USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_bank_loan_refinance_my_home (Unknown)

brand_bank_loan_refinance_my_home (Unknown)

Overall rating:
3.319 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(662 reviews) 657
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 662 reviews
5 Stars
317
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
36
2 Stars
54
1 Star
208
393 out of 66259%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
49 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Love USAA but DO NOT RECOMMEND FOR MORTGAGE LOAN

Written on4/17/15
Customer avatar
svviere
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
We have most services through USAA so we thought to consolidate to include anew mortgage loan. WHAT A MISTAKE! DON'T DO IT! Btwn USAA's automated prompting, transf to mortgage coordinators then mortgage originator, the process was EXHAUSTING. If you're retired and/or have a ton of time to spend on the phone then go for it. Otherwise, good luck trying to reach an originator during the in-loan process bc you will be speaking to many and be routed several times. Some originators are more competent and helpful than others, I woud recommend Judy, she was fabulous! Though, who cares really, bc you don't get to pick them. Also, dont bother requesting a short-sale, an originator and supervisor told us there was no possibility of closing w/in 30 days. Apparently, inefficiencies and workload the soonest you are able to go to closing is 45 days. In the end, we would have switched to another mortgage lender, however, we needed to close asap. Let's hope we are able to close in time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Poor service

Written on4/17/15
Customer avatar
Mitch2
fromOregon
Military Branch:Navy
I have been a USAA customer for over 30 years. Just refinanced my house and got the most apathetic service. When my first payment online didn't get posted for over three work days, I called and emailed to ask what happened. Email response was "not my problem, that's the real estate section of USAA. No forwarding of email proffer to help. Phone response was no more helpful. Told me no payment was credited. So I re-entered the payment. Next time I looked at the transactions online, two payments were credited. Could have caused an overdraft situation if I didn't have enough in the account. When I called again to have the second payment reversed, was told to send them a written request with proof I had made the two payments!! Pretty disgusted with the amount of effort I went to to make sure I paid my mortgage and the complete lack of customer service. Got me thinking USAA is not the bank it use to be. Time to look for a new bank.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Slow response from mortgage reps

Written on4/6/15
Customer avatar
MLBA
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
This is my first time dealing with the mortgage department and I am not impressed. I chose to do a refi with USAA because all their other services are excellent but the mortgage/refi department is too slow to reply back. They gave me a closing date but now would not answer my inquiry for information in regards to some papers needed for my refi closing. I already paid for an extension and now I am not getting any answers and everyone I called is either out of the office or on leave/vacation? I expected a whole lot from USAA since I have excellent Auto and life insurance service with them, but I guess from all the other reviews here the mortgage/refi department is not up to par.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/10/15
Thank you for your feedback. A representative will contact you to discuss your concerns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Absolutely Superior VA Mortgage ReFi Service

Written on3/10/15
Customer avatar
gist4fun
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The day that I called to apply, I locked my rate. My loan processor (Florence M.) was able to interact with me by both internal forms-mail (to which I uploaded documents) and normal internet mail (through which we discussed status, and I provided some documents, e.g. pest inspection) My processor fielded unexpected requests from VA for "documentation" (eg. well water test) with quick "heads up" to me, and immediate replies to my questions on how to expedite process and to provide exactly the content desired. Her use of "external email" made it possible for me to interact with her easily, and to provide data from documentation sources (eg. water quality people) with easy use of my iPhone. This was a real blessing in dealing with "snow days." Whenever I had a question (eg: closing disbursement process) she had the answer and the solution. In over 40 years, I've done many ReFis. THIS WAS THE BEST.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/13/15
Thank you for the compliment. We definitely strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time. Thanks so much for your membership.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Refi had hidden charges

Written on3/5/15
Customer avatar
johnny_B_good
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I went online to get my refi, and it said I had about $4,600 in charges to refinance, which I was going to roll into my loan so I wouldn't be out of pocket anything besides $100. Much to my surprise, my refi documents showed up and were requiring me to pay $8,000 out of pocket. I had to cancel the refi because the processor told me I was going to need to pay those costs. Unfortunate.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

