USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

Overall rating:
4.06 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(1854 reviews) 1840
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1854 reviews
5 Stars
1,185
4 Stars
189
3 Stars
120
2 Stars
127
1 Star
233
1505 out of 185481%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 155 Answers
Customer reviews for Car Buying Service
Review 1 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Second experience was as good as the first

Written on7/25/15
Customer avatar
Sshern
fromHouston, TX
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This is my second time using USAA Car Buying service. The first was with BMW and it was great, and this time with Subaru was just as good. The no haggle price was agreed to immediately. It makes buying a new car the pleasure it should be, not the grinding ordeal is usually is.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

USAA Car Buying Service Needs Work

Written on7/22/15
Customer avatar
fedgovt12
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
First, the dealership gave me a quote which I agreed with, however did not honor. When it came to time to purchase the vehicle, I was told when the car comes from the factory it comes with paint and fabric protection, so they could not honor the price since the USAA True Car price does not factor that in. The savings was only a few hundred bucks so not a deal breaker for me. Second, they ran my credit claiming it was for the USA Patriot Act, which I later found out they were not supposed to do. The problem with that was this; I gave the internet sales manager my USAA Electronic Dealer Check, however when I went to sign the agreement, the dealer imbedded their lender into the agreement without my knowledge instead of using USAA. I'm not sure if it was a harmless mistake or not. I caught the error when I called USAA asking why my load still says pending on my account. That's when we found out what had happened. The loan is now corrected but the title is still with the wrong bank.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Saved me over $2000

Written on7/21/15
Customer avatar
CJH
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The car buying service was easy to use, intuitive, and saved me over $2000 when ordering a new car. It also made working with the dealership easy and USAA took care of almost everything for me and all I had to do was print out a check and sign a couple papers.
The next time I buy a car I will definitely be using this service!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Wasted my time!

Written on7/21/15
Customer avatar
Coopie
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I was contacted by auto reply by 3 dealers. Subsequently 2 dealers sent me "Savings Certificates" (I have never heard anything from the 3rd). One dealer offered a savings off the MSRP of "Searching Inventory". The other looked promising as the offer was for a vehicle "In Stock". As it turned out, it was not, he had to exchange with a "trading partner" for one he had on hand and wanted a deposit to move forward. When we found out the vehicle had 400 miles on it and was going to be driven another 200 miles to get it here, we cancelled!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/22/15
Thank you for your feedback. If something did not turn out as you expected when using the Car Buying Service it’s important that we know about it. We are currently reviewing the situation and will contact you soon to regarding this matter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Easiest Way to Buy a Car

Written on7/20/15
Customer avatar
The Turk
fromOregon
Military Affiliation:Reserves
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Over 25 years as a USAA member, I've purchased 6 cars through the various incarnations of their car-buying service. Four were good experiences, one was a horrible experience, and one (my most recent) was excellent. I put in the specs to the website, found out what the dealer had and the prices, and visited the dealer for the test drive. After some searching, I found the car I wanted, signed the USAA sight draft and drove home in my little FIAT. Based on the price, I came in about $4k below MSRP and $2k below market. Between the low price, the ease of the purchase, and the simplicity of USAA's prearranged financing, the whole experience was more like buying a cantaloupe than a car - which was nice. I would definitely recommend the service. The one time we had a bad experience (buying my wife's Subaru three years ago) was a dealer problem, not a USAA problem: the finance manager wouldn't accept the sight draft and kept trying to switch the loan. They are no longer a USAA dealer.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

True Car Selling service is slow and too manual

Written on7/18/15
Customer avatar
Michael @ Oxnard
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
When you list your car for sale on True car, it requires a person review this listing before it is allowed to be published. The time required is 24-48 hours and longer on the weekend for a person to review and approve the listing to be made public.
Even a simple reduction in price takes 48 hours.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/20/15
Thank you for the valuable insight. We would like to further review this matter further. Please allow us to do so, after which time we’ll be in touch to discuss the matter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Hounded Immediately

