USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

Overall rating:
4.084 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(1692 reviews) 1678
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1692 reviews
5 Stars
1,100
4 Stars
166
3 Stars
101
2 Stars
118
1 Star
207
1377 out of 169281%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 155 Answers
Customer reviews for Car Buying Service
Review 1 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Extraordinary Program

Written on2/26/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I used the USAA Car selling service for the first time and found it to be absolutely superior!! The program worked EXACTLY as advertised. USAA referred me to the FC Auto dealership in Falls Church, Virginia. This dealership stood by their offer with absolutely no hassle! The entire process took less than two hours start to finish. The folks at FC Auto are smart, professional and have a marvelous touch with people. I could not have been more pleased. Well done USAA--Well Done!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Great deal But

Written on2/26/15
Customer avatar
MIB
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
USAA has great deals and is very organized. I had no problem with the deal given to me through USAA but with the dealership. Mazda is unorganized and poorly informed. I was told twice the car I wanted was in stock, only to find no car once I got to the location. The dealership representative hassled me about changing to a cheaper or more expensive model, since it was what they had in stock. I'm still waiting for the car I want and been waiting for 4 months. Overall, Mazda cars are nice but the process to get one is a pain.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Was simple, great

Written on2/25/15
Customer avatar
Kay123
fromCA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I used the USAA car buying feature plus USAA financing. I got 20% off the car I chose, and that TrueCar price was honored. Quick, seamless process.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Overall good service, but taxes should be included

Written on2/24/15
Customer avatar
musicat_lady
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
The USAA car buying service was definitely a good guide for us - if nothing else, to at least give you a better idea of rock-bottom price without having to hassle to get it. The only negatives for us were that there were no USAA certified dealers in our local area, even though we live in the 2nd largest city in the state. The nearest USAA certified dealers were all about an hour to an hour and a half away - still doable, but not ideal. Also, I thought the rock bottom price listed on the USAA certificate included at least some estimate of taxes, but was then surprised at the dealership when it did not. Since you can't buy a car without paying those taxes, it would be best if USAA included an estimate of these charges on your certificate, so that there are truly no surprises in final price at the dealer - since taxes can easily add up to $1000 - $2000 that you weren't counting on, as they weren't included in that final figure on USAA's certificate.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Car buying service great, "Sell my car" is not

Written on2/23/15
Customer avatar
Bill in RI
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I used the USAA car buying service to get exactly the Honda we wanted at a great price. Received two certificates for dealers in our area that were $1,000 different on the same car. The dealer we liked better beat the other dealer's certificate by $100. No hassle negotiations for fair price. Dealer financing couldn't beat the USAA rate.
"Sell my car" service through USAA was a bad experience. I uploaded pictures and a complete description, then received a cash offer from one dealer 40 miles away that was 40% below average Kelly Blue Book value for selling the car. I explained I was also considering using the car in a trade for new car which is what I did. The Honda dealer I purchased the new car from offered 95% of Kelly Blue Book value. The person from "Sell my car" speaks as if he was from USAA but when I inquired, he was a "USAA Partner", not an employee. I will not use the "Sell my car" service again.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Helpful, but not amazing

Written on2/22/15
Customer avatar
breyn
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I was able to get a USAA incentive discount which was nice; however, the TrueCar estimate provided on USAA's site was merely a guide. The issue I encountered, which is a flaw in USAA's and Jeep's "build your vehicle" software, was that the "True North Edition" option (leather interior, heated seats, etc.) for a 2015 Jeep Cherokee Latitude is not a selectable option. As a result, my TrueCar Estimate was not a negotiating tool, but merely a "soft" guide.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Dissapointed

Written on2/20/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I am very disappointed. Everything went great until I called customer service to only find out we could not get a discount in the interest rate because we use my certificate. Me and my husband look and found a car through the Car Buying Service, went to the dealership, use the USAA certified salesman but decided to buy a different car. My husband decided to call USAA to get the loan because he wanted the new car to be a gift for me. Since the certificate was done under my profile, now they refuse to give us the discount because they said my husband should have used his profile to get the certificate. Maybe I didn't see this rule anywhere, but I do not understand how if we are married buying a car together we cannot get the discount on the rate. The only reason we even got the loan from USAA was because of that reason. When he called to get the loan, he told the rep we were using the Car Buying Service, this rule was never explain to him. Will not use this service again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Would've been 5 stars but...

Written on2/19/15
Customer avatar
Jason N.
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Pros:
1. The actual USAA portion was fantastic. It was easy to operate and provided numerous dealerships within my area; Hampton Roads is a large area with a serious military presence so I think those in a more rural area might have a harder time finding dealerships.
2. I was quoted a great price by USAA and received an ever better price by Rick Hendricks Chevrolet in Norfolk, Va. The customer service (Amber) was excellent and the finance department (Ted) was extremely helpful in securing financing. I am rebuilding my credit (post-divorce) and Ted was able to secure a loan for me after listening to the situation. I can't recommend RH Chevrolet enough.
Cons:
1. There's only one. When they stated that oil changes/etc. are free for two years, that is not the truth. It is a separate charge within the price and I wasn't trying to finance oil changes, etc.
Overall, I highly recommend the USAA Car Buying Service and Rick Hendricks Chevrolet in Norfolk, Va.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Product is great..Sales side is lacking

