USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

Overall rating:
3.069 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(884 reviews) 877
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 884 reviews
5 Stars
360
4 Stars
68
3 Stars
47
2 Stars
91
1 Star
318
445 out of 88450%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
72 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Review 1 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

2nd Mortgage with USAA

Written on7/18/14
Customer avatar
Zach Underwood
fromPuyallup, WA
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Back in 2005, I got my first mortgage with USAA and the product was not good. Being my first mortgage, I was concerned about the process and ensuring I met all the deadlines. At that time, USAA promised "We'll make your closing date or we'll pay you $1000". Sad to say, I was awarded $1000 despite multiple phone calls to move the process forward.
Fast forward to July 2014, I thought that USAA has had 9 years to improve their product. Surely, that can do better! USAA has completely turned it around! Nice work! With all my other assets with USAA, it made my mortgage processing even easier! Shannon (my super awesome USAA mortgage processor) was incredibly helpful, the USAA website was great, and the process couldn't have been smoother.
If I could make a suggestion, I wonder if the USAA mortgage documentation could be electronically signed instead of using all that paper. Just a thought, I've worked with other mortgage companies who can do this.
I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fast and Efficient

Written on2/28/14
Customer avatar
CallJP
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was leery to go with USAA mortgages due to some of the reviews listed. I couldn't have been more happy with the process. Our realtor was suggesting we use another broker due to time to process that she had seen in the past. However, USAA has been loyal to me so I wanted to give them a shot. They had the best fees comparatively and the rates/points were as good or better than other services. The submission process was seamless and Andrew did a fantastic job keeping the process moving along. Our realtor told her local broker just how fast USAA was in getting the loan done. They were all blown away with how well USAA did with this process considering end of year constraints. They admitted that they could not have done it that quickly. Usually, you can't have it cheaper, better, faster but in this case, we got all three! (Dec. 2013)
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So smooth and easy, Great Service

Written on11/2/13
Customer avatar
Happy2345
fromVA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am so happy with movers advantage. I don't understand the bad reviews. The program was great form start to finish. Use the Movers Advantage program. The program finds a agent for you. My agent was the best at every step of the way.Also the program has a little site where it tracks each portion of the loan process. All documents can be load up real quick. I close on my home 1 week ahead of schedule. Stay pro active in communication. My loan processor was great at her job and communicating with me at every stage. If the processor ask for paper work don't delay in getting it to them. The more you are on top of the process the smoother it is. You have to be on top of your finances, if so, you will have no problem. The key is to stay pro active at every step.
I recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not Good

Written on5/26/15
Customer avatar
Nicole2
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I have had nothing but problems from the start. They didn't receive my signed contract that we faxed using their fax cover to the number found on that same form. When I called to check on it, I ended up just telling the person on the phone all the details.Then when I got my mortgage welcome packet, the loan amount was off by $100,000 making all the numbers useless. I called and told them that and they never resent a corrected one. Also, the checklist of the items we needed to send in was missing from that packet. I ended up getting the info from my loan processor, but that delayed everything by a few days. When I did know what to send, it was all sent to USAA 3-5 days later. Since then, they have been confused about everything I've sent (because they don't read it) and my loan processor is difficult to get ahold of. Closing has been moved 4 times and I'm less than 3 hours away from the newest date and they have yet to send the final numbers to the title company.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Sold my loan.

Written on5/25/15
Customer avatar
Casey3
fromtexas
Military Branch:Army
USAA sold my loan to some awful subsidiary of Bank of America after two years. Never missed a payment. Never paid late. Then I get stuck with some awful company that bought my mortgage from USAA. I love USAA but will not use them again for a mortgage.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Terrible

Written on5/25/15
Customer avatar
Salahito
fromOcean springs, MS
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
April 29th, i was assured by USAA that closing date is June4th. Today, May 25th, i was called by USAA that the processor did not do anything with our file! No appraisal, no title and the projected closing date is possibly June 18. The movers are packing our house June 9th. The havoc is unimaginable. Thank you USAA for being the tornado winner of the year.. Lt Col Masry
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Warning: do not get your mortgage through USAA!!