Written on7/18/15
Customer avatar
SLR7
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I liked the idea of the new car buying service. After going through all TRUE Car USAA website, I immediately (within 2 minutes) started getting phone calls about the from the TRUE Car dealers. The website says to contact the dealer not the dealer is going to repeatedly call me. If I wanted to be badgered by sales people I would have just gone to the dealer. These dealers and their action will keep me from using the service ever again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/20/15
It's a competitive market out there for dealers! Yes, you can expect a call, or perhaps emails, from the dealers provided to you in the search results. However, keep in mind you have the option to select which dealers you'd like to provide information to, and whether you prefer email, phone, or both. We regret any inconvenience this may cause and will reach out to the dealers and remove your from future calls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great service

Written on7/17/15
Customer avatar
Richmu
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This car was exactly the one I wanted. No one else had it and I got more in trade in than I expected plus 12% off list
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good tools, not so good financing

Written on7/17/15
Customer avatar
DJNemo
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I found the vehicle with all my options and contacted the dealer through the buying service. The dealer responded quickly, in fact I bought the vehicle the same day and negotiated $1,000 lower than the the TrueCar price. I knew the approximate value for my trade from using the tool on USAA and some others I found online. The dealer actually gave me $1500 more than I had expected for the trade.
I received a smaller amount at a higher rate than I had hoped from USAA. When I went through my credit union, the rate was a full 10% lower.
In my experience, the service and tools were very helpful. The loan, not so much.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/17/15
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Your feedback helps USAA to ensure we are providing the best products and services to our members. Rest assured, your feedback has been shared with the appropriate area for consideration of future product and service enhancements. We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Bad

Written on7/16/15
Customer avatar
hacker12
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I should have financed it through the dealer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/17/15
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Feedback from our members is important to ensuring we offer the best products and services. One of our representatives will be in contact regarding your comments. We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Price assurance not worth much...

Written on7/16/15
Customer avatar
Lwbclark
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Everything was going well. Getting my loan was easy, I'd found the car, I had my price lock email in hand; and the dealer had contacted me about a test drive. I was ready to buy my car that day. Then the dealer told me that my price "wasn't right" and that the car would be a few thousand dollars more than the price advertised. If the "locked" prices aren't assured, I really don't know what you're offering over me just searching on the internet myself. This was kind of a waste of my time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/16/15
Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. If something did not turn out as you expected when using the Car Buying Service it’s important that we know about it. We'll be in touch to discuss this situation. Thank you for your comment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA,And their products are great.

Written on7/15/15
Customer avatar
Al-deerxt
fromSan Antonio
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was without a car , five months. Each day, I would look for my vehicle. and with the help of USAA's car buying service ( They were with me ever step of the way) the car buying service is one great feature, and did not know anything about this service Until, I needed a vehicle. I did find my car. No problems, as we worked the process. Thank ! you USAA . I recommend this service.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The ONLY way to buy a car!!!

Written on7/15/15
Customer avatar
Everglades Gal
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I am so glad I used this service! I had been looking at preowned cars and then decided to check out new car prices on USAA Car Buying Service. I found out I could purchase a brand new car exactly like I wanted for only $2000 more than a 2 - 3 year old similar used vehicle! UNBELIEVABLE savings! Only hitch was dealership tried to charge $1000 more than quote due to "financing incentives" they would not be receiving because we were not financing through them. Had to play hardball to cut in half the difference -- but I still ended up saving almost $5000!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The only way to buy a car!

