USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_banking_credit_cards_amex USAA American Express Card

brand_banking_credit_cards_amex USAA American Express Card

Overall rating:
3.988 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(1064 reviews) 933
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1064 reviews
5 Stars
670
4 Stars
98
3 Stars
68
2 Stars
69
1 Star
159
789 out of 106474%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for USAA American Express Card
Review 1 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I love my AMEX!!!

Written on9/19/14
Customer avatar
Anishka
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I absolutely love my AMEX! What better way to get a secure credit card but directly through USAA! I am 24 years old and I first got my AMEX when I was 21. By being responsible while utilizing this credit card, it has helped me tremendously on establishing an EXCELLENT credit history. I love the reward points it offers. I have been a member with USAA since 2009 when I was 19 years old and I plan to stay with them for life. I have a slew of products with USAA, with the AMEX card being my most favorite product of them all. Thank you, USAA, for being such a top-notch, premier bank that no other bank can top! USAA is second to none!
I recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

best rate

Written on6/26/15
Customer avatar
misio65
fromBethesda, MD
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
In addition to best finance rate, there are rewards points.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Online account information

Written on6/26/15
Customer avatar
R. Stewart
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
It is not helpful to have pending activity listed but not reflected in the balance. I recommend that pending not be posted or all are included in the balance when shown. That way I don't have to use a calculator to determine my total outstanding balance which I often pay before the due date or when posted.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/26/15
Thank you for your feedback. This is information that we gather to pass along to our Web Redesign Team. Thanks again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love it!

Written on6/23/15
Customer avatar
BobbyRa
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA has been nothing but amazing. I used to bank with another well known bank (BoA) but since I made the switch I am nothing short of extremely satisifed, I will never switch banks again! They offer great products, their website and app has absolutly everything you could ever need(which I use daily), and the customer service is outstanding! I just got this Amex card and I cant wait to start using it. USAA shows why they are the very best day in and day out and I will be with them for life! :)
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/23/15
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. USAA aims to provide world class products, services, and customer service to our members. We are pleased to hear you are happy with your new card.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Above and beyond

Written on6/20/15
Customer avatar
Athletic1
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been with USAA since I joined the military. What amaze me about this company is the superb customer service! I charged my car service to my American Express and I immediately got a call from the service representative to assure that the charge is not questionable. I was also traveling so it gave me a peace of mind. As long as I am being a responsible and accountable consumer, I know USAA will always have my back.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/22/15
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our members. We strive to offer our members the best products and services. Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

USAA AMEX Card comment

Written on6/10/15
Customer avatar
mil guy
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have to piggyback on old school73 comment regarding the initial authorization of $150.00. I used the card this past weekend at a Navy NEX fuel station and also noticed the "pending" $150.00 on my account. That's a bit odd and excessive, unless AMEX does this across the board with all their cards (revolving and charge). I have used the card at civilian fuel stations and it would be a $75.00 "pending" - which of course would eventually reflect the actual transaction amount a few days later.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Worse credit card I have every had

Written on6/7/15
Customer avatar
old school73
fromga.
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
The other services USAA are great but I can not wait to ipay ithis account off and close it out, I purchased 50.00 in gas and when I checked my account there was a 150.00 pending my other credit does not do that
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/8/15
Thank you for your comment. We are currently reviewing the situation and will be contacting you shortly regarding this matter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome First Credit Card

Written on6/1/15
Customer avatar
Brittney.g
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
This credit card is my first and I absolutely love it. My favorite feature is that it shows your credit score every month (after a period) so I can easily keep up. Interest is very low and reasonable and the card itself looks great. I recommend this card to everyone. It is a great, safe way to build your credit.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

love those points!

