USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_bank_loan_refinance_my_home (Unknown)

brand_bank_loan_refinance_my_home (Unknown)

Overall rating:
3.3 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(670 reviews) 665
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 670 reviews
5 Stars
317
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
36
2 Stars
57
1 Star
212
394 out of 67059%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
49 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Absolutely Superior VA Mortgage ReFi Service

Written on3/10/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The day that I called to apply, I locked my rate. My loan processor (Florence M.) was able to interact with me by both internal forms-mail (to which I uploaded documents) and normal internet mail (through which we discussed status, and I provided some documents, e.g. pest inspection) My processor fielded unexpected requests from VA for "documentation" (eg. well water test) with quick "heads up" to me, and immediate replies to my questions on how to expedite process and to provide exactly the content desired. Her use of "external email" made it possible for me to interact with her easily, and to provide data from documentation sources (eg. water quality people) with easy use of my iPhone. This was a real blessing in dealing with "snow days." Whenever I had a question (eg: closing disbursement process) she had the answer and the solution. In over 40 years, I've done many ReFis. THIS WAS THE BEST.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/13/15
Thank you for the compliment. We definitely strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time. Thanks so much for your membership.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Refi Experience

Written on11/6/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was concerned from reading the reviews about refinancing with USAA, but figured I would give them a shot. It couldn't have been an easier process. We started on 9/30 and closed on 10/24. The online uploading of documents was great. Any questions I had were submitted by email and answered quickly by our Mortgage Processor. Our Mortgage Processor kept in contact with us at all times.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Refinance was easy and fast

Written on8/12/14
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We just closed on our Refinance with USAA today and I am very excited to share that it was truly an easy, painless, and fast process. After reading reviews, I was a little apprehensive about attempting a refi with USAA, but any worries we had were for not. The application process was easy, our formal application packet arrived quickly and again was easy to complete and return. Our mortgage processor was responsive and very pleasant as was our appraiser. Our closing was scheduled quickly and completed on time. From application date to closing date was less than 6 weeks! No resubmitting of info, good, clear upfront info on fees and dates. And the closing happened right in our home at a time that worked for us. All in all, we couldn't have asked for a better experience. If you are considering USAA for a refi, I say go for it!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

We Just Had a Great Experience with our Refi!

Written on6/10/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
After reading some posted reviews, I was a little anxious with refinancing with USAA. But, as usual, USAA went above and beyond with providing us with excellent customer service ( Carl A. was the most engaged processor I've ever worked with and even called us twice a week to follow up! If we left a message or had a question, it was answered usually same day or next.) Our refi was done in just a little over 40 days from first phone call to closing date and the attorney even came to our house to close- super convenient. Thanks Carl and thanks to USAA- I will continue to sing your praises!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

VA loan refinance

Written on2/21/14
Customer avatar
fromBremerton WA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I expected the re-fi to take longer to complete based on previous customer comments. Our transaction, from beginning to end, took 34 days. USAA bent over backwards to make this easy for us. My questions were answered immediately and completely to my satisfaction. I highly recommend USAA for any of your financial requirements.
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I think USAA is listening and improving

Written on2/9/14
Customer avatar
fromSeattle, WA
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
In a nutshell, I had an outstanding refinace experience with USAA. I'd read earlier reviews about struggles people had with USAA and so instead of using them as my only option (as I do with their other services), I included them as one of my options. I ended up going with them, and had everything closed within 3 weeks.
Based on my experience, I believe USAA has listened to the feedback given and is working on figuring out how to balance good customer experience, and protecting us (other members) from bad investments.
The only glitch I felt was my USAA point of contact emailing me, letting me know what documents were needed, sooner than the 'electronic system' would update the same info. This resulted in me getting multiple requests for the same documents. My point of contact stayed in good contact with me and we worked through it.
I also really appreciated their "road map" of where we were in the process, outlying what they needed from me and what they were working on.
I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Easy refinance

