USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

Overall rating:
4.073 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(1786 reviews) 1772
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1786 reviews
5 Stars
1,152
4 Stars
180
3 Stars
108
2 Stars
124
1 Star
222
1453 out of 178681%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 155 Answers
Customer reviews for Car Buying Service
Review 1 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA makes it easy

Written on5/23/15
Customer avatar
beetle63
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I went through the webpages of the USAA car buying service and printed the documents for several new Kias I was considering. At the dealership, we saw crazy prices with DMA (Dealer mark-up for local demand), several thousand above the True Car Pricing guarantees we had in hand. We presented the USAA True Price offer that was well below MSRP to the sales manager. He never blinked an eye, just congratulated us on our new car purchase. Then the finance manager sweetened the deal with a very competitive financing rate on a 60 month loan. In and out in under an hour. Thanks, USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Frontier Motors, Pensacola, FL. review

Written on5/18/15
Customer avatar
captjlw
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Frontier Motors in Pensacola FL and their representative, "Robin", did a fantastic job for me. They went well above and beyond what other dealers, including my local dealers were willing to do. Robin called me with her buyer on the other line and told me about the car they found, including text messaged images and specifications. On just my word that I would buy it, Robin bought the car and had it delivered to Pensacola from Atlanta. With my financing through USAA in place, I flew to Pensacola and bought the car with just a signature. All the proper paperwork was in place and complete. I drove away that day with what I wanted at a good price and never any hassles or pressures from Frontier Motors to close the deal. I highly recommend taking your car buying business to Frontier Motors and see Robin. They showed me a level of integrity that is rare among car dealers and made my buying experience effortless. USAA finance and buying service made it all possible.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Beautiful

Written on5/17/15
Customer avatar
a7
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This was my first new car purchase. I was nervous. The car buying service was great. The dealer I chose was great. After I finally picked which vehicle I wanted, I was driving off the lot within an hour
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

USAA Auto Loan

Written on5/17/15
Customer avatar
Another loyal member
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I purchased a new vehicle using USAA's Car Buying Service and had the loan financed through USAA. Although the loan was preapproved, and I had the dealer electronic check in-hand, it still took 5 business days for delivery; 80% of that time was spent getting the loan funded and sent to the dealership - they wouldn't deliver the vehicle until the money was physically in their bank account.
I'm not sure if this timeline is normal or not, but I never had to wait this long with my previous vehicle purchases, where the loan source was through a military credit union and not USAA.
Aside from that, the rate was excellent, and the price given through their Car Buying Service was very fair.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Can't beat the USAA Car Buying Service

Written on5/16/15
Customer avatar
Rudy Lou
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Once again, the USAA Car Buying Service was an excellent tool for locating the exact car I was looking for, and the exact price and the proper location. The dealerships always give no hassle about honoring the USAA quoted price, and I always receive the best customer service when I mention being a USAA member. I highly recommend it!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Easy-to-use

Written on5/16/15
Customer avatar
dixchick05
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
It was a pleasant experience with this service, no hassle and no surprises.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Stellar, excellent, outstanding!

Written on5/15/15
Customer avatar
618018
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I found a vehicle that matched my needs and price perfectly. I bought my vehicle using USAA car buying service and USAA financing. USAA is reliable, prompt, patient and expeditious! My experiences with USAA are always spot on. I love you guys! You are the best!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This Product is Great!

Written on5/14/15
Customer avatar
Paticia
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We have used the USAA Car Buying Service twice now and have been really pleased with the savings and the service both times.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA car buying service worked great.

Written on5/13/15
Customer avatar
Tubbyfat
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This is my first time using this service. I wanted an Audi A7, and there is just one dealer in my Western NY city. The USAA service sent me to New Jersey as the nearest dealer who participated with USAA. I brought the USAA price offer to my local dealer ($6000 off MSRP) and they wouldn't budge. Went to NJ and the dealer found the exact car I wanted at the agreed upon price, and even delivered it free of charge 300 miles away. When the car you want is sold by one or two local dealers, they won't move on price. If you're buying a car with many dealers in town, I'm sure they'll match the USAA price.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

USAA/TruCar Service is of no use anymore

Written on5/11/15
Customer avatar
Carpenter Lady
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
We are long time USAA members and have used the Car Buying service three times in the past. We've even had local dealers (who do not participate in the program) match the USAA TruCar price. We may have had to drive a distance to get the right price, but it's always been worth it.
Recently we decided to look for a new pickup in the Hampton Roads area. Three different dealers emailed us their USAA prices for the exact model we were looking for. (Needless to say, most dealers do NOT have that exact model, but are willing to get you what you want, and sell it to you for that Certified Price) This is not happening anymore. Now dealers email you their Certified Price, but will not honor it. They try to sell you something thousands of dollars more. None of the three was willing to get the truck we wanted for the price they said they'd charge us.
In addition, we got multiple calls from the same dealerships from different individuals who were unaware we'd already been contacted. Annoying!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Price variances

