USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_banking_credit_cards_amex USAA American Express Card

brand_banking_credit_cards_amex USAA American Express Card

Overall rating:
3.982 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(1036 reviews) 906
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1036 reviews
5 Stars
651
4 Stars
95
3 Stars
67
2 Stars
66
1 Star
157
767 out of 103674%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for USAA American Express Card
Review 1 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I love my AMEX!!!

Written on9/19/14
Customer avatar
Anishka
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I absolutely love my AMEX! What better way to get a secure credit card but directly through USAA! I am 24 years old and I first got my AMEX when I was 21. By being responsible while utilizing this credit card, it has helped me tremendously on establishing an EXCELLENT credit history. I love the reward points it offers. I have been a member with USAA since 2009 when I was 19 years old and I plan to stay with them for life. I have a slew of products with USAA, with the AMEX card being my most favorite product of them all. Thank you, USAA, for being such a top-notch, premier bank that no other bank can top! USAA is second to none!
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

card benefits claims worst ever

Written on2/25/15
Customer avatar
andyc2
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
The USAA Amex benefits claims service has been poor. There continues to be a lack of management oversight by USAA or Amex between card benefits promised by USAA and benefits provided by Amex. There appears to be a lack of accountability by USAA and Amex in providing the support promised in the benefits brochure when an item is purchased with USAA Amex.
The most recent revision of card benefits is 1 Feb. 2015. The earlier USAA Amex benefits listed purchase assurance as a benefit. USAA and Amex denied a purchase assurance claim today for a covered item purchased in November 2014. But purchase assurance was a listed benefit of the USAA Amex card prior to 1 Feb. 2015.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Written on2/23/15
Customer avatar
richard`
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
In addition to the great service I have received during the past 66 years three generations of my family have also received great service.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

excellent card

Written on2/16/15
Customer avatar
tequache
fromTexas
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Hard to beat excellent!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Perfect Card option for Repairing Credit

Written on2/16/15
Customer avatar
DrHedrick
fromSW Missouri
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
First, understand that those with negative reviews did not read the agreement to this type of account and therefore their comments should be considered very lightly in a true evaluation of this card!
Secondly, as someone who has been on both sides of this situation; both a bank manager and someone who has had bad credit, this is the perfect card option for anyone who would like to minimize risk yet build positive credit.
Anyone can have a secured credit card - honestly it is the only way to go in this fluctuating and unstable economy. It does not hurt your credit or reflect negatively by being secured.
It provides protection for someone who loses a job, has a major life change such as an accident, or is on a limited income. The protection is that real money secures the line of credit so if something bad were to happen, you could simply close the card (not necessarily positive for your credit history) and use the CD in this case to pay off the balance.
Good bank, good card!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not a good card - even for a beginner

Written on2/14/15
Customer avatar
Arelonis
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I had an ex-wife suggest this card to me as our first card *we were newlywed at the time*... I did not check what kind of card and was immediately disappointed when I learned it was AMEX, as AMEX is not as widely accepted as VISA or Mastercard... and knowing my first card would have high APR, I at least wanted to make sure it would be widely accepted instead of mostly accepted, I suppose if you give this to a person for building credit it is fine, but this is not a great card otherwise, I would highly suggest you get a Visa or Mastercard unless this is all that stands out for you and you need to build credit
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not what I expected

Written on2/8/15
Customer avatar
WNSR
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I was looking forward to getting a card with high percentages of cash back on groceries and gasoline. Going through an organization that caters to active duty, retired military and other veterans, I thought was the answer. I was wrong. Grocery purchases at the commissary and gas purchases at the BX showed up as government purchases and was not counted for higher cash back. Gas at 7-11 was no different. I quit using the card and now carry one that gives a good percentage back on all purchases anywhere. USAA may cater to the Armed Forces community but AMEX does not.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Not a big contender

Written on1/24/15
Customer avatar
Auto Policy Summary
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
The customer service and fraud protection are good. I know there's more benefits to this card, but they're not advertised well, so I'm not really sure what's available/included as a cardholder. The rewards points are good, but many cards offer the same or better so that doesn't really stand out. The interest rate is ok, not high, but certainly not low. Getting a credit limit increase is quite difficult.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

My account

Written on1/16/15
Customer avatar
bwl
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
"My accounts" improved features are great.
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