Written on5/23/15
Customer avatar
Aslanophile
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
This was our worst home purchase experience in 4 decades. USAA mortgage interest rates are not as competitive as others, including Navy Fed, and their service was abominable. Despite 6+ weeks from our application and submission of all requested documents, USAA failed to communicate with us regarding time-sensitive requirements more than once, and made unnecessarily tardy requests for additional documentation. They failed to complete their final review and release of documents for our scheduled closing, and ultimately cost us significant & unnecessary financial, time, moving and emotional expense.
Our closing did NOT occur on time as promised, and the processor never contacted us during the last three days of the closing and recording! Although we wrote a letter of complaint to USAA, all we received was a telephonic verbal apology acknowledging that their services were poor, but no follow-up or assurance that they had improved their processes. Buyer BEWARE!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Poor customer service and poor emphasis on DTI

Written on5/21/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
The application was received, but was not informed until the next day that it had been denied. Resubmitting the application required answering all of the same questions twice, someone failed the first time to save the info. 3 day shipping of the packet meant wait two days and ship overnight to receive on a weekend. Spent at least an hour ON HOLD each day I was completing the application; only 1 out of 3 agents were thoroughly informative and polite. Spoke with 7 representatives. Received inconsistent info for assignment of a processor and their relation to the Intent to Proceed. Was pre-qualified for a loan, went through all of the steps, and was later denied after appraisal had been ordered and completed. Pre-qualification includes assets, debt, income, etc. but the approval only focuses on DTI. Wish I had known that, not enough emphasis from USAA; was only made aware at denial. Nothing to do at that point but start from scratch = 3 weeks wasted. Lengthy experience and a waste of time
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Expected more based on past experience from USAA

Written on5/21/15
Customer avatar
DI99
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
We purchased a home last month (2nd with USAA). Entirely different experience post housing market crash. What was accomplished with a phone call in 2004 required a ton of documentation, arguments, rants on the community board, and escalation of issues to higher levels in USAA to get my loan to be approved. This is in spite of a high credit rating, low risk using the VA loan and putting down 14-15%. We closed about 2 weeks late but we still got the house. I debated bumping this rating up to Average, but I think Fair is a good assessment. If I had known how much documentation would be required and how stressful this would be, I would have done more research. I expected the process to be as easy as it was 10 years ago and it was not.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

in the process / update

Written on5/20/15
Customer avatar
Observer / Applicant
Thought I would give an update on our process. Our pkt was recieved by USAA in their mailroom on May 11th at 0813, it took until May 14th to get it uploaded for the processor to view. Our processor, Mary V.has been on top of things, she submitted it to underwriting that afternoon where it takes 5 to 7 business days to review, we should hear something Thursday or Friday this week. The appraisal was ordered May 13th and it can take ulp to 10 business days for the appraiser to conduct and upload the results to VA and then possibly an additional 5 business days for the review team to go over it. That's where we are at this point.
A young lady called me in reference to my initial review.....very cordial and helpful lady, she explain about the transition.USAA has been transitioning this program for the last 9 months, that was disturbing to me......nine months? She began to explain how they are rolling in so many states at a time vice 50 all at once. General members may not be aware of that
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Just ok

Written on5/18/15
Customer avatar
Garza-Torres
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Had read these reviews first I would not have gone with USAA but by the time I saw them I was too far in the process. I read some bad reviews and based on my experience there may be some improvements but there is still work to do. We were set to close on 5/14/2015 and three days prior I was continuously emailing and calling USAA and the processor dropped off the face of the earth. She didn't return any emails/calls etc. Finally the morning of closing and I was able to get her bosses boss on the phone who then explained that the processor had been out sick and no one thought to check her messages or follow up on her upcoming closings. They admitted fault but casually said oh well we may need to push the closing date. Unacceptable. I shouldn't have to beg USAA to do their job. My closing was late but eventually went through ok and I am happy with the finished product. But getting there was a battle and they need to improve communications and overall professional responsibility.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/19/15
I am sorry to hear about your experience. A mortgage representative will reach out to you to discuss it in more detail.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Mortgage Pre-Approval

Written on5/18/15
Customer avatar
Chris4
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I just spent 55 minutes on the phone and still didn't get an answer on my pre-approval. The first (affiliate?) representative did not listen and talked over me as I tried to answer the numerous questions she was asking. This happened repeatedly until I finally asked to speak with another representative. I was transferred cold - so I had to re-explain things to a new representative and re-answer 15 min worth of questions. The only positive from the whole experience is that the first rep hadn't run my credit report yet.
In the past, you were able to do most of this process online. I'm not sure why they changed that, but the online form needs to return. No one wants to sit on the phone for an hour.
I'm a first time home buyer and USAA is making it exceedingly difficult to even get the process started. I will be applying through another bank.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/19/15
USAA did remove the option to apply online during the transition to the new mortgage system. USAA is working to make the feature available as soon as possible. USAA thanks you for the feedback.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Poor Customer Service

Written on5/12/15
Customer avatar
New Pages on Web Sit
fromNC
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have never had the run-around and circular questioning that I had during this call with Candice. This must have been her first night of working in the mortgage department. I nearly hung up. After 45 grueling minutes of listening to her read a script, restating obvious facts and clarifying data, etc, the pre-approval was completed... it was like I wasn't even a USAA customer before and applying for credit for the first time. This would be my 5th Mortgage with USAA, but I will definitely shop around with service like this, not to mention 45 days from contract to close.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Second Review - USAA did not publish the first