Written on11/26/13
Customer avatar
fromOklahoma
Military Affiliation:National Guard
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I must admit that after reading some of the reviews, I had doubts about refinancing through USAA. But I have been with USAA for almost ten years and I have never been disappointed. Additionally, I was aware of the historically low interest rates which had created a high demand for refinancing, so I was prepared for delays. It could not have been a better experience! I submitted my application on 10/23/13 and received initial approval the following day. On 10/25/13 I was contacted by the mortgage processor, who told me what he needed from me. I received a packet of forms the next day through FedEx for me to complete and return. The mortgage processor was in contact with me throughout the entire process and was always quick to answer all of my questions. We were scheduled to close on 12/2/13. We closed on 11/21/13 and funding was in place on 11/26! So I went from filling out an online application to close in less than one month, and completely finished in 34 days!
I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Exceeded Expectations

Written on8/8/13
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was extremely hesitant about refinancing with USAA, especially after reading the reviews. I was still on the fence about whether paying closing costs outweighed a lower interest rate and monthly payment, but I figured if the reviews were true, and everything was slow, I had time to make my decision. Not true. I submitted my application online and the next day my process server Stefanie called to say she had sent out my paperwork. I received it the following day with a prepaid overnight return envelop. I held on to the paperwork for several days because I was still undecided. Stefanie followed up with a call and email to make sure I had no questions. Surprisingly, someone from the title company also contacted me in the first few days to tell me they could reuse some of the forms from my original loan to save money. No appraisal required. Closing was set 4 weeks from I received the forms. I was going to be out of town so they moved it up. Jacklyn took over closing day and was great!
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Straight Forward

Written on8/3/13
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Switched mortgage, pretty smooth sailing, pay my own taxes nothing in escrow big plus, thanks for the help.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome service -- post may clear frustrations

Written on6/28/13
Customer avatar
fromMountain View, CA
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I read through the reviews as we started our refinance. I decided to give USAA a shot, and called a number listed. The person was courteous, but very difficult to reach.
I called USAA Banking to "let them have it." The person listened patiently, and then asked me what number I had called first to do the refinance process. She explained that there were issues with the sheer number of applications received in 2013; some processors were actually contractors working with USAA --- that was the case for my first try
She then mentioned that I had reached USAA idirectly now, and that if I wished to refinance it would remain directly with USAA staff through closing, and I agreed.
No regrets. Online status, and the service from my processor Ashley P. were outstanding. They listened to what I needed, and we are scheduled for closing in 3 days, in our patio !! I can understand that non-USAA staff may have been a less than great decision by USAA, but the market may have driven that.
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Positive Experience

Written on6/27/13
Customer avatar
fromLexington, South Carolina
Military Branch:Army
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I read the other reviews and I struggled with my decision to refinance with USAA, but I am glad that I did. They offered me the best interest rate and a very desirable decrease in my monthly mortgage payment. I applied on May 13, I was conditionally approved the next day, and I closed on my refinance on June 21st. They even came to my mother-in-law's house in Florida to have my wife and I sign the closing documents while we were on vacation. My loan processor, Jeanette, communicated me throughout the whole process and even called to follow up after the closing. Very happy with every aspect of my experience.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

15 yr Refi Great Experience

Written on6/26/13
Customer avatar
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Started 1 May13 closed 24 Jun13, 54 days from start to finish. Chris was fantastic, returned phone calls or e-mails the same day or the following day with out fail. That was some great service. Was a little nervous after reading so many other than stellar reviews, but I have to say I an extremely happy that I took the chance with USAA, it definitely was not a mistake. I would say give USAA a shot, I think they will make you happy. The only negative was I was not able to pay biweekly, it was almost a deal breaker for me, but went for the refi any way.
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great customer service!

