USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

Overall rating:
3.102 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(865 reviews) 858
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 865 reviews
5 Stars
360
4 Stars
68
3 Stars
44
2 Stars
86
1 Star
307
443 out of 86551%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
72 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Review 1 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

2nd Mortgage with USAA

Written on7/18/14
Customer avatar
Zach Underwood
fromPuyallup, WA
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Back in 2005, I got my first mortgage with USAA and the product was not good. Being my first mortgage, I was concerned about the process and ensuring I met all the deadlines. At that time, USAA promised "We'll make your closing date or we'll pay you $1000". Sad to say, I was awarded $1000 despite multiple phone calls to move the process forward.
Fast forward to July 2014, I thought that USAA has had 9 years to improve their product. Surely, that can do better! USAA has completely turned it around! Nice work! With all my other assets with USAA, it made my mortgage processing even easier! Shannon (my super awesome USAA mortgage processor) was incredibly helpful, the USAA website was great, and the process couldn't have been smoother.
If I could make a suggestion, I wonder if the USAA mortgage documentation could be electronically signed instead of using all that paper. Just a thought, I've worked with other mortgage companies who can do this.
I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fast and Efficient

Written on2/28/14
Customer avatar
CallJP
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was leery to go with USAA mortgages due to some of the reviews listed. I couldn't have been more happy with the process. Our realtor was suggesting we use another broker due to time to process that she had seen in the past. However, USAA has been loyal to me so I wanted to give them a shot. They had the best fees comparatively and the rates/points were as good or better than other services. The submission process was seamless and Andrew did a fantastic job keeping the process moving along. Our realtor told her local broker just how fast USAA was in getting the loan done. They were all blown away with how well USAA did with this process considering end of year constraints. They admitted that they could not have done it that quickly. Usually, you can't have it cheaper, better, faster but in this case, we got all three! (Dec. 2013)
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So smooth and easy, Great Service

Written on11/2/13
Customer avatar
Happy2345
fromVA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am so happy with movers advantage. I don't understand the bad reviews. The program was great form start to finish. Use the Movers Advantage program. The program finds a agent for you. My agent was the best at every step of the way.Also the program has a little site where it tracks each portion of the loan process. All documents can be load up real quick. I close on my home 1 week ahead of schedule. Stay pro active in communication. My loan processor was great at her job and communicating with me at every stage. If the processor ask for paper work don't delay in getting it to them. The more you are on top of the process the smoother it is. You have to be on top of your finances, if so, you will have no problem. The key is to stay pro active at every step.
I recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Hard time getting service

Written on4/27/15
Customer avatar
Andrew78
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I've called the Mortgage Department twice, and both times I've had a hard time communicating with the agents. Today I was transferred twice and then told I needed to call back because their system was down. I have plenty of money, credit score >800, and the USAA mortgage department can't get it's act together to help me. The other departments at USAA have been outstanding, which is why I went to USAA first for the loan app. Frustrating that this department performs so much poorer than their competitors and the rest of the USAA company.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Mortgage loan

Written on4/23/15
Customer avatar
jamelleg
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
This is the first review, on anything, that I have ever posted. I am an advocate for USAA. My wife and I have been using USAA for 15 years. I would say their auto and homeowners insurance are the best in the world but their mortgage loan process is HORRIBLE. When we put an offer on a home the sellers would not accept our offer after they found out that we were approved by USAA without additional criteria, because they said it would take forever. We were originally supposed to close March 17 and it’s now April 23rd and we still do not have a closing date. Our lock expires on the 27th and we are told we have to extend at cost to us. We changed underwriters during this time which delayed our closing, USAA had training which delayed it, and then at the last minute our VA letter needed to be updated which took 15 days. USAA has made our home buying experience horrible.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Quoted 1/2 Required Down Payment

Written on4/22/15
Customer avatar
MichaelR31
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
These people DO NOT know about the VA home loan program. They quoted me the wrong down payment (half of what was required!) I didn't find out until the DAY I was going to buy the house.
Just awful!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Dropped the ball at the last minute

Written on4/22/15
Customer avatar
kurt1
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I have been through the loan application process in the past with other financial institutions, but this time I wanted to give USAA a chance.
We started the process the first week of March with a closing date of April 23rd, more than enough time to get the process completed. I was informed earlier this week that USAA is not going to be able to make the deadline and it may have to be pushed back to April 24th, possibly April 27th or 28th.
I can't tell you how frustrating this is, especially since they have had plenty of time. I now have to re-coordinate with our moving company. My wife and I also have to ask our employer last minute to take either the 24th, 27th, or possibly the 28th off. The people we are purchasing the home from will have to re-coordinate on their end as well. Very embarassing.
If there is a next time I will go with Quicken Loans. I have used them in the past and they were fantastic and understood the importance of meeting deadlines.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

I should be closing this morning, but...

