USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

Overall rating:
4.045 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(2017 reviews) 2002
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 2017 reviews
5 Stars
1,276
4 Stars
208
3 Stars
138
2 Stars
138
1 Star
257
1632 out of 201781%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 155 Answers
Customer reviews for Car Buying Service
Review 1 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Info you get levels the playing field . . .

Written on2/12/16
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
. . . . but unless you are ordering a car from the factory, you'll still have to negotiate a bit.
All 3 dealers on my USAA/TrueCar panel said they were willing to honor the TrueCar price. Once the negotiations began, they actually beat that price.
TrueCar offered only a limited number of options on its pricing menu, so I could never exactly match my ideal car, or any real car the dealers could find. So the TrueCar price was always close, but never exact. Hence the value in negotiating to some extent.
All the dealers I dealt with were glad to email me the window sticker of vehicles they were offering - so I used that to get an approximate price from TrueCar. Starting from there the dealers bid against each other (I'm talking small amounts here, hundreds of dollars, not thousands) and it finally came down to the best price on some dealer-installed options that I wanted and got for free.
Bottom line: I saved $1700, or 7.6%
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Quick and Easy with a click of a button!

Written on2/11/16
Customer avatar
fromSterling, VA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I had to get two loans back to back due to vehicle being totaled in a car accident the previous month. I enjoyed using their web service and telling them what I want to pay and how I want to pay. I would use this service again if I need a new vehicle.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Experience Start to Finish!

Written on2/10/16
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The USAA Car Buying Service is top-notch! I love the Tru price guarantee! That feature saved me time and money. I bought a great vehicle at a great price. I was in and out of the dealership in less than 2 hours which included the test drive.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

A great car buying experience

Written on2/8/16
Customer avatar
fromRaleigh, NC
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I recently purchased a used 2008 Honda Odyssey through USAA car buying service in conjunction with a trade-in of my 2007 Honda Element. The tools on USAA made the browsing/selection experience enjoyable and relatively painless and helped expedite the purchasing process once I had selected my dealer and vehicle. I would readily recommend using it when making your next vehicle purchasing decision.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent Service

Written on2/2/16
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My husband and I recently bought a new truck. We saved at least an extra $6,000 using the car buying service through USAA. I highly recommend enlisting the help of USAA to help you buy your next vehicle!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent Service - Don't buy without it!

Written on1/28/16
Customer avatar
fromHampton, VA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I had been lightly researching vehicles in prep for a purchase in a couple years - until I was in a collision, which left me 1 week to find new transportation.
USAA Car Buying Service was fantastic! Between the research I had done on the manufacturer's site and the USAA tools, I knew what I could expect to pay for the vehicle I wanted (and what it would cost ME, personally). The dealers scrambled over each other to win my business and I ended up with a vehicle with better options than what I asked for. My brand new "Sexy Beast" is loaded with $7000 worth of upgrades. I drove away paying $6000 under MSRP... That was even less than the TrueCar price! Not only that, but they gave me (in writing) a better rate than the one offered by USAA Financing. I give USAA high marks, and I give God the credit. This accident could have been much worse, and my monthly payment is exactly what I prayed for. He knows my needs and met them with a vengeance through USAA's service!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best used car buying experience

Written on1/27/16
Customer avatar
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We found a very low mileage Volvo XC70 in Laurel, MD. The salesman was very up-front about the vehicle history and their services. We got a great price and did not feel pressured in the least. I was very pleased with my purchase and USAA's prompt response.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This product is the best in the car buying industr

Written on1/23/16
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I strongly recommend this car buying product to anyone who is reading this review. There are so many great things I want to share but do not want to lose the audience with a drawn out response. If any of you are in the market to purchase a vehicle please choose USAA. They will beat the competition.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Car Buying Service is the only way to go

Written on1/19/16
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was looking for a Chevrolet Avalanche, and for several months had been searching for the best deal. I decided to finally give the car buying service a chance and was surprised to find not only was the price competitive, but substantially better than anything I had seen. Not only was the price better, it was more than a 10% discount from the listed price for the same vehicle on the dealer website. The dealership was happy to take the quoted price from USAA, and they were very experienced working with the paperwork needed for financing through USAA. Another great feature is the discount on the interest rate if you purchase your vehicle through the car buying service, which will save me even more over the life of the loan. It is the only way I will shop for a vehicle in the future.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

My used car buying experience was excellent.

