USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_banking_credit_cards_amex USAA American Express Card

brand_banking_credit_cards_amex USAA American Express Card

Overall rating:
3.988 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(1049 reviews) 918
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1049 reviews
5 Stars
661
4 Stars
96
3 Stars
68
2 Stars
66
1 Star
158
778 out of 104974%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for USAA American Express Card
Review 1 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I love my AMEX!!!

Written on9/19/14
Customer avatar
Anishka
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I absolutely love my AMEX! What better way to get a secure credit card but directly through USAA! I am 24 years old and I first got my AMEX when I was 21. By being responsible while utilizing this credit card, it has helped me tremendously on establishing an EXCELLENT credit history. I love the reward points it offers. I have been a member with USAA since 2009 when I was 19 years old and I plan to stay with them for life. I have a slew of products with USAA, with the AMEX card being my most favorite product of them all. Thank you, USAA, for being such a top-notch, premier bank that no other bank can top! USAA is second to none!
I recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

a great card with no fees

Written on4/24/15
Customer avatar
jrcantor
fromphilly
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
i love this card alot there no fees and good customer service
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

For gas and groceries

Written on4/23/15
Customer avatar
Salt205
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
This card is decent, but the interest rates are high even for those who have good credit. The awards are ok, but it will take a while to build up any point seeing as AMEX is not taken everywhere. My advice use this for a starter card and build up your credit then move on. Good for those who pay their balances monthly do not carry a balance or you will bummed about the interest.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

AMEX RULES!

Written on4/16/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Best card they offer! IMO.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Recent change on credit card payment processing

Written on4/14/15
Customer avatar
C.A.
fromTexas
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Whoa! It was a shock and surprise at first, but something I've been meaning to request from USAA credit cards for awhile. When making my online payment today, the balance instantly came out of the debited account and cleared the credit card balance just as quickly. I've always been annoyed by the lag (sometimes a couple of days) between the requested payment and the posting. Thanks for the update on the system. Helps me keep up with my accounting better than ever before. Very much appreciated.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent

Written on4/14/15
Customer avatar
Airmanlucas
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a card holder for a few years now. Whenever I call I get quick answers, just yesterday I had three target transactions for $100 appear on my card. Within a few minutes I had a text asking if the charges were accurate. I know they caught it right away because I look at my accounts multiple times a day. After I got that text I called and within five minutes they had my old card cancelled, my new card on the way and the process started to refund the fraud charges. I also had just applied for a better card with USAA and after this experience I am glad I decided to go with another USAA card. They have shown me why I have enjoyed being a USAA member for many years.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Ever!

Written on4/10/15
Customer avatar
tlo1
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've been with USAA for years... I've also been with other banks...and none of them do such a great job with every service I've have joined. No better customer service out there!
You guys are the best!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Top Notch Customer service

Written on4/2/15
Customer avatar
HogDriver72
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have had USAA for several years. Like some folks I was lucky and never had anything where I needed to use my insurance. Then a tree fell on my garage in a Hurricane in 2012. Several neighbors also had trees hit sheds, cars etc. USAA never gave me any difficulty. They were flexible, professional, and reliable. I had less difficulty then everyone else I knew in getting my garage repaired. 12-18 months later some folks still had not had their damage repaired. I am a loyal USAA customer, they earned my business and faith in their company.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Credit score information not removed from display

Written on3/20/15
Customer avatar
Rupert
fromWarrenton, VA, USA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have asked to have the credit score information removed from my web page display. I didn't ask for it and I feel that that is very personal information that is put in a prominent display position. At least give me the opt out ability. I gave my reasons previously, yet the information is still displayed against my wishes.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/16/15
Thank you for taking time to post your review. By displaying the VantageScore® online, USAA was seeking to provide members with their credit scores to help increase financial awareness and to provide access to tools and advise to help understand the factors that go into determining the score, and learn what those factors mean. The VantageScore® is intended to be a reference for your current credit standing. This credit score is not used by USAA for credit or lending decisions. At this time, there is no way to opt out of viewing the VantageScore®; however, we are seeking ways to update the online process to allow members the ability to minimize/hide the title that displays the VantageScore®.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Merchant's Response

