USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

Overall rating:
3.467 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(1041 reviews) 888
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1041 reviews
5 Stars
529
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
90
2 Stars
113
1 Star
256
609 out of 104159%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Review 1 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Superb customer service

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
deuce32
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Esther in San Antonio helped me with insurance quotes. Her knowledge and professionalism are the qualities in USAA staff which keep me as a member. Please pass my highest praise on to her...she enjoys her work, is most courteous and is a great asset to the company. I'm sure she has a bright future with USAA.
Anyone can contact me for more details, if needed, to support this excellent employee. JHM
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/2/15
Deuce32,

Thank you for relaying your personal experience with one of our fantastic Member Relations Specialist. We strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time. Your comments will be shared with Ms. Esther and her supervisor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

20 years and going

Written on7/2/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We have been with USAA for over 20 years now. We have been greeted by name when we call, have been very well treated, and have had our very few claims handled before we could could take a breath. Excellent customer service.
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

One Frustrated Customer

Written on7/5/15
Customer avatar
Sgt Van
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I am a big customer service guy and usually USAA has great customer service. We use USAA for everything and recently for the homeowners/flood insurance. The homeowners insurance was bought online (no complaints). The Flood insurance was a different story. I called for flood insurance and received a quote but needed to provide an Elevation Certificate. I sent them the documents and received another quote the next day on email for 3x the amount quoted earlier. I called back and the agent said he would look into it and call me back. He never called me back. The next agent looked at my information and then told me my paperwork was invalid. I sent that same certificate to 3 other insurance companies and not one company had any issues with the certificate. I talked to one agent they gave me email and number. Because of the customer service in the Flood department I decided to take both home and flood insurance elsewhere. So I would not suggest using the USAA flood insurance department.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/6/15
Dear Sgt Van,

We would like to review this matter before you decide to take such drastic measures. Please allow us the opportunity to do so, after which we’ll be in touch regarding the issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good insurence company

Written on7/1/15
Customer avatar
frank1906
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a member since 1994. Always had good customer service. I recommend USAA for anybody in the military starting out. It's sad after 20 years that I am going with a different comnpany.. It seems the premiums just keep going up, and I don't file claims. At one time, if you din't have a claim, you got a rebate, not anymore... But I will always like this company
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/2/15
Dear frank1906,

Your membership is extremely important to us! USAA considers many factors when determining premiums. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review both your homeowners and auto policies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Lost membership loyalty???

Written on7/1/15
Customer avatar
Tweeder
fromSt Petersburg, FL
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Just noticed one of my home owners policies went up yet again with no claims. I lost my loyalty discount and have no idea why. I have investments, 2 home owners policies and my auto policy. This is the last straw, I have been loyal for years. Time to move on!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/2/15
Dear Tweeder,

We would like to review this matter before you decide to take such drastic measures. Please allow us the opportunity to do so, after which we’ll be in touch regarding the issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Costs Not Justified with Loss of Customer Service

Written on6/30/15
Customer avatar
New Pages on Web Sit
fromNC
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I recently received a homeowners quote for a new home and it is excessive both in cost and coverage as compared to my current USAA policy / home, and lacks discounts for the same items such as security systems. Why the loss of value and the increase in cost to the member?
Policy cost is 65% more annually than current home while the purchase price / market value of the home is only 33% more, and that includes raising the deductible to $1,000 from $500 and the cost to rebuild / cost of living is less in the area of the new home.
This is a normal $300k single family home in the midwest, nothing fancy here.
You've already lost my mortgage business because of cost and poor customer service.
I never thought I would go elsewhere for insurance quotes.
Recommendation: restore the service and discounted cost reductions that USAA has provided for the last 25 years that I have been a USAA member.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/2/15
Dear Mr. Bunck,

Your membership is extremely important to us! USAA considers many factors when determining premiums. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review both your homeowners and auto policies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Customer Service

Written on6/16/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The customer service with this organization continues to be top notch! I recently got a Home Owner's Insurance quote and it was super easy to do and it was all over the phone! The representative was very knowledgable and professional.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Loyal frustrated member

