USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

Overall rating:
3.045 / 5
3.0
 / 
5
(905 reviews) 898
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 905 reviews
5 Stars
364
4 Stars
68
3 Stars
49
2 Stars
93
1 Star
331
451 out of 90550%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
73 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Review 1 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

2nd Mortgage with USAA

Written on7/18/14
Customer avatar
fromPuyallup, WA
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Back in 2005, I got my first mortgage with USAA and the product was not good. Being my first mortgage, I was concerned about the process and ensuring I met all the deadlines. At that time, USAA promised "We'll make your closing date or we'll pay you $1000". Sad to say, I was awarded $1000 despite multiple phone calls to move the process forward.
Fast forward to July 2014, I thought that USAA has had 9 years to improve their product. Surely, that can do better! USAA has completely turned it around! Nice work! With all my other assets with USAA, it made my mortgage processing even easier! Shannon (my super awesome USAA mortgage processor) was incredibly helpful, the USAA website was great, and the process couldn't have been smoother.
If I could make a suggestion, I wonder if the USAA mortgage documentation could be electronically signed instead of using all that paper. Just a thought, I've worked with other mortgage companies who can do this.
I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fast and Efficient

Written on2/28/14
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was leery to go with USAA mortgages due to some of the reviews listed. I couldn't have been more happy with the process. Our realtor was suggesting we use another broker due to time to process that she had seen in the past. However, USAA has been loyal to me so I wanted to give them a shot. They had the best fees comparatively and the rates/points were as good or better than other services. The submission process was seamless and Andrew did a fantastic job keeping the process moving along. Our realtor told her local broker just how fast USAA was in getting the loan done. They were all blown away with how well USAA did with this process considering end of year constraints. They admitted that they could not have done it that quickly. Usually, you can't have it cheaper, better, faster but in this case, we got all three! (Dec. 2013)
I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So smooth and easy, Great Service

Written on11/2/13
Customer avatar
fromVA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am so happy with movers advantage. I don't understand the bad reviews. The program was great form start to finish. Use the Movers Advantage program. The program finds a agent for you. My agent was the best at every step of the way.Also the program has a little site where it tracks each portion of the loan process. All documents can be load up real quick. I close on my home 1 week ahead of schedule. Stay pro active in communication. My loan processor was great at her job and communicating with me at every stage. If the processor ask for paper work don't delay in getting it to them. The more you are on top of the process the smoother it is. You have to be on top of your finances, if so, you will have no problem. The key is to stay pro active at every step.
I recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome Experience!

Written on8/3/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We contacted USAA to get pre qualified for a mortgage and from then until our closing (last Thursday) the process was straightforward and simple. I would recommend that people take charge of their portion of the process by submitting all the required documentation complete and on time, I even paper clipped and organized each category to help make it easy. Our mortgage processor, "Matthew F", was very helpful and responded quickly and accurately to any questions or concerns we had, we hope that he receives acknowledgment from this review. We could have even closed a week early, however the seller was not agreeable. I am also awaiting my Movers Advantage bonus check for going with an agent within their network, who also was great!
I must admit that I spent the entire 45 days in stress due to the negative reviews posted here, but our mortgage process was great. I don't ever post reviews but want others to see that USAA does perform an excellent job with their mortgage product!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/4/15
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with our members. USAA aims to provide the best products and services to our members. Feedback such as yours helps to ensure we are meeting your needs.

Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

No idea what’s truly going on

Written on7/31/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I have been using USAA since 2006, but this is my first foray into the VA mortgage world with them. So far, I have been left with no faith in anything they say because any amount of time later it can change.
Along with this loss of faith, I have lost money because of this process.This is due to taking days off of work for closing appointments (only to be told that USAA still hasn't sent in paperwork). This not only causes loss in pay due to missing hours for work, but also causes extra expenses for rescheduling deliveries as well as extending temporary living and storage arrangements.
I cant fit my whole experience in here because it is too long, but to summarize. My down payment changed multiple times, including a week before close.
Then when I had my closing scheduled, after I take work off and arrive at the office. I have to CALL USAA from the closing office to find out that they don't even have all the paperwork they need (inspection from VA, credit report, etc).
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/3/15
Thank you for sharing your experience with our members. We regret the service you encountered thus far. Rest assured, your feedback has been shared with a representative who will reach out to you.