Written on3/18/15
Customer avatar
Bullmoose
fromWinston-Salem, NC
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
For many years, I subscribed to the American Express Gold Card. Occasionally we would redeem accumulated points for gifts to our grandchildren. Noise cancelling headphones were among our first. As the grandchildren are now of legal age, I would appreciate suggestions from others.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fantastic

Written on3/17/15
Customer avatar
Fergs
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am never switching banks EVER!! I started my first account when i was 12 with the student card. I have never had a problem with anything. Customer service is phenomenal.
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Dissappointing

Written on3/7/15
Customer avatar
Doglover1
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Charging me an annual $35 fee is the first drawback. I had a secured a long time ago. As I made my payments on time they increased my credt line quite a bit, which USAA has never done after having this card for 2 years.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAA Moderator4/1/15
Thank you for your comment. A Specialist will be contacting you within 24 hours to discuss your feedback.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The card you would expect from USAA !

Written on2/26/15
Customer avatar
TxJeep
fromSan Antonio, TX
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The AMEX "Cashback Rewards Plus" card is excellent and it comes with the service you expect from USAA. The cashback is great and is returned to you automatically each January. Good rebates with no categories to keep up with. Free VantageScore 3.0 credit score updated monthly. Excellent website. Who could ask for a better card?
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

card benefits claims worst ever

Written on2/25/15
Customer avatar
andyc2
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
The USAA Amex benefits claims service has been poor. There continues to be a lack of management oversight by USAA or Amex between card benefits promised by USAA and benefits provided by Amex. There appears to be a lack of accountability by USAA and Amex in providing the support promised in the benefits brochure when an item is purchased with USAA Amex.
The most recent revision of card benefits is 1 Feb. 2015. The earlier USAA Amex benefits listed purchase assurance as a benefit. USAA and Amex denied a purchase assurance claim today for a covered item purchased in November 2014. But purchase assurance was a listed benefit of the USAA Amex card prior to 1 Feb. 2015.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Written on2/23/15
Customer avatar
richard`
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
In addition to the great service I have received during the past 66 years three generations of my family have also received great service.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

excellent card

Written on2/16/15
Customer avatar
tequache
fromTexas
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Hard to beat excellent!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Perfect Card option for Repairing Credit

Written on2/16/15
Customer avatar
DrHedrick
fromSW Missouri
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
First, understand that those with negative reviews did not read the agreement to this type of account and therefore their comments should be considered very lightly in a true evaluation of this card!
Secondly, as someone who has been on both sides of this situation; both a bank manager and someone who has had bad credit, this is the perfect card option for anyone who would like to minimize risk yet build positive credit.
Anyone can have a secured credit card - honestly it is the only way to go in this fluctuating and unstable economy. It does not hurt your credit or reflect negatively by being secured.
It provides protection for someone who loses a job, has a major life change such as an accident, or is on a limited income. The protection is that real money secures the line of credit so if something bad were to happen, you could simply close the card (not necessarily positive for your credit history) and use the CD in this case to pay off the balance.
Good bank, good card!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not a good card - even for a beginner

Written on2/14/15
Customer avatar
Arelonis
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I had an ex-wife suggest this card to me as our first card *we were newlywed at the time*... I did not check what kind of card and was immediately disappointed when I learned it was AMEX, as AMEX is not as widely accepted as VISA or Mastercard... and knowing my first card would have high APR, I at least wanted to make sure it would be widely accepted instead of mostly accepted, I suppose if you give this to a person for building credit it is fine, but this is not a great card otherwise, I would highly suggest you get a Visa or Mastercard unless this is all that stands out for you and you need to build credit
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Horrible Dispute Resolution

Written on1/29/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
In order to dispute a charge you are forced to MAIL a letter to USAA, then wait ~60 days for resolution. It is ludicrous that they do not accept the information via email in this day and age. Very disappointed in USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Not a big contender

Written on1/24/15
Customer avatar
Auto Policy Summary
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
The customer service and fraud protection are good. I know there's more benefits to this card, but they're not advertised well, so I'm not really sure what's available/included as a cardholder. The rewards points are good, but many cards offer the same or better so that doesn't really stand out. The interest rate is ok, not high, but certainly not low. Getting a credit limit increase is quite difficult.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.