USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

Overall rating:
3.022 / 5
3.0
 / 
5
(938 reviews) 931
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 938 reviews
5 Stars
375
4 Stars
68
3 Stars
49
2 Stars
95
1 Star
351
461 out of 93849%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
73 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Review 1 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

2nd Mortgage with USAA

Written on7/18/14
Customer avatar
fromPuyallup, WA
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Back in 2005, I got my first mortgage with USAA and the product was not good. Being my first mortgage, I was concerned about the process and ensuring I met all the deadlines. At that time, USAA promised "We'll make your closing date or we'll pay you $1000". Sad to say, I was awarded $1000 despite multiple phone calls to move the process forward.
Fast forward to July 2014, I thought that USAA has had 9 years to improve their product. Surely, that can do better! USAA has completely turned it around! Nice work! With all my other assets with USAA, it made my mortgage processing even easier! Shannon (my super awesome USAA mortgage processor) was incredibly helpful, the USAA website was great, and the process couldn't have been smoother.
If I could make a suggestion, I wonder if the USAA mortgage documentation could be electronically signed instead of using all that paper. Just a thought, I've worked with other mortgage companies who can do this.
I recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fast and Efficient

Written on2/28/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was leery to go with USAA mortgages due to some of the reviews listed. I couldn't have been more happy with the process. Our realtor was suggesting we use another broker due to time to process that she had seen in the past. However, USAA has been loyal to me so I wanted to give them a shot. They had the best fees comparatively and the rates/points were as good or better than other services. The submission process was seamless and Andrew did a fantastic job keeping the process moving along. Our realtor told her local broker just how fast USAA was in getting the loan done. They were all blown away with how well USAA did with this process considering end of year constraints. They admitted that they could not have done it that quickly. Usually, you can't have it cheaper, better, faster but in this case, we got all three! (Dec. 2013)
I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So smooth and easy, Great Service

Written on11/2/13
Customer avatar
fromVA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am so happy with movers advantage. I don't understand the bad reviews. The program was great form start to finish. Use the Movers Advantage program. The program finds a agent for you. My agent was the best at every step of the way.Also the program has a little site where it tracks each portion of the loan process. All documents can be load up real quick. I close on my home 1 week ahead of schedule. Stay pro active in communication. My loan processor was great at her job and communicating with me at every stage. If the processor ask for paper work don't delay in getting it to them. The more you are on top of the process the smoother it is. You have to be on top of your finances, if so, you will have no problem. The key is to stay pro active at every step.
I recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent experience with USAA & our mortgage

Written on1/24/16
Customer avatar
USAA was excellent when we purchasesed our home. They were extremely attentive, informative & extremely efficient. Throughout the process of building our home, they kept in contact with us as well as our builder so there were no surprises. When it came time for closing, the title company had the check in hand before we even signed, which made the process extraordinarily quick, efficient and everyone - from the builder to title to lender & us - were extremely happy. After about 2 mos of living in our home, USAA sent us notification that the payment was actually lower than anticipated and we received funds returned due to the VA loan we chose. We are extraordinarily happy with our rate and absolutely recommend business with USAA for mortgages - or anything as we've had auto loans with USAA, as well - as they are honest, efficient, competitive and wonderful! And our builder was extremely happy with USAA, as well! Excellent experiences throughout the many years!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Purchased 2nd home

Written on12/25/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My mortgage specialist Gloria was TOP NOTCH she went above and beyond during every phase of the process! I will be leveraging USAA in the future. I also recommend the service to anyone looking to purchase a home.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Closed, met my low expectations from the reviews

Written on12/22/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We closed on our first home with a VA loan three weeks ago. The closing was delayed two weeks. USAA had trouble with the new TRID mortgage regulations (google it), which they should have been prepared for. I won't list my loan processor's name like all the fake reviews, but I think he did his best. Look, if you are not a patient person, please don't use this product. Also, make sure you have a flexible closing date with the seller because you most likely will not make it the first try. My approach was to be polite and patient with the processor and used my realtor and title company to keep the pressure on. We were able to get two processors working our file on several occasions. USAA needs to hire more people or take on less work. Closing took 30 mins and money was wired on time. It was 58 days from application to closing. The negative reviews are legit. Once you move in however, it's easy to forget about the process.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Service

