USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

Overall rating:
3.126 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(839 reviews) 832
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 839 reviews
5 Stars
355
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
40
2 Stars
83
1 Star
294
435 out of 83952%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
72 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Review 1 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

2nd Mortgage with USAA

Written on7/18/14
Customer avatar
Zach Underwood
fromPuyallup, WA
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Back in 2005, I got my first mortgage with USAA and the product was not good. Being my first mortgage, I was concerned about the process and ensuring I met all the deadlines. At that time, USAA promised "We'll make your closing date or we'll pay you $1000". Sad to say, I was awarded $1000 despite multiple phone calls to move the process forward.
Fast forward to July 2014, I thought that USAA has had 9 years to improve their product. Surely, that can do better! USAA has completely turned it around! Nice work! With all my other assets with USAA, it made my mortgage processing even easier! Shannon (my super awesome USAA mortgage processor) was incredibly helpful, the USAA website was great, and the process couldn't have been smoother.
If I could make a suggestion, I wonder if the USAA mortgage documentation could be electronically signed instead of using all that paper. Just a thought, I've worked with other mortgage companies who can do this.
I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fast and Efficient

Written on2/28/14
Customer avatar
CallJP
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was leery to go with USAA mortgages due to some of the reviews listed. I couldn't have been more happy with the process. Our realtor was suggesting we use another broker due to time to process that she had seen in the past. However, USAA has been loyal to me so I wanted to give them a shot. They had the best fees comparatively and the rates/points were as good or better than other services. The submission process was seamless and Andrew did a fantastic job keeping the process moving along. Our realtor told her local broker just how fast USAA was in getting the loan done. They were all blown away with how well USAA did with this process considering end of year constraints. They admitted that they could not have done it that quickly. Usually, you can't have it cheaper, better, faster but in this case, we got all three! (Dec. 2013)
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So smooth and easy, Great Service

Written on11/2/13
Customer avatar
Happy2345
fromVA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am so happy with movers advantage. I don't understand the bad reviews. The program was great form start to finish. Use the Movers Advantage program. The program finds a agent for you. My agent was the best at every step of the way.Also the program has a little site where it tracks each portion of the loan process. All documents can be load up real quick. I close on my home 1 week ahead of schedule. Stay pro active in communication. My loan processor was great at her job and communicating with me at every stage. If the processor ask for paper work don't delay in getting it to them. The more you are on top of the process the smoother it is. You have to be on top of your finances, if so, you will have no problem. The key is to stay pro active at every step.
I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

began with concerns, ended very happy!

Written on3/3/15
Customer avatar
JNTL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was concerned with choosing USAA for a mortgage on our first home after reading the mixed reviews. I completed and sent in the required information right away and overall everything went very smoothly! Our realtor was "flakey" which caused some hiccups but USAA still kept everything running smoothly and kept us in the loop of everything that was still required whether it was information we needed to submit or information someone else needed to submit, I felt like I always knew where in the process we were! We also had to change processors mid-loan which concerned me a lot but everything kept moving just as smoothly. I felt I was always informed of the process, that things were done timely, that my questions were answered and I was able to reach my processor easily, there were no surprises or last minute requests. Overall a great experence.
I am very pleased with USAA's mortgage. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

excellent customer service

Written on2/26/15
Customer avatar
Bronxbomber
fromSparks NV
Military Branch:Army
I've closed on my home loan on time and the entire process went really well. my loan officer was knowledgeable and informative thank you USA for what you do!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Mortgage Specialist was great!

Written on2/13/15
Customer avatar
IDMT H
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Just closed on our house this week and USAA was great. I bought the house from my landlord and did not use a real estate agent allowing both of us to save a lot of money. Without the agent I had a lot of questions about the whole process, which was answered by Patricia our mortgage specialist.
Also, I was hesitant at first reading the reviews some complained of all the additional documents USAA requests. But, believe all mortgage companies do now since the housing market collapse. Just get the documents to your processor ASAP and they will work hard to get you to your closing date!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Not What it Used to Be

Written on2/13/15
Customer avatar
Informed Consumer
fromAZ
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have financed 2 homes through USAA.
In both of my experiences, the first person that my account was assigned to was pretty clueless in what they were doing. They were replaced before my mortgage closed.
USAA used to let you put in all the details and get real time rate quotes (that was the biggest draw for me). Now they make you put in your info and wait to be contacted back. That's a step backwards to me.
I used to comparison shop and find USAA was the best value for the money, it's just not always the case anymore.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator2/20/15
Thank you for your feedback. USAA is dedicated to providing a “best in class” experience. At this time, USAA is currently implementing a new mortgage processing system to achieve this goal. Regrettably, USAA members are unable to utilize the online system; however, we expect to have the new system operational in the very near future! Again, thank you for taking the time to comment and thank you for your patience while we enhance our member experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So far, so good!

