USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

Overall rating:
4.073 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(1721 reviews) 1707
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1721 reviews
5 Stars
1,113
4 Stars
171
3 Stars
102
2 Stars
120
1 Star
215
1396 out of 172181%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 155 Answers
Customer reviews for Car Buying Service
Review 1 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

It was easy!

Written on3/27/15
Customer avatar
BLLingg
fromSaint Helens, Oregon
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The Sales Rep with Emmert Motors in Saint Helens responded IMMEDIATELY. The Car was still available at the stated Price. I had walked in with the Blue Book price which wasn't for a Dealer Sale, thinking that I could get it cheaper than the USAA Stated Price. But he already had the Blue Book price for a Dealer Sale Printed out.
They had taken it into the Shop and ran it through their 67 (?) Point Check. They replaced the Tires. They detailed it AND washed it while we were waiting.
The only drawback is that I could only use the USAA Car Buying Service when I realized that I was going to have to pay more than my usual under $2,000 price to get a decent Car. Once I realized that, the Car Buying Service was GREAT! Best of all for me is that I didn't have to go into Portland OR drive around Town trying to find the Car I wanted. I probably would never have even tried Emmert since I didn't think a Dealer would carry a Vehicle cheap enough for me to be able to afford it.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

An Exceptional Service!

Written on3/26/15
Customer avatar
BASSFISHING
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I truly enjoyed my car buying experience. I used a USAA certified Dealer and they honored my true car pricing certificate which was almost $4k below MSRP. My vehicle also had to be specially ordered since it wasn't available but dealership kept me informed and up to date. There was no haggling, just gave them the electronic check, showed them certificate and signed papers. So easy and painless!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Car Buying Service

Written on3/26/15
Customer avatar
Double Trouble 16
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
There are only three (out of 10) Toyota Dealerships in San Diego that USAA certifies through their Car Buying Service.
From the start, I was treated with respect and professionalism. My questions were answered with facts, not opinions and when my salesman didn’t know the answer, he said so and promptly found out the answer from their staff of experts.
I had my USAA buying Certificate which had a guaranteed price significantly below the MRSP. Right up front, they honored the USAA Certificate and after nearly 4 hours of negotiating and haggling on my part, we agreed upon an even lower price. It was so low that I thought “they will never actually sell me a 4Runner for such a low price".
They did not have a 4Runner on their lot, but had several coming from Japan. I was called when they came in. My salesman had all the paper work we had agreed upon and all the conditions I had insisted on were met. I was soon driving home my new 4Runner and I couldn’t have been more pleased.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Beware of USAA Certified Dealers

Written on3/25/15
Customer avatar
Outlaw Sho
fromOxon Hill, Md
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I explained it to them before i bought the car it has to pass the Md inspection and they promise and guarantee.(was Va inspected car) If not call them and they will work it out. While It NO WHERE NEAR PASS inspection!!! Leaking oil (which i checked they pressure wash the engine) from the value gasket, The rack and pin was worn and loose (real bad) the rack and pin boot was not put on right (they cut the boot and put it on and use metal clamps to hold it in place.) So when i took to my repair shop to get the repair done and to do a good once over they see that the water pump is leaking. I called the Dealer back and told the all the issues Monday that it failed the inspection and Tuesday for all the repairs. They was like it is an as is car which i understand. But as a Usaa dealer I would think that they would check the cars they sale and you can tell me a really mechanic did not see them problems So after buying the car and spending $1200+ in repairs No im not happy with he experience.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome!

Written on3/23/15
Customer avatar
MT6
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA was awesome in helping us get a new vehicle. The Dealerships wanted my business and we actually got a better deal than the True value price. Paying cash with no trade in made a big difference. Now let's talk about the 2015 Subaru CrossTrek XV that we purchased. The best car I have ever owned. It has awesome Eyesight. With the cruise control set. The Subaru will actually set the same speed of the car in front of you. If the car in front of you stops the Eyesight will stop the Subaru. It takes a few stops to get use to but it is awesome Eyesight. This is the safest feature I have ever seen. I drove 750 miles in one day and i wasn't exhausted, tired but not exhausted. I love USAA and my new car. Just one word to describe both "AWESOME".
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Outstanding Experience

