USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_insurance_auto_product Auto Insurance

brand_insurance_auto_product Auto Insurance

Overall rating:
4.612 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(4913 reviews) 3831
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 4913 reviews
5 Stars
4,233
4 Stars
163
3 Stars
108
2 Stars
109
1 Star
300
4431 out of 491390%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Auto Insurance
Review 1 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Best

Written on5/27/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Member since 2011. 73 years old. Have gone through at least 6 insurance companies. No one matches the service, coverage or premiums. Unfortunately had one accident. Most satisfied with the service. The auto body shop, upon learning I had USAA, said to me, "Absolutely no problem with doing the repair. You're in great hands with USAA". Always have had questions answered quickly and CORRECTLY.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA5/27/15
Cherry Hill Mike,

It's great to hear that you are so pleased with our products and services!! We look forward to many more years of assisting you. Get the word out to your family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best SERVICE MONEY CAN BUY!

Written on3/20/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Not only do they give you what you deserve, but in my opinion they really made me feel like they care for service members and their family! I have been a member for a while and could not be happier. Recently I was behind a truck and caught those unavoidable flying rocks right to the middle of my windshield. USAA hooked my up with an appointment with a glass specialist and nothing came out of my pocket!! The specialist even found another nick in my window and filled it free as well, almost a year later the window still looks brand new! GOOD JOB USAA.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA3/20/15
BigJim,

Happy Friday to you! I think all can relate to your experience of being behind a big semi-truck and suddenly a rock/debris flies up and hits the windshield. Great to hear that you had a good service experience with us and that your windshield is in good condition a year later!! Have a good weekend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Job

Written on1/14/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I want to thank you USAA for help me switching over my car and home owner insurance. Mary I believe her name was help me with all the things I needed and I wanted just give her a great big hug through the phone. Good job well done thank you so much
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA1/15/15
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are proud to serve you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

No better deal, service, or quality!

Written on12/23/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've only been a member for short time, but I have had nothing but great experiences from USAA! Everything from my insurance to invest plans and my credit card. After my wife and I both experienced two very small accidents, we had much help getting the repairs and payments complete without affecting our premium too much. Once was I given some not-so reliable advice on my coverage after my accident, but it was nothing to wither down my confidence in the employees or company. I have browsed before and could not find any better deals. I continue to recommend this to friends and family who are current or prior military for the best experience. Thank you, USAA! I look forward to continue being a member of such a reliable service!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA12/24/14
Your post made our day! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Happy Holidays and a safe New Year!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fifty plus years of satisfaction

Written on12/1/14
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA has fulfilled every need our family has had due to auto accidents, lightening strikes, teen drivers, storm damage and road service. Our 4 children and 7 grandchildren are 2nd & 3rd generation USAA'ers. When we are solicited to change carriers, callers stop in mid-sentence when we say we've had USAA for 50 years and even if your company gave us coverage for less, we will not change a very very good thing.
I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent all around service

Written on9/30/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We have never been happier with our insurance needs since we switched to USAA. We've only had one claim and that was handled immediately and professionally. We make it a habit to let other insurance companies that contact us, know, that they even if they offered insurance without a premium they cannot compete with USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Caring and Supportive

Written on9/30/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My husband had a heart attack in 2011. And subsequent major health problems. Then in 2012, we had a bad truck accident where our vehicle was sideswiped by another car which propelled our car to go airborne and hit a semi-truck. Luckily, the Durango did not flip over but my husband, daughter and service dog were injured. USAA was with us every step of the way. They were caring, compassionate and made things so much easier for my family. With the health issues, we have had to make late payments too and USAA understood and did not charge me a late fee. It is like working with an old friend. My family has been with USAA for over 25 years and my mother-in-law since 1967. It is a great company who really care for the military and their children and their children's children. God bless USAA and its employees.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I'd Rather Fight Than Switch!!

Written on9/11/14
Customer avatar
fromPortland, OR
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA is the BEST! The best prices AND the best customer service anywhere! Every time I call, the CS reps go above and beyond to take care of my needs. Also, I have called other insurance companies (just to compare prices) - when I tell them I'm with USAA they just groan and bid me ado. :-)
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Black Forest, CO Forest Fire

Written on9/8/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA was the best insurance company anybody could ever have after experiencing a forest fire that went through our 5-acres and right up to a retaining wall near our home. After talking to other neighbors and their horrible experiences with other insurance companies, I was so glad that USAA was my home insurance carrier. I was treated fairly and with promptness. Words cannot describe how great USAA was with dealing with our policy claim. I've been with USAA for over 30 years and would never change to another insurance company. Great Job USAA!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Inconsistent service

Written on8/28/15
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
It all depends who you can get on the phone after repeating your information numberous times. If you ever have to call USAA, be prepared to be on the line for at least 30-45 min. I had an issue with my auto insurance pay and after calling for 45 min, i was told that the issue was resolved. Apparently I wasted my time because exactly what i was trying to avoid happened. Sometimes the customer service is excellent other times it's terrible. It's like playing russian roulet. I have been a customer for 8 years and it has been getting increasingly worse over time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/28/15
Simius,

I regret hearing you had difficulty getting the assistance needed in resolving your auto billing issue. I've tasked a billing specialist to review the account, then to contact you in hopes of bringing about a speedy resolution.

