USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(1765 reviews) 1751
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1765 reviews
5 Stars
1,136
4 Stars
177
3 Stars
107
2 Stars
124
1 Star
221
1433 out of 176581%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 155 Answers
Customer reviews for Car Buying Service
Review 1 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Car Buying Service

Written on4/23/15
Customer avatar
Spiceboy
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Takes the stressful haggling part out of the equation. The only area I wish they'd improve on, would be to allow you to search for cars before contacting the potential Auto Dealers, b/c I ended up getting LOTS of E-mails & Phone Calls from Auto dealers I wasn't interest in...
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Product was easy to use

Written on4/23/15
Customer avatar
LindaV
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
As soon as I started using the car buying service, I received offers online from several car dealerships. However, in the end, the car buying service did nothing to secure a better price. The price I received was the same price any customer could have gotten.
The big difference was the financing end. Once I argued with them that I would not sign a secondary contract with them, as I had preapproved financing with USAA, things went smoothly. Finance did not push me to buy extras.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love the sell/buying service

Written on4/23/15
Customer avatar
jan2
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This was my first experience in selling and buying a vehicle. Absolutely the best way to go. Takes the headaches out of car buying.
And as it turned out, the dealer was in a town I used to live in, and was able to get with friends while I was in town.
Overall, a great experience. Definately recommend it.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

USAA Car Buying Service is great.

Written on4/22/15
Customer avatar
John A1
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
This was the first time I have used the USAA Car Buying Service. It worked out great for me. Within 15 minutes of completing the process and submitting my certificates, I had voicemails and emails from two of the dealerships. Even though the dealership I went to didn't have the vehicle with the exact features I was looking for, they found one in the area that was very close and adjusted the price to be inline with what my TrueCar certificate listed. The buying process was very painless. I highly recommend the service.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent Service!

Written on4/20/15
Customer avatar
MFGibson
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was able to purchase my new minivan at exactly the price quoted on the savings certificate. I ended up with rebates getting 22% off the MSRP, which is the best price I ever got on a new car.
The dealer had to do a trade with another dealer to get the color and exact features I wanted, so I had to wait a few days, but it was worth the wait.
USAA loan process was super easy and the pre-approved loan was nice and I was told by the dealer that they couldn't beat the rate I got, so I took advantage of the rebates instead.
Overall, thrilled with the result :)
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Never again

Written on4/20/15
Customer avatar
Luna1
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
The service is very misleading. The True Car Guaranteed Savings Certificate was of no use. The dealership did not have the car in stock. The dealership only offered me cars at much higher price with less discounts. USAA was no help when I called and was transferred to the department in charge of the service I was told "It's a free service." It was very frustrating. I have used USAA for many years and have a number of accounts and never been treated so rudely.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Hassle Free

Written on4/18/15
Customer avatar
USAFmomret3
fromRapid City, SD
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I love the fact that I can get a new car at a great price without all the hassle of haggling with a dealership. We knew up front what the car would cost and did not have to worry that the dealer would try to tack on extra costs.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Going Downward

Written on4/18/15
Customer avatar
Bigsarge06
fromAugusta, GA
Military Affiliation:Reserves
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
The USAA Car Buying Service seems to be degrading over time. It got better, but is now getting worse. The database is saturated with questionable dealers now as well. Most of the used Honda Civics that are over eight years old are salvaged vehicles. There are quite a few dealerships (especially smaller used car dealers) that have bad reviews but are still listed here as USAA Certified Dealers.
Then, the actual new car buying process is confusing and misleading at times. As you go through with getting your buying certificate, you see screens displaying information on the new vehicle making it seem as if that car is available at the dealership. Well, in actuality, the car is not. The dealer is sent your information and immediately starts bombarding you with calls/emails. All the while, they may or may not even have the vehicle in stock that you just spent the time drawing up on USAA. BUT the email you get appears that the vehicle is available until you start reading all the small print
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

such a great service

Written on4/18/15
Customer avatar
Leah1
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I used this service for both a new and used car. It was very helpful and it saved me money. Would recommend to everyone, just like I would recommend all USAA products
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Written on4/17/15
Customer avatar
Princess1979
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I love USAA car buying program. It went very smooth and fast. We got great financing. However, the dealership we went through was horrible. They were nice when we bought the car but when we started having issues with car they didn't care. We went through M&M Auto Sales in San Diego, CA. They told my husband and I there were recalls on the car but after owning it a week and a half the engine light went on. When we brought it to Frank Hyundai to have them look at it, they informed us that there was a recall issued. The recall caused the engine light to turn on. Our service tech was awesome he took care of us. When I called M&M Autos Sales and spoke to Jim he was extremely rude and disrespectful. He disregarded me and tried to make it out to be my fault. I recommend that nobody use this dealership. They are no good.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Auto Buying and Financing Process is Great

