USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

Overall rating:
3.115 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(794 reviews) 789
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 794 reviews
5 Stars
334
4 Stars
64
3 Stars
38
2 Stars
75
1 Star
283
417 out of 79453%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
72 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Review 1 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So smooth and easy, Great Service

Written on11/2/13
Customer avatar
Happy2345
fromVA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am so happy with movers advantage. I don't understand the bad reviews. The program was great form start to finish. Use the Movers Advantage program. The program finds a agent for you. My agent was the best at every step of the way.Also the program has a little site where it tracks each portion of the loan process. All documents can be load up real quick. I close on my home 1 week ahead of schedule. Stay pro active in communication. My loan processor was great at her job and communicating with me at every stage. If the processor ask for paper work don't delay in getting it to them. The more you are on top of the process the smoother it is. You have to be on top of your finances, if so, you will have no problem. The key is to stay pro active at every step.
I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Exceptional peoduct and Service

Written on4/3/14
Customer avatar
herman53
fromWoodbridge, VA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a USAA member for 38 years and all experiences have been exceptional. Service and response times are always been fast and efficient. In researching VA mortgages, I incorrectly thought USAA limited VA loans to $417K. They actually allow what the VA does, which is $692.5K for my area in Virginia. Additionally, they allow up to 45% debt-to-income ratio when determining mortgage affordability, which is exceptional (best I was able to find was 43%). And they allow all considerations afforded disabled veterans. I wrote a review (that I hope they won't post) about the above issues and was immediately contacted to help me understood the services they offered. And they took the time I needed (which was a lot) to answer all of my questions and concerns. You can save a lot of money by using their services when buying a home. I can only speak to my experiences with mortgage information, which is the same level of efficiency and service I have always received.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Mortgage Process

Written on3/24/14
Customer avatar
Iffamb
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
USAA has serviced two of my mortgages and we choose them to service our third due to their attention to details. We always knew they asked for documents that were irrevelant to the process and hand written notes but like knowing that we would close. I am very detailed and always send in documents in a timely manner within hours of request. The mortgage process would call me a 5pm and tell me she needs additional items. Now it is end of business and the review of the documents happen the next day. I asked for a commitment letter from last week 3/20. It is now 3/24 and I can't even get an answer as USAA missed adding income to my financials that caused it to have to be re-reviewed and no one can tell me if it will be approve or not. I am so dissapointed as I have been a customer of over 10 years and I do my part to ensure everything gets processed timely. We are at the 30 day mark since USAA has had our application and paperwork with no answer. Fustrated.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator3/27/14
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are thankful that you chose USAA for your previous mortgages, and we want to continue to provide the level of service you expect from USAA.

We are researching your application and have communicated your concerns to the management team responsible for closing your loan. We understand that time is of the essence and appreciate your patience while we work through your file. A specialist will call with an update.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great service and expertise!

Written on3/21/14
Customer avatar
BeckyGoMo
fromChicago, IL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I read some of the reviews on here and was really surprised that people were unsatisfied. This was my first time buying a home and the representatives were very thorough in explaining everything I needed to know. The turnaround time/response was very fast as well! Glad we chose to use USAA!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Meh

Written on3/7/14
Customer avatar
sharkfeet
fromVermont
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Army
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
This is my first mortgage and even though I don't have anything else to compare USAA's service to, I am underwhelmed. I expect stellar service from this company and am just not seeing it. There are pretty tight deadlines when buying a house and I don't see the sense of urgency from USAA that I feel I should.
Our mortgage processor left for a week and a half. This alone doesn't bother me. Things happen like illness and family crises. But we only learned of it after I tried to send the processor an email after a few days of no contact. We contacted a supervisor and thought that things would still be moving along. Wrong. The underwriters didn't like a two things on the appraisal and we didn't hear a peep from USAA until our processor got back. We had to scramble to have the repairs done and have had to move our financing contingency date back.
I could give more examples, but evidently I have a character limit for this review.
So to sum up my experience: meh.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAMODERATOR3/10/14

We want you have the stellar service you expected--we've forwarded your review to the management team responsible for your mortgage. We look forward to the opportunity to change your opinion with excellent customer service while we continue the processing of your loan. Thank you for taking time to put your thoughts into writing. Your continued membership and trust in USAA is very important to us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fast and Efficient