Written on11/5/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Bought our home through USAA and refinanced through USAA, both times couldn't have been easier.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA Delivers

Written on10/31/15
Customer avatar
I read a lot of angry reviews here before USAA did my streamlined VA refinance. You must compare what USAA does and what you get from other companies. Even after I read all the negative news about USAA, I went with USAA. They have always been good to me for more than 30 year; so, I took my chances---especially since all my relatives had great, long term experiences with USAA. I had been with PHH for 20 years and they put me through a pile of paper work and resubmit this and resubmit that. 3 years of tax returns and recent, pay stubs, and on and on, and resubmit this and that. On-line submit this and that. Streamlined process is what they promised me. I had a locked interest rate for 90 days, and it was not long before I was reaching close to that final date. I told them to forget it. I decided on USAA instead. From day one Mr. Patel contacted me and kept me informed. I closed in less than 60 days. Better rates and better service. USAA was the right choice for me.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

An exceptional home buying experience with USAA

Written on10/7/15
Customer avatar
fromRaleigh, NC
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
About 90% of our accounts are with USAA and all of our previous experiences had been good, so we decided to give them a try even after reading all the negative reviews about their mortgage loan process.
The reviews online were a bit nerve-racking, had my husband and I very jumpy as we got closer to our closing date, but, needlessly to say, it was all unwarranted. Katie R. was so wonderful and highly efficient, made the mortgage process the easiest part of the entire home buying process. She kept us updated and informed of the step by step process, limiting any surprise factor.
USAA was able to coordinate with our builder and realtor about changing the close date to one that was more convenient for us; we ended up with an earlier close date, talk about exceptional service.
Working with USAA was amazing, we could not be happier. Especially, love that we were about to check our status and upload documents online. I would give ten stars if I could.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Simply the Best

Written on9/25/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
For the life of me I can't understand some of the rating others have given USAA. I am consistently impressed with the customer service and ease of working with USAA. Every time I've needed financial support, USAA was there.
I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great service, minimal hassle

Written on9/21/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was concerned after reading reviews of less then stellar service and delays, and my agent cautioned me USAA could sometimes be difficult. Once we made contact with Melissa things went very smoothly, all documents got to her, no request for duplicate documents. I have to mention this was a complex loan with a cross-country move with a change of employment so verification could have been a problem, but everything was smooth and the closing and wire transfer occurred without a problem. Melissa was also a great assets when USAA insurance submitted a change in policy instead of an additional policy for my new property to to the mortgage servicing center
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Reviews scared us but Angel took care of us.

Written on9/18/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
In the beginning the process of getting pre-qualified was frustrating until we were introduced to our processing agent Angel W. I stressed my concerns about the reviews that were on the website, she listened and she gave us her word that she will never leave us hanging. I have to say she kept her word. Angel I want to thank you for all your hard word and dedication you showed us. I told you I needed to be out our rental property by the 31st and we were moving in our new home 3 days before . I truly appreciate you. God really sent us an Angel.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Another Home Run by USAA

Written on9/18/15
Customer avatar
fromAustin, TX
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I love USAA. I have most of their products and the Homecircle bonus made this home loan a no-brainer for me. However, after we'd started our loan, I saw the bad reviews and got very scared. Now that we have closed on our new house, I can safely say that this was the most fun I've ever had getting into massive debt. Our loan officer, Erin, was efficient, friendly and kept up excellent communication with me at every turn (plus, she has an outstanding sense of humor, which was a major bonus in the middle of such a stressful time for my family!) . Don't let the bad reviews scare you. Be proactive with your documents and respond to anything that the loan team asks of you, and you're going to have a fine time.
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Happy Member

Written on9/13/15
Customer avatar
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
I started my mortgage search on 7/4/15 by reading reviews in the USAA community. To my shock, many of the comments were not very good. After reading several reviews, I decided to contact my bank, Wells Fargo, since I have been a customer over 20 years. I was promised a callback in 2-3 days with a pre-approval answer. After waiting 2 weeks with no callback, I decided to contact USAA and give them a try. Best decision I have ever made. I had my pre-qualification letter completed in under 30 minutes and began my home search the next day. From the time I had a signed contract on 8/3/15 to my closing date on 9/11/15, I had nothing but top notch service. Sure there were some, "what the heck" moments but they were quickly resolved and the process moved forward without a problem.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome Experience!