TWS Amex Card Saves Bacon

Written on1/6/15
Customer avatar
MikeInMead
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
COSTCO won't accept any CC except AMEX. Together We Served (TWS) provided the perfect opportunity to stop writing checks and irritating other COSTCO shoppers at checkout. They offered a lifetime membership with acceptance for a USAA AMEX card. Paying the small balance monthly had done two things: (1) Calmed the masses at COSTCO checkout, and (2) raised my credit rating by about five points. Thanks TWS and USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

American Express Credit Card

Written on1/1/15
Customer avatar
Cdra123
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
When traveling limited places that take American Express card. Cities ok, but get in smaller communities limited locations. There are some no annual fee cards that give more "cash back". USAA makes the difference... Service is outstanding!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

RAted low Becouse

Written on12/28/14
Customer avatar
Hobbnam
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
i rated it low cuz well its a good card but i put money on it and it takes 8 days to process and be available for me to use yet it takes 2 sec for it to be taken off the card???
That being said i do like the card just wish more people in my area would accept it
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Save Save Save

Written on12/16/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I got this card because I do Uber after work. This means I use a good amount of fuel. Now I collect 5% on that.
I use the card for all my auto related expenses(fuel, oil filters, car wash) so that at the end of the year, I have an easy location to get all my tax write offs.
Rate is a little higher, so the card might be more geared towards people with newer credit ratings. This is not a problem if you set it up for auto pay and pay it off at the end of the month. In my case, I only use it for fuel, etc, so there are no surprises at the end of the month. I assume the rate is higher to help pay for the lack of annual fee on this card. No problem if you pay it off at the end of the month!
I would not be able to set up full auto-pay if I had unknown bills coming in.. ie: a spouse who can't stop spending, etc.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Mastercard i've Been Waiting For!

Written on12/8/14
Customer avatar
Fields44
fromClovis, NM
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Finally! Some excellent cash back features that match and beat the current cards out there. This is the card I've been waiting for! 5% Gas! 2% Groceries! 1% everywhere else! All this with no annual fee and now USAA offers a credit card that beats the competition when the military benefits are applied. This is now my new MAIN credit card to leverage cash back, and I'll use the World MasterCard as a backup. Bottom line: This is the card for those who pay their statement balances monthly to get cash back. I wouldn't recommend carrying a high balance on it since the interest rate is higher than your other options. USAA listened to my inputs! Love it! Those phone surveys after routine calls pay off! Enjoy!!!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator1/5/15
We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the new Cashback Rewards Plus American Express Credit Card. Thank you for making us your main credit card. We appreciate your loyalty and service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Awsome

Written on12/6/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This is an awesome way to build or maintain your credit. Just make sure that you pay at least 90% of your balance each month. I would recommend this American Express card to anyone who is trying to build credit!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

poor customer service

Written on12/4/14
Customer avatar
mlb7480
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
why write when you don't listen
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Pathetic Service

Written on11/30/14
Customer avatar
GTO Driver
fromCentral Illinois
Military Affiliation:Separated
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
USAA should get out of the credit card business. My card says American Express on it but the account is really managed by USAA. Therefor, when you call the number on the card, you get USAA's horrible voice response system. If you are lucky you can navigate that system, but it is extremely time consuming and frustrating. When I have a question about my credit card, I don't want to be asked if I'm calling about car insurance. Worse, USAA's on-line system is off line frequently, so you really have no way reliably monitor your transactions and current balance. If you want a credit card that works without hassle, don't get it from an insurance company, look somewhere else.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator1/29/15
We regret your experience with the voice response system and usaa.com was not more in line with the service you expected from USAA. Thank you for taking time to discuss your experience with a Member Advocate. Please know we are committed to continually improve service to our membership, and appreciate your review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome Fraud Protection Team

Written on11/29/14
Customer avatar
Dave1998
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This Thanksgiving weekend, I am very thankful to USAA's Fraud Protection team for immediately notifying me of a suspicious purchase that, in fact, turned out to be a fraudulent purchase in another state. All the best to you and THANKS AGAIN!!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Customer Support

Written on11/25/14
Customer avatar
SH3 Teal
fromSan Diego, Cali
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
They only have restrict hours, and I think there should be better hours especially when there military work around the clock at all times. To better service the military.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Written on11/23/14
Customer avatar
Seb
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA has helped me get my Credit/life in order. Thank you so much USAA.....
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.