Written on2/8/15
Customer avatar
MKJamieson
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've read a lot of negative reviews about USAA's mortgage process from 2013 - if those are true, USAA must have made some significant changes since then, as I have experienced nothing less than the usual exceptional customer service. I use USAA for everything - they are just easier to deal with and cheaper. Roxann, our LO, has been in contact with me every few days on a scheduled follow-up basis, and is available for questions, as well. Yes, I have pulled more records on my husband and myself than I thought I ever would; however, the mortgage process has certainly changed since 2008, and I feel comfortable knowing that we will have our bases covered for a (hopefully) smooth final underwriting. I love the online roadmap, I love the message system, and I would highly recommend using the online portal versus snail mail for the application process - this way if any supporting documents are needed, you can upload them in seconds.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Home Lending Branch

Written on2/6/15
Customer avatar
D McLain
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I am deeply disappointed in the home buying process for USAA. I was pre-approved for a home purchase, was put in contact with an agent through movers advantage, and found my home. Everything to this point was great! Then, my real estate agent, a USAA recommended and preferred agent, sent the contract to USAA. The problem was that USAA doesn't ever read the email or fax queue. YOU MUST contact them, to let them know you need to process the loan application. I waited for 2 weeks without knowing this. Fortunately, I contacted USAA. After 6 hrs on the phone, they told me I had to wait ANOTHER 40 days to close. Essentially, I am the customer, and was treated as if I work for them. VERY disappointed. That day, I contacted a local mortgage lender, and we closed within 2 1/2 weeks and was offered a lower interest rate without having to buy into points to lower the rate. I would never recommend their home buying service EVER. Great for insurance and banking, horrible for home buying!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Alaska buyers beware

Written on2/6/15
Customer avatar
Alaska_Buyer
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
This is the second time I used USAA for a home mortgage. The first was in Oklahoma and it went fine. This time it was awful. I delivered USAA all of the documentation they requested within 2 business days. They didn't even look at the documentation until it was time for closing (45 days later). There were some miscellaneous errors that I corrected and returned on the same day I was notified. Closing got pushed past the due date and USAA took no responsibility, stating everything was my fault. Then, when closing did finally happen, USAA wrote the contract wrong. Instead of fixing it, they demanded the seller change the terms so USAA wouldn't have to re-write the contract. Ended up having to rent the house from the seller while USAA figured out how to do their job. I'll never use USAA for a home loan again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator 2/27/15
Thank you for discussing your concerns with a member of our team. Your feedback, membership, and service are very much appreciated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Mortgage

Written on1/31/15
Customer avatar
Medic1
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA member since 1999. I was pre approved for a 225k mortgage. The first time i applied i believed the rep was not fully trained and therefore i was declined. Skip forward i did my due diligence and followed up and was fine. Honestly i wish they could remove the hard pull from my credit report. OK so i was pre approved and after searching for a new home i finally settled on a home here in south Florida. I signed a contract on 12/29/2014 and uploaded docs. Usaa was very fast and very responsive, they assigned me a specialist Ms Rojas and from the beginning she was fantastic and very tentative to my situation and needs. simply put she made sure everything was done right. The original closing date 2/9/2105 and she had me closed on 1/29/2015... that's right, considering all the holidays during this time Ms Rojas and her team was able to have me closed without any hitch..unbelievable, i couldn't ask for better service and experience. I Highly recommend usaa for everything.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator2/2/15
We are happy to hear the experience was positive. Thank you for sharing. Congratulations on your new home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not happy

Written on1/23/15
Customer avatar
wallie123456
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I called 6 times in one week to get a final say on a first time home loan.I talked to the lady she had no clue why i was calling. After few minutes talking to a lady about my credit score and how they are changing there min credit score to get a home loan. i have asked if me and my fiance came up with the min $2800 for down payment if we can do it lady wouldn't give a answer and told me to check other places. I feel like i was being pushed off to the side like they don't want to deal with other customer.
I would like to see more employees willing to help and find out answers. Even if the answer is a no i would still like to get answers. I have dealt with a lot but am about done with trying to get a first home loan throw USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Mortgage Process

Written on1/22/15
Customer avatar
Crystal P
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
The WHOLE mortgage process with USAA has been a headache. My Mortgage Processor has no clue about what she is doing. When she finally called me after numerous occasions of trying to get in contact with her it sounded like she was eating on the phone and smacking the whole time. I have been given numerous DIFFERENT closing costs each time being asked to produce something different but provided no documentation as far as the break down goes. All the while I have uploaded EVERY document to the website on numerous occasions. The Loan Application that had to be mailed to me for signatures had incorrect data on it. I WILL NOT recommend USAA to anyone in the future for any type of service, getting in contact with someone who actually knows what they are talking about seems to be impossible.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator1/23/15
USAA is dedicated to providing exceptional member service. We would like to review your file and someone will contact you to discuss the specifics of your loan. Thank you for taking the time to alert us to your concerns.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great service and a great mortgage!

