USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_bank_loan_refinance_my_home (Unknown)

brand_bank_loan_refinance_my_home (Unknown)

Overall rating:
3.307 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(667 reviews) 662
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 667 reviews
5 Stars
317
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
36
2 Stars
55
1 Star
211
394 out of 66759%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
49 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Lack of product availability

Written on8/3/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I just called to ask about refinancing a first and second mortgage into one loan (both are ten years old). with no cash out. I was told that USAA does not originate refinance loans where a second is being paid off. I asked if they sold their loans to Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac, and the lady on the phone said that their loans are "guaranteed" by Fannie Mae. I did advise her that Fannie Mae purchased loans, and did not "guaranty' them as she was implying. All in all, this was ridiculous, considering that I have been in the mortgage business 30 years and am well aware that the loan request is Fannie Mae eligible.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/4/15
We realize this matter is important to you and your nearly 25 years of USAA membership are important to us. We have shared your feedback with one of our representatives who will contact you about your concerns.

We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Just Called...

Written on7/8/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
... to get a quote to refinance my house, and move from a 30 year to a 15 year mortgage. While you post conventional re-fi rates on your website, you no longer offer conventional 15 year loans. Your person online didn't seem to know that at first, then transferred me to US Bank and they were closed. Similar thing happened with an auto policy I wished to change for a classic car... wanted a USAA quote but you sent me to... Progressive? Unfortunately your security procedures to get on are frustrating, your people don't seem to really know your products, and your product offerings seem in many cases to be outsourced. I wanted a quote to refinance 400,000. I got one from my credit union. I got one from the bank I currently have a mortgage with. If USAA could match on fees/points/rates I would have gone with USAA for sure. Sorry you aren't in the mix.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/9/15
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are currently reviewing the situation and will be contacting you soon regarding this matter. Thank you for your membership.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

USAA Refi Experience

Written on6/24/15
Customer avatar
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Read many of the comments before calling USAA about refinancing so was ready to ask a lot of questions. I was calling because probably like many, I'm bombarded w/refi rate advertising (most too good to be true/believeable) so finally called to ask about their refi rates. Got transferred 3x hence a less than 'Excellent' overall rating. Spoke to a refi rep, Jennifer, and she was very knowledgeable and helpful (Excellent). She talked through the basic rate, different rates available, points, rolling the costs back into the loan, out-of-pocket expenses, etc. I had to ask very few questions. Bottom line, my current rate can't be beat by more than 0.5% so costs (points, costs into the loan, out-of-pocket, etc) isn't worth it. Still might check out LendingTree but very satisfied with info from USAA.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/25/15
We're so happy that you're satisfied with USAA. We can’t tell you how much we appreciate your loyalty and membership. USAA continues to strive to provide best in class service and products to its members. We look forward to many more years of assisting you with all of your life’s needs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

USAA just didn't seem to try

Written on6/17/15
Customer avatar
fromSalina, KS
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Everything started off without a hitch. Pre-qualification went fine. Went past the loan originators. Got all of our application papers in the mail, signed and sent off again. All of the processes got started without a hitch. VA processes with no hiccup either. Two months worth of talking, signing, waiting, talking, signing, waiting. It was a part of the original closing contingency that we close on the house we live in before we can close on the house we were to move into... fine.
Just a few weeks before we were to close on our house we were notified by our mortgage processor that we've been denied for our loan. No counter offer, no nothing... denied. After pulling teeth and nail I found out why. They wanted us to close on our current home before they would even consider our loan. It seems to be a faulty policy on USAA's behalf to want the potential loan holder to be homeless before they can get into a new home.
We ultimate went with a local mortgage broker with no problem.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Read all the negative reviews.

Written on6/5/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I was afraid to go with USAA because of what others had stated and the negative reviews. If you want surprises and poor customer service....someone who doesn't understand your military service...go with USAA. I was prequalified for a home loan under the impression that I was good to go. When giving my notice to proceed they told me that they had to take student loans into account although I am under student loan repayment program. Now I may not be eligible for my loan. Both employees had not a clue about general military terminology. Active duty vs deployed reservist was not something they could understand. Unfamiliar with military student loan repayment program. Waited on hold for 20 minutes while trying to speak with a supervisor. Supervisors were all out for the day.
- Individual pronounced my name wrong. Added letters that are not in my name.
-Asked all the same questions in approval process as they did in prequalification process. No database linkage. Time wasting.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Love USAA but DO NOT RECOMMEND FOR MORTGAGE LOAN

Written on4/17/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
We have most services through USAA so we thought to consolidate to include anew mortgage loan. WHAT A MISTAKE! DON'T DO IT! Btwn USAA's automated prompting, transf to mortgage coordinators then mortgage originator, the process was EXHAUSTING. If you're retired and/or have a ton of time to spend on the phone then go for it. Otherwise, good luck trying to reach an originator during the in-loan process bc you will be speaking to many and be routed several times. Some originators are more competent and helpful than others, I woud recommend Judy, she was fabulous! Though, who cares really, bc you don't get to pick them. Also, dont bother requesting a short-sale, an originator and supervisor told us there was no possibility of closing w/in 30 days. Apparently, inefficiencies and workload the soonest you are able to go to closing is 45 days. In the end, we would have switched to another mortgage lender, however, we needed to close asap. Let's hope we are able to close in time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Poor service