2 weeks to find out don't offer 30 year fixed rate

Written on2/19/15
Customer avatar
Rich175
Military Branch:Army
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Applied online for a 30 year fix rate refi mortgage. Several days later I called to find out what was up. Was told they were too busy to talk with me about it but they would call in "3 to 5" days. After 10 days and no response I called to complain. I told the rep I was trying to do a 30 year fixed rate refinance. He told me I would have to try a different financial institution. Suggested US Bank. Why didn't they tell me that 2 weeks earlier? By the way, I called US Bank. Their rates were not competitive. I have been a USAA member since 1970. This is not what I have come to expect from them.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

PUT YOUR RATES BACK ONLINE

Written on1/8/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
What are you hiding USAA? Put your mortgage rates back online. I was able to do a simple search and find the rates, but you made it so I have to call in and get a quote for a Mortgage rate. PUT YOUR RATES BACK ONLINE like other banks.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator1/29/15
Our goal is to ensure you are provided with the service you have come to expect from USAA and regret your experience did not meet your expectations. Interest rates have been temporary suspended from USAA.com while we transition to a new system which will allow USAA to offer more loan product diversity. Your feedback has been shared with the executive management and we appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. Thank you for your membership and your service.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

The Worst Experience I ever had with any Lender

Written on12/24/14
Customer avatar
Patty USAA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Marine Corps
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Would not even know where to start with the most horrible experience I have had with USAA. Worst part is that I was taking the money so I could lend to my son who is Army National Guard preparing for deployment. I endied up liquidating assets so he could close since I saw this experience was heade in wrong direction. I love the bank, auto loan dept, my wealth management team etc. I WILL NEVER use the mortgage department again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator12/26/14
Member experience is our number one priority and we regret your experience. We will have a subject matter expert review your file to determine what caused the delays in processing your loan and someone will reach out to you to discuss the specifics of your situation. Thank you for the feedback and for taking the time to notify us of your concerns.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Refi Experience

Written on11/6/14
Customer avatar
OCAPAP
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was concerned from reading the reviews about refinancing with USAA, but figured I would give them a shot. It couldn't have been an easier process. We started on 9/30 and closed on 10/24. The online uploading of documents was great. Any questions I had were submitted by email and answered quickly by our Mortgage Processor. Our Mortgage Processor kept in contact with us at all times.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Refinance was easy and fast

Written on8/12/14
Customer avatar
Coffeemum92
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We just closed on our Refinance with USAA today and I am very excited to share that it was truly an easy, painless, and fast process. After reading reviews, I was a little apprehensive about attempting a refi with USAA, but any worries we had were for not. The application process was easy, our formal application packet arrived quickly and again was easy to complete and return. Our mortgage processor was responsive and very pleasant as was our appraiser. Our closing was scheduled quickly and completed on time. From application date to closing date was less than 6 weeks! No resubmitting of info, good, clear upfront info on fees and dates. And the closing happened right in our home at a time that worked for us. All in all, we couldn't have asked for a better experience. If you are considering USAA for a refi, I say go for it!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Second try

Written on8/10/14
Customer avatar
MandT
fromNorthern Virginia
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
This is the second time we used USAA for mortgage related transactions. And for the second time, total disappointment, stress, and just a terrible experience. Unfortunately, we were overseas both times, so we had no choice. We were even told that what made it a horrible experience the first time had been remedied. Not true. We already had to submit a survey about our refinance experience and were told that management would see our comments and this would be handled, truly doubt it. Both times the loan processors seemed to be out of touch and in over their heads given they were constantly coming in on weekends to work on their portfolios. Our processor this time kept mixing things up, not finding documents we had submitted, and took vacation without notifying us or giving us a POC. This led to a botched closing that ended up lasting twice as long as it should have. Such a shame because we use USAA for everything else and are happy.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/21/14
Our goal is to ensure that you receive the level of service and professionalism that you’ve come to expect from USAA and regret your experiences did not meet your expectations. Someone will be contacting you regarding this matter to discuss the details specific to your situation. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Appreciate the product reviews

