USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car

brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car

Overall rating:
4.07 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(1832 reviews) 1818
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1832 reviews
5 Stars
1,178
4 Stars
183
3 Stars
119
2 Stars
125
1 Star
227
1490 out of 183281%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 155 Answers
Customer reviews for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Review 1 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Didn't help me and too few dealers participate

Written on7/4/15
Customer avatar
RBissell
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
On a previous car purchase I didn't use the service because there were no participating dealers in close proximity. For a more recent purchase I am considering, I decided to give it a try even though it had me driving a good distance for the nearest dealer. It is true that the dealer accepted the new car price however they much lower than a competing offer for the trade-in. The salesperson told me "I can't give you such a good price on both ends of the deal". We were asking the dealer to beat a competing dealer's trade-in offer by a small margin. They were not willing. So what good is the no-haggle true car price if the dealer is just going to take your savings away by low-balling the trade-in? This service would be much more valuable if you do not have a trade-in to negotiate. In the end it was half of a day completely wasted.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Good but needs some tweaking

Written on7/3/15
Customer avatar
Sean OD
fromPortsmouth, VA
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
This was the first time we have used the USAA car buying service. It was ok as it pitted dealerships against each other and each one would honor the lowest offer we would find even if it was at another dealership.
The problem we found with the USAA car buying service was we were looking for a specific model of a car with specific features. When we would go to the dealership, they didn't have EXACTLY what we were looking for as what we wanted needed to be ordered from the factory. Everything they had on the lot was $3-$6K more than our USAA price due to all the added features the cars on the lot already had in them. We couldn't order a car as we were leaving before it would have been delivered. So, we revisited our options and ended up purchasing a car for more money.
Good experience but will be more prepared next time.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Good research tool

Written on7/1/15
Customer avatar
Oagr
fromMonterey CA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I had this work out for me well when I bought a new RAV4 back in 2007. It is a great service when you have a dealership nearby that works with USAA, and they have the car you want. Lately I am finding that there are not a lot of local dealerships that work with USAA (I'm outside JBLM, lots of military here), and the ones that do work with USAA don't usually have the car I am looking for, so I use the USAA Car Buying service as a research tool to see what the potential savings on my purchase could be, and haggle with the sales staff from there. I really enjoyed it when it worked out well, the dealership treated me like a VIP :)
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent experience with USAA Car Buying Service

Written on6/29/15
Customer avatar
Jsy32211
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I did my homework before choosing a specific USAA Car Buying Service dealer in my area, having several to select from. After getting my certificate from USAA, I searched the current inventory on each dealer's website to ensure they had the specific vehicle I desired on their lot. One did. Only then did I engage with the dealer, who honored the USAA Car Buying Service price. I also saved significant money by financing through USAA Bank at their special 0.74% APR 36 month rate. Sweet deal overall. Simple, straightforward, and fast. Excellent customer service from USAA and from dealer. I was very pleased.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Auto Buying Service is AWESOME

Written on6/29/15
Customer avatar
ChiefSteve
fromHernando, Florida
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
In the search for a replacement for our Toyota 4-Runner, we sought out USAA for recommended Dealers. This service was awesome and was able to provide us a Dealership that had a Staff that were both professional and technically proficient. We traded our 2014 4-Runner for the 2015 Tundra 1794 Edition. USAA was with us throughout the process and made the purchase experience easy as well as efficient with respect to time for completing all the paperwork. The documentation was completed before the detailing of the vehicle...WOW!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

I can't believe this is a USAA product

Written on6/29/15
Customer avatar
sbjohnsrpi
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
The car buying service would have had me drive 65 (or 150 or 1000) miles to reach a "certified" dealer and pay nearly $2,000 more than the price I ended up paying at one of the dealers in my area. I don't know what value the service is supposed to provide; I had far better success simply contacting the dealers in my area via email, and going back and forth between them until no one was willing to give me a better price.
And USAA's ordinarily outstanding customer service was unable (or unwilling) to give me any reason why my local dealers weren't "certified" to be part of the program. I find it hard to believe this is a USAA product. My whole experience with it was so poor that I ended up avoiding USAA entirely for financing my vehicle.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/29/15

We appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we take it heart. The dealers will do their best to match the model car you built to their inventory, however, the price protection certificate applies to that specific dealer and their in stock vehicles. USAA recognizes that members have encountered service issues related to locating dealers in your local area. Rest assured we are actively working on expanding the network of dealers available to our members daily to help improve your overall experience. Again, thank you for your feedback.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