Written on4/20/15
Customer avatar
VicGF
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Can I review the review process? They ask you to be specific, but limit you to a tiny paragraph...
I should be closing this morning, but I am not. I have been a USAA member for 15 years; I have auto and home insurance through them, credit cards, car loan, even had renters insurance at one time. It is because of this relationship that I chose USAA. I read some of the horrible reviews, but I thought to myself, people like good news, but love bad news. Those people were exaggerating and looking for something to complain about. They were probably disorganized and didn't understand the process. Well I was none of those things.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

unbeatable offering; mediocre customer service

Written on4/19/15
Customer avatar
mwpow3ll
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
I closed on my home back in January of 2013, and while I don't like to write reviews immediately, I completely forgot about doing one for USAA; so, without further ado...
As far as the loan, offerings, and terms, USAA really brought their A game.
Customer service, on the other hand, was a different story. The fact that I closed on time had more to do with my own diligence rather than USAA.I was bounced to three different processors, and each processor barely knew what the other had done.
I was told during the process that USAA did not sell their loans, but 6 months after closing, my loan was sold.
A year after closing, I was contacted by USAA that an audit on my closing paperwork revealed that I over paid. While I was thankful to get money back, I wasn't surprised; My closing cost jumped just before signing, but when I asked why, I was told it was correct. I guess the processor was wrong...
Despite everything, I have been happy with USAA.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerated4/20/15
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it very much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Incredibly disengaged processor

Written on4/15/15
Customer avatar
EEChan
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
USAA is a company I have bragged about for 30 years--Banking, Insurance, Auto--its been terrific--exemplary service always. Until now. The mortgage experience at USAA appears to either be smooth and reliable or a complete nightmare. Our processor is never available, never calls back, does not send any info to our USAA site regarding the checklist and documents--our realtor is panicking, the sellers are panicking and their realtor is haranguing ours daily for updates. I have no idea if she is incompetent or just doesn't care. I wish we had used a conventional bank we would probably be in our new house by now. I can't fathom what the disconnect is--am profoundly disappointed in USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Incrediblly poor customer support

Written on4/14/15
Customer avatar
Denns3
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Currently trying to get a mortgage, unbelievable amount of time it takes USAA and the mortgage team to get it together. I don't feel my processing agent (Erica) cares if this thing goes through or not. She will wait until the last minute to do anything. I don't know what her job is, but if it went wrong it definitely is not her fault.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/15/15
Having trust from our members means a great deal to us at USAA. We would like the opportunity to assist you in any way possible regarding this matter. We are currently reviewing your loan application and will be contacting you shortly regarding this matter. Thank you for providing us an opportunity to assist you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Unhappy Customer

Written on4/14/15
Customer avatar
snair
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
I've always been a fan of USAA. However, I'm not too happy with USAA not offering certain refinance loans due to their current transition. When asked about the duration of the transition, the representative said that it is not known. How can a bank of USAA's size not offer refinance options when individuals are looking to refinance the most? They referred me to US Bank for the refinance, but I don't want to deal with a bank I am not familiar with. Overall, I'm not happy about USAA's mortgage division and they need to correct this ASAP.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/15/15
Thank you for your feedback! USAA is currently transitioning to a new mortgage originations platform and as a result, made the business decision to temporarily suspend the Conventional refinance product. The expectation is to have the product back as soon as possible, as we understand how important refinances are to our membership. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fast, efficient and professional

Written on4/9/15
Customer avatar
david_lunsford
fromLargo, FL
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This was a fantastic experience. My representative / processor (Missy) was on top of this process from day 1. USAA has this process so streamlined that I was worried they would forget something. I was conditionally approved 2/18 and could have closed by 3/14 but elected to close by EOM. My processor called me when she said she would, emails were always returned quickly and documentation was always explained to me. I highly recommend USAA. Thank you USAA!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/13/15
We are happy to hear your experience with USAA was an excellent one. Thank you so much for your feedback!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Mortgage application

