USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_banking_credit_cards_amex USAA American Express Card

brand_banking_credit_cards_amex USAA American Express Card

Overall rating:
3.987 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(1055 reviews) 924
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1055 reviews
5 Stars
665
4 Stars
96
3 Stars
68
2 Stars
67
1 Star
159
782 out of 105574%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for USAA American Express Card
Review 1 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I love my AMEX!!!

Written on9/19/14
Customer avatar
Anishka
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I absolutely love my AMEX! What better way to get a secure credit card but directly through USAA! I am 24 years old and I first got my AMEX when I was 21. By being responsible while utilizing this credit card, it has helped me tremendously on establishing an EXCELLENT credit history. I love the reward points it offers. I have been a member with USAA since 2009 when I was 19 years old and I plan to stay with them for life. I have a slew of products with USAA, with the AMEX card being my most favorite product of them all. Thank you, USAA, for being such a top-notch, premier bank that no other bank can top! USAA is second to none!
I recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great customer service

Written on5/19/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I applied for the mastercard as well as the american express card and was approved!!! Thank you for all the great insurance as well and i also love how its a one stop shopping store. All the loans and insurance anyone will ever need. Thank you usaa for having my back. sincerly avatar2
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Online Service

Written on5/19/15
Customer avatar
sergio38
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Couldn't ask for anything better
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

A Rare USAA Mistake

Written on5/13/15
Customer avatar
TLA6
fromChapel Hill, NC
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
We applied for the Wounded Warrior Amex card with a small maximum, but on three occasions, we have noticed that when we pay down the balance, the credit is not made to the account until a week or so after the check clears our Wells Fargo account. That is, we are out the money, USAA has the money, but we can not charge that amount on the card. Twice to the always friendly USAA help line to receive plenty of sympathy and "lots of people have this problem and we don't know why this is happening" verbiage. We have asked that supervisors be told that this is a rare USAA goof in over 48 years of good service.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA American Express

Written on5/11/15
Customer avatar
Vira G
fromLittle Rock, AR
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Love it Love it Love it. This is seriously the best credit card anyone can have. I've had this card for about 5 years now. Had to close one down USAA Rep made it convenient for me and sent me a new card less then a wk. You receive rewards on everything and I mean everything!! I do enjoy using it on my everyday transactions. Unfortunately the only down fall is some businesses do not accept American Express because of the fee they pay.
I honestly have nothing negative to say about this card itself.
I hope this helps who ever is trying to obtain a credit card with USAA and is unsure which one to choose or any bank period. Go with USAA American Express you won't regret it!!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

only good for a very select few

Written on5/3/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
It doesn't graduate, so you're stuck giving them your deposit money and annual fee until you take the hit on your credit when you cancel. Credit can be built up in a much faster tune than two years, so if you MUST do a secured card, find one that graduates after one year.If you get the Mastercard or visa you're wasting your time, money, and credit. This card is worth two stars for being able to get a super basic amex for Costco and concert presales, and two stars for customer service because they sometimes respond when you tell them you regret getting this card, but they can't help you.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerated5/19/15
Thank you for your feedback. A Specialist will contact you within 24 hours to discuss your concerns regarding the secured card . Thank you for your membership.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great credit card

Written on4/28/15
Customer avatar
mkdr
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I love the AMEX Credit Card from USAA. Me and my wife went years without a credit card because we don't feel the need to use credit but we decided to get one and use it for our daily purchases. The rewards system has been great, we haven't had any issues with this credit card and would definitely recommend it to anyone.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

a great card with no fees

Written on4/24/15
Customer avatar
jrcantor
fromphilly
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
i love this card alot there no fees and good customer service
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

For gas and groceries

Written on4/23/15
Customer avatar
Salt205
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
This card is decent, but the interest rates are high even for those who have good credit. The awards are ok, but it will take a while to build up any point seeing as AMEX is not taken everywhere. My advice use this for a starter card and build up your credit then move on. Good for those who pay their balances monthly do not carry a balance or you will bummed about the interest.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

AMEX RULES!

