USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_banking_credit_cards_amex USAA American Express Card

brand_banking_credit_cards_amex USAA American Express Card

Overall rating:
3.984 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(1043 reviews) 913
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1043 reviews
5 Stars
656
4 Stars
96
3 Stars
67
2 Stars
66
1 Star
158
772 out of 104374%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for USAA American Express Card
Review 1 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I love my AMEX!!!

Written on9/19/14
Customer avatar
Anishka
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I absolutely love my AMEX! What better way to get a secure credit card but directly through USAA! I am 24 years old and I first got my AMEX when I was 21. By being responsible while utilizing this credit card, it has helped me tremendously on establishing an EXCELLENT credit history. I love the reward points it offers. I have been a member with USAA since 2009 when I was 19 years old and I plan to stay with them for life. I have a slew of products with USAA, with the AMEX card being my most favorite product of them all. Thank you, USAA, for being such a top-notch, premier bank that no other bank can top! USAA is second to none!
I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA is a Model for All Insurance Companies

Written on3/31/15
Customer avatar
Sure-am-happy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA is an outstanding insurance company for business and personal matters because they treat their customers as if they are part of a large family, could not ask for more regarding quality of service, timeliness and organization. USAA is dependable and has reasonable prices for insurance of all types.
I have been a customer for more than thirty years, never hesitate to recommend it to friends and others who qualify because it is the ultimate model for what an insurance company should be as to how they should conduct their business and treat their members.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Credit score information not removed from display

Written on3/20/15
Customer avatar
Rupert
fromWarrenton, VA, USA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have asked to have the credit score information removed from my web page display. I didn't ask for it and I feel that that is very personal information that is put in a prominent display position. At least give me the opt out ability. I gave my reasons previously, yet the information is still displayed against my wishes.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Merchant's Response

Written on3/18/15
Customer avatar
Bullmoose
fromWinston-Salem, NC
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
For many years, I subscribed to the American Express Gold Card. Occasionally we would redeem accumulated points for gifts to our grandchildren. Noise cancelling headphones were among our first. As the grandchildren are now of legal age, I would appreciate suggestions from others.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fantastic

Written on3/17/15
Customer avatar
Fergs
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am never switching banks EVER!! I started my first account when i was 12 with the student card. I have never had a problem with anything. Customer service is phenomenal.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Dissappointing

Written on3/7/15
Customer avatar
Doglover1
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Charging me an annual $35 fee is the first drawback. I had a secured a long time ago. As I made my payments on time they increased my credt line quite a bit, which USAA has never done after having this card for 2 years.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The card you would expect from USAA !

Written on2/26/15
Customer avatar
TxJeep
fromSan Antonio, TX
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The AMEX "Cashback Rewards Plus" card is excellent and it comes with the service you expect from USAA. The cashback is great and is returned to you automatically each January. Good rebates with no categories to keep up with. Free VantageScore 3.0 credit score updated monthly. Excellent website. Who could ask for a better card?
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

card benefits claims worst ever

Written on2/25/15
Customer avatar
andyc2
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
The USAA Amex benefits claims service has been poor. There continues to be a lack of management oversight by USAA or Amex between card benefits promised by USAA and benefits provided by Amex. There appears to be a lack of accountability by USAA and Amex in providing the support promised in the benefits brochure when an item is purchased with USAA Amex.
The most recent revision of card benefits is 1 Feb. 2015. The earlier USAA Amex benefits listed purchase assurance as a benefit. USAA and Amex denied a purchase assurance claim today for a covered item purchased in November 2014. But purchase assurance was a listed benefit of the USAA Amex card prior to 1 Feb. 2015.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

credit card dispute

Written on2/23/15
Customer avatar
BURL
fromMELBOURNE, FL
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
usaa# 543342
american express card
3 debits pending for 22 FEB - 10.90
75.00
2.96
I dispute all 3 of these pending debits
I will call in AM to discuss.
BURL A. ZORN
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Written on2/23/15
Customer avatar
richard`
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
In addition to the great service I have received during the past 66 years three generations of my family have also received great service.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

excellent card

Written on2/16/15
Customer avatar
tequache
fromTexas
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Hard to beat excellent!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Perfect Card option for Repairing Credit

