USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

brand_car_buying_service_main Car Buying Service

Overall rating:
4.119 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(1518 reviews) 1505
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1518 reviews
5 Stars
1,007
4 Stars
146
3 Stars
86
2 Stars
97
1 Star
182
1246 out of 151882%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
39 Questions | 155 Answers
Customer reviews for Car Buying Service
Review 1 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Took about an hour!

Written on10/20/09
Customer avatar
Waiting in Delray
fromDelray Beach, FL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The price beat out the Auto negotiating service offered by my Credit Union.
One call and then about 4 rounds of e-mails and we were through. Took less than an hour. I wanted a particular high-demand diesel car with hard to find options so I had to factory order. Cool. Exactly what I want at the best price. 2-3 month wait. Save a bit more on down payment.
I used the the 2nd dealer recommended but they matched the low price of the 1st dealer.
I recommend this product.
+26points
141of 256voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Purchase of my Life thus far!

Written on9/17/09
Customer avatar
Juan-Carlos
fromSilver Spring, MD
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
After months of negotiating and checking out other car buying services, I found USAA! And what a find it is! The Mercedes C300 being such a relatively new and the most popular Mercedes found me and dealerships from Atlanta to DC not wanting to budge much from the MSRP. I even checked out Sams Club and COSTCO car buying service and they can't compare to the savings of USAA! After locking in on a price I made an appointment to go to the dealer to order my vehicle (I had every conceivable option added). The dealership ordered the vehicle and I was able to follow the process and even shipping route and status on its transatlantic voyage to the Baltimore VPC. This is the very best purchase I have made in my life period! Seamless! USAA Car Buying Service - Second to None!
I recommend this product.
+6points
75of 144voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent!!!

Written on4/19/14
Customer avatar
Kenny M
fromBerlin, Germany
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
A lot of dealerships posted a lower price to pull you in and you'll get that price only if you finance through them. If you say you finance through your bank, they price went up by at least 5,000usd.
With USAA car buying service, what you see is what you get, plus you can still negotiate.
Can't get any better than this.
Thank you, USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent service and product by USAA.

Written on4/16/14
Customer avatar
dafiez
fromHudson, Florida
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Although e program is excellent if the dealers are going to sign on they should offer a compatable car and price and abide by their offers. Not when you get to a dealership that lured you into. They don't care about the price and discount they presented to you or us.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

It's a good service

Written on4/16/14
Customer avatar
Alex_12
fromFort Polk. LA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I used the service offered and the only thing was that when I looked online and was given the offer it said that the dealer had the vehicle I wanted and when I went to the dealer they didn't so they had to bring it from some other dealer and then they told me that the offer I was given by USAA wasn't valid because the vehicle had to be In stock in order for me to get the offer I was kind of disappointed but still bought the vehicle. I still recommend the service but I would like for it to be a bit more clear about how it works and that if it really works only on vehicles that the dealer has in stock and if they can at least update their info to usaa so the offer is not given to a car they don't have in stock.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Time and Money Saver

Written on4/16/14
Customer avatar
Fight On Trojans
fromLa Quinta, CA
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Unfortunately the first dealer that contacted me was not great. They waited until I was on lot and had taken a test drive to tell me that they would not honor certificate on the model that I had test driven. Since I didn't have to settle on a car with different packages/trim option I walked away.
The 2nd dealer was fantastic. We made contact at 10:30 AM, exchanged 4-5 emails, and reached a deal by 2 PM on a Thursday. My new car was delivered in person by the Internet Sales Manager on Monday....from 135 miles away!!! On top of it all I paid $3500 less than what the first dealer wanted to charge me (full sticker) and got an "extremely low price" according to True Car data. Couldn't be happier.
This is the 2nd time using the USAA Car Buying Service in the past 3 years and the only way to go.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Target price honored