We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Mortgages and hence resulting service is sold off.

Written on7/27/15
Customer avatar
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I dealt with USAA for a mortgage since I have been used to their great service for a long time, over 50 years. I sacrificed rate when going with USAA since service and a consistent interface was important to me. Well, USAA sold my mortgage to an outside servicer and, after more sales of my mortgage, service has been a painful disaster ever since. I made a big mistake by getting my mortgage from USAA thinking they would be the servicer. What a disappointment
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/28/15
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our members. We understand this matter is important to you. Rest assured, your comments have been shared with the appropriate area for review. Feedback such as your is important to USAA and our mission.

We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Limited Options

Written on7/27/15
Customer avatar
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
First, I will say that I am a loyal USAA customer. This is the first time that I have been disappointed with USAA, but it turned out to be a very big disappointment. My husband and I (both USAA members, one retired & one active duty) like use USAA for all of our financial needs. However, today we called to get pre qualified for a home loan and were told that we can't prequalify until we actually live in the United States. Right now we live overseas and want to start having a house built so that we won't have to live in temporary housing or a hotel for months when we arrive at our retirement destination. We were even willing to pay a slightly higher mortgage rate for the convenience and usual great service we receive from USAA.
Big disappointment. I hope that USAA, gets their new system in place soon before they start to lose customers.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/28/15
Thank you for your feedback and for your nearly 20 years of USAA membership. USAA strives to provide the most competitive products and services to our members. Rest assured, your feedback was forwarded to the appropriate area for consideration of future product and service enhancements. We hope this matter will be a factor in your continued relationship with USAA.

We thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Hoping to write a better review later.

Written on7/22/15
Customer avatar
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
It is the day before we were supposed to close and that is not happening. No one had specifically said those words but have just hinted at it. The whole process thus far I have been told to not worry and that it would be fine. Well, as the customer, I am worried and it's not fine. We have little room for error and these delays are worrisome. I'm hoping to hear good news soon but am not sure I will get it. Our processor responds quickly and keeps in contact but rarely has news for us. We are waiting on the appraisal and am not sure if anyone is attempting to expedite that process. All I see are costs adding up. This service could be great but right now I can't say that.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/22/15
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your mortgage in process. We have shared your comments with one of our subject matter experts who will reach to you regarding your concerns. We look forward to your continued USAA membership.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Terrible experience

Written on7/15/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
The entire process was a nightmare from the start. The loan processor did not respond to calls, was on vacation, requested duplicate paperwork, etc. The closing had to be rescheduled due to the processor being on vacation, and not being informed, as we were told (assured) he was by the replacement loan processor. The actual closing was delayed three hours because the loan processor did not know the closing was taking place, and was not answering the phone or responding to our messages. There were six people at the closing waiting for the loan processor to transfer the funds. The attorney even tried calling, to no avail. Would never do business with USAA ever again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/15/15
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We realize this matter was important and did not live up to your expectations. We have assigned this matter to one of our representatives for review. Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Don't let the other reviews scare you !

Written on7/10/15
Customer avatar
when I stumbled across all the home buying reviews I was quickly concerned if i had made the right choice with using Usaa for our first mortgage..... However, despite the tedious paperwork that is necessary for any type of loan with a bank it has been great ! my loan processor was so quick to respond and answered any silly question I had. emails were prompt and she continually kept me updated on how the process was going. I am so grateful that I didn't switch to another bank because of the fear of the other reviews! we are closing next Friday and I realize that there can be some hiccups before then and I am planning on doing a final review after the actual closing.. But so far Debbra my loan processor was so amazing at making my first home buying experience as less stressed as possible !!! thanks USAA
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/13/15
Thank you for sharing your mortgage experience with us. We look forward to serving your financial needs for years to come. Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Awful!