Written on7/12/15
Customer avatar
Lainey7976
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The USAA takes the worry and haggling out of car buying! Not only do you get a great price but you have the buying power of USAA behind you!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Written on7/11/15
Customer avatar
Matt3278
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
This was my second vehicle I decided to finance with usaa. The first time was smooth and easy. This time the process stated out the same until it came time for the purchase. I had already gotten a quote from usaa on how much they would finance, and I did use the vin number for the exact vehicle I wanted. It was from a usaa approved dealer and it seemed like everything was going swell. Usaa told both myself and the finance guy at the dealer that the amount they quoted was correct. One week after paperwork was signed and filed, usaa came back and changed the amount they would approve and by this time it was too late to back out as my trade in had already gone through their shop and been processed. I had go than fork out additional cash from my savings to cover the new amount. Usaa should have done a better job letting me know the real financed amount. Instead they put me in a more precarious position financially. Normally they are great , this time the ball was dropped.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/13/15
Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. I'd like to look into your situation to determine what we can do to help. Thank you for your comment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Some good, some bad

Written on7/10/15
Customer avatar
guyever
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My second use of USAA buying service. First one was great, but this one I don't know. I thought when I went to the dealer that my printout of their offer was what I would end up with. They took my offer printouts from me (dumb me for not keeping at least a copy) but I had no fear after all this was a USAA approved dealer. When they came back with the paperwork I completely ignored the new car price and concentrated on the allowance for my trade in. There were other distractions such as the car had 900 miles on it, being driven by GM. That was not a problem, but the "overcharge" was. I didn't notice until the next day that their offer was not what I ended up with. You live and learn and I guess I was too trusting of the service and the dealer.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/13/15
Thank you for your feedback. If our members are not having a positive experience, it's important that we know about it. We are currently reviewing the situation and will be contacting you regarding this matter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Very good product

Written on7/9/15
Customer avatar
WarrenP
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I was very pleased with the purchase of my new car. The only problem was that the dealer was over 125 miles from my home. Next I had to finance the car through my credit union as USAA had on interest rate over twice what I received from my credit union. Overall I was pleased.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/10/15
We appreciate your feedback. Rest assured we are actively working on expanding the network of dealers available to our members daily to help improve your overall experience. Again, thank you for your feedback.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Easiest way to buy a car!

Written on7/8/15
Customer avatar
Dwayne T
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was on the hunt for an exact vehicle. Using a bit of research on area Toyota's, I ended up finding a dealership that was willing to "order" my exact vehicle and honor the True Car / USAA Car Buying Service price. I paid a $300 redirect fee since the vehicle was slated to go to another dealership, but was well worth it! Building my vehicle on the site was easy after I found what I wanted buy going to a local dealership and seeing a few vehicle options. Printed my certs, was pre-approved with USAA for the loan (USAA was not beat by any other company's rate!) and was very excited to have the EVP and New Car Replacement options as I have been dealing with older paid off vehicle's transmission issues. The process was quick, easy, and I got a great deal on my vehicle.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good service but confusing process for int rate

Written on7/8/15
Customer avatar
Bleep1975
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
This overall was a good process and afforded me a good amount of money off my purchase. However my only gripe is that when going for the advertised interest rate there was no real verification about what you are getting. Therefore it is harder to gauge exactly how much you can afford. A document showing how the final interest rate is put together would be helpful in understanding why the interest rate advertised was not achieved.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/10/15
Thank you for your review and feedback. The advertised rate table shown on usaa.com provides a range of interest rates from new to older car. To qualify for our lowest loan rates, you must have excellent credit and sign up for automatic payments. We make every effort to ensure this information is clearly presented to our members and regret any frustration you may have experienced. If you have any questions on the payment calculation, please don’t hesitate to give us call at 210-531-8722.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Some flaws but final result was good

Written on7/8/15
Customer avatar
DC Norton
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
First, I had a problem because the original vehicle I wanted is almost impossible to find, something I didn't know ahead of time, and the design of the Car Buying app implies that the dealers you're being referred to actually have what you're looking for in inventory ... they don't. I finally realized after re-reading the output that really basically all you get is a ballpark number on what I can expect the price to be, if they happen to have the vehicle. I also experienced the issue with dealerships being recommended that are far away, but since my vehicle choice had narrowed down to a manufacturer who WAS local to me, that was less of an issue. What it boiled down to is that I got the discounts listed in the USAA service, which was good, but still had to negotiate on the trade (not the car buying service's issue). Finally, using the service and financing it through USAA got me a really good rate that the dealership couldn't match, so in the end it was worth it.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 93 Next Page>>