Written on2/18/15
Customer avatar
ressps
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
The referral that USAA offers is a great program. However I wish I would have known:
1. The price you agree on changes before you get there. We by email asked for their rock bottom price...tax, tag, and fees included. When we got there we were paying $2000 more bc they said there was fees involved.
2. We worked with two different salesmen and both claimed to not know the others thoughts or intentions.
3. We drove 90 miles one way to buy this truck. They pretty much had us. USAA needs more dealers onboard.
4. It took 5 hours to complete the transaction. During signing of papers we found out the finance lady was at a function with her daughter. That was why we waited. Mind you I had 3 kids with me. They need more help.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Car buying expierience

Written on2/16/15
Customer avatar
Surferdude
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My Daughter wanted a black 2009 Honda Civic so bad she looked for a year. Then one showed up in the Capital Hyundai Dealership. USAA said GO GET IT! While we said wash it and we will be right there...USAA was applauding our efforts and the check was there for the car. It was so easy, everyone wins. Thank You USAA!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

I liked the USAA product

Written on2/16/15
Customer avatar
Stuff Happens
fromSugar Grove, IL
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Remember the Guaranteed Saving Certificates are for "in-stock new vehicles". I FINALLY purchased the vehicle I wanted from a dealer 13 miles from my house, but is was tough to get the pricing the certified dealers were offering----however, I prevailed and got everything I wanted. My counsel is that------THE USAA PRICING SHOULD BE YOUR MINIMUM BASELINE WHEN IT COMES TO PRICING FROM THE DEALER, AS EVERY CERTIFIED DEALER HAD A BETTER PRICE ON THE VEHICLE THAT I SPECIFIED WHEN I FACED THEM DOWN. Two of the dealers actually brought out their factory invoices on their in stock vehicles showing the prices, hold-backs, advertising, incentives off for employees, gm suppliers, etc. These are great tools to help you ----but remember this "the dealers get most their profits rebated or refunded back to them for hitting sales goals, and a whole lot of incentives and reductions in advertising sharing and freight savings, etc. The key item to be focused on is the USAA Certified Dealer MSRP Discount.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Poor service; better deals elsewhere

Written on2/16/15
Customer avatar
DandyDuck
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Website was not well organized. I got an interest rate at 1/2 the rate offered by USAA and a better deal by working with local dealers. Certified dealers were too far away and not helpful in reviewing options.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Product was not helpful at all!!

Written on2/16/15
Customer avatar
Ahay
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
The dealership acted as though they had no idea what the USAA Car Buying Service was. My experience was no different then walking in off the street. My prep and legwork was really useless. 5+ hours into the sale with my kids in tow (I wanted their opinion) I had hoped for a quicky, no haggles, car buying experience that after driving 3 hours to get to this great price only to discover that this USAA PRICE was the same price listed at the dealership. Just a huge waste of my time all around. I had hoped at some point the guy would've suggested that I take the car down the road to have late lunch/ early dinner as I still had a three hour trip home. But nothing but old popcorn and water or coffee was offered after 5 hours of waiting to deal with the finance guy of which I never saw. The dealer I dealt with from the beginning was who I finalized everything with.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

I love my new car! However there were issues.

Written on2/16/15
Customer avatar
DKay
fromRuskin FL
Military Affiliation:Widowed
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Three issues:
1. Price needs to be in writing, not verbal. I paid $1500 more than expected.
2. Need to know where to find the Sales Consultant - there were 3 buildings.
3. Sales Consultant needs to know how to operate his computer. I was there several hours because his computer froze up.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Its basically AutoTrader with USAA branding

Written on2/14/15
Customer avatar
Roka
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Prices quoted are the same as those on dealer website...trying to understand the benefit here...
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

New Car Buying Certificate

Written on2/13/15
Customer avatar
Sterling Girl
fromSterling Heights MI
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My certificate was immediately issued with a dealer calling me before it was done printing. I did not go with the certified dealer because it was too far from home. Instead, I took the certificate to my local dealer who honored my certificate with a $600 USAA discount on a new Jeep Cherokee lease. They even priced out my payment options at the USAA bank interest rate if I wanted to purchase my car and use USAA for financing.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Poor Follow up for Outoftowners

Written on2/13/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
After the initial contact with one dealer, she got a good car but not the one I wanted. I asked her to get another quote on another car, and I never heard from her again because I had already used a non USAA dealership. I contacted another USAA certified dealer in Mississippi, and same song different verse. No sense of urgency in these dealerships. (Dodge). They seem to only want to make a sale, not to get you the car you want. I had a car within four days of looking, and my experience with USAA buying service was hopeful at first, an very disappointing overall. I still love USAA. This product could use some tweaking. Thanks,
Aura.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

USAA Car Buying Service

Written on2/12/15
Customer avatar
mylesmele
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
The car buying service was Spot On! The dealers were receptive, especially the dealership in Poway.The dealership in Poway followed USAA protocol and accepted your pricing without any frills or strings attached. On the other hand the dealership in Escondido was most aggressive but did not provide me what I wanted to purchase; they kept pushing a vehicle that they had on their lot. Not a good customer encounter. If I do have to go an get another Toyota vehicle, it most likely will be through the dealership in Poway! Bravo Zulu for the dealership in Poway and its support of the USAA protocols!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Not all I thought it would be...

Written on2/11/15
Customer avatar
DIdahoCat
fromBoise, Idaho
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
You get something similar from Costco; however, neither offer that much of a savings. Would have only saved me dealer doc fees had I not did my own research. I was able to save over $1100 over TrueCar Certificate. Be willing to search outside your local dealerships.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Car Buying Service

Written on2/10/15
Customer avatar
JerryW61
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I'd recommend the USAA car buying service to every member seeking a new car or truck. Most of the negotiating is done for you before you even enter the dealership. You only have to hold the dealership to their quote. And then strive to get a further reduction on price.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.