Written on5/28/15
Customer avatar
arlenewla
fromCulver City, CA
Military Affiliation:Widowed
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
very easy to redeem points for travel
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Try Another Creditor

Written on5/24/15
Customer avatar
Outta Debt
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
AMEX will not increase your credit spending limit, other than the funds you deposit into a CD account for 2 years, and you receive very little interest on your dollar. There are other banks who will increase your spending limit over a period of time (less than 2 years) with a good payment history. If you make multiple payments in 1 week, or your payment is higher than your normal payment, USAA will put a freeze on your payment, you will not have access to the money. While customer service is nice, they will tell you unfortunately, there isn't anything they can do about this hold, the computer places the hold, and can not be lifted. The annual fee they charge is more than the interest I have earned in two years, and while I rarely carried a balance, AMEX was sure to get there money through the annual fee of $35.00. I say shop around and weigh your options before being locked in for two years with no chance of increase in your spending limit, unless you deposit more money.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAA Moderator6/1/15
We apologize for your experience regarding your secured credit cards. We will forward your feedback, as it is important to us. We do value your membership and thank you for your comment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great customer service

Written on5/19/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I applied for the mastercard as well as the american express card and was approved!!! Thank you for all the great insurance as well and i also love how its a one stop shopping store. All the loans and insurance anyone will ever need. Thank you usaa for having my back. sincerly avatar2
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Online Service

Written on5/19/15
Customer avatar
sergio38
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Couldn't ask for anything better
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

A Rare USAA Mistake

Written on5/13/15
Customer avatar
TLA6
fromChapel Hill, NC
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
We applied for the Wounded Warrior Amex card with a small maximum, but on three occasions, we have noticed that when we pay down the balance, the credit is not made to the account until a week or so after the check clears our Wells Fargo account. That is, we are out the money, USAA has the money, but we can not charge that amount on the card. Twice to the always friendly USAA help line to receive plenty of sympathy and "lots of people have this problem and we don't know why this is happening" verbiage. We have asked that supervisors be told that this is a rare USAA goof in over 48 years of good service.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA American Express

Written on5/11/15
Customer avatar
Vira G
fromLittle Rock, AR
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Love it Love it Love it. This is seriously the best credit card anyone can have. I've had this card for about 5 years now. Had to close one down USAA Rep made it convenient for me and sent me a new card less then a wk. You receive rewards on everything and I mean everything!! I do enjoy using it on my everyday transactions. Unfortunately the only down fall is some businesses do not accept American Express because of the fee they pay.
I honestly have nothing negative to say about this card itself.
I hope this helps who ever is trying to obtain a credit card with USAA and is unsure which one to choose or any bank period. Go with USAA American Express you won't regret it!!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

only good for a very select few

Written on5/3/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
It doesn't graduate, so you're stuck giving them your deposit money and annual fee until you take the hit on your credit when you cancel. Credit can be built up in a much faster tune than two years, so if you MUST do a secured card, find one that graduates after one year.If you get the Mastercard or visa you're wasting your time, money, and credit. This card is worth two stars for being able to get a super basic amex for Costco and concert presales, and two stars for customer service because they sometimes respond when you tell them you regret getting this card, but they can't help you.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerated5/19/15
Thank you for your feedback. A Specialist will contact you within 24 hours to discuss your concerns regarding the secured card . Thank you for your membership.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great credit card

Written on4/28/15
Customer avatar
mkdr
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I love the AMEX Credit Card from USAA. Me and my wife went years without a credit card because we don't feel the need to use credit but we decided to get one and use it for our daily purchases. The rewards system has been great, we haven't had any issues with this credit card and would definitely recommend it to anyone.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

a great card with no fees

Written on4/24/15
Customer avatar
jrcantor
fromphilly
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
i love this card alot there no fees and good customer service
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

For gas and groceries

Written on4/23/15
Customer avatar
Salt205
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
This card is decent, but the interest rates are high even for those who have good credit. The awards are ok, but it will take a while to build up any point seeing as AMEX is not taken everywhere. My advice use this for a starter card and build up your credit then move on. Good for those who pay their balances monthly do not carry a balance or you will bummed about the interest.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

AMEX RULES!

Written on4/16/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Best card they offer! IMO.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for USAA American Express Card
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Recent change on credit card payment processing

Written on4/14/15
Customer avatar
C.A.
fromTexas
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Whoa! It was a shock and surprise at first, but something I've been meaning to request from USAA credit cards for awhile. When making my online payment today, the balance instantly came out of the debited account and cleared the credit card balance just as quickly. I've always been annoyed by the lag (sometimes a couple of days) between the requested payment and the posting. Thanks for the update on the system. Helps me keep up with my accounting better than ever before. Very much appreciated.
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 47 Next Page>>