Written on1/12/15
Customer avatar
J in NH
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I normally don't write too many reviews but felt I should after seeing the average rating (~3 stars) on USAA mortgages.
Our experience was excellent when buying a home with USAA.
Actually, it all started when I was finishing up a remodel to sell my old place in NY. I was not eligible for a HELOC/loan due to some stupid NY law on % rates allowed when you get a home improvement loan/line of credit. To my eventual benefit, the loan officer suggested a personal loan. The short story is; 3 hours later I had the necessary $25K in my account and could finish the projects and sell my house.
When that went so smoothly, I decided to use USAA for my next mortgage.
It was simple to pay off the previous personal loan at the same time as buying my new place, and they even fast-tracked a few portions of the process since we were staying in a hotel (with dogs), and they got us into our new house quickly and smoothly. We have been happily living in NH now for almost 3 years.
Thank you all at USAA!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA is PHENOMENAL!!!

Written on1/3/15
Customer avatar
Avant Garde Veteran
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We were a first-time homebuyer, with spouse being an immigrant. My USAA processor Joyce and the behind the scene team didn't even have a hiccup with it. Then, when a government agency didn't respond to Equifax final query due to the holidays (which is always made just prior to the loan closing) , USAA was able to still close the loan on time.
We started out the new year in our new home!!!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator1/5/15
Congratulations on your new home and thank you for the comment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Mortgage Process a breeze!

Written on12/15/14
Customer avatar
RC1701
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We went with USAA for a mortgage on our new home. We could not have put ourselves in better hands.
Our agent Mislenthy (Missy) was 100% effective, professional, and on the ball. She reached out frequently to let us know our loan status and any inquiries we had were answered in a timely manner.
We had a massive delay with the VA appraisal agent (we live in a rural area) but that inconvenience was not USAA's fault and they worked tirelessly on our behalf to get the appraisal in. Once it was received, Missy and her team moved mountains to get our closing done in a fraction of the time it usually takes.
We closed with no issues and smiles all around about 4 months after we first applied.
We would unreservedly recommend USAA Mortgage Services to anyone.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Better than ever!

Written on11/25/14
Customer avatar
Katie H
fromCorpus Christi, TX
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My first mortgage with USAA was in 2003 when I was a first time home buyer. The experience left a lot to be desired and made me fear using them again. A second chance and great rate later, I am in the process of selling my home and buying another. USAA has been a great help and swiftly moved us along to get closed before the holidays.
A year ago, I would have recommended all USAA products and services except for mortgages, today I recommend ALL!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fantastic Service

Written on11/6/14
Customer avatar
hallertau
fromWashington
We were very pleased with our experience. Our loan processor, Anna, was very responsive and helped to explain all the details. We have purchased many homes and real estate over the years, and our experience with USAA this time was among the best. We highly recommend a mortgage with them.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Wrote bad review too soon. I was wrong.

Written on11/3/14
Customer avatar
keithman203
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The mortgage process is a stressful one no matter who you finance with. There were times that USAA needed documents upon documents, and in some cases USAA probably wanted more information than other lenders and I let that irritate me into writing a bad review prematurely. They actually do read these reviews and they actually do care about what is written in them. I was promptly called and things were explained to me and they truly cared about the type of service I was getting. My loan processor, Lisa, is great and has done a wonderful job with everything. The only thing I wish could have happened was a little more timely communication in the beginning and to have things explained a little more in depth to me, and there may not have been the confusion and irritation. But otherwise, I shouldn't have jumped the gun on my previous bad review.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Wish I would have gone somewhere else

Written on10/23/14
Customer avatar
VMG2014
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
7 weeks is now how long it is taking us to close, and I don’t even know if our new closing date (which has now been pushed back twice) is going to happen. This whole process has made me feel like they genuinely don’t care. When asked what the problem is, it always seems to be someone else’s fault or circumstances beyond their control. I wish I knew what they meant. I’ve always loved USAA and have never felt like just a number; now I know what that truly feels like. I wish I would have gone somewhere else.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator11/4/14
We appreciate our member's feedback and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you; therefore someone will be contacting you very soon. We regret you did not receive the level of service you have come to expect from USAA.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.