USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_banking_credit_cards_visa Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA

brand_banking_credit_cards_visa Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA

Overall rating:
4.112 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(268 reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 268 reviews
5 Stars
173
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
14
1 Star
30
204 out of 26876%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Review 1 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

"Free" credit score

Written on4/24/15
Customer avatar
Lewis1
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Apparently this is NOT an option. Any time an entity reports to you your credit score they "soft hit"/have to check your ratings. Any time your credit is checked it counts against you. I tried to opt out, but was told I DO NOT have that option.
-Very upset!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Credit Card Balance Line

Written on4/13/15
Customer avatar
RRR12
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
When will they update the Credit Card Line to show the balance of where each purchase leaves our account owed? There is an unknown visual for the Credit Card view as apposed to the Savings and Checking views. Please update.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

stolen card

Written on4/13/15
Customer avatar
fay123
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Our card was stolen without our knowledge and was quickly flagged by USAA when suspicious charges were attempted. A couple charges were made but were quickly reversed. To top it off, it was over the Easter weekend when we were sure there would be a huge hassle getting a hold of someone to assist us. Thank goodness they had everything under control before we even knew the problem existed. Absolutely the most polite and pleasant people to have working on our issue. Can't thank them enough.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best move I ever made to do all my business here

Written on4/11/15
Customer avatar
Bonnie Jo
fromIndio, CA
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
It is easy to work with the folks at USAA, thank you.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Credit Card Dispute Process is RIDICULOUS

Written on4/11/15
Customer avatar
Abeck
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
First off, before ANY temporary credit is given you have to SNAIL MAIL, yes, physically MAIL, THROUGH THE POST OFFICE a dispute letter. UGH! this process can take up to 2 weeks to be processed and is just so out dated and frustrating!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Lag time in posting payments / Credit Availability

Written on4/8/15
Customer avatar
Unhappy Camper1
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Just wanted to warn about the Lag time associated with making payment and having your available credit posted to your card. If you are using this Card as a credit builder use caution. Also once you schedule a payment online you will not see anything showing you have a pending payment. In my case I scheduled a payment and the website crashed due to technical difficulties on USAA's end. When I logged back on I was unable to see where the payment was scheduled and proceeded to make payment again. As luck would have it I was charged twice for the same payment. with only the amount available for one, I was charged a NSF fee. Which I was Refunded by USAA but the payment was sent in again and I was charged a fee again. I received a refund and told there was nothing to be done. The payment was then put on a " FLOAT" and my available balance held for 8 days. And again I was told "that's the policy and there is nothing that can be done". I thought the card was secured by the CD. Bad Business.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/21/15
Your service experience is important to us. We'd like to get the issue involving your payment activity reviewed. As soon as our review is complete, a Member Advocate will be reaching out to you to discuss your experience. Please know we are committed to continually improve service to our membership, and appreciate your review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Awful Phone Support

Written on4/7/15
Customer avatar
los257
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Every time I call for something it is a circus. I call to talk to the credit card guys today and instead of transferring me the first caller asked a ton of questions to verify security (since they were not the ones who I needed to talk to and the same information is required at the next session why waste my time answering these questions!) and then transferred me to the credit card rep. The credit card rep repeated the process and asked the same darn questions! What a waste of the customer's time. Why not just transfer them to the department they need to talk to since at this point account information is irrelevant since it is not shared branch to branch.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Yet to be disappointed

Written on3/13/15
Customer avatar
M...MacGregor
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've been a member for close to 20 years and have yet to be disappointed in the service, organization, support, and protections provided. Online banking for the past several years is facilitated by a very user friendly and secure (so far) site. One happy customer who tends to not be easily impressed. Well done!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fantabulous Service, Support and Commitment

Written on3/12/15
Customer avatar
Utah Hoss
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Believe in USAA that they will provide you 100% (if not more) of what you need! I've joined the servide in 1988 and ended up in San Diego. I immediately opened an account at the USAA right outside the base. They took care of me then; and they're taking care of me know. I requested a few cards (bingo, APPROVED)! I needed a personal loan (bingo, APPROVED)! This institution values it's customers/clients/veterans and I feel doesn't give a second thought to GIVING! They have done just that for me! Thank you USAA. Thank you members! I am, and will be - a member for life! KUDOS to you!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

One of the best companies ever to deal with

Written on3/10/15
Customer avatar
Ed Irwin
fromKirkland, WA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've been with USAA since 1962 and they are, overall, one of the two or three best companies I've ever dealt with, in all aspects of customer service, products and price. Basically, no comparison. I will always come to USAA first to ask them if they offer any product or service that I am looking for.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Secerued card