This product requires some homework

Written on6/28/15
Customer avatar
StopTheMilIndComplex
fromPittsburgh, PA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Many reviews already mention what I am about to say, but it needs to be emphasized -- your TrueCar quote needs to be exactly like the one you are purchasing off the lot, or the dealer does not have to honor the certificate. I recommend that you first visit the dealer's website and download the window sticker of the car you want to purchase. Then, use the USAA Car Buying Service to 'create' the car from the window sticker of your desired car and re-print the USAA TrueCar certificate. It's a real hassle using this program, but it did save me a few thousand bucks on a 2014 Dodge Durango. Also, the dealer will likely not honor military discounts or other rebates -- mine said "the TrueCar is so low that we will lose money if we honor any other discounts."
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/29/15
Thanks again for sharing your experience. When you build a car online we are not pulling from the dealer’s inventory. The dealer will let you know what they have in stock. The price may change because the vehicle has more options, but the pricing in relation to the invoice will not change. We let you know on the site that our pricing is for in-stock units only. You also have to work with the points of contact at the dealers to be sure you get the member price. If you work with a salesman on the floor they will not know the USAA program and you may a bad experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

USAA and TrueCar are great features

Written on6/28/15
Customer avatar
Dave5715
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Unfortunately the dealer I selected used the TrueCar Certificate to get you into the dealership. They indicated that the car that was quoted on the certificate was only good for an in stock car. The dealer did not have the car I picked and requested pricing on. They tried to sell me an in stock car that I didn't want and the price was not as quoted on the certificate. They also wanted to hit me with a $750.00 charge to do a dealer trade and they increased the car price by $3000.00.
They wasted my time and I drove 38 miles to get to the dealership. I wouldn't recommend this dealer to anyone and I will never buy from them. I did place an order for the car I wanted from a none TrueCar dealer and he gave me a better price than the certificate price.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/29/15
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your overall car buying experience. If something did not turn out as you expected when using the Car Buying Service it’s important that we know about it.

As you mentioned, the dealer will do their best to match the model car built to their available inventory. If that particular model is not available, it could result in a model with more or less options. Whatever the outcome, you are protected at the dealership upon buying the in stock model because your price relative to invoice will not change. Ultimately we are happy to hear you saved money on your purchase. Thanks again for sharing your experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Dealer should be removed...

Written on6/27/15
Customer avatar
duckman76
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have used this in the past to purchase my 2012 Camry, but it was a completely different experience this time around. I asked for a new 2015 Ford Escape with certain features and the dealer told me that he had the "exact" one I was wanting to purchase for even less than the USAA price because of rebates. I was ecstatic because I thought I was getting a great deal.
When I arrived there, they didn't have the vehicle I was looking for, so they told me that they would try to locate one, which irked me because they told me they already had the vehicle. They couldn't find the exact one that I wanted, irked me even further, but they came close; however, when it came time to negotiate the price, they jacked the price back up to the original MSRP and proceeded to tell me that they couldn't honor the USAA price nor give me any of the rebates they were offering before because they were trading the vehicle for one of theirs. I told them I was going to walk and they didn't even try to stop me.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/29/15
We apologize for the treatment you've received and sorry to hear that this has been such an unpleasant experience for you. I'd like to look into your situation to determine what we can do to help. Thank you for your comment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fantastic Service!

Written on6/27/15
Customer avatar
Pish
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I used the USAA Car Buying Service's True Car estimate, and was extremely impressed. I plugged in the various features for the car, and then had 3 dealers close by send me their price offerings. Fortunately, the one that was closest to me had the best price, so I went there. The service advisor there held straight to the price in his email; when it was all said and done, I saved thousands off of my new BMW purchase. Yet another reason to love USAA!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Wonderful Car Buying Experience

Written on6/25/15
Customer avatar
Jersybrook
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA had made it so easy to get a car loan and new car, the loan was fair and had great APR rates as well as multiple chances to lower that same APR rate. After I decided on what car to buy it was easy to find it on the USAA car buying website and also locate a local dealer certified by USAA. Due to USAA's loan and certified dealer I was able to purchase my vehicle and drive out the door with my new car in under 30 minutes.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Car Buying Service Works

Written on6/25/15
Customer avatar
NavyFamily
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Never used the USAA Car Buying Service before but decided to try it for a used car I was seeking. They had a car at a price I was willing to pay. The dealer was trustworthy and honest and went beyond to accomodate my desires, and stuck to the USAA price. Frankly, I was impressed with both the service and Dealer... I'll again use both when I need another used car. Well done to both USAA and DriveAway Motors.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Disappointed