Written on4/17/15
Customer avatar
Retired in AZ 2
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The whole process is easy and very quick. It puts the buyer in a stronger position vs the seller/dealership and I strongly recommend USAA auto buying and finance services to other USAA members.
Just another reason I have been with USAA since 1967!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

dissatisfied with Russel Toyota

Written on4/17/15
Customer avatar
Osprey1
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Within 30 minutes of submitting the profile of the Toyota Camry that we wanted to purchase, I received E-mails from two local dealerships informing me that they had the exact vehicle that we requested in stock and available for sale. I called Russell Toyota and they told me they had the vehicle immediately available. They also said they had 2 alternative colors available in the exact model that we requested. Upon arrival at the dealership, we were shown a vehicle that had additional features which we had not requested. We were told not to worry about that, but took the test drive. After the test drive, the USAA representative went back to her computer and after searching for an hour she came to realize that they did not have any vehicle that matched the profile that we requested. She, and the salesman that took us for the test ride, appeared to be very inexperienced. We elected to go to other dealers.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA SERVICES

Written on4/16/15
Customer avatar
Happy 3
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have had USAA recommended to me on several occasions over the past thirty years. Unfortunately for me i failed to take the advice of my fellow veterans. However this year I called in to get some information on auto insurance and was blow away by the competency of the staff. They not only provided me with the information i wanted but ask questions and made valuable suggestions to me. i immediately became a member. When i decided to purchase a new vehicle they were so helpful in helping me pricing different vehicles and even provided excellent financing. It was the best auto purchasing experience of my life. I now share my experience with every veteran I meet.
THANK YOU
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

This might be a good product, but it didn't work f

Written on4/16/15
Customer avatar
hrbrlite
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
We had assumed that the car buying service would take the hassle out of buying a new car...it did not. We had all our financing approved ahead of time, but ended up not using it. Basically the dealer had one price for the car if they financed it, another price if they didn't. There was no price savings that I saw whether we used the service or not.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Written on4/16/15
Customer avatar
Fred III
fromPleasantville, NY
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
An absolutely superb service. The second time we have used it. Overall, have saved $8,000 and the level of service at the dealerships steps up a notch when they hear USAA. Couldn't be more pleased.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Be careful entering the zipcode.

Written on4/15/15
Customer avatar
Nadiarose
fromMilwaukee, WI
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I inadvertantly entered the wrong zip code and figured it out only after I called when no offers were forthcoming. I was informed that I had to wait a week to reenter with the correct zip code. Very inconvenient as we are moving. I guess we will try Carmax. Disappointed. USAA is usually more customer friendly.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

closer dealer who honored the USAA true price

Written on4/15/15
Customer avatar
Ohiogolfer
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
while looking ayt a new car to replaced one that 14 years old, I elected to use USAA car buying service. Received a reasonable price but the two recommended dealers were quite far away. I did visit the nearest of the two and got a quote (except for a firm trade in price--i.e they provided a estimate, but nothing firm) . Took the quote to a much closer dealer (5 miles) and he not only honored the quote including the USAA discount but he discounted the price further to make up for my extra .5 interest rate since my USAA loan did not use one of the recommended dealers. I would strongly suggest USAA contact this dealer and make them on the recommended dealers, since they when out of their way to make a USAA member get a fair deal on the new car purchase
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Car buying service a fantastic benefit to members

Written on4/15/15
Customer avatar
eseeberg
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was extremely satisfied with the USAA car buying service. The detailed breakdown of cost gave me the ammunition I needed to get a great deal. I received responses back from all of the dealerships I requested – one within a couple in minutes! I test drove at two dealerships, but I ended up purchasing from a dealership closer to my home. I made a low offer knowing that I could fall back to one of the other dealerships if they could not match. They beat the best price, including giving me the USAA $750 discount. I compared the information I received from USAA with other online sites such as Edmunds and True Car. USAA showed lower estimates and better data. I especially liked the breakdown of actual prices paid. I knew exactly what other cars had been purchased for. I highly recommended using the service. Get quotes from the dealerships linked to the USAA site, but in the end you can use the information to buy anywhere.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Not sure what USAA actually did...

Written on4/15/15
Customer avatar
Steve N.
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
It was nice to have the financing in hand when going to the dealer. It was also nice to research the vehicle from the car buying service. However, all the information on the sight was provided by the dealer, and the algorithms used by TrueCar. Also the "special USAA price" was the same price that anyone walking off the street into the dealership was offered. I saw this with every vehicle at multiple dealerships in the car buying service. -The 'USAA price' is the same as the sticker price that everyone pays, and there are a million unlisted fees that always bump the price well above the sticker price. Again this was at multiple dealers. I had to negotiate and haggle for several hours at three area dealers just to keep from paying thousands over the sicker price.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

USAA car service

Written on4/15/15
Customer avatar
Jennie1
I ended up using a dealership outside of the service because the other dealerships were to far away and became very pushy with nonstop phone calls and emails the moment I signed up even after telling them I would let the, know when I had made a decision on what I was going to buy. I got a much better deal outside the car buying service
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.