Written on4/17/15
Customer avatar
fromOregon
Military Branch:Navy
I have been a USAA customer for over 30 years. Just refinanced my house and got the most apathetic service. When my first payment online didn't get posted for over three work days, I called and emailed to ask what happened. Email response was "not my problem, that's the real estate section of USAA. No forwarding of email proffer to help. Phone response was no more helpful. Told me no payment was credited. So I re-entered the payment. Next time I looked at the transactions online, two payments were credited. Could have caused an overdraft situation if I didn't have enough in the account. When I called again to have the second payment reversed, was told to send them a written request with proof I had made the two payments!! Pretty disgusted with the amount of effort I went to to make sure I paid my mortgage and the complete lack of customer service. Got me thinking USAA is not the bank it use to be. Time to look for a new bank.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Slow response from mortgage reps

Written on4/6/15
Customer avatar
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
This is my first time dealing with the mortgage department and I am not impressed. I chose to do a refi with USAA because all their other services are excellent but the mortgage/refi department is too slow to reply back. They gave me a closing date but now would not answer my inquiry for information in regards to some papers needed for my refi closing. I already paid for an extension and now I am not getting any answers and everyone I called is either out of the office or on leave/vacation? I expected a whole lot from USAA since I have excellent Auto and life insurance service with them, but I guess from all the other reviews here the mortgage/refi department is not up to par.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/10/15
Thank you for your feedback. A representative will contact you to discuss your concerns.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Absolutely Superior VA Mortgage ReFi Service

Written on3/10/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The day that I called to apply, I locked my rate. My loan processor (Florence M.) was able to interact with me by both internal forms-mail (to which I uploaded documents) and normal internet mail (through which we discussed status, and I provided some documents, e.g. pest inspection) My processor fielded unexpected requests from VA for "documentation" (eg. well water test) with quick "heads up" to me, and immediate replies to my questions on how to expedite process and to provide exactly the content desired. Her use of "external email" made it possible for me to interact with her easily, and to provide data from documentation sources (eg. water quality people) with easy use of my iPhone. This was a real blessing in dealing with "snow days." Whenever I had a question (eg: closing disbursement process) she had the answer and the solution. In over 40 years, I've done many ReFis. THIS WAS THE BEST.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/13/15
Thank you for the compliment. We definitely strive to offer our members an exceptional service experience each and every time. Thanks so much for your membership.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Refi had hidden charges

Written on3/5/15
Customer avatar
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I went online to get my refi, and it said I had about $4,600 in charges to refinance, which I was going to roll into my loan so I wouldn't be out of pocket anything besides $100. Much to my surprise, my refi documents showed up and were requiring me to pay $8,000 out of pocket. I had to cancel the refi because the processor told me I was going to need to pay those costs. Unfortunate.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

2 weeks to find out don't offer 30 year fixed rate

Written on2/19/15
Customer avatar
Military Branch:Army
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Applied online for a 30 year fix rate refi mortgage. Several days later I called to find out what was up. Was told they were too busy to talk with me about it but they would call in "3 to 5" days. After 10 days and no response I called to complain. I told the rep I was trying to do a 30 year fixed rate refinance. He told me I would have to try a different financial institution. Suggested US Bank. Why didn't they tell me that 2 weeks earlier? By the way, I called US Bank. Their rates were not competitive. I have been a USAA member since 1970. This is not what I have come to expect from them.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

PUT YOUR RATES BACK ONLINE

Written on1/8/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
What are you hiding USAA? Put your mortgage rates back online. I was able to do a simple search and find the rates, but you made it so I have to call in and get a quote for a Mortgage rate. PUT YOUR RATES BACK ONLINE like other banks.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator1/29/15
Our goal is to ensure you are provided with the service you have come to expect from USAA and regret your experience did not meet your expectations. Interest rates have been temporary suspended from USAA.com while we transition to a new system which will allow USAA to offer more loan product diversity. Your feedback has been shared with the executive management and we appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. Thank you for your membership and your service.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

The Worst Experience I ever had with any Lender

Written on12/24/14
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Marine Corps
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Would not even know where to start with the most horrible experience I have had with USAA. Worst part is that I was taking the money so I could lend to my son who is Army National Guard preparing for deployment. I endied up liquidating assets so he could close since I saw this experience was heade in wrong direction. I love the bank, auto loan dept, my wealth management team etc. I WILL NEVER use the mortgage department again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator12/26/14
Member experience is our number one priority and we regret your experience. We will have a subject matter expert review your file to determine what caused the delays in processing your loan and someone will reach out to you to discuss the specifics of your situation. Thank you for the feedback and for taking the time to notify us of your concerns.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Refi Experience