Written on5/12/15
Customer avatar
IgnoredApplicant
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
USAA decided not to publish my first not-so-positive review, unsurprisingly, so I'll give it another try.
I initially called to see what proof of income requirements needed to be met for a mortgage from USAA. The rep I spoke with insisted the only way to provide that information was for me to actually apply for pre qualification, so I did. She then stated she couldn't actually provide that information for me and would submit it to underwriting for approval and I'd hear back in a few days. No response was ever received. I posted a review, and in a few days I received a phone call from a rep wanting more info about why I published a negative review as well as an overnighted approval letter.
The letter contained none of the information I had requested regarding proof of income. I called USAA out of morbid curiosity. I was given not one, not two but THREE different answers to my question. I have no faith in this pre qualification whatsoever.
I stand by my original, UNPUBLISHED review.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

in the process

Written on5/11/15
Customer avatar
Observer / Applicant
Read the reviews but went ahead and applied. We were pre-qualified Apr 20th. Had pretty much found our home prior to, tried to get the intent to proceed submitted, but found out the only way to get one was to wait on FedEx. Rcvd the application pkt May 7th, tried to upload the intent to proceed, not an accepted practice anymore. We faxed the initial required docs May 8th, got a call from our processer May 8th, she informed me it would be at 'least' 45 days to close a VA. We are projected to close June 22nd. She said she would contact us today (the day is not over) FedEx'd the entire packet May 9th, rcvd by USAA May 11th. We submitted in the pkt , income docs, tax docs, VA docs, etc...everything the initial loan originator said would be needed, but was not mentioned in the loan application pkt. So hopefully, we can be a positive review in the midst of all the not so positive......jury is presenlty out. Fingers are crossed.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/12/15
Thank you for allowing USAA the opportunity to serve you and your family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

US Bank Mortgage

Written on5/10/15
Customer avatar
Keydet
fromWilmington, NC
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I was directed to US Bank for a re-finance mortgage. The reason for this was USAA current backlog of mortgage applications. Initially my experience with US Bank was good; however, everything drastically changed when my application was passed on to the loan processing department of US Bank. I found this Department to be difficult to work with,poorly trained and not focused on customer service. In addition, this Department was at times contrary to written direction from the loan orgination Department. Subsequently, I terminated my application with US Bank.
This experience with US Bank was a huge disappointment as I expected much better service based upon the recommendation from USAA to use US Bank.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

For some reason USAA has refused to post my review

Written on5/4/15
Customer avatar
KMORRIS1
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
For some reason USAA has refused to post my reviews, 2 months in, still have not closed.
signed, soon to be ex member since 1988. signed, brat and vet status
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/6/15
Your feedback was recieved and we are investigating your concerns. A representative will be in touch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Absolutely Pathetic!

Written on5/1/15
Customer avatar
Amanda1
fromOhio
Military Branch:Army
I cannot believe USAA would allow this terrible service to continue! I applied online, that was "lost." I spent 3 hours on the phone repeating, 2 weeks later my online app was found. The mortgage processor has had me repeatedly send her the same documents, tells my realtor he never sent her things (to which he replies with a forward of the original email), and has been claiming to have sent things to the title company which were never sent. We are one day before close and I still have never been told my closing costs or if the paperwork is even ready due to USAA not sending the information needed to the title company. Extremely disappointed in USAA. We will be buying a new home in 4 years and we WILL NOT BE GOING THROUGH USAA!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Poor Service

Written on5/1/15
Customer avatar
747 Captain
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
ILL be brief
Since USAA Sold my mortgage to some company Ive had nothing but problems.
Loan servicing has change several times and made it difficult for me to make payments
When I called USAA THEY DIDENT EVEN SHOW I HAD A MORTGAGE THRU THEM.
How can they help me if they don't know who I am.
35 year member
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not the USAA I used to know

Written on4/29/15
Customer avatar
GMason
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I didn't ever think I'd write a review like this for USAA but here I am. I've been a member for more than 15 years now and never have I felt more inclined to take my business else where. USAA's service has gone downhill. Between the poor communication from the processing department and the system issues they are going through, this experience has been a nightmare. The ironic thing is that my processor even told me that my finances were very easy and a non-issue. Because of their system and process issues, we are now at our closing date with no closing papers. This will now force our sellers to change the closing date on the home they are buying and will no doubt impact the sellers of that house. The extend of negative impacts of USAA's poor performance on home mortgages is far reaching indeed. I never thought I would say this but I seriously wish I had gone through another lender.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.