Written on2/28/14
Customer avatar
CallJP
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was leery to go with USAA mortgages due to some of the reviews listed. I couldn't have been more happy with the process. Our realtor was suggesting we use another broker due to time to process that she had seen in the past. However, USAA has been loyal to me so I wanted to give them a shot. They had the best fees comparatively and the rates/points were as good or better than other services. The submission process was seamless and Andrew did a fantastic job keeping the process moving along. Our realtor told her local broker just how fast USAA was in getting the loan done. They were all blown away with how well USAA did with this process considering end of year constraints. They admitted that they could not have done it that quickly. Usually, you can't have it cheaper, better, faster but in this case, we got all three! (Dec. 2013)
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Well done USAA. Extremely impressed

Written on2/25/14
Customer avatar
gator4life108
fromDenver, CO
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
After reading the reviews on here I was hesitant to use USAA for a mortgage. Their loan rates like auto loans tend to be on the higher side so I chose to go with a competitor at first. After submitting an offer on a house the competitor became real aggressive and I bailed. USAA welcomed me with open arms and let me be in control. They were quick to answer questions and provide information with no problems reaching anyone. USAA saved me a ton of money while offering the same rates as the competitor. Where USAA shined was how quick the process moved. Offer submitted on 12 Jan. with an estimated closing of 12 Feb. USAA was ready to move my closing to the end of Jan because of how quick the process had gone (most reviews stated closing took 30 -45 days, USAA did better for me). Due to a TDY I had to leave it. Only 1 minor problem when the title company and USAA had some confusion on a document and closing had to be pushed by a few hours, but was sorted out. Thanks USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Slow and unresponsive

Written on2/11/14
Customer avatar
MM123
fromCalifornia
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have had negative experiencing using USAA as my lender for mortgage loan. I am past our loan contingency removal date and still have not received response from our loan officer. She does not respond to calls or emails. I called her supervisor last week and although her supervisor responded immediately, I continue to have communication issues with my loan officer. We have submitted all documents in a timely manner and provided multiple copies. Loan officer is scattered in requesting items telling us we don't need a document just to tell us another day that we do. As mentioned, we are past our loan contingency date and unless USAA gets things moving we will probably have to cancel contract due to poor response time from USAA. I've had extremely positive experience with other USAA services, however, after this I don't think I will be using USAA again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator2/13/14
We are pleased to read about your positive experiences with other USAA products. We want your mortgage experience to be positive as well. We will involve the manager responsible for the team that’s working your loan and ask him to give you an update. Thank you for taking time to write a review. Your membership and satisfaction with the mortgage process is very important to us.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Wouldn't allow me to do less than 1 star

Written on2/10/14
Customer avatar
Kortjw
Military Branch:Army
Loan process started out great but quickly got worse, had 5 different contacts and only 1 of them had decent communication skills. After all of my financial information was lost I called to see what was being done about it...all they did was assure me that it couldn't of possibly gotten into the wrong hands and that I shouldn't worry about it. My faith in USAA was damaged pretty bad at that point but not completely gone until today when I talked to my realtor to make sure everything was in order for my closing next week, he kindly informed me that my closing date had been changed by my loan processor almost two weeks ago....faith lost. My auto and homeowners insurance accounts will be entrusted with another company promptly after closing and I will be refinancing elsewhere sooner rather than later.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator2/12/14
Thank you for taking time to write. Please give us a chance to review your file, and advise management responsible for the processing of your loan regarding your concerns. We want to put your mind at ease about the security of your documents with USAA, as well as address the changed closing date. We appreciate your patience and understanding while we research the matter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Failure to reach my loan processor

Written on2/3/14
Customer avatar
walleyes51503
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have been with USAA for over 13 years and normally I am impressed with the customer service. Currently I am deployed and my wife and I are trying to purchase a home. We have been waiting several days for our processor to return voicemails and emails. I am honestly looking to moving my home loan to a different finacial instituion, if the customer service does not improve. I have paid higher insurance rates and maybe not got the best loan rates in the past because of USAA Customer service. However, If it doesn't improve quickly I will no longer be with USAA for anything. You are not the only provider out there.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator2/4/14
We don’t want to lose your business! We’ve contacted the management team responsible for the processing of your loan. We hope you give us a chance to address your concerns.