Written on11/6/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was concerned from reading the reviews about refinancing with USAA, but figured I would give them a shot. It couldn't have been an easier process. We started on 9/30 and closed on 10/24. The online uploading of documents was great. Any questions I had were submitted by email and answered quickly by our Mortgage Processor. Our Mortgage Processor kept in contact with us at all times.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Refinance was easy and fast

Written on8/12/14
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We just closed on our Refinance with USAA today and I am very excited to share that it was truly an easy, painless, and fast process. After reading reviews, I was a little apprehensive about attempting a refi with USAA, but any worries we had were for not. The application process was easy, our formal application packet arrived quickly and again was easy to complete and return. Our mortgage processor was responsive and very pleasant as was our appraiser. Our closing was scheduled quickly and completed on time. From application date to closing date was less than 6 weeks! No resubmitting of info, good, clear upfront info on fees and dates. And the closing happened right in our home at a time that worked for us. All in all, we couldn't have asked for a better experience. If you are considering USAA for a refi, I say go for it!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Second try

Written on8/10/14
Customer avatar
fromNorthern Virginia
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
This is the second time we used USAA for mortgage related transactions. And for the second time, total disappointment, stress, and just a terrible experience. Unfortunately, we were overseas both times, so we had no choice. We were even told that what made it a horrible experience the first time had been remedied. Not true. We already had to submit a survey about our refinance experience and were told that management would see our comments and this would be handled, truly doubt it. Both times the loan processors seemed to be out of touch and in over their heads given they were constantly coming in on weekends to work on their portfolios. Our processor this time kept mixing things up, not finding documents we had submitted, and took vacation without notifying us or giving us a POC. This led to a botched closing that ended up lasting twice as long as it should have. Such a shame because we use USAA for everything else and are happy.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/21/14
Our goal is to ensure that you receive the level of service and professionalism that you’ve come to expect from USAA and regret your experiences did not meet your expectations. Someone will be contacting you regarding this matter to discuss the details specific to your situation. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Appreciate the product reviews

Written on6/10/14
Customer avatar
fromDayton, OH
Military Branch:Air Force
I am considering a refinance and I read the reviews online. I use USAA exclusively for my banking and insurance. It's a great company. My last experience with USAA mortgage services was unpleasant (2001) and I won't go into the details here. I decided to use a different bank after reading the reviews. (I gave this comment 3.0 stars becasue that's where they sit now).
I commend USAA for posting all reviews. With the number of retired Generals running around that place, I would hope that one of them will put some emphasis on improving this business area. A 60% score is not good enough to attract my business despite a 100% commitment to the company in other areas.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

We Just Had a Great Experience with our Refi!

Written on6/10/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
After reading some posted reviews, I was a little anxious with refinancing with USAA. But, as usual, USAA went above and beyond with providing us with excellent customer service ( Carl A. was the most engaged processor I've ever worked with and even called us twice a week to follow up! If we left a message or had a question, it was answered usually same day or next.) Our refi was done in just a little over 40 days from first phone call to closing date and the attorney even came to our house to close- super convenient. Thanks Carl and thanks to USAA- I will continue to sing your praises!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Hard time refinancing

Written on5/15/14
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
We have been USAA for years. Both prior active duty members. So very disappointed in our refinancing experience. We have tried multiple times to contact someone in the mortgage department who can assist us, but to no avail. Our loan processer is rude and very unhelpful, her supervisor is the same. We have left multiple phone messages for them. If we do speak with them our mortgage processer is not able to answer our questions, her supervisor states he would look into our loan and notify us in 24-48 hrs. It literary has been a week and we still haven't heard from them or been able to contact them. Very happy with USAA insurance, not so for the mortgage department.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/16/14
A Member Advocate is reviewing your file. Refinancing is an important transaction and we are pleased you chose USAA—we value your trust!

We appreciate the opportunity to look into matters and make this situation right for you. Thank you for your review—we will contact you shortly to provide an update on your loan status.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

What Has Happened to USAA Being There for us?

Written on5/12/14
Customer avatar
fromOmaha
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I started a Mortgage request mid March. Whenever documents were requested, I submitted them same day! We have been waiting for an abstract to be completed for almost 8 weeks?? The appraiser appraised the property $200k less than two other appraisers! I was told I will have to pay another $900 to keep the rate locked in because we cannot finalize the abstract AFTER I recommended a reputable abstract company when I began the process. 8 weeks for an abstract!! Who is USAA working with?? Plus, this abstract company cannot even get our data correct! We are still WAITING. When I call, the USAA is pleasant, but cannot get anyone to resolve the abstract issue while costing me big bucks.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/16/14
Based on a quick review, it appears your loan is ready to close. Additionally, the cost to extend your rate lock is .125 points, which equates to $240.21.

A Member Advocate will follow-up with you to provide more detail about the delay with obtaining the abstract. We regret your experience has been less than expected but want you to know we will work very hard to restore your faith in USAA. Thank you for your review.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 34 Next Page>>