Written on8/3/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We contacted USAA to get pre qualified for a mortgage and from then until our closing (last Thursday) the process was straightforward and simple. I would recommend that people take charge of their portion of the process by submitting all the required documentation complete and on time, I even paper clipped and organized each category to help make it easy. Our mortgage processor, "Matthew F", was very helpful and responded quickly and accurately to any questions or concerns we had, we hope that he receives acknowledgment from this review. We could have even closed a week early, however the seller was not agreeable. I am also awaiting my Movers Advantage bonus check for going with an agent within their network, who also was great!
I must admit that I spent the entire 45 days in stress due to the negative reviews posted here, but our mortgage process was great. I don't ever post reviews but want others to see that USAA does perform an excellent job with their mortgage product!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/4/15
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with our members. USAA aims to provide the best products and services to our members. Feedback such as yours helps to ensure we are meeting your needs.

Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Don't let the other reviews scare you !

Written on7/10/15
Customer avatar
when I stumbled across all the home buying reviews I was quickly concerned if i had made the right choice with using Usaa for our first mortgage..... However, despite the tedious paperwork that is necessary for any type of loan with a bank it has been great ! my loan processor was so quick to respond and answered any silly question I had. emails were prompt and she continually kept me updated on how the process was going. I am so grateful that I didn't switch to another bank because of the fear of the other reviews! we are closing next Friday and I realize that there can be some hiccups before then and I am planning on doing a final review after the actual closing.. But so far Debbra my loan processor was so amazing at making my first home buying experience as less stressed as possible !!! thanks USAA
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/13/15
Thank you for sharing your mortgage experience with us. We look forward to serving your financial needs for years to come. Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So far so good! Will update review upon closing.

Written on6/27/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This is my 4th mortgage with USAA. In the past, I was very frustrated with the process. So far, USAA and my Processor, Emanuel, have been superb. There are a LOT of new paperwork requirements and Emanuel has patiently explained everything to me to minimize my frustration.
Unlike in the past, the realtors send various documents to USAA and they are now acted upon IMMEDIATELY. I haven't had to push progress, it's happening at a perfect pace. The seller's took too long to survey the property which delayed our closing and Emanuel helped me to understand all the nuances of what was affected by this delay, and my options.
If I was to offer one critique, I wish there was more connectivity between the different departments in USAA. I shouldn't have to supply my processor with any information that USAA as a whole already has (like insurance costs on a rental property, for instance).
Other than that, I strongly recommend you give the new USAA mortgage services a try!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/29/15
Thank you for sharing your experience on your mortgage loan. We will share your feedback with the appropropriate area. Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

in the process / final update CLOSED!

Written on6/25/15
Customer avatar
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Even though my previous updates sounded skeptical, this was an outstanding experience. We closed yesterday, only two days beyond our original estimated date. Our loan processor Mary V. is the best, genuine and caring young lady! She kept us up to date regularly and seemed as excited as we were. There was also another young lady Theresa who kept in touch and stayed on top of things.....simply stated, great customer service! All you folks that are having difficulty and issues, keep the faith...if USAA can get it done, they will!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/25/15
Congratulations on the closing of your home! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our members. We are happy to receive your feedback. Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fast, efficient and professional

Written on4/9/15
Customer avatar
fromLargo, FL
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This was a fantastic experience. My representative / processor (Missy) was on top of this process from day 1. USAA has this process so streamlined that I was worried they would forget something. I was conditionally approved 2/18 and could have closed by 3/14 but elected to close by EOM. My processor called me when she said she would, emails were always returned quickly and documentation was always explained to me. I highly recommend USAA. Thank you USAA!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/13/15
We are happy to hear your experience with USAA was an excellent one. Thank you so much for your feedback!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Absolutely Fantastic!!!

Written on3/19/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This was my first mortgage and I was so impressed with USAA's Mortgage department! It was such a smooth process from start to finish, it was scary because it went so smooth. I was expecting bumps along the process but I was very productive and made sure they had everything that they needed. I couldn't be more pleased with USAA and their mortgage department!!! My hats off to you all!
I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 47 Next Page>>