Written on3/9/15
Customer avatar
ulitm
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
So glad that I went back to this plan. I am retired now and due to an illness my credit score which was in the high 700's was decimated. I love the freedom the USAA Secured card has allotted me. I plan on increasing the credit limit to the maximum. I pay the balance off monthly and my credit score is really beginning to improve very quickly. One of my credit cards post the credit score weekly or at any change. It has jumped almost 22 points already and I expect to be back on top of it very soon.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Improvement needed under Credit Card Banking Tab

Written on3/8/15
Customer avatar
EJKessler
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
In my Banking topic and my Credit Card area I found no option to make a payment in the list of options about "What I want to do." I would think that #1 under such an area would be repeated and visible links to Make a Payment.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/13/15
Thank you for taking time to post your review. We regret to hear that you were unable to locate an option to make a payment online to the USAA credit card. As an authorized user on the credit card, the primary or secondary account holder must approve for USAA to delegate you access to view and make payments using Web BillPay. In order to delegate access to Web BillPay, you and the account holder must share joint ownership of a USAA Checking or Savings account. Please call us at 210-531-8722 for more information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

A Loyal USAA Member

Written on3/2/15
Customer avatar
itsmechristi
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've been with USAA (thanks to my Dad's military service) for approximately 40 years. My parents put me on their USAA insurance when I was young and soon, I was on my own. Over the years, every time I've needed USAA, they were there. Every time I've called, I've received exemplary service. USAA is a huge part of my life and I will never look elsewhere. I'm proud to be passing my family history of military service and USAA on to my son, who will soon be off on his own. Knowing he'll have USAA behind him as he takes his journey through life gives me peace of mind.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

WEB SITE takes lots of patience...

Written on3/2/15
Customer avatar
Sea Antsy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Far too often something does not work "JUST NOW"..... frequently get this message
We are unable to complete your request at this time. Please try again later.
? why have a web presence if you cannot operate it better than CRAIGS LIST !!!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator3/30/15
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and apologize for your experience with USAA.com . We really appreciate your loyalty and membership.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Simple, Easy, Read your Credit card Terms.

Written on2/27/15
Customer avatar
Globe24!
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I got myself into credit card debt which I am paying off, my USAA card being the last and biggest balance. The thing is although I have paid quite a bit in interest I understand that it is nobodies fault but my own. That being said I am confused by reviews about being mad at charges or issues paying off the card. I pay 1K every two weeks and should be clear of it by the end of this month. The reps are always helpful and due to the simplicity and ease of use this is the only credit card I plan on keeping around in my drawer once everything is paid off. USAA is great and i would recommend this card for anyone looking for a simple card that works. Fraud protection is fantastic as well. I love the security and how they look out for your account. Even with the interest its still a ridiculously low rate.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Not helpful customer service by Jason

Written on2/25/15
Customer avatar
ASIS
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I am usually very careful about not making a double payment by checking the payment activity, but for some reason I made a double payment for this month. I called to have one of the payments credited back to my checking account, instead Jason just credited back some of it. Because of this, I had to transfer funds from another account . Made me very upset but he did not care. No thanks to you, Jason.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator3/27/15
Thank you for speaking with us today regarding your feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your experiences with USAA. As discussed, we will address the opportunities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

What happened to the USAA that I knew

Written on2/25/15
Customer avatar
Disgruntled Mbr
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
USAA is resting too much on their past reputation and has disappointed me too many times as of late. Contradictory information, lack of knowledge and nonsensical explanations, dropped calls/hang-ups, the bad experiences go on and on. The latest - I paid off the credit card balance that was displayed on their website only to find out a week later that I owed additional unstated finance charges from 2012 ?? Nobody could explain it and I was just left to accept it. Really really poor and I can only learn the lesson and limit my involvement with USAA to insurance only.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Products & Services all Excellant

Written on2/19/15
Customer avatar
PleasedForYears
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My overall experience with USAA over many years has always been excellent in every respect, with regard to all products and services including VISA
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA is my bank!

Written on2/19/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I love USAA because no matter what, they will approve you for a loan. When others don't trust me because I am a realtor no regular income, USAA takes chances on me. I will pay off anyway. USAA understands that life is not black and white for everyone. I needed to buy cars twice. Other banks declined my loan requests and USAA approved me both times. I paid the first one off and never late. And I just took a second one and it will not be late. I suggest that USAA reduces the apr's but over all, I will continue to do business with USAA.
I wish I could bring all my relatives to USAA.
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Platinum Visa Card: No Annual Fee Credit Card | USAA
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA is Great

Written on2/12/15
Customer avatar
Jakemor
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have held an account with USAA for years now and they are great. They have demonstrated time and again that their customer service is unequaled. Every single time that I have had a problem they have fixed it immediately and without any run around.
They have exceeded my expectations for a financial institution.
Jake
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.