USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_banking_credit_cards_visa Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA

brand_banking_credit_cards_visa Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA

Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(287 reviews) 245
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 287 reviews
5 Stars
184
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
17
1 Star
33
217 out of 28776%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Review 1 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Non-Availability of Statement

Written on7/6/15
Customer avatar
WayneinNH
fromNH
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Been a member since 1982.
Anyone else noticed that the June 2015 statements for their VISA and MASTERCARD accounts are NOT on their website accounts? I called and the representative said she could see the statement but I explained it was not available to me. She called IT and they said there was no problem. After she tried to send me a paper copy of what she saw and could not, she called another office of IT and they said they would work on the problem. I explained in a year from now I could not pull up the statement on my computer, so there is a problem with the computer system. I also said both cards were recently reissued (with the new chip) and maybe somehow that could be the cause. After 33 years, I am finding the last few years to be more error prone within USAA. Will still stay for life (as of now) but USAA is becoming a normal bankning/financial institution. Maybe we have gotten too big!
Sorry about the long explanation.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/6/15
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We value your 33 years of USAA membership. Rest assured we have shared your feedback with the appropriate area. Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

First card in over 10 years

Written on6/29/15
Customer avatar
jkamp
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
So, I was young and stupid when I turned 18 and maxed out a Best Buy card which defaulted and started my bad credit history. I realized I screwed up, but the damage was done and I spent the past decade being cash only with a checking account. After some of my big mistakes were removed from my credit reports, I took control of my credit and started improving stuff. I've been a USAA customer for several years and thought I'd just give it a try to see if they would give me a card. Not only was I approved, but I was approved for a much larger limit than I had ever expected. I'm thrilled that they put their trust in me as I have in them.
Since then, I have acquired 2 additional cards, and neither have given me the limit that USAA granted. Just one more reason why I'll stick with USAA for the foreseeable future!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love my card!

Written on6/26/15
Customer avatar
Mestiza71
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have had no problems with my card.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Review

Written on6/12/15
Customer avatar
LyndieL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA has been wonderful to myself and my family. I trust that they will be there for me if anything devastating happens and that really allows me to have peace of mind knowing that.
I am very satisfied with their customer service as well. They have been nothing but courteous every time I have to call. Not to mention there is hardly ever any hold time. Keep up the good work!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Always been there

Written on6/10/15
Customer avatar
everywhereman
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've been with USAA for over 30 years and had this card for that long. I can say that USAA/Visa has always been there when needed. I have been to Saudi Arabia, India, Afghanistan, all over the middle east, Europe. It works every time as long as I remember to call them and tell them where I am going and for how long.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Customer service is lacking

Written on6/7/15
Customer avatar
bbwk
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
The the number of phone holds and their lengths are getting overwhelming. Some of us use cell phones that rack up minutes despite the availability of 800 numbers.I was told the reason was the season, ie: vacations and increased traveling. If that is true, USAA should consider getting some summer help. AS a USAA customer since 1984, I certainly have no intention of going away after many years of good service, but USAA needs to look at the immediate problem and resolve.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/8/15
USAA continues to strive to provide best in class service and products to its members. Please rest assured your feedback will be taken into consideration and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

USAA left me high and dry and stranded

Written on6/1/15
Customer avatar
dceagle1972
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Thanks to USAA for cancelling my card after I informed them I would traveling to Saudi Arabia. I had them put it in the notes in my credit card file that I would be traveling abroad, but I guess they don't read their own notes. The first time I used the card they sent me a fraud alert and I informed them that it was a legitimate charge in an email which they received and acknowledged and then they cancelled it anyway and they said that they were going to send me another credit card in the mail to address that I do not have. Absolutely no excuse and total incompetence on the part of USAA, this is exactly what I had planned and worked so hard to coordinate and avoid before traveling and now USAA has left high in dry in Saudi Arabia. Travelers Beware, I do not recommend depending on USAA Credit Cards when traveling abroad, you will rack up hundreds of dollars in international phone calls trying to get it fixed only for them to tell you that there is nothing they can do about it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator 6/2/15
We apologize for the inconvenience and would like to address your feedback. A Specialist will contact you within 24 hours to discuss your concerns.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent service for decades

Written on5/29/15
Customer avatar
nana B
fromKingsland, tx
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I'm not sure when I opened this credit card with USAA, but it was so long ago that the checking account I opened at the same time started with 004..........
A stolen card and charges in error were taken care of very professionally. Yes, I always recommend USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Beginning to dislike USAA

Written on5/28/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I used to love USAA, but the past few experiences are making me consider dropping them all together, for all of my banking/insurance services. Customer Service as of lately has been sub-par to say the least. I was on hold for who knows how long waiting to speak to Escalations/Manager for an issue on my Credit Card, due to incorrect data that their agent gave to me. To help out their call queue, I agreed to a call back. I missed their call, so in the voice mail, the Escalations agent states, if I want to speak with them to call them back. OKAY, don't you think you should try at least twice before requiring the customer to call back and wait in queue again?! TERRIBLE, so I decided to transfer my balance to another bank, will keep this one open for credit purposes (they don't like it when you close accounts before a number of months).
Hope this review opens your eyes and makes your customer service better.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator 5/28/15
We apologize for your experience and would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns. A Specialist will contact you within 24 hours. We appreciate your membership and look forward to speaking with you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Written on5/25/15
Customer avatar
Lloyd2
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I know this is my fault for not reading the small print. I used a cash advance to purchase a car on a weekend and paid the cash advance back the following week. I knew about the cash advance fee but I did not know about the recurring cash advance charges that are charged to my credit card each month until the total balance of the card is paid off. I thought the recurring charges would not be an issue since I paid the total amount of the cash advance within a few days. Live and learn. Guess I'll be changing banks.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

works good for me,, I like USAA..