Written on2/16/15
Customer avatar
DrHedrick
fromSW Missouri
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
First, understand that those with negative reviews did not read the agreement to this type of account and therefore their comments should be considered very lightly in a true evaluation of this card!
Secondly, as someone who has been on both sides of this situation; both a bank manager and someone who has had bad credit, this is the perfect card option for anyone who would like to minimize risk yet build positive credit.
Anyone can have a secured credit card - honestly it is the only way to go in this fluctuating and unstable economy. It does not hurt your credit or reflect negatively by being secured.
It provides protection for someone who loses a job, has a major life change such as an accident, or is on a limited income. The protection is that real money secures the line of credit so if something bad were to happen, you could simply close the card (not necessarily positive for your credit history) and use the CD in this case to pay off the balance.
Good bank, good card!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not a good card - even for a beginner

Written on2/14/15
Customer avatar
Arelonis
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I had an ex-wife suggest this card to me as our first card *we were newlywed at the time*... I did not check what kind of card and was immediately disappointed when I learned it was AMEX, as AMEX is not as widely accepted as VISA or Mastercard... and knowing my first card would have high APR, I at least wanted to make sure it would be widely accepted instead of mostly accepted, I suppose if you give this to a person for building credit it is fine, but this is not a great card otherwise, I would highly suggest you get a Visa or Mastercard unless this is all that stands out for you and you need to build credit
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Horrible Dispute Resolution

Written on1/29/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
In order to dispute a charge you are forced to MAIL a letter to USAA, then wait ~60 days for resolution. It is ludicrous that they do not accept the information via email in this day and age. Very disappointed in USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Not a big contender

Written on1/24/15
Customer avatar
Auto Policy Summary
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
The customer service and fraud protection are good. I know there's more benefits to this card, but they're not advertised well, so I'm not really sure what's available/included as a cardholder. The rewards points are good, but many cards offer the same or better so that doesn't really stand out. The interest rate is ok, not high, but certainly not low. Getting a credit limit increase is quite difficult.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

My account

Written on1/16/15
Customer avatar
bwl
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
"My accounts" improved features are great.
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

TWS Amex Card Saves Bacon

Written on1/6/15
Customer avatar
MikeInMead
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
COSTCO won't accept any CC except AMEX. Together We Served (TWS) provided the perfect opportunity to stop writing checks and irritating other COSTCO shoppers at checkout. They offered a lifetime membership with acceptance for a USAA AMEX card. Paying the small balance monthly had done two things: (1) Calmed the masses at COSTCO checkout, and (2) raised my credit rating by about five points. Thanks TWS and USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

American Express Credit Card

Written on1/1/15
Customer avatar
Cdra123
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
When traveling limited places that take American Express card. Cities ok, but get in smaller communities limited locations. There are some no annual fee cards that give more "cash back". USAA makes the difference... Service is outstanding!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

RAted low Becouse

Written on12/28/14
Customer avatar
Hobbnam
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
i rated it low cuz well its a good card but i put money on it and it takes 8 days to process and be available for me to use yet it takes 2 sec for it to be taken off the card???
That being said i do like the card just wish more people in my area would accept it
I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Save Save Save

Written on12/16/14
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I got this card because I do Uber after work. This means I use a good amount of fuel. Now I collect 5% on that.
I use the card for all my auto related expenses(fuel, oil filters, car wash) so that at the end of the year, I have an easy location to get all my tax write offs.
Rate is a little higher, so the card might be more geared towards people with newer credit ratings. This is not a problem if you set it up for auto pay and pay it off at the end of the month. In my case, I only use it for fuel, etc, so there are no surprises at the end of the month. I assume the rate is higher to help pay for the lack of annual fee on this card. No problem if you pay it off at the end of the month!
I would not be able to set up full auto-pay if I had unknown bills coming in.. ie: a spouse who can't stop spending, etc.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.