Written on6/25/15
Customer avatar
Old Fed
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Sad experience with the car buying service. In the DC area one would think USAA has "good" relations with "reputable" dealers. I received my buying certificate. Price was great. Dealer contacted me. But the price was 8K higher and the car was located 60 miles away. When I called USAA on 24 June, the rep told me "that shouldn't happen". But no solution was offered so told the rep I would ask the dealer to explain. This morning, I submitted an on line question to USAA and the response was a "cut & paste" of standard USAA program descriptors. I have asked USAA how they might earn my trust to buy and purchase a vehicle through USAA. It ain't looking good. But I understand the problem -- there are hardly any USAA customers in the DC area!! LOL
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/26/15
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent car buying experience with us. If our members are not having a positive experience, it's important that we know about it. The Certified Dealerships will do their best to match the car (year, make, and model) built to their available inventory. However, based on our phone conversation today, we will be reviewing the situation further with the dealer. We appreciate your patience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Unreasonable

Written on6/23/15
Customer avatar
Joe1957
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I started my search with a USAA Certified Dealership that was close to my home, but when I was ready to close the deal, I was informed that I would have to drive 100 miles to another Certified Dealership to pick up the required paperwork. It didn't make any sense and the USAA rep was unbending. I worked out the deal on my own.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator 6/23/15
We appreciate your feedback and certainly want to be who you turn to for a smooth car buying experience. Although the dealers in your area are currently limited we are growing our network of dealers daily to improve the service and address this concern. Thank you again for your feedback and for being a loyal USAA member.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Can't go wrong

Written on6/22/15
Customer avatar
JeffS2
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
You can't lose with trying it. They give you suggested vehicles and if you don't like the vehicle after you get there and look at it, you can use that as a bargaining position for another. You also get a better Financing Rate from USAA for using the service.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/22/15
We appreciate the comments on our Car Buying Service. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the service. Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA car buying service

Written on6/20/15
Customer avatar
alvin422
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I used this service to purchase a used Honda in 2013 and a new Toyota truck in 2015. Each transaction went very smooth and I was able to buy the vehicles at a very good price. I researched pricing and financing before using this service, and I discovered the best deal at USAA. The whole process was also stress free and I did not leave the dealerships feeling ripped off. I will always use this service to buy future vehicles.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/22/15
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Car Buying Service. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed two great experiences with this service. We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Car Selling Service

Written on6/19/15
Customer avatar
Patrick D.
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I used the USAA car selling service to sell a 2006 Mazda 6. It was getting up there in miles (close to 120,000) and needed quite a bit of maintenance work. I used the service and received a bid about two days ago. A USAA agent contacted me almost immediately to set up an appointment around my schedule and followed up with me three separate times to ensure everything was smooth. The dealership took about 30 minutes from arrival to completion of the sale, and honestly I was a bit worried because it was moving so quickly. However, the dealership honored the USAA guaranteed offer and it was an amicable experience. I would recommend using this service if you have a vehicle that you need to sell/get rid of. I haven't dealt with places like CARMAX personally but I would imagine this service is much easier than haggling with them.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/22/15
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. USAA aims to provide competitive services that our members will benefit from. Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA car buying service is first rate!

Written on6/19/15
Customer avatar
Bill C III
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA provided me with three potential Toyota dealers within 40 miles and gave me firm prices for the Highlander I wanted. The dealer closest to my house offered the best deal and worked hard to get me the car I wanted. The negotiations were seamless, transparent and free of frustration and pressure. I've never had such a flawless auto purchase in 50 years of buying cars. USAA made the process, from finding the dealer to financing and insurance, a stress-free and pleasant experience. Thank you!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/22/15
Thank you for your feedback regarding the Car Buying Service. Congratulations on your new Highlander. We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Car Buying Service is Awesome

Written on6/19/15
Customer avatar
Jack62
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I shopped for my son's Honda CRV for about 6 weeks. We went to the dealer and test drove the car and started to negotiate a price. We thought we were getting a pretty good price. I submitted my request through the car buying service and immediately after I finished I received a call and an email from one of the dealers with a price that saved me a lot more. I got an email from another dealer with a quote a few hundred dollars less about 30 minutes later. Overall I saved a huge amount. I will definitely use it again.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/22/15
Thank you for sharing your Car Buying experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the process. We look forward to your continued relationship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Car Buying Services: Research, Purchase and Save on a New Car
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Lincoln has great safety features. Very pleased

Written on6/19/15
Customer avatar
Vern 33
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Spent a lot of time looking at cars on USAA. The information provided made the buying decision and process easy. The recommended dealer and salesman were outstanding. The Lincoln, we purchased from Ford Lincoln of Franklin, price and trade in value were in line with USAA and our expectations.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/19/15
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that your car buying process was smooth and effortless. We look forward to your continued USAA membership.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 91 Next Page>>