Written on1/12/16
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
2013 BMW 328i. My experience was excellent. I arranged for the test drive with the salesman over the telephone. My wife and I test drove the car at the pre-arranged time. We wrote a check for the pre-arranged price (a fair price, -$1200 below the True Car price) and drove the car home withing 30 minutes. There were NO surprises. We loved it!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fastest I've ever bought a car

Written on1/11/16
Customer avatar
fromva
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Coast Guard
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Not only did we buy a car within 24 hours, but got it for 2K less than the average "low price" shown on "truecar". Happy with the purchase, and the loan service.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Car Buying Service

Written on1/6/16
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
One word: Excellent! I had already found a car at a dealer and waited to see if I could find the perfect one (the one at the dealer was the wrong color). USAA CBS had the exact car I wanted, at a cheaper price, at a local dealer, and with a rate that no one could match. Very VERY happy with my purchase and my decision to use USAA for all my financing needs.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

My experience with USSA was EXCELLENT!!!!

Written on1/1/16
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
If you're buying a car, this service is definitely for you!!! The company is behind you. Find the vehicle you want, go on line write the check or call them and have it faxed to the dealership. My purchase was done under an hour!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Car Buying Service

Written on12/31/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I totally recommend the USAA Car Buying Service. It was an overall awesome experience all around. From being able to get the car that I wanted without the pressure of haggling. I was most impress with a situation that happened less than 24 hours after taking delivery of my new car. I had received a noticed from USAA Car Buying Service that the car that I purchased the day before had a new lower price. I presented the new price to the dealership and they honored the new lower price because of the USAA Buying Service. That saved me more than $2000 more than the original savings of $3500 and I was also allowed to take advantage of the manufacture's rebate for another $1000. I am now a huge fan of USAA Buying Service.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Experience!

Written on12/30/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The car buying service is GREAT!! It is very easy to use and saves you money. I wouldn't buy a car any other way.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great service USAA!!

Written on12/29/15
Customer avatar
fromLos Angeles, CA
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Marine Corps
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Love the car buying service. It is an easy way to price shop for cars you want, and give you bargaining power when walking into into a dealership. While we weren't approved directly with USAA, the company we were referred to quickly approved us. I couldn't be more happier.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Car Buying Service

Written on12/28/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The car buying service found us the right dealers with the products and price we were looking for.
We evaluate 2 different brands of cars from different certified dealers. The overall process was smooth with no hassle. We knew going in what the price would be and so there was no discussion of price just about the cars and their features.
After the initial contact, one of the dealers offered us more car than we had specified and then added additional price incentives on top. Net was we got more car and a better deal then we ever expected without a lot of negotiation.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I started with TRUECAR and checked the box USAA

Written on12/28/15
Customer avatar
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We had to replace my wife's car and started with the local dealers. We were on vacation in Southern California when someone totaled her car.
We found the car she wanted and put a deposit on it for delivery in February 2016. This was on November 25 2015.
I knew what she wanted to replace her demolished car with so I figured I would see what was offered online.
First stop was who is the number one Subaru Dealer in the USA?
Heuberger Subaru 1080 Motor City Dr Colorado Springs,CO 80905 ( 18 hour drive). After searching through dealers that actually had the car we wanted, the one that had it was Hillsdale OR just SW of Portland OR and it was listed on USAA. I called them and they would even pick us up at the airport.
We flew in and picked up the car. USAA was able to find the car we wanted, Arrange for financing and insurance. Three hours after landing in Portland OR we were on the road in our Subaru Legacy.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Car Buying Service has some dealer loop holes

Written on12/24/15
Customer avatar
fromVirginia Beach, VA
Military Affiliation:Reserves
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Since my last time using the service, I have noticed a glaring loop hole. When searching for a specific make/model, dealerships will offer an unusually low price when they know they do not have that make/model in stock. After you submit your information, the dealership will push other make/model at higher prices then other dealerships. I understand cars come and go at dealerships constantly, but my experience over 6 weeks searching showed this to be a fact.
One reason I use the service is to avoid "pushy" dealers. USAA Car Buying Service needs to find away to hold the dealerships accountable with price and inventory available.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator12/24/15
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our members. Rest assured, we will share your feedback with the appropriate area.

We look forward to your continued membership with USAA.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing pricing

Written on12/24/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We needed a new truck and it had to be specific. I submitted the car buying info and received the quote. 3 different dealerships contacted me via email offering to help. I called 2 of them back to see if they had anything I needed and they did not. The 3rd dealer did not have it on their lot so they contacted another dealership that had exactly what we wanted and had they trade the truck over. With the quote from USAA car buying, they had to honor the price and give us the truck for more than $10,000 less than they originally were asking. I didn't have the frustration of a dealer pretending to give the best discount 3 or 4 times before coming to a price that worked for me. This saved us so much work and hassle of looking all over!!! Best decision we could have made and I will use it again for any other vehicles we purchase!!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 101 Next Page>>