USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

brand_insurance_home_condo Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes

Overall rating:
3.529 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(985 reviews) 834
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 985 reviews
5 Stars
517
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
84
2 Stars
105
1 Star
229
593 out of 98560%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Review 1 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Top Notch Customer Service

Written on7/10/14
Customer avatar
RFM
fromCrofton, MD
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am consistently blown away by USAA's customer service.
I called USAA this afternoon with my hair figuratively on fire because my wife and I are moving. We're only moving within the state, but we were hit rather hard by home prices going down, so we're planning on renting out our previous residence.
The person I spoke with not only set us up with a policy for the new home and the rental, but she also noticed that my wife (we were just married four months ago) was still listed as my fiancée. The marital change helped us save a bit of money on the policies than we would of without the change.
That extra little bit of attention to detail is what keeps me with USAA because it makes me feel like someone is looking out for me rather than just the bottom line.
I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

20 years and going

Written on7/2/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We have been with USAA for over 20 years now. We have been greeted by name when we call, have been very well treated, and have had our very few claims handled before we could could take a breath. Excellent customer service.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Property insurance very poor and very expensive

Written on3/2/15
Customer avatar
PLH
fromColorado springs, CO
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Raised insurance rates on my property without any consideration to fire mitigation performed on the property. Poor communication.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

After 30 Years ... 1st Complaint with Customer Svc

Written on3/1/15
Customer avatar
JKJr
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Been with USAA 30 yrs. Recently had a 25% increase in homeowner premium without explanation and zero claims. Cust. Svc initially tried to blame the state of Va. then admitted USAA asked for the increase ... BUT it's only the first of two consecutive increases that are coming to USAA members in VA (perhaps other states as well) without as much as a letter of explanation from USAA. We are now shopping around and going to check auto, life, personal property policies as well. Extremely disappointed with the increase when data for the state of VA suggests that rates have held steady or fallen. The focus on serving those who have served certainly seems to have changed for USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/2/15
JKJr,

Thank you for providing us with feedback. To ensure your concerns have been thoroughly researched, I have asked that a specialist review your policy and follow-up with you shortly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Superb customer service

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
deuce32
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Esther in San Antonio helped me with insurance quotes. Her knowledge and professionalism are the qualities in USAA staff which keep me as a member. Please pass my highest praise on to her...she enjoys her work, is most courteous and is a great asset to the company. I'm sure she has a bright future with USAA.
Anyone can contact me for more details, if needed, to support this excellent employee. JHM
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/2/15
Deuce32,

Thank you for relaying your personal experience with one of our fantastic Member Relations Specialist. We strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time. Your comments will be shared with Ms. Esther and her supervisor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Time to switch .... Everything?

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
SEG
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
After receiving a 20+ % increase on my homeowners policy AND being assigned a specialist, I feel like it's time to switch providers.
I was told that if I wanted a lower rate I would need to reduce my coverage which makes sense, but does not explain a 20% increase on a claims free property.
Further it was mentioned that by moving the homeowners policy, the change would impact the multi-policy discount that I receive. Bottom line, looks like it's time to shop out a provider that wants to provide a competitive rate for Banking, Home, Vehicles and Watercraft.
These policies used to be on auto pilot, trusting I was getting the best rates. That is obviously not the case any more.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Outragous rate increrase!!!

Written on2/25/15
Customer avatar
Hoopfox
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Outrageous rate increase. I've been with USAA for 20 years for auto and valuable coverage. Purchased homeowners policy when we purchased a new home in 2011. In August (as I was headed out of the country with no time to deal with it) I received my bill which had nearly doubled!! NO claims, no problems in the neighborhood, and no explanation. It is a "high value" policy, but nearly double the price??? NO thank you. I am shopping now for new coverage and will be cancelling this policy immediately. In addition.....USAA sends out a contracted 3rd party company to inspect the home each year before policy renewal....I find this ridiculous to do every year, and when they came out this summer they had the square footage of my home grow by 800 sq feet!!??!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/26/15
We appreciate your feedback. A specialist has been assigned to review your concerns and will contact you shortly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Dramatic rate hikes every year & zero claims