Written on7/7/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
My 1st experience with USAA was phenomenal and I didn't even look elsewhere when buying our next home, but now I wish I had. This 2nd time has been AWFUL. My husband and I were pre-approved and have a 20% cash down payment. We completed all the paperwork and then get rejected despite the pre-approval b/c USAA forgot to enter our current mortgage into the equation and b/c I don't have a new job yet. I was very upfront with our financial situation - that we're in the process of selling our current home, my job hunt, etc. and problems were not indicated to us until the day of rejection (3 weeks later). To resolve the job issue, I was told to get a letter from my boss saying that I would telecommute. I get the letter and we're still rejected. We've got a closing data to sell our current home (so we'll only have 1 mortgage) and that didn't help either. It took us 3 weeks to find this out b/c phone calls and emails are not returned, even when the supervisor was contacted.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/8/15
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. One of our representatives will review your situation and reach out to discuss. We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So far so good! Will update review upon closing.

Written on6/27/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This is my 4th mortgage with USAA. In the past, I was very frustrated with the process. So far, USAA and my Processor, Emanuel, have been superb. There are a LOT of new paperwork requirements and Emanuel has patiently explained everything to me to minimize my frustration.
Unlike in the past, the realtors send various documents to USAA and they are now acted upon IMMEDIATELY. I haven't had to push progress, it's happening at a perfect pace. The seller's took too long to survey the property which delayed our closing and Emanuel helped me to understand all the nuances of what was affected by this delay, and my options.
If I was to offer one critique, I wish there was more connectivity between the different departments in USAA. I shouldn't have to supply my processor with any information that USAA as a whole already has (like insurance costs on a rental property, for instance).
Other than that, I strongly recommend you give the new USAA mortgage services a try!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/29/15
Thank you for sharing your experience on your mortgage loan. We will share your feedback with the appropropriate area. Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

in the process / final update CLOSED!

Written on6/25/15
Customer avatar
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Even though my previous updates sounded skeptical, this was an outstanding experience. We closed yesterday, only two days beyond our original estimated date. Our loan processor Mary V. is the best, genuine and caring young lady! She kept us up to date regularly and seemed as excited as we were. There was also another young lady Theresa who kept in touch and stayed on top of things.....simply stated, great customer service! All you folks that are having difficulty and issues, keep the faith...if USAA can get it done, they will!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/25/15
Congratulations on the closing of your home! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our members. We are happy to receive your feedback. Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

first call in to discuss mortgages and prequalific

Written on6/23/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Frustrating experience - I am buying a new home this fall. Called in to talk about prequalifying and to get an estimate of the closing costs associated with a USAA loan. I am in the recommend process of shopping a few different lenders to see what is best for me. I was told USAA cannot give this type of estimate because closing costs are not fixed until you have a contract on a house. This may be true, however, all other lenders will disclose this information. I am a reasonable person who understands this is estimated based on the information I am giving you. The broker then proceeds to say that she can give me the information if I am "prequalfying" - which would mean I don't have a final contract on a house!!!! I am working hard to be loyal to USAA but that was ridiculous. I don't want to prequalify for another 30 days and until I have narrowed the lender down because it is bad for my credit history to have many inquiries into my credit.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/24/15
Thank you for sharing your experience. We will share your experience with a subject matter expert who will research this matter and contact you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Wow, I hate to say ...