Written on3/23/15
Customer avatar
stockmtwo
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I recently purchased a new Honda Civic EX-L from Wolfchase Honda here in Memphis, Tenn., and I had no issues. I brought in the certificate and the dealership honored it with no questions asked. No haggling, no hidden fees; it only took about 1.5 hours from appt. time to me driving away in the car. Great experience!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Certified Dealer grudginly accepts USAA Price

Written on3/20/15
Customer avatar
JHB-VA
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Last week I purchased a new car from Anderson Subaru in Pensacola, FL. The dealer was recommended by USAA Auto Buying Services. Although I presented my Buying Certificate with a price, the salesman only grudgingly accepted it. He complained they lose money using buying services and USAA charges the dealer fees to participate. I made a mistake by not thoroughly understanding the final price and ended up paying $1995 too much because of a Dealer-Added "Exterior" protector package (basically clear-coat sealant). This was not revealed to me for 6 days after I bought the car and requested (in writing multiple times) an explanation of the price. It was my mistake for signing the Purchase Agreement without a thorough understanding of the numbers. However, Anderson Subaru should have been forthcoming with the details from the very beginning. I have lost faith in the term "USAA Certified Dealer" because of this experience. Remember, salesmen have one responsibility, to maximize dealer profits.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Excellent, but needs refinement

Written on3/20/15
Customer avatar
Scott L
fromOcala, FL
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
There are a lot of regional packages through the various regions that do not show up when selecting options for the USAA certificate for Toyotas. This makes the process confusing when trying to match up a specific vehicle, and correcting for extra costs or savings based on a specific package. Also, there are packages that we might have considered had I known they were available.
It would be better if all packages and options were listed. Also, it would be helpful if there was an "accessories" section.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This service is outstanding - Easy 5 stars

Written on3/19/15
Customer avatar
DABUM
I found my new 2011 Ford Escape with very low mileage because it was listed at a very good price via the "True Value" service when I was comparison shopping from the USAA car buying service. Completed KBB and NADA analysis and both had my Escape listed with much higher value in price. The car loan application was a snap too.
The USAA certified dealer, Krietz Auto Sales, in Frederick MD. went above and beyond for the customer. The vehicle was detailed, full tank of gas, car mats and a full warranty. The family owned business was fantastic to work. The whole operation was A++
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The car buying service was fantastic!

Written on3/16/15
Customer avatar
DustOff3
fromBismarck, ND
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The information on the specific car, options/prices, provided by the Buying Service, placed me in a more knowledgeable position in the car price negotiation phase. I was able to buy the car at a greatly reduced price then had I been on my own. I know this cause a couple car dealerships wouldn't talk to me at the price I was willing to pay for the car. Thank you USAA Car Buying Service!!!!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Options on car buying service

Written on3/14/15
Customer avatar
JSL
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
i was delighted with the rapid response of dealers to my 'designed' truck While the overall car design portion of the car buying service is excellent, I believe it could be improved. the largest drawback I found was the inability to provide the dealer with alternative configurations. for example, it would be helpful, I think, to provide 1st, 2d, 3d choices of color, etc. This is particularly important the later into the model year one goes because inventory at dealers may be restricted or only aimed towards 'most popular'. if that is not possible, then perhaps the understanding could be that the configuration requested is a starting point.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Depends on the dealership

Written on3/13/15
Customer avatar
cmossj01
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I am more upset at knowing what I should have gotten. I would have been better off going to the dealership without the TrueCar forms.
There is no accountability or guarantee that you will get the vehicle you have the TrueCar estimate. It is an estimate. Once you submit it to the dealership, they email and call you to get you on their lot. Then, it is like starting from scratch. You have to beg and barter to get the discounts.
Overall, I could have purchased a fully loaded Ford F-150 Super Duty for the price I paid for a 4X2 - 4 cylinder, empty Toyota Tacoma.
Dealerships pay TrueCar a fee to advertise their vehicles and to be proclaimed as an authentic TrueCar Dealer. It's a joke and disappointment to the buyer. However, it is an awesome marketing tool for dealerships and financial organizations, like USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I have had good luck several times