Written on2/24/15
Customer avatar
Dennis Collins
fromTampa Bay
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
USAA insurance hikes our rates like crazy every year. Their Insurance Reps are competent and helpful, but you are on your own to identify mistakes and bring them up.
USAA Fed Savings Bank is an excellent online computer design with the worst imaginable customer service I have ever experienced. Once you need a human to do something to fix an error you are in serious trouble. Don't expect great rates just because you have been an excellent customer with excellent credit for decades. You're just another number.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/25/15
Mr. Collins,

USAA values your 35 years of membership and appreciates your feedback. You bring up several points that require further research from our bank and property & casualty teams. I have asked for a specialist from both areas to take a closer look at things and then contact you personally to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Rate Increase

Written on2/23/15
Customer avatar
djdrisco
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Funny, there have been absolutely no losses in our immediate area, nor have there been fires, earthquakes, tornadoes, tsunamis, floods, alien invaders, or meteorites.
USAA thinks that they have the monopoly on the military. It certainly isn't the bank it used to be. My father was a member since USAA opened, and I have been a member since I was able to put money in the bank.
The service I have received over the past year in a half is absolutely deplorable. Rate increases, couldn't get a car loan yet I could get the lowest APR and credit anywhere, couldn't get my home loan situated on time so I went with another lender, and couldn't get my check to me to pay for an auto repair.
USAA isn't the only person in town, and the days of military folks saying "Go to USAA!" are certainly over.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/24/15
DJDrisco,

We appreciate your candid feedback. USAA strives to provide best in class service and products to its members. At times despite our best efforts, we're not able to provide our members with a desired outcome. Your feedback respecting your banking and homeowners experience has been forwarded to the appropriate area for additional review and follow-up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Closed Early

Written on2/21/15
Customer avatar
Insured12345
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I clicked contact me. My phone never rang but missed call lit up . I clicked return call on my phone and the other end said the office was closed. I returned to the call me selection online and when I clicked it said closed with hours until 7:30p Eastern for Saturday. When I finally navigated through the questions on the phone it also said closed. Funny how the office suddenly closed within minutes of the attempted call and all before 7:18p Eastern. I just had a simple question about why both my homeowners policies have contents coverage when I only live in one of the homes. Please do not post hours that you do not honor. Poor customer service.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/23/15
I apologize that you experienced issues reaching a USAA Representative the other day. To ensure your concerns have been addressed, I will have a specialist reach out to you today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Premium doubled in 1 year!

Written on2/21/15
Customer avatar
KatrinaZ
fromAL
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
We have been loyal customers of USAA for 10+ years. Our homeowners insurance premium doubled this year! When I called USAA to inquire about the increase their response was that there had been several claims in my area over the past several years. So my premium doubles as a result!? The replacement value that they have quoted for my home is extremely inflated. There are new homes being built in my area for much less, including the cost of the land!! Time to shop around for a better rate.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/27/15
Dear KatrinaZ,

We want you to feel confident about the type of coverage you have. I have asked a specialist to take a look at your policy and then contact you personally to address any additional questions your may have. Thank you for reaching out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

50% rate increase on homeowner policy?

Written on2/20/15
Customer avatar
FCF
Your 50% rate increase on our homeowner policy from 2014 to 2015 is unconscionable, coupled with the fact that it is on our 40+year membership.
I am shopping insurance (for all of our USAA policies), because you are not the only game in town. Our children plan to follow suit with their policies, because this is not honorable on any level.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/23/15
Dear member,

Your 40+ year relationship with us is greatly valued and appreciated. USAA considers many factors when determining premiums: state rate changes, rebuild value, claims and payment history, to name a few variables. Before you decide to move your policy, allow us the opportunity to review your policy to see what triggered the increase and what options they are to mitigate the impact. A senior specialist has been assigned and will contact you shortly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

WEB SITE

Written on2/14/15
Customer avatar
gist4fun
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
YOUR WEB SITE HIDES THE PAGE WHERE IN A MEMBER CAN SEND AN EMAIL TO USAA. THIS IS FRUSTRATING. IT IS ALSO TYPICAL OF insurance "WE TALK AND YOU LISTEN" mindset.
EVERY TIME I SEARCH FOR THAT PAGE I THINK ABOUT SENDING A LETTER TO THE CHAIRMAN OF USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Rate increase! Again!

Written on2/12/15
Customer avatar
Cruzluna
Military Branch:Marine Corps
This is two years in a row my rate has gone up. It has doubled since 2011. I spoke to a rep. My payment went down slightly, but only because I raised my deductible. I am definitely shopping around for a different insurance.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/13/15
Your membership is extremely important to us. To be sure that no stone has been left unturned, I have asked that a specialist look at your account and follow up with you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Constantly Rising!