Written on6/24/13
Customer avatar
fromNew Bern, NC
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Our mortgage loan processor was the absolute best on our VA loan refinance. She made the process easy and kept us informed every step of the way. I have no complaints and hope that others get the same treatment. USAA is the best.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Mortgage Refinance /Flood Insurance

Written on6/4/13
Customer avatar
fromMaine
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Coast Guard
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I had a very unique experience with USAA. I would recommend the company to anyone who asked. In 2010 I learned that my home was in a flood zone requiring flood insurance. USAA worked with me to obtain the necessary flood insurance which was $400 month less than the mortgage service provider (GM) was demanding. , I refinanced a 5.5% mortgage to 3.5%. USAA informed me upfront that it would take over 90 days (November 2011). When closing came, there was a glitch because I was assigned a novice loan service contact. I spoke with the loan servicing "manager" and the loan was closed in less than 30 days. USAA listened and understood the problem I experience from MY PERSPECTIVE!. I had changed the loan to include paying off a line of credit. I am saving over $650.00 per month and have a locked in 2 points lower interest. My service was Craig, Tamara, Temisha and Rick . TEAM was outstanding -- Bravo Zulu!.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Smooth refinance

Written on6/3/13
Customer avatar
fromTopeka, KS
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Our refinance with USAA went very smoothly! We filled our application out May 4th and closed today, June 3rd. Our processor, Simone, was excellent. She kept in contact with us to let us know what was going on and took care of everything. We really had nothing we needed to do other than fill out the paperwork and be at our house for the closing. I would definitely recommend USAA for refinancing your home!!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome experience!

Written on5/16/13
Customer avatar
fromBeautiful Central NC
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Marine Corps
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I just closed on refinancing my home through USAA. I was very skeptical at first after reading some of the negative reviews but I was extremely satisified with the entire transaction. Closing occurred within a five week period - this far exceeded my expectations since I just had a bad experience with a major bank who denied my loan after making me wait 4 months. The only reason I applied with the other bank is because it was supposed to be a no-cost closing. All I can say is USAA was awesome!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fast and efficient, worked through special circums

Written on5/14/13
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I just finished refinancing my home through USAA and was very pleased with the process. I was a bit concerned from other reviews regarding timing, but in my case the whole thing was very quick, especially when measured from when all the documentation was delivered (it took some time to gather it). It was less than 3 weeks from documentation being completed to closing, even with the complication of having the original loan being a private mortgage (i.e., not a bank).
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Mortgage refinance was a very good experience

Written on5/13/13
Customer avatar
fromOklahoma
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
In late February I decided to refinance my 6.5%+ mortgage. I checked with several bankers in town that I knew, looked at several online sites to include USAA. As I read many of the member reviews I was wondering why so many people were unhappy. When I talked to USAA rep Becka she explained that they had not anticipated the response and had been swamped at first but were getting things under control.
I have been a USAA member for 46 years and have been absolutely happy with all my dealings with this company so I put the $350 down and started the refi process in the first week of March 2013. I was assigned a very competent processor, Roxanne J. To make this short story shorter Roxanne took very good care of us, every thing went like clock work and we closed on April 10th. We will save over $300 a month.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Outstanding Service

Written on4/17/13
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
When i decided to refinance my home, I looked a various options. I chose USAA because of their excellent customer service. While on line, I read several past reviews that gave me cause for concern. After talking with their representative who gave me additional background on their difficulties in processing loans, i was assured these issues were mitigated/fixed. I decided to continue with the process. USAA proved to be very easy to do business with. Their initial representative (Lauren G) and my processor specifically (Vincent V) were outstanding in their knowledgeable support and their responsiveness. I closed the loan 3 weeks earlier than expected. I would definately recommend them to family/friends.
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Glad I trusted my instincts and went with USAA

Written on4/4/13
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Back in February when we were preparing to refinance our home, we read all of the reviews on here and thought twice about using USAA. There appeared to be quite a few folks who had been derailed and seriously dissatisfied.
I'm happy to report that we had just the opposite experience. There was good communication through the whole process. Of course, there were some serious documentation requirements - it didn't come as a shock, but was still a pain, especially since the last mortgage we got was very easy and fast. This is the new reality.
We went from application to close in about five weeks.
Just be prepared with all of your paperwork, stay patient when you are asked to write letters and provide stuff to the underwriters that seems silly and unrelated. You can laugh about it after close.
My processor, Karen G, was very pleasant and a pleasure to work with. She helped guide me through the requirements and made sure everything was processed on time. We're happy we stuck with USAA!
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 34 Next Page>>