Written on6/10/14
Customer avatar
Fishbomber
fromDayton, OH
Military Branch:Air Force
I am considering a refinance and I read the reviews online. I use USAA exclusively for my banking and insurance. It's a great company. My last experience with USAA mortgage services was unpleasant (2001) and I won't go into the details here. I decided to use a different bank after reading the reviews. (I gave this comment 3.0 stars becasue that's where they sit now).
I commend USAA for posting all reviews. With the number of retired Generals running around that place, I would hope that one of them will put some emphasis on improving this business area. A 60% score is not good enough to attract my business despite a 100% commitment to the company in other areas.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

We Just Had a Great Experience with our Refi!

Written on6/10/14
Customer avatar
Mrs. Mimi
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
After reading some posted reviews, I was a little anxious with refinancing with USAA. But, as usual, USAA went above and beyond with providing us with excellent customer service ( Carl A. was the most engaged processor I've ever worked with and even called us twice a week to follow up! If we left a message or had a question, it was answered usually same day or next.) Our refi was done in just a little over 40 days from first phone call to closing date and the attorney even came to our house to close- super convenient. Thanks Carl and thanks to USAA- I will continue to sing your praises!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Hard time refinancing

Written on5/15/14
Customer avatar
catkid
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
We have been USAA for years. Both prior active duty members. So very disappointed in our refinancing experience. We have tried multiple times to contact someone in the mortgage department who can assist us, but to no avail. Our loan processer is rude and very unhelpful, her supervisor is the same. We have left multiple phone messages for them. If we do speak with them our mortgage processer is not able to answer our questions, her supervisor states he would look into our loan and notify us in 24-48 hrs. It literary has been a week and we still haven't heard from them or been able to contact them. Very happy with USAA insurance, not so for the mortgage department.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/16/14
A Member Advocate is reviewing your file. Refinancing is an important transaction and we are pleased you chose USAA—we value your trust!

We appreciate the opportunity to look into matters and make this situation right for you. Thank you for your review—we will contact you shortly to provide an update on your loan status.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

What Has Happened to USAA Being There for us?

Written on5/12/14
Customer avatar
Career Member
fromOmaha
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I started a Mortgage request mid March. Whenever documents were requested, I submitted them same day! We have been waiting for an abstract to be completed for almost 8 weeks?? The appraiser appraised the property $200k less than two other appraisers! I was told I will have to pay another $900 to keep the rate locked in because we cannot finalize the abstract AFTER I recommended a reputable abstract company when I began the process. 8 weeks for an abstract!! Who is USAA working with?? Plus, this abstract company cannot even get our data correct! We are still WAITING. When I call, the USAA is pleasant, but cannot get anyone to resolve the abstract issue while costing me big bucks.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/16/14
Based on a quick review, it appears your loan is ready to close. Additionally, the cost to extend your rate lock is .125 points, which equates to $240.21.

A Member Advocate will follow-up with you to provide more detail about the delay with obtaining the abstract. We regret your experience has been less than expected but want you to know we will work very hard to restore your faith in USAA. Thank you for your review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Re-fi terrible experience