Written on6/21/15
Customer avatar
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
USAA is great with insurance and some banking, but had communication issues back in 1998 and difficulty with the farmed-out mortgage holder/company. I am in the throws of a new mortgage and the reviews simply haunt of days in the past! Before and now, I am in the Mover's Advantage (MA) program and I could not get an assigned realtor that wanted to work for me as they were making better money working on their other clients' home search as they were on under the MA program who takes 1/3 of the realtor's already carved-into commission. The situation just does not smell well at all at this point. I would definitely consider going elsewhere with better service and comparable rates.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

THIS IS NOT THE USAA I KNOW

Written on6/19/15
Customer avatar
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
My wife and I are buying our first home and utilizing my VA home loan. First, I had to call the loan processor's supervisor, and then the manager just to get a call back. We signed the purchase contract on 21 May, the first I heard from our USAA Loan Processor was on 28 May. We have sporadic conversations from the 2nd through the 11th of June, then nothing. I sent emails on the 15th, 16th, 17th, and 18th to include voice mails requesting any type of update on our loan. Finally, on the 18th I receive an email that our loan is approved and being forwarded to the closing department.
I expressed to her that we were first time home buyers, and would appreciate being kept appraised of the situation. Does this mean daily updates, no. I would expect you to return at least one email stating you're checking the status, or you've received my email and there is no status change. But to send nothing, completely baffles me! This is NOT the USAA I've come to know over the last 18 1/2 years.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Warning! Mortgage pre-qualification means nothing!

Written on6/18/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I just had the worst experience with the USAA mortgage team. My family and I have used USAA for years and have always had a good experience, until now. We are purchasing a vacation home and applied for a pre-qualification letter from USAA in March that clearly stated the terms including the offer expiration date. Fast-forward to today, we have a signed purchase contract on our dream home and wanted to start our loan process only to find out that USAA due to "system changes" no longer offer 2nd home mortgages. "Sorry, your pre-qualification letter means nothing". What?! What happened to USAA’s costumer service?! We now have to scramble to find another lender in a few days or we will lose our dream home.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

in the process / update (2)

Written on6/12/15
Customer avatar
Update from 5/20, seems as though we at a stall, our loan does not appear to be on track for a June 22nd closing. Appears the title department is back logged? Although we were never given a hard closing date, we were told about 45 days on a VA. Well it will apparently go beyond 45. Not enough characters are allowed for the full ordeal, In summary; I have not seen the reviews improve at all and no one can give an estimate on how much longer we will be waiting.
We do remain as positive as possible but the jury is still out on this
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Bad USAA Mortgage experience

Written on6/11/15
Customer avatar
fromWichita, KS
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have been an USAA member for 52 1/2 years and had been treated as a valued customer. Then, we contacted USAA Mortgage for a loan on a home we were purchasing in Titusville, FL. Our Loan Processor was NOT professional and did not know the status of loan on numerous occasions. Loan Processor requested the same data from us two and three times, as he was able to find the data our Title Company, our Realtor/Broker and we sent him. USAA had the Appraisal ten days and it was not reviewed or approved--thus, I explained to the Loan Processor he needed to get the Appraisal reviewed and approved by close of business or I would be call the USAA Corporate Office to get the appropriate action--he did get the Appraisal reviewed and approved by the close of business. Then, he told me that they were very busy and did not have enough help--I explain/ed that was not my problem, rather this was USAA's problem. I then contacted the Escalation/complaint department--two of their people contacted me.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/11/15
Feedback from our members is important to us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. One of our Subject Matter Experts will reach out to you regarding your experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

First American Mortgage Solutions HORRIBLE!

Written on6/10/15
Customer avatar
fromCalifornia
Military Branch:Army
I refinanced my house through USAA, my USAA rep was amazing however my experiment with First American Mortgage Solutions was horrible. I closed a week late because of First American Mortgage Solutions, never received my wire transfor on time. NEVER WILL I USE First American Mortgage Solutions AGAIN
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/11/15
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your experience. Your feedback has been forwarded to a Subject Matter Expert who will address your concerns.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 45 Next Page>>