Written on4/16/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Best card they offer! IMO.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Recent change on credit card payment processing

Written on4/14/15
Customer avatar
C.A.
fromTexas
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Whoa! It was a shock and surprise at first, but something I've been meaning to request from USAA credit cards for awhile. When making my online payment today, the balance instantly came out of the debited account and cleared the credit card balance just as quickly. I've always been annoyed by the lag (sometimes a couple of days) between the requested payment and the posting. Thanks for the update on the system. Helps me keep up with my accounting better than ever before. Very much appreciated.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent

Written on4/14/15
Customer avatar
Airmanlucas
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a card holder for a few years now. Whenever I call I get quick answers, just yesterday I had three target transactions for $100 appear on my card. Within a few minutes I had a text asking if the charges were accurate. I know they caught it right away because I look at my accounts multiple times a day. After I got that text I called and within five minutes they had my old card cancelled, my new card on the way and the process started to refund the fraud charges. I also had just applied for a better card with USAA and after this experience I am glad I decided to go with another USAA card. They have shown me why I have enjoyed being a USAA member for many years.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Ever!

Written on4/10/15
Customer avatar
tlo1
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've been with USAA for years... I've also been with other banks...and none of them do such a great job with every service I've have joined. No better customer service out there!
You guys are the best!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Top Notch Customer service

Written on4/2/15
Customer avatar
HogDriver72
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have had USAA for several years. Like some folks I was lucky and never had anything where I needed to use my insurance. Then a tree fell on my garage in a Hurricane in 2012. Several neighbors also had trees hit sheds, cars etc. USAA never gave me any difficulty. They were flexible, professional, and reliable. I had less difficulty then everyone else I knew in getting my garage repaired. 12-18 months later some folks still had not had their damage repaired. I am a loyal USAA customer, they earned my business and faith in their company.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Credit score information not removed from display

Written on3/20/15
Customer avatar
Rupert
fromWarrenton, VA, USA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have asked to have the credit score information removed from my web page display. I didn't ask for it and I feel that that is very personal information that is put in a prominent display position. At least give me the opt out ability. I gave my reasons previously, yet the information is still displayed against my wishes.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/16/15
Thank you for taking time to post your review. By displaying the VantageScore® online, USAA was seeking to provide members with their credit scores to help increase financial awareness and to provide access to tools and advise to help understand the factors that go into determining the score, and learn what those factors mean. The VantageScore® is intended to be a reference for your current credit standing. This credit score is not used by USAA for credit or lending decisions. At this time, there is no way to opt out of viewing the VantageScore®; however, we are seeking ways to update the online process to allow members the ability to minimize/hide the title that displays the VantageScore®.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Merchant's Response

Written on3/18/15
Customer avatar
Bullmoose
fromWinston-Salem, NC
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
For many years, I subscribed to the American Express Gold Card. Occasionally we would redeem accumulated points for gifts to our grandchildren. Noise cancelling headphones were among our first. As the grandchildren are now of legal age, I would appreciate suggestions from others.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fantastic

Written on3/17/15
Customer avatar
Fergs
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am never switching banks EVER!! I started my first account when i was 12 with the student card. I have never had a problem with anything. Customer service is phenomenal.
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Dissappointing

Written on3/7/15
Customer avatar
Doglover1
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Charging me an annual $35 fee is the first drawback. I had a secured a long time ago. As I made my payments on time they increased my credt line quite a bit, which USAA has never done after having this card for 2 years.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAA Moderator4/1/15
Thank you for your comment. A Specialist will be contacting you within 24 hours to discuss your feedback.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The card you would expect from USAA !

Written on2/26/15
Customer avatar
TxJeep
fromSan Antonio, TX
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The AMEX "Cashback Rewards Plus" card is excellent and it comes with the service you expect from USAA. The cashback is great and is returned to you automatically each January. Good rebates with no categories to keep up with. Free VantageScore 3.0 credit score updated monthly. Excellent website. Who could ask for a better card?
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

card benefits claims worst ever

Written on2/25/15
Customer avatar
andyc2
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
The USAA Amex benefits claims service has been poor. There continues to be a lack of management oversight by USAA or Amex between card benefits promised by USAA and benefits provided by Amex. There appears to be a lack of accountability by USAA and Amex in providing the support promised in the benefits brochure when an item is purchased with USAA Amex.
The most recent revision of card benefits is 1 Feb. 2015. The earlier USAA Amex benefits listed purchase assurance as a benefit. USAA and Amex denied a purchase assurance claim today for a covered item purchased in November 2014. But purchase assurance was a listed benefit of the USAA Amex card prior to 1 Feb. 2015.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.