Written on5/1/15
Customer avatar
Olny my experience
fromUSA. New Mexico.
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I have had near 98% of excellent help. working with USAA is the best online experience I have had , for at least the last 6 years..
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

fraud prevention system seriously flawed

Written on4/27/15
Customer avatar
bf6
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
USAA's lousy fraud prevention algorithms trump any positive features of this card; thus the 1-star rating.
We can never count on this card being accepted due to USAA's fraud prevention system which will occasionally trigger a fraud alert and decline a very modest and routine sort of charge at a local restaurant or business that we've frequented many times before. Then this week, their system failed to catch $1400 plane ticket to Saudi Arabia on a never-heard-of foreign air line. We've had a USAA credit card for many years, rarely leave Seattle, rarely fly anywhere, and have never had any connection / business / communication with anyone or anything in the Middle Ease. We use the card for most purchases and pay it off each month, so our spending patterns are well-documented in USAA records..
A 3rd-grader could do a better job of fraud prevention.
Nevertheless, we are loyal to USAA in general and have not canceled the card. We just have to get a new card number every year or so.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAA Moderator4/29/15

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Fraud Detection Services. We welcome the opportunity to look into the reason the $1400 plane ticket did not trigger a fraud alert. Please know we are committed to continually improve service to our membership, and appreciate your review. A Member Advocate from our Fraud team will be contacting you to discuss your experience.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

"Free" credit score

Written on4/24/15
Customer avatar
Lewis1
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Apparently this is NOT an option. Any time an entity reports to you your credit score they "soft hit"/have to check your ratings. Any time your credit is checked it counts against you. I tried to opt out, but was told I DO NOT have that option.
-Very upset!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Credit Card Balance Line

Written on4/13/15
Customer avatar
RRR12
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
When will they update the Credit Card Line to show the balance of where each purchase leaves our account owed? There is an unknown visual for the Credit Card view as apposed to the Savings and Checking views. Please update.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

stolen card

Written on4/13/15
Customer avatar
fay123
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Our card was stolen without our knowledge and was quickly flagged by USAA when suspicious charges were attempted. A couple charges were made but were quickly reversed. To top it off, it was over the Easter weekend when we were sure there would be a huge hassle getting a hold of someone to assist us. Thank goodness they had everything under control before we even knew the problem existed. Absolutely the most polite and pleasant people to have working on our issue. Can't thank them enough.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best move I ever made to do all my business here

Written on4/11/15
Customer avatar
Bonnie Jo
fromIndio, CA
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
It is easy to work with the folks at USAA, thank you.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Credit Card Dispute Process is RIDICULOUS

Written on4/11/15
Customer avatar
Abeck
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
First off, before ANY temporary credit is given you have to SNAIL MAIL, yes, physically MAIL, THROUGH THE POST OFFICE a dispute letter. UGH! this process can take up to 2 weeks to be processed and is just so out dated and frustrating!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Lag time in posting payments / Credit Availability

Written on4/8/15
Customer avatar
Unhappy Camper1
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Just wanted to warn about the Lag time associated with making payment and having your available credit posted to your card. If you are using this Card as a credit builder use caution. Also once you schedule a payment online you will not see anything showing you have a pending payment. In my case I scheduled a payment and the website crashed due to technical difficulties on USAA's end. When I logged back on I was unable to see where the payment was scheduled and proceeded to make payment again. As luck would have it I was charged twice for the same payment. with only the amount available for one, I was charged a NSF fee. Which I was Refunded by USAA but the payment was sent in again and I was charged a fee again. I received a refund and told there was nothing to be done. The payment was then put on a " FLOAT" and my available balance held for 8 days. And again I was told "that's the policy and there is nothing that can be done". I thought the card was secured by the CD. Bad Business.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/21/15
Your service experience is important to us. We'd like to get the issue involving your payment activity reviewed. As soon as our review is complete, a Member Advocate will be reaching out to you to discuss your experience. Please know we are committed to continually improve service to our membership, and appreciate your review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Awful Phone Support

Written on4/7/15
Customer avatar
los257
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Every time I call for something it is a circus. I call to talk to the credit card guys today and instead of transferring me the first caller asked a ton of questions to verify security (since they were not the ones who I needed to talk to and the same information is required at the next session why waste my time answering these questions!) and then transferred me to the credit card rep. The credit card rep repeated the process and asked the same darn questions! What a waste of the customer's time. Why not just transfer them to the department they need to talk to since at this point account information is irrelevant since it is not shared branch to branch.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Not What It Used To Be

Written on4/3/15
Customer avatar
1962
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
My husband and I have been USAA customers since 1991. In the last two years our CC information has been stolen and used fraudulently at least three times. USAA has been good about removing the charges, closing the account, reopening with new account numbers and sending replacement cards but it seems odd to me that this card is so vulnerable. I have other CCs and have never had an issue. I have also recently contacted them about their new credit score system. Members be aware that their information comes from Experian and Experian's information is often antiquated and inaccurate.
They show our credit score 100 points lower than FICO. The most interesting part of their analysis of our credit is the phrase: Your oldest account is too recent. That is a laugh since our oldest account IS with USAA ( 20 plus years). Experian will gladly update their information IF we fill out a form, complete will SS # and signature, and send in the US mail! REALLY?! Sadly, we will saying goodbye ASAP.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 Next Page>>