Written on5/11/15
Customer avatar
rbdclem
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
While the USAA car service is very helpful in eliminating the "haggling", I don't like the big differences in pricing per dealer. Seems that if there is a USAA/True Car price, should be the same with any dealers USAA works with. Aside from that, the process is very easy.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Outstanding product

Written on5/8/15
Customer avatar
1bill
fromArizona
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Coast Guard
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have used USAA Car Buying Servcie twice before and when we decided to trade in our 2012 Ram, I never thought about going any where but USAA. This was even better than the other two times. I was in the process of printing my certificates when I received a phone call from Drake, the fleet manager at Larry Miller Dodge in Suprise, AZ. and then got two other e-mail from the other three dealerships. I was very impressed with Drake and after going through the inventory of all the Dodge dealers on the West Side of Phoenix I called Drake. I gave him the stock # of the Dodge Journey Crossroad I wanted to see and went to our appointment. We drove the vehicle, went back to the dealership and disccused the deal. No hassle, no arguing, it was a done deal, we got what we wanted for our 2012 Ram 4x4 and bought the Dodge Journey Crossroad on the spot. We are very happy with the whole process.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Process

Written on5/8/15
Customer avatar
Kathy3
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
After our car was written off by USAA, they assisted our family with a $300 discount and a link to great used cars. We used their USAA recommended dealer and got a great deal on a 2012 Honda Pilot.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love USAA Buying Service

Written on5/7/15
Customer avatar
CrustyCSM
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have used USAA car buying service for my last 4 vehicle purchases. I love it. You guys do it right, and I wouldn't buy a car any other way.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA's Car Buying Service makes purchasing easy.

Written on5/7/15
Customer avatar
Hurricane Howard
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA's Car Buying Service made research, selection, and negotiation easier, quicker, and more simple than we have encountered in 45-years of experience replacing family cars; it made us feel in control of the variables and relieved the pressure -- except usual internal family tensions" choosing make, model, and accessories. Access to TrueCar data was much appreciated. The Build-Your-Own routine and matter-of-fact pricing made less of a "shock"; although, total price(s) were more than the mortgage on our first house. I did not expect the process notified dealer(s). We began receiving calls before finished, but most chose e-mail. Our choice of dealers after test drives was for one that had opted-out of USAA's service; they could offer a lower price. We bought 3 cars from dealers in different locations at prices we could not have obtained without the certificates with low dealer prices offered on USAA Certificates. We remain satisfied USAA members after 45 years of experience.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Car Buying Service is Alive and Well

Written on5/6/15
Customer avatar
TDL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was a bit skeptical because there’s always a catch to great prices. I received three offers through USAA from three local dealerships. Each dealership sent me an email asking for me to provide my contact information. I ended up working with the one that had the best offer and I got a GREAT deal. I was able to purchase the exact vehicle I wanted for over $7,000 under MSRP. The dealership lost money on my deal. There was no haggling or hassling from the dealership and they honored their offer through USAA. Having read some of the negative reviews, it must be the dealership that makes the experience a good one or a bad one. If you’re in the Fort Stewart area, I highly recommend using the car buying service and paying Savannah Toyota a visit.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

A better way to buy a car

Written on5/5/15
Customer avatar
CraftyChick
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This was my first time ever buying a new car through a "Car Buying Guide" The USAA customer service Rep was FANTASTIC! She made it easy to start the car buying process. I very much enjoyed using the computer to search for different makes/models of cars and to put a car "together" before dealing with sales people. The only drawback was the second you pushed "submit" I was getting calls and emails from pushy sales people. I also got a "video" email from a sales rep which was way too technical for me. I also wanted a "manual" transmission and none of the dealerships had the car I asked for, but I ended up with the same make/model I asked for and I love my car. I love this process and recommend it to everyone.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Overall easy and good deal, with one major caveat

Written on5/5/15
Customer avatar
Bryan_ATX
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
It was very easy to start the process and make changes. The additional discount price is great, especially when partnered with the very low rate. The only problem I have with the process is you have to submit your information to the dealer at the end before seeing the prices, which means within 5 minutes of hitting "submit," my phone was ringing and receiving texts, and my email address was notifying me of incoming messages - all from pushy car salesmen. Fortunately I learned from the first time I tried the car buying service (and had to tell reps from FIVE different dealers that I was shopping around and NOT interested in buying), and this time, I used an alternate phone number and email address. Other than giving your contact info to the dealers, the service was great, but I'm STILL getting the occasional "hey check out these deals" emails and opting out of them. Otherwise I'd have given the service 5 stars.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very good way to purchase a vehicle

Written on5/3/15
Customer avatar
edn1962
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Great experience! My advice would be to focus on the dealerships that list a price below the sticker price. Some dealerships indicate that you must call them for the best price. I was told the sticker price is the best price because the vehicle I wanted to buy (Subaru Outback) was selling out very quickly. Don't fall for it, I eventually paid approximately $2300.00 below sticker.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

TOTALLY AWSOME!

Written on5/1/15
Customer avatar
Major Tim K
fromIllinois
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
From start to finish, my experience with USAA Car Buying was nothing short of TOTALLY AWSOME!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.