Written on4/16/14
Customer avatar
Fomer AF in Seattle
fromSeattle, WA
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
My wife and I bought a new car this last weekend using the USAA car buying service. The car we were in search of was limited in Washington. USAA helped us search multiple dealerships simultaneously and allowed the initial contact to be established for me. When a dealer had a car in their inventory matching our criteria, they emailed and/or called. On the day of the purchase we had our 1 1/2 year old son with us, but since the target price was honored, USAA financing was already in place, and we had the car we requested, the deal went through in just under two hours. We felt like we paid a fair price, and didn't have to engage in lengthy negotiations. First time I've ever felt like the dealership experience was equitable. Thanks USAA for arming me with what I needed to make this purchase.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Did Not Honor Certificate

Written on3/18/14
Customer avatar
SandsPoker
fromAllentown PA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I have used this service once and the first time was very pleased but tried to use it a second time at a different dealer for a used vehicle and they would not honor price of certificate.They told us that USAA is certified for new cars only at their dealership.
I would recommend if you make sure before you go waste half a day at the dealership that they will assure your price certified by USAA service.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator3/21/14
Thank you for the review, SandsPoker. It is clear the Car Buying Service did not yield the results that you or USAA expects. A member of our team will be in touch with you shortly to gather more details about your experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Ripoff

Written on3/16/14
Customer avatar
Scrunge13
fromBaltimore, MD
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I got three offers. Two of the dealerships were unacceptable distances from my house. The third one, offered a low price but made up for it by lowballing a trade-in by over $2500 and overcharged by 80% for dealer installed options. In the end, their bottom line came in much higher than a closer dealership. The dealership I found provided a better price and trade-in with no haggling. Spent a fraction of the time in the store and came out with a better deal.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Car buying made easy

Written on3/13/14
Customer avatar
MNorman4535
fromTampa, FL
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Using USAA Car Buying allowed me to find exactly what I wanted and price out local dealers in my area. I spent a few days playing around with various cars, making comparisons and adding various features. The site was easy to use and directions were simple to follow. I was able to create my perfect car and then price it out with three different local dealerships.
I did not end up buying from the dealership that gave me the best price online, but the dealer I bought from matched the USAA price from the "cheaper" dealer. This was a huge bargaining tool when we were negotiating a price. I think this is a great tool and will recommend it to any USAA member looking to buy a car!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

process and features work well

Written on3/12/14
Customer avatar
desert dueler
fromArizona
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
the process of picking out what you want and are looking for are very diverse and picking out the best of what you are looking for . It was a very good tool to see what is out there and to give you a starting point to getting the right car for the right price also helped with confidence going to talk to sales people. took some pressure off with buying a car .
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

TRUECar Services is very poor at best

Written on3/8/14
Customer avatar
Mark. I
fromColorado Springs, CO
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Upon listing my 2013 535 i X-drive BMW with less than 11,500 miles I soon found out how terrible the car selling service with TrueCar was. The system has many flaws that includes but not limited to, no reviewing process by the company to ensure the consumer gets a fair offer. On 4 different occasions I received offers well below dealer trade in values. In fact, when I called customer service, the answer I repeatedly received was "the system has no minimum bid" or "we are a new program". Additionally, on every occasion, I asked to speak to a manger to inquire about the low offers and every time, the response I got was "he is not here, but will call you back". There was no sense of urgency, no respect for customer service, no system in place designed to help ensure the customer wasn't getting ripped off, and certainly no professional customer service agent prepared or trained to handle any questions outside of asking me if I had received my offer and whether or not I wanted to take it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Good for competitive quote; not a buying service

Written on2/15/14
Customer avatar
MalibuAsh
fromCalifornia
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The service provided a very competitive quote, but I had to fight with the dealer to get them to honor the quote. And, after all that, they didn't even have the vehicle in stock so I was upsold into a more expensive model on the lot. I also had to go through the hard sell tactics of the dealer's finance department on loan options, tire protections, extended warranties, etc. I expected to walk in with the quote, get the car, and go, but instead I spent 2 days at the dealer resisting all their hard sell tactics. I was under the impression that the USAA service would remove the stress of the salesmen from the process, but that was just not the case. It's not really a car buying service, therefore, but rather a tool to get a feasible quote upon which to base your salesmen and finance negotiations. You are, in the end, still on your own.
I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