Written on3/13/15
Customer avatar
USNA63
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This only works if you know exactly what you want to buy. The secret to using the car buying service is to deal only by email, going into the dealership without a firm offer in hand defeats the whole purpose. I had 5 attractive offers. The dealers contacted me by email, I dealt with them by email from out of town, and when they called me I recapped what I wanted and told them to email their best offer. If they can't find the car you want, and they can, don't deal with them. This time around I got a lease at about 20% less than I expected with the final deal almost 10% less than the next best offer.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Car Buying Service

Written on3/13/15
Customer avatar
Ellis'
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The service was actually very good. The only problem we had was we could not get any pricing without entering our information so ALL the dealers could call us. Which became very disruptive to our lives.
USAA offers a great service. Just wish you could get prices without having to talk your way thur salesman that don't take no for an answer.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Car-Buying Experience I've Ever Had

Written on3/12/15
Customer avatar
lwh
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This was the first time I used the USAA new car buying service, but I will definitely use it again. Within 24 hours of inquiry I had ten car dealerships contacting me. (I inquired in both Dallas and Houston areas, since I was willing to drive to either for the best price.) It took a couple days of phone calls, texts and emails to narrow them down to the best offer, but that's just part of the online process. The great part was that the dealerships were competing against each other to get me the best price--all while I sat at home and negotiated. I ended up choosing Park Cities Ford-Lincoln in Dallas. They not only honored the USAA quote but found more discounts I qualified for and reduced the price even further by over $1000. I arranged (and requested a copy in writing) a bottom-line price, trade-in allowance and financing before I headed to Dallas, and they honored everything we had negotiated. I was very happy with my purchase and received first-class treatment at Park Cities.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Buying Service is not flexible

Written on3/11/15
Customer avatar
MGA mom
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Very difficult to use, the new car loan interest rate was not very competitive, and the new car price was higher than what I could negotiate myself.
I couldn't select the dealerships (all on USAA's list) I wanted to use. Ended up having to fend off calls from a dealership I refuse to use.
Car color was not accurate in the selection phase.
No easy way to turn off the loan once we decided to go with a lower rate provided by another group.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good Place to compare dealer prices

Written on3/10/15
Customer avatar
LarryinSC
fromLugoff, SC
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Every dealer wanted more money for car that the USAA site reported. All have mark ups of around $1800 on an addendum sticker for things like, strips, wheel locks and paint protection. All it really is a way to increase profit.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Nice idea; didn't work for us.

Written on3/10/15
Customer avatar
rockfish
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
As many others have noted I got really quick responses from a number of dealers who were anxious to sell me the wrong car. None of them actually had the model I wanted even thought they claimed to; they all wanted me to "come on down and lets talk".
We eventually found the correct car but ended up paying more than the quoted price due to added features.
This service is a nice idea but certainly needs work.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

If it doesn't work the first time Try Try again

Written on3/10/15
Customer avatar
AbstractListner
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The first time the USAA certificate didn't work for me. The dealership wanted to add all kind of charges and surcharges because they stated "you're not financing through us so we gotta make money somehow". I just walked away. I went back to USAA and found a used car dealership that was a USAA certified dealership. They honored the certificate. No negotiating or re-pricing; I was done in about 45 mins with the deal. So it worked out for me. USAA needs to be aware that some of these dealership will change the terms once you sit down in their showroom. They always complain if you bring your own pre-approved financing and they always try to get you to refinance through one of their financial companies so that they can get commission.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Good Idea but did not work for me

Written on3/8/15
Customer avatar
hondasuzuki
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Asked USAA for 2 certificates and immediately received them. Was contacted by both dealers. Neither DEALER had the vehicle I wanted. Offered me several cars they had or could get me, at a higher price than the certificates.
First Dealer who called stated the conversation with "how much do you want to pay for this car". I told him what the certificate said. I asked what exactly was the dealer installed opinions that ran the price up so much. No reply. As bad as I hated to shop another dealerships, not associated with USAA, I did. I was up front and explained what I was going through. This dealer seemed to understand my situation. Was honest with me that he did not have the exact car I wanted and could not get one. But said he would order me one for the same money, No hidden charges or dealer installed options. I closed the deal with them for the car. It will arrive soon. Since USAA charges more interest if you don't buy through them I dicided to get the money elsewhere.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.