assist you, I have assigned an insurance specialist to review your homeowners policy. They'll be able to provide details into the rate increase as well as look for opportunities to possibly lower the premium. You should receive a call within the next 24-48 hours.

Thank you for reaching out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Homeowner's insurance

Written on7/20/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I just recently moved into a new home and USAA made it extremely easy to get insured! The options were very easy to choose from and when I had a question, the representatives were top notch!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

HOMEOWNERS POLICY YEARLY INCREASE

Written on7/19/15
Customer avatar
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Our homeowners policy is with USAA for almost 15 years and not a single claim has been filed, but I still don't understand why USAA keep increasing our rate every year. Their only explanation is the replacement value of my home in my area has increased. We saved our money, bought a small house, and paid it off, but seems like i'm still paying mortgage with USAA. Maybe it's time to start looking for other insurance company. They keep telling me to insure my cars with them to get a discount, how about "LOYALTY" discount?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/20/15
Yearly Rate Increase,

Without a thorough review of your policy, it's difficult to say what specific variable/s are triggering the rate increase. Claims activity, estimated rebuild value are two of many variables that are considered. Having both your auto and home insured will result in an auto/home discount which is pretty nice.

I have asked for an insurance specialist to review your homeowner's policy and then reach out to you to discuss your concerns and see what other opportunities for savings are available.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

What happened to USAA???

Written on7/16/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
My wife's auto premiums have gone up for the past two years with no answers (she has no claims or tickets), despite me spending hours on the phone with customer service. Well, I received my Homeowners bill recently and the premium went up over 30% with no claims. I have owned the home for ten years and it was new construction. My premiums have gone up about 5% a year (bill went from $1100 in 2005 to $1400 last year), this year the bill is nearly $2000. I spent over an hour on the phone with Quincy, the CSR and he basically couldn't tell me why the bill went up. They sent an inspector out to estimate the rebuild cost of the home and the cost that the inspector came up with was more than 30% higher than the price of a newly constructed home in my development. I have worked construction in the past and can tell you the costs are ridiculous (not even talking about the debris removal and permit fees, just the build cost). Now my premium is under review, but I'm going to look elsewhere.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/17/15
Navy Veteran 1998,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and allowing us a chance to re-address. Your comments bring to light two issues that need further review - premium increase and estimated rebuild value of your home. I've asked a product expert familiar with auto and homeowner coverage to examine both your policies in order to pinpoint the exact reasons why your premiums increased. The specialist will contact you (likely within the next business day) to review their findings plus discuss ways to offset the premium increase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Responsiveness of customer service is poor

Written on7/13/15
Customer avatar
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have tried to file a claim for via my flood insurance and its a complete nightmare. All I get is a completer run around by the USAA guys. The claim adjuster assigned to the case is not helpful. And no one at USAA knows how to escalate a call to someone who can help.
If how they handle a flood claim is indicative of how they handle property claims, then I would highly recommend shopping elsewhere.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/14/15
mjt1,

Let's see if we can turn this matter around and get you the help you needed. I'm happy to get you elevated to a Claims Service Manager so they can review your claim and follow-up with you on how best to proceed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

4th Year Rate Increase!

Written on7/13/15
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
We have been with USAA for a very long time. Have credit cards, auto loans, car insurance, and now homeowners Insurance. I am extremely disappointed in this service, and am in the process of signing on with another homeowners carrier. In the 4 years we've owned our new home our rates have climbed $900!! No claims, excellent credit, excellent track record. Makes no sense. We can no longer afford USAA. When I wrote in about it, I received a canned "we can't help you" answer with nothing real to back up the increases, and in the last paragraph she actually mentioned car insurance... which told me they weren't even on the same page... we were discussing homeowners insurance, remember?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/13/15
Skmadl,

I retrieved a copy of your letter and the response/s provided by one of our representatives. Let me connect you with a specialist who will take a closer look at your policy and contact you directly to discuss specifics. Thank you for reaching out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Houston Area Flood Victim

Written on7/10/15
Customer avatar
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was recently a victim of the flooding in the Houston area; therefore I had to file a flood claim. USAA started off very slow by taking seven days to get an adjuster out to me but once they did come out, they made up immensely by resolving my claim quickly. My structural property adjuster worked with me in evaluating my home that had been completely remodeled just a little over a year ago and provided me with a very adequate quote. I even found some minor errors in the evaluation of some items and my adjuster quickly made the adjustments. Next in line was the personal property adjuster. This is where I have heard plenty of horror stories about claim holders not getting anywhere close to what “they feel” their property is worth. I do stress “what they feel”. But my experience was great. The adjuster explained to me how the property claim process works and then she got to work evaluating my property. I was extremely satisfied with USAA flood insurance.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/13/15
1Ranger,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Good to hear that your needs were met and it sounds like you are on the road to recovery! Let us know if we can be of further assistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Appraised too high and stuck with high premium

Written on7/9/15
Customer avatar
fromFrisco, Texas
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I switched carriers a year ago out of frustration. They sent an appraiser to value my recently purchased house and over appraised it by double the rebuild price. While flattered, said appraised value did not coincide with the mortgage appraisal and any other comparable. I explained to no avail. I went with them because I had already closed with USAA as my carrier. I gave USAA a second chance at the end of the policy term and when they wouldn't budge on something so obvious. I switched to another carrier and saved a few thousand a year. To be fair, USAA did have a better deductible, but that was about it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/9/15
DanR Raider,

So sad to hear that you moved your homeowners to another carrier last year. USAA strives to provide highly competitive products to its members; I'm disappointed we missed the mark with you Dan. If circumstances with your current carrier should ever change, please consider giving USAA an opportunity to earn back your confidence and business.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Extremely Disappointed

Written on7/7/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have been a member for 49 years. Never had a problem with Auto insurance. This was my first homeowners claim. It was for hail damage. All the other homes had immediate response from their insurance companies. Most in a day or 2. All shingles in our development have been discontinued. My vent boots and skylight flanges were damaged. I have 8 skylights. My contractor states they will lose shingles when repairing these. Other homes had similar damage and have had their roof shingles replaced so as not to be mismatched and unsightly. Waited 2 months while they waited for an Engineers report. I asked for a copy and also asked to have my issue raised to a higher level. They sent the report, and 10 minutes later a note saying the check is in the mail (for flanges but no shingles.) So done working with me. Communication was totally lacking. So, I will have the only home in the development with non matching shingles.
I guess it is time to look at another Insurance Company. Very Unfortunate ..
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA7/8/15
John15,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We understand your frustration and want to help. Your feedback has been provided to a Claims Service Manager for additional review. You can expect a follow-up call shortly in hopes of getting things resolved.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 46 Next Page>>