A very good program

Written on2/14/14
Customer avatar
LNGilby
fromDallas, Texas
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I used the Buyer Program to see what the savings would be. I had many dealers contact me immediately. Only one actually had the vehicle that I was looking for. Most of the dealerships tried to sell me vehicles that they had in stock that I had no interest in. The "out the door" price that showed in the Buyer Program was far less than what the dealers quoted. I negotiated further with specific dealers to try to get the final price down. The vehicle that I want runs about $34,000 out the door, but I had several down to $31,345, $31,178, and $31,500 on the vehicle after extensive negotiating. I thought the buyer program would get me the rock bottom price, but it did not. I still think that it did a good job in initial price cutting, but if the dealer would accept what the Buyer Program stated I would have been elated! The final deal price was still about $2000-$2500 above the Buyer Program quote.
I will gladly recommend the program to everyone though.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

USAA is great, but watch your dealer

Written on2/13/14
Customer avatar
powegian
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was helping my daughter buy her first new car. USAA promptly pre-approved the joint loan. We found the car we wanted in stock at a Certified dealer through the buying service. The sale went very smoothly until my daughter went to take delivery. She was subjected to the old high-pressure showroom tactics the buying service was designed to avoid--service contracts, paint gloss, dealer packs, etc. Then I discovered that we had paid MSRP minus only the factory incentives.
USAA was very helpful. They immediateoy called TrueCar, who called me and the dealer promptly. Suddenly the dealer was all apologies, and they did rebate us a check reflecting USAA's negotiated discount from MSRP, and maybe a little more. Was this just a simple mistake, or was somebody trying to pull a fast one?
The moral of the story is, although the buying service is designed to avoid the hassles we experienced, and we did eventually get the car at a very good price, you still have to be vigilant.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So good

Written on2/13/14
Customer avatar
MarkFl
fromMetuchen, NJ
Military Affiliation:Family
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I wish I knew about this service earlier. I saved over $5K off the MSRP even though the dealer had to locate a car out of state. About as painless a process as I could hope for.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Car Buying Service

Written on2/13/14
Customer avatar
KC1985
fromKansas City
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This program was very helpful during our car buying experience. It helped us research vehicle options prior to visiting a dealer. It also gave me some solid price range based on the options we desired. Once we decided on a vehicle and linked up with a USAA certified dealer, we also considered USAA financing options. USAA also gave us multiple finance options to consider prior to visiting the dealer since we were pre-approved. These financing options were very competitive, and in the end we financed through USAA instead of the dealer. Combining the USAA car buying service with USAA financing enhanced our car buying experience. We felt better prepared prior to visiting a dealer. Also, our dealer had a solid understanding of the USAA buying service program which made the final transaction when we purchased the vehicle painless and quick!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

BEST PURCHASE EVER!

Written on2/13/14
Customer avatar
Ms Toomer
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've purchased 3 brand new cars and this was by far the best purchase ever. I arrived at the dealership at 4:00pm and was in my new car and headed home by 7:45pm. I have nothing but great things to say about USAA Car Buying Program and the dealership's customer service. Unbelievable pricing!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great program!

Written on2/12/14
Customer avatar
louisjg
fromHouston, Tx
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I used this service to look at several makes and model cars i was interested in. I was able to apply different options on the website until I found 3 different makes, models and options I wanted to test drive. They sent me numerous dealers with guaranteed discounts for the models I was looking at. They designated a Sales Rep at each dealership. I chose the dealerships I felt held the most promise and made appointments with them over a 3 day period. I test drove 7 different cars and made my selection. I had been pre-approved from USAA for a loan. The vehicle I settled on was more than USAA had pre-approved me for, so I leveraged my USAA offer to get a better rate from the dealer. Overall I am extremely pleased with the program. The program assisted me in narrowing my choices and gave me expectations on what I was going to pay with the options I wanted. Their certified dealers provide 1st class service to USAA members. Will do it again when I purchase my wife a car this summer!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Car Buying Service
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Well Layed Out Car Finder

Written on2/12/14
Customer avatar
Sticks1991
fromHouston, TX
Military Affiliation:National Guard
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I love that it gives you dealers online prices so you don't have to haggle from sticker price. You save on interest just for buying a car you were already planning on buying if you use USAA finance. I have used this service for all three of my cars and love it.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.