A specialist will contact you shortly to give you an update. As always, our goal is to make sure we give you the level of service you have come to expect from USAA. Thank you for your patience while we review your file.

+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent Loan Processors!

Written on1/31/14
Customer avatar
Josh Hart
fromWest Paris, Maine
Military Branch:Army
This is my second time applying for a home loan through USAA, both times were amazing. The loan processors were quick to answer their phones, reply to emails, and to answer every question I had. The loan process is easily laid out in an easy to understand format, and my processor was constantly in touch with me to let me know where we were on things. My first closing was a week before schedule, and my current closing is almost 2 weeks before schedule. I have to advise that you make sure you have all the necessary paperwork ready if your going to purchase a home. If you do, everything will be so smooth and quick! I have always enjoyed working through USAA, because i know they put customer satisfaction first. Ill never go anywhere else for any type of loan! Very very satisfied!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

No response from loan processor

Written on1/23/14
Customer avatar
US Army Veteran
fromSouth Carolina
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have been trying to contact the loan processor for a week now. I have left multiple e-mails with no response back. Supervisor was also unavailable to speak with me. This is a horrible service. I have never been so stressed out in my life. I have "pending" documents sitting in my loan processors inbox and the loan process is at a stand still until I can get a response from the loan processor. When I received the loan documents the information on most of the important documents were either wrong or missing. These have to be corrected.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator1/31/14
We’ve notified management about your concerns. A Senior Specialist will contact you to provide an accurate status and discuss the next steps with you. Our goal is to get the file back on track and ready for a smooth closing! We value your membership and regret any inconvenience this has caused. Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Experience ever

Written on1/20/14
Customer avatar
AZ Nomad
fromArizona
Military Affiliation:Reserves
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was skeptical about getting a mortgage here based on the reviews I read, I called and talked to a rep to get a feeling about using USAA for my mortgage and decided to go ahead.
I can say I was pleasantly suprised this was the best experience ive ever had getting a mortgage, and this is the 7th mortgage ive had, so I have some idea as what to expect. I was lucky enough to have Jennifer handling my account she was simply wonderful, I could have not had a better person. I had some issues with title and she was right on top of it. I just canno't say enough about how great she was to have looking out for me. Everything was completed on time and exactly how they said it would go.
Based on my experience I would highly recommed giving USAA Mortgage a try and if your lucky enough to get Jennifer you wont regret it.
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Overall great experience

Written on1/8/14
Customer avatar
AaronBrown
fromCleveland, TN
Military Affiliation:Family
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My wife & I just closed on our first home together 12/20/2013. We used USAA for the loan, however we used our own real estate agent. I shopped around at several local banks. I ended up choosing USAA. One local bank had lower interest rates than USAA, however the closing costs were about $2K more & PMI would have been 2 or 3 times more per month. I will say that when you look on USAA's website at mortgage rates, the ones posted are a bit higher than they are in actuality.
We went under contract for a new construction spec home (80% done) in mid November. We originally were set to close on 12/27/2013, but the house was ready early, so we close on 12/20/2013. Our loan processor, George made it work. I loved being able to scan, upload, & e-sign documents on the USAA website. My advice is to stay on top of things. Assume nothing. If you have concerns, contact your loan processor. Be proactive. George was professional, courteous, and attentive.
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Non-responsive Mortgage Processor

Written on1/3/14
Customer avatar
mgking13
fromNorthern Virginia
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
So far, my experience w/ USAA’s Mortgage Dept. is unsat. 3 wks from closing & given the unresponsiveness of my processor to emails & countless v-mails, I’m afraid we won’t close on time. Today was the final straw that led to this post. Spoke w/ processor’s supervisor. Spvsr told me she would talk to underwriting ASAP & call me back w/in an hr. After no call, I called at 4:30, left a voicemail & emailed her & asked for a status b/f the weekend. Spvsr’s voicemail said if it was b/f 6pm, select “0” to be connected w/ a “senior mortgage officer” to assist immediately. This option was not working & my call was abruptly ended (2X).
I’ve read the "USAA Moderator's" responses to reviews, so please spare me the regrets, acknowledgement of my feelings, & an opinion of how stressful home buying is. Instead, give me an assurance USAA will assign me a processor who will be responsive & ensure I close on time.
Would write more, but not enough space to do so.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator1/31/14