Written on6/11/15
Customer avatar
Bennifer
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a loyal member, loved being w/USAA,have auto/banking accounts.Im taking a huge step in my life of purchasing a home.USAA was the first I thought of.I REALLY want2keepall my things with USAA but they just can't make it work on the quote.Sierra assisted me today, was amazing despite the fact of not being able2 lower the monthly rate.She seemed like she tried every trick in the book to try2lower it&we got it down2$114, Sadly another quote I have from a diff insurance where they quoted me $64 mthly,same coverage, $1,610 deductible.deal I should not pass.Now although I would love2stay w/ USAA for this insurance they just can't make it happen.I am willing to still pay more like $80ish a month to stay with USAA & pass on the $64 w/other group but They cant bring it dwn by alot w/out me losing thousands in coverage that I am secured2get with the other group.Im frustrated w/the situation but w/closing date around the corner I have to make the choice. Im upset I can't say Im staying
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA6/12/15
Bennifer,

CONGRATULATIONS on your new home purchase! What an exciting time and a big step to take. We're happy to hear that you have relied on USAA for much of your financial services including getting a quote for homeowner coverage.

Please be mindful, we often are very competitive with our rates. At times we may not come in at the lowest but before you decide to go with the cheapest quote, do your home work and look at the full package: company financial stability, claims handling, and contract coverage. There's an old saying - you get what you pay for. As a homeowner, $50 savings is a big deal. Be sure you are truly getting an apples to apples quote from the other carrier.

I have asked for one of our insurance specialist to reach out and contact you so they can gather additional information and see what we can do. Thank you reaching out.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Great until last year

Written on6/11/15
Customer avatar
Ka05
fromLancaster, OH 43130, USA
Military Affiliation:Reserves
Military Branch:Army
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I called and started the process to set up a policy on the house we were buying. I was straight-forward and honest about everything with the house. My house is over 100 years old. I told the representative that I was buying a house with working and live knob and tube wiring. I was told by 2 representatives that there would be no problem covering the house.
Throughout the last 9 months, we have been told multiple things. I received a letter stating to rip out the wiring, then another saying it would be ok and have the knob and tube certified safe, then a 3rd stating my policy would be non-renewed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA6/12/15
Ka05,

Let's get you in touch with a property insurance underwriter so they can help sort things out once and for all. Thank you for reaching out and allowing us a chance to step in to help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

NOT WORRIED

Written on6/8/15
Customer avatar
Jesus Saves
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
When disaster strikes and all the other insurance companies take cover, I have no fear because I have USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA delivers again!

Written on6/8/15
Customer avatar
SIB
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have used USAA my entire life... for banking, auto insurance, personal property insurance, renters/homeowner's insurance, and other services. I would imagine mostly everyone buys insurance hoping to never have to use it. However, if one ever does have to use it, I would also imagine it is stressful to most thinking about dealing with the claims process. Unfortunately, I have had four instances in the past few years where I have had to use my insurance..... but thankfully, having USAA, each claim process has been extremely efficient, incredibly easy, and about as low stress as I would imagine an insurance claim can be. Yes, some USAA policies are more expensive than others out there. But to me, it is well worth it, because I can drive, sleep, and live with less worry knowing USAA will be there to deliver if ever needed!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/9/15
SIB,

Thank you for the compliment and informing us of how we are doing!! We really do appreciate when our member’s take time out of their busy schedules to share their feedback, good or bad. Your membership and loyalty are greatly appreciated!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Huge Increases

Written on6/7/15
Customer avatar
Splat Master
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I haven't made a homeowners claim in over 12 years.
The numbers below are for the same house...time to look around.
2014-15 to 2015-16 premium is up a whopping +14.2% and from 13-15 it is up an amazing 32.7% !!!
12-13 1,340.10
13-14 1,675.12
14-15 1,945.91
15-16 2,223.05
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAA Moderator6/8/15
Splat Master,

Your membership is extremely important to us! USAA considers many factors when determining premiums; claims activity is just one factor. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review both your homeowners and auto policies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Company

Written on6/3/15
Customer avatar
Walt49
fromOmaha
Military Branch:Army
I have nothing but kudos for USAA. I'm actually here today to inquire about adding another rider on my homeowners policies. We have been with USAA for about a little over 2 years and if they continue to treat me the way they up until now I will continue to add more products to my portfolio.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/4/15
Walt49,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind words! We're delighted to hear you are satisfied your Homeowner’s Policy. You deserve the best, and we know trusting a company with your business is very important. We really appreciate your membership and please know that we're always here for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Homeowners Policy