Written on5/12/14
Customer avatar
CBCH
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Over 40-years of home ownership and never a single instance of this ineptitude. I understand the mortgage company is a sub-contractor...if so, they need to find another one. I'm thinking there must be a reason the re-fi company is this bad, but not one I'd care to imply in this review. We spoke with one person who quoted a 30-year rate, then she "disappeared" and a week later, a different person called who offered a much better rate that I locked in. When papers arrived later, my wife noticed that I had locked in a rate on a 15-year loan, not the 30-year I had agreed to with the first representative. We decided to let the mistake go, so as to not hold up the process. Well, the process got held up anyway, with request after request for new, or sometimes previously sent documents. I got to a supervisor one time whose grammar was atrocious. A second attempt left me with the original rep. As our closing date has passed, I've told them we're going back to the original 30-year loan.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/16/14
Thank you for the opportunity to review your loan file. We’re sorry to hear about your experience! A Member Advocate will contact you to provide an update on your file. In the meantime, we’d like to clarify a couple of things you wrote about…your loan is being processed by USAA employees. It appears the last communication from the processor on May 14 listed documentation required from you in order to proceed. We appreciate the opportunity to handle your refinance, and we look forward to getting things back on track and closing your loan. Thank you for your continued membership and trust.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

What Has Happened To USAA Mortgage?

Written on2/26/14
Customer avatar
Jeff Reynolds
fromNorthern Virginia
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
My experience was flat out unsatisfactory for what I expected from USAA. Multiple document requests from multiple processors, appeals to supervisors who didn't return calls, and delayed closing documents that weren't ready until the night before closing. My prev experience in 2004 was fine, but now it's not the same company. Personnel seem inexperienced and unsure, there is no sense of urgency, and there is no overall "take charge" case manager. You're assigned a "processor" but you'll be contacted by others and asked to provide documents that you sent in previously. Internal coordination lacking. Even the wire transfer to fund the loan on closing day was muddled; confusion over whether the 3-day right to recission prevents wiring funds prior to the 3-days expiring. My bank tried to wire funds to a USAA account that wouldn't accept them at first. In the end we closed at a good rate but I couldn't recommend this firm now to anyone. Their insurance is great but banking, not so much.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator2/27/14
Your membership and trust are important to us and we regret your experience was not more in keeping with your previous business history with USAA. We know that a good interest rate does not take the place of excellent customer service; rest assured your concerns will be reviewed by management and addressed with the appropriate personnel. Thank you for taking time to write a review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

VA loan refinance

Written on2/21/14
Customer avatar
BooBoo Puppy
fromBremerton WA
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I expected the re-fi to take longer to complete based on previous customer comments. Our transaction, from beginning to end, took 34 days. USAA bent over backwards to make this easy for us. My questions were answered immediately and completely to my satisfaction. I highly recommend USAA for any of your financial requirements.
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Mortgage Refinance Quote

Written on2/18/14
Customer avatar
Dave in DC
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I just went through the online quote process for the refinance of a primary residence (single family attached home, ie, townhouse). The website provided 30 year fixed, 15 year fixed, 5-1 ARM, and FHA loan options. However, all loans were capped at $417K, despite my online data which clearly indicated I would need a "high balance" or "jumbo" loan product. Frustrating. It did say, "not all products are offered online, contact a representative..." It is not easy or appropriate for me to conduct personal business during a normal work day, lasting 12+ hours. That's why I was hoping to get some personal business done tonight, when it is more convenient for me. Oh well. Guess I'll have to figure it out later.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I think USAA is listening and improving

Written on2/9/14
Customer avatar
MRoth12
fromSeattle, WA
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
In a nutshell, I had an outstanding refinace experience with USAA. I'd read earlier reviews about struggles people had with USAA and so instead of using them as my only option (as I do with their other services), I included them as one of my options. I ended up going with them, and had everything closed within 3 weeks.
Based on my experience, I believe USAA has listened to the feedback given and is working on figuring out how to balance good customer experience, and protecting us (other members) from bad investments.
The only glitch I felt was my USAA point of contact emailing me, letting me know what documents were needed, sooner than the 'electronic system' would update the same info. This resulted in me getting multiple requests for the same documents. My point of contact stayed in good contact with me and we worked through it.
I also really appreciated their "road map" of where we were in the process, outlying what they needed from me and what they were working on.
I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.