Your trust means a great deal to USAA. We shared your review with the management team responsible for your file, and we will continue to provide you with weekly updates. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to speak with you about your concerns.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

GREAT SERVICE AND MORTGAGE FOR SELF EMPLOYED

Written on12/26/13
Customer avatar
Yopeacemaker
fromQueens, NY, USA
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Marine Corps
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am self employed and let me tell you USAA made it nice and smooth for me to get the loan For self employment the market is very hard to get approve for any loan but with USAA they had confidence with the documents i provide and off course a huge down payment had help my chances but overall USAA ROCKS, thank you soo much and i will sure never to miss any mortgage payments and hope to pay it off early so i could apply for another one in the future.
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

USAA Mortgage was a horrible experience!

Written on12/24/13
Customer avatar
Jacksback62
fromSan Diego
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
As a retired Captain and member in good standing with USAA for 40 years, I was not only surprised and disappointed with the mortgage process but found it almost demeaning. I was asked repeatedly for things I had already submitted and on several occasions was asked to put things in writing and to sign the documents only to be asked for futher documentation. I interpreted these types of request as saying I was lying particularly about the money in my checking account which I verified in writing, provided cancelled checks and on two occasions provided verbal explanations to two different women. This was not a large loan and my assets covered it at least three times over but I was treated like someone trying to scam the system. It was an absolutely horrible experience and one I would not recommend to anyone. . The process needs a thorough overhall with respect to the treatment of members to the actual submission of documents.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator1/3/14
We regret you did not find this experience more in line with what you expected from USAA. Your sentiment is shared by other members--and try as we may to streamline the process, government regulations have required increasing amounts of documentation, resulting in much paperwork for our members. Thank you for your patience during the process.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Experience

Written on12/24/13
Customer avatar
crazycpr
fromPhenix City, AL
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I had a great experience with USAA Home Mortgage. My USAA Home Loan Processor talked us through everything, worked with us and absolutely humored us with my countless phone calls as a home homebuyer. I am convinced she made the deal happen from beginning to end. When I had problems as the loan was about to close, Karen talked me through it, and made everything work out. I am extremely thankful and will recommend USAA for anyone seeking a great mortgage broker.
I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Smooth Process

Written on12/20/13
Customer avatar
Bohnka
fromDavenport, Iowa
Military Affiliation:Spouse
Military Branch:Marine Corps
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We were first time home buyers and a little hesitant after reading the negative reviews. However, we have been customers for 9/10 years and decided to choose USAA for our mortgage company. Our loan officer, Scotty, was very attentive, explained processes thoroughly, and was always available anytime we needed to contact him. We were able to close on time and had no issues or bumps during the application process. The USAA mortgage tool was useful in knowing what documents we needed to upload electronically to ensure faster delivery and the information we needed for closing.
I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Delays and no answers

Written on12/16/13
Customer avatar
AaronBaker
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I had been telling everyone how happy I was with USAA mortgages leading up to the day before our closing, Dec 13th. I received a call saying that I had to have a separate wind/hail insurance in place even though I was told my homeowners insurance policy was already in place and everything was good to go. I had no time to shop around for another insurance so I immediately bought the plan they quoted me for and was told a rush was ordered on it so we could still close the next day. Then, the day of closing, USAA called and said they mis-quoted me and had to do it again and charge me more. 1 hour before closing, I finally got a call that I would have to reschedule closing to Monday, Dec 16th. I am now 30 minutes away from my rescheduled closing and have left unanswered messages to numerous USAA reps. I have already taken time off of work to do both closings and rescheduled movers/helpers twice. This run-around has cost me money that I'll never get back. Never again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator12/24/13
While we are glad to see you were able to close on your mortgage, we can certainly see how your experience could have been frustrating. Our goal is always to provide exceptional service. We are currently reviewing the situation and will be contacting you shortly regarding this matter.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.