Written on6/1/15
Customer avatar
JC2
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
USAA was at one point in time a great insurance company but I have the feeling that now they have expanded to a much broader base and running a lot of ads, that is changing. I've gotten to the point that I will start shopping around for coverage (which means everything). My father and sister dropped USAA for their home policies because the policies got ridiculously expensive about 5 years ago. Probably to pay for all the exposure to the gulf coast. My policy more than tripled in a matter of a few years. However, as a loyal person, I worked with them to lower the coverage and increase the deductible to make it more reasonable. After about 5 years of consistent increases around 5% per year, this year they hit me with a 15% increase. The explanation - payout in my state was really high. I've lived in my house for 22 years with one claim that was very minor and that I could not even claim now because my deductible is about $3000. I live in a state with little exposure to natural disasters.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/2/15
JC2,

We would like to review this matter before you decide to take such drastic measures. Your membership is extremely important to us! USAA considers many factors when determining premiums; claims activity is just one factor. We do value your 27 years of membership, and I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further. The specialist will contact you directly. Thank you for reaching out to us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Over charged

Written on5/30/15
Customer avatar
Bossman3883
Home owners/condo quote: $363.14
Billed $900.57
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA6/1/15
Bossman3883,

Yikes that's a big difference! A closer look at your policy that's enforce today and the quote you reference shows a huge difference in the amount of dwelling coverage that you may have quoted early on compared to what you ultimately accepted. I have asked for an insurance specialist to contact you in the next business day to review.

Thank you for reaching out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

DROPPED BY ASI BECAUSE OF RESCUE DOG OWNERSHIP

Written on5/24/15
Customer avatar
RnB09
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Recently, we informed ASI Preferred Insurance Corp, an affiliate/partner of USAA that we rescued a German Shepard from being euthanized. The dog is now part of our family and ASI has informed us that they will not renew our homeowners insurance. Is that really customer service??? Is that how USAA and its affiliates treat their clients and veterans??? We expected to pay an additional premium for coverage, but did anticipate being dropped. We have been with USAA since 1994 ~ and have several cars & homes insured by USAA & ASI; and have never filed a homeowner or renters insurance claim. How inflexible is this business model??? We are sadden and dismayed by these actions. You are driving my business (perhaps all) to a competitor.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/26/15
RnB09 -

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us. Your feedback is important to us and a specialist most familar with the ASI homeowners product will be in contact with you for further assistance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Customer Service Is Fantatic

Written on5/22/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have to thank Patricia for her time and efforts in getting me quotes for homeowners' and auto insurance. She went the extra mile.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/26/15
Len,

Consider it done! We'll make sure Patricia and her supervisor know that you appreciated her efforts. Let us know if we can be of future assistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Careful when you make a claim

Written on5/21/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
USAA usually hits the nail on the head, but be aware - if you make a claim on your homeowners insurance they may not renew your coverage. We PCS'd to VA and because we had an open liability claim, they denied our renewal. Not an increase in monthly payments or higher deductibles, just a straight up denial. They value customer care, but as a 13 year member I was surprised there was nothing they could do for me. We moved to another insurer, and sure enough - the premiums are cheaper.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/22/15
Brian -

Sorry to hear that USAA was not able to write your new homeowner's policy. Depending on the severity and circumstances of the liability claim, this could impact our ability to continue coverage. I have asked for a specialist to look into your concerns further and reach out to you personally to talk.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Premium Increase / Claim.

Written on5/19/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Recently had to replace roof utilizing a Claim with USAA. Was handled quickly, professionally with no problems. My complaint, I guess complaint is, shortly after my claim was paid out, my Annual Insurance Policy Premium was due and billed to my Escrow. It had increased by come $1700.00. I was in total shock. My Escrow paid the Premium, however, I was over and had to pay the extra back into the escrow. Upon talking with a Customer Service Agent it was explained that along with the Claim, Annual insurance rate had increased. This put me in a financial bind, unexpected to where I had no choice but readjust my policy deductions and deductibles. Just wanted to voice my view on this, otherwise I love USAA!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/19/15
Dear KENNETH HAYS,

Your membership is extremely important to us! USAA considers many factors when determining premiums; claims activity is just one factor. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review both your homeowners and auto policies.

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

After 28 years I'm leaving

Written on5/18/15
Customer avatar
Super Sniper
fromColorado Springs, CO
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
USAA is not what it used to be. Premiums are not competitive anymore, and customer service is disgraceful.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/19/15
Super Sniper,

I'm sorry to hear that we failed to leave up to your expectations. I would like a chance to look into your concerns further to see if we can find a way to restore your confidence in USAA. We will be in contact with you shortly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 45 Next Page>>