I appreciate you sharing your feedback.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Money SAVER!!

Written on8/27/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was going bonkers in 2 days trying to search for Vehicle Insurance then that first call to USAA was all it took and I had a Policy on the same day.
They emailed the copies to me to show to the Title/Registration Clerk and I was on my way just over $500 for 6 months?
You cant BEAT That with a Bat!!
WHen Most Policies are like avg $205.00 a month for Personal and Property.
Best Purchase Ever!!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/28/15
Iron-S,

So happy to hear you are pleased with the level of service and the competitive rate received. We strive to provide exceptional service each and everytime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

awesome

Written on8/25/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
awesome
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Lowest Rates Around

Written on8/24/15
Customer avatar
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am really getting my money's worth. I only wish that USAA could cover my renters insurance for my area. But everything else is wonderful! No one else can match my premium and I trust that USAA will take good care of me. Thanks USAA!!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/24/15
CJthe Amazon,

A quick look shows the last time you quoted a renters policy was nearly a year ago. A lot has changed since then such as renters coverage being available in Florida! You should be able to quote coverage on usaa.com OR feel free to call us (800-531-8722).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA is the best!

Written on8/24/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I been with them since I was 16 years of age. I am very pleased with the way they handle things. I get discounts all the time for things. I know when I call someone will answer and help me 24/7. I always feel good when I go through them for anything. I am so glad that my father served that is how I am eligible to be a great member. I totally recommend this company to anyone in the world. The rates are cheap and the coverage is great. Just know that I am a very happy customer!!!!!!!!!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/25/15
The Happy Customer,

Thank you for the compliment! We strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

BIG SAVINGS

Written on8/22/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I WAS JUST FLOORED WHEN I GOT THE AUTO QUOTE FROM USSA
I WAS WITH ALLSTATE AND MY PREMIUM WAS 5200.00 FOR 6 MONTHS
NOW IM WITH USAA AND MY PREMIUM IS 2400.00 FOR 6 MONTHS
WOW WOW WOW THATS A 2800.00 SAVINDS FOR 6 MONTHS AND 5600.00 A YEAR
THANK U
THANK U
THANK U
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/24/15
Happy Camper007,

Your welcome!
Your welcome!
Your welcome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Worst Insurance Company Ever

Written on8/21/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Ever since I've had USAA insurance it has been a struggle. I damaged a rental last year and dealt with over a 3 month long process that involved me calling USAA to check the status since they didn't ever update me. During the initial claim I did a video call which the guy basically said it was my fault. My next disaster was me going on deployment and dealing with an increased rate. Initially I was paying $88 per two weeks but when I got back it was 100 per two weeks. The increase is still unknown after speaking to 3 different reps. One stated it was due to the wreck last year and the other one was unsure. I told the first rep I was going to switch to state farm and she said usaa isn't known for having the best insurance rates. I thought wow did she just say that. I couldnt speak to a superior with the last rep because they were in a conference and it was the only person available. I hate USAA and would not recommend it to anyone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/24/15
Ninjjja,

Let's see what we can do to turn this ship around and get you the answers you need. I appreciate you sharing your feedback and have requested a specialist review your account and then contact you no later than tomorrow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great people

Written on8/21/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA absolutely has the best rates compared to all the other top rated insurance carriers. Thank you.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

AUTO Ins Payment Date

Written on8/21/15
Customer avatar
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
When I try to make a payment with a future date, every time the date defaults back to the current date, very frustrating, I want to pay on or prior to the due date at my convenience, but each time I change the date it reverts back to the current date..........
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/21/15
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our members. USAA aims to provide the best products and services to our members. Feedback such as yours helps to ensure we are meeting your needs. Rest assured we have shared your feedback with a representative who will reach out to you to discuss this matter further.

Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Another Customer Service Failure

Written on8/20/15
Customer avatar
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Normally I don’t write reviews, but reconsidered after my third disappointing customer service call with USAA. All with no attempt at resolution. I have a vehicle that I own but have not been driving. The roadside assistance agents informed me that it would take 24hrs before roadside service would be available. The reason why my roadside service would denied was never address in my contract. She did say that it’s USAA’s policy to make transaction available on the effective date. How would I know if I was not adequately covered for the time period start at the end of the transaction, believing the transaction was completed? It seem that USAA policy is not in line with the intent. Thank goodness that this was not an emergency were I needed help. USAA has great rates and poor implementation of addressing the customer needs and concerns.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/20/15
Fire53ice,

Thank you for taking time to post in Ratings & Reviews. To get a clearer picture into what happen when you added the vehicle to your policy, I have assigned an insurance specialist to look into your account details further. You can expect a call from the specialist within the next business day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Auto Insurance
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Overpriced

Written on8/20/15
Customer avatar
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Your quote overpriced compared to GEICO for same coverage.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy ModeratorUSAA8/20/15
Jim70,

Thank you for reaching out to obtain a quote. Yes at times, a competitor may come in lower than us. It would be nice to take a look at both quotes and see how we line up. I noticed you completed a quote online and didn't talk to one our policy representatives. As a courtesy, I've asked that one reach out to you to see if we can bridge that gap. Have a great day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 192 Next Page>>