Written on4/6/15
Customer avatar
Dan10
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have been a member of USAA for over 39 years and have been pleased over the years with their outstanding service. However, while attempting to apply for a mortgage, I have been continuously been put on hold for as long as 30 minutes while the mortgage department determines if I am part of the old file or new file.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/13/15
We apologize for your experience. We are currently in the process of transitioning to a new Mortgage platform, which will improve our processes and streamline your experience. We appreciate your patience during this time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

USAA processor is good, servicing is terrible

Written on4/1/15
Customer avatar
Submariner Paul
fromMount Olive, NC
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
My mortage was sold to a company that works udner USAA's name. That company is the worst for customer service. In 40 years with USAA, service has alwasy been the strong point, but with the mortgage sold to soemthing called Dovenmuehl I'm searching to refi to get away from them.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Time to go

Written on4/1/15
Customer avatar
Jaymes
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Unbelievable! I don't even know what to say. I am a 17 year member and have continually had bad experiences with this business segment, so much that I am ready to take ALL my business elsewhere. I would think long and hard before going to USAA for any mortgage.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator 4/1/15
We apologize for your experiences. A representative will be in touch shortly to discuss your concerns.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Worst services

Written on3/27/15
Customer avatar
smknv
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Where to start? Well I have been a USAA member for 14 years and this is by far the worst experience I have ever had. I have had 2 other VA loans in the past which I went thru local lenders with ease but I figured I bank with, credit cards, and have insurance with USAA so why not go thru them. Which brings me to the present. I am a month and a half into the very lengthy process of applying and not there is 3 working days left till I am supposed to close on my house without final approval. My USAA Rep tells me that the title paperwork is getting looked at then it goes for final approval. The part that I don't understand is that granted the title agency took its time to send over the paperwork, however: USAA has had it for 8 working days and it is no further in the process! The To Do List is my demise. I want to see the truck move. Maybe its just the Soldier in me but I am about suspense dates and timelines. Not wait till the last minute! I will update my review pending my closing date.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator3/30/15
We regret to hear about your experience. We will have a Subject Matter Expert contact you after a thorough review of your loan file to provide a status update. Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your situation.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Absolutely Fantastic!!!

Written on3/19/15
Customer avatar
Shawn C
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This was my first mortgage and I was so impressed with USAA's Mortgage department! It was such a smooth process from start to finish, it was scary because it went so smooth. I was expecting bumps along the process but I was very productive and made sure they had everything that they needed. I couldn't be more pleased with USAA and their mortgage department!!! My hats off to you all!
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

1st Mortgage with USAA, 2nd Mortgage experience

Written on3/19/15
Customer avatar
Steve128
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We recetly closed on a new home and we decided to use USAA as our lender. We had a great experience and our martgage processor was typically avaibale on short notice. She always kept us in the loop and I felt like I had a grasp on the status of the applciation throughout the entire process. They also had great rates and were able to execute the closing on time.
Another thing I liked about USAA was that we were able to use our lawyer as the closing agent. The whole process was very flexible and fluent (at least for a Massachusetts mortgage) which really helped us out.
I have heard of other people having issues with USAA but our experience was great. It may come down to the mortgage processor assigned to your loan, having a professional responsive person is key. As long as you regulary communicate with them and provide them the information/documentation needed on time I have no doubt USAA will shine.
If the time comes when I'm looking for a new mortgage, my first stop will be USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Absolutely Terrible

Written on3/17/15
Customer avatar
AW702
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
This process has been an absolute nightmare with issues every single step of the way. My realtor has been a realtor for 29 years and he said that he has never dealt with the amount of difficulty that USAA has shown. I can never get ahold of the processor. When my realtor was finally able to get ahold of her on March 16th, she said that USAA was waiting for title info from the title company. Knowing that it shouldn't take this long, he called her again and she said that the loan processor at Usaa, was wanting quit claim deeds for mineral rights. In the state of Nevada the Federal gov. retains all mineral rights. So they're looking for a document that doesn't exist. I'm potentially going to lose the house I bought over a document that does not exist. Additionally, no one from USAA seems to know how to communicate. And of course the processor is out of the office. I am extremely disappointed in USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.