Written on2/11/15
Customer avatar
TheSimpsons
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
We have been with USAA for years with all of our insurance and banking needs. Our homeowners insurance increased 126+% YES! 126+% from 2011 to 2013. We were notified about the increase from our mortgage company. Our mortgage payment went up to cover the insurance cost. Mortgage, Ins, tax are combined. We called USAA to find out why our rate went from $2,300 to over $6k. It was because of claims of hail damage and loss of tractor due to wild fires that took out over 360 homes in our area. $365k home and all belongings or $15k tractor?? hmmm... What would you have recommended to take as a loss USAA?? These were CATASTROPHIC EVENTS! Shouldn't have counted against us. USAA first said 3 years now they are saying 5 years before they don't count! THANK YOU FOR MAKING OUR MORTGAGE UNAFFORDABLE! Not only that, our auto insurance rises every year too!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator2/12/15
Your membership is extremely important to us and we really do appreciate your feedback. USAA considers many factors when determining premiums; claims activity is just one factor. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review both your homeowners and auto policies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Georgia Homeowners Policy price increases

Written on2/11/15
Customer avatar
sac1mjr
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I just reviewed my homeowners policy renewal for 1/15. Premium is now $3,483 an 21% increase over 2013 premium of $2,767.
I have had this policy for 5 years and never filed a single claim. I cannot stay with USAA even though I like the company if 20% plus rate increases are coming every year.
The annual home inspection seems to be more about increasing the insurable value to drive premium. My inspector valued my home for premium at $895k without the lot. Zillow says my home is worth $750k. I guess I will have to shop the market unless USAA gets control of the pricing situation.
I really like USAA but this is too much
Mark
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator2/11/15
Your membership is extremely important to us and the last thing we want is to lose your business. USAA considers many factors when determining premiums. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review your homeowner’s policy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Looking for your loop hole

Written on2/8/15
Customer avatar
Txjetmech
fromBurkburnett, Texas
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I got notification that my policy will be renewing. I was expecting no change since I did file a claim and then closed it when I found I did not need to have a claim. USAA paid zero dollars out but now they look for another way they can raise my cost of insurance. I am notified my roof is 10 years old. My gosh when I purchased it in 2005.(USAA was not my home owners insurance) I got a 30 year roof. Not good enough for USAA this is their way to increase the policy amount. Do your Homework and look around because USAA is quickly becoming just like every other company out their. I wonder who will play their TV rep in their commercials. I am going to be doing my Homework between now and April because I believe you should get rewarded for no claims not a sneak attack when your not looking.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/9/15
We appreciate your feedback. USAA considers many factors when determining premiums. At anytime should you have questions regarding your policy, feel free to ask a representative for a full policy review. For now, I have asked that a specialist take a closer look at your policy and then contact you personally to address your concerns.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Hidden Annual Premium Increases

Written on2/7/15
Customer avatar
Jckrieger
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
USAA no longer provides competitive coverage for my primary household. For the last two years USAA has been increasing my premium without my consent. I have never made a single claim on any of my policies and my house has not appreciated in value.
My renewal is due at the end of February and this will likely be the last year with USAA. I will also be reviewing my auto insurance policies for competitiveness. It is unfortunate that I am now being forced to shop around for insurance.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/9/15
Your membership is extremely important to us and the last thing we want is to lose your business. USAA considers many factors when determining premiums; claims activity is just one factor. I have asked a specialist to look into your concerns further and then contact you to review both your homeowners and auto policies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

unable to contact during posted times

Written on2/6/15
Customer avatar
cccccccccccccc
fromcolumbus oh
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I received a notice that my mortgage company did not pay my insurance. I tried calling and the offices said they were closed. I logged on, as directed in the letter, to check the current payment status. No where on the site could I find a listing of the last payments. Then, under the "contact a representative" tab, the posted hours were until 9p.m. So sorry, still closed at that number too. Please update your site to reflect true practice.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA2/9/15
I apologize that you experienced issues reaching a USAA Representative the other day. To ensure your concerns have been addressed, I will have a specialist reach out to you today.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Home Insurance: Homeowners Insurance Quotes
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great

Written on1/27/15
Customer avatar
costaricaraftguide
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
great
I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.