USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

brand_bank_loan_new_mortgage Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages

Overall rating:
3.117 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(852 reviews) 845
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 852 reviews
5 Stars
359
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
42
2 Stars
83
1 Star
301
441 out of 85252%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
72 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Review 1 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

2nd Mortgage with USAA

Written on7/18/14
Customer avatar
Zach Underwood
fromPuyallup, WA
Military Affiliation:Brat
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Back in 2005, I got my first mortgage with USAA and the product was not good. Being my first mortgage, I was concerned about the process and ensuring I met all the deadlines. At that time, USAA promised "We'll make your closing date or we'll pay you $1000". Sad to say, I was awarded $1000 despite multiple phone calls to move the process forward.
Fast forward to July 2014, I thought that USAA has had 9 years to improve their product. Surely, that can do better! USAA has completely turned it around! Nice work! With all my other assets with USAA, it made my mortgage processing even easier! Shannon (my super awesome USAA mortgage processor) was incredibly helpful, the USAA website was great, and the process couldn't have been smoother.
If I could make a suggestion, I wonder if the USAA mortgage documentation could be electronically signed instead of using all that paper. Just a thought, I've worked with other mortgage companies who can do this.
I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fast and Efficient

Written on2/28/14
Customer avatar
CallJP
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was leery to go with USAA mortgages due to some of the reviews listed. I couldn't have been more happy with the process. Our realtor was suggesting we use another broker due to time to process that she had seen in the past. However, USAA has been loyal to me so I wanted to give them a shot. They had the best fees comparatively and the rates/points were as good or better than other services. The submission process was seamless and Andrew did a fantastic job keeping the process moving along. Our realtor told her local broker just how fast USAA was in getting the loan done. They were all blown away with how well USAA did with this process considering end of year constraints. They admitted that they could not have done it that quickly. Usually, you can't have it cheaper, better, faster but in this case, we got all three! (Dec. 2013)
I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

So smooth and easy, Great Service

Written on11/2/13
Customer avatar
Happy2345
fromVA
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I am so happy with movers advantage. I don't understand the bad reviews. The program was great form start to finish. Use the Movers Advantage program. The program finds a agent for you. My agent was the best at every step of the way.Also the program has a little site where it tracks each portion of the loan process. All documents can be load up real quick. I close on my home 1 week ahead of schedule. Stay pro active in communication. My loan processor was great at her job and communicating with me at every stage. If the processor ask for paper work don't delay in getting it to them. The more you are on top of the process the smoother it is. You have to be on top of your finances, if so, you will have no problem. The key is to stay pro active at every step.
I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

USAA Let Me Down

Written on3/29/15
Customer avatar
babygiz
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
After being a member for over 30 years I disappointed with USAA. I refinanced my mortgage with USAA and within a year they sold off my mortgage to an investor that uses a pathetic company named OCWEN to service the mortgage. What a nightmare trying to deal with these people. They are slow at responding to issues and nothing ever gets taken care of. If you think USAA will keep your mortgage and provide you with their excellent customer service they provide on all other products, THINK AGAIN!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Worst services

Written on3/27/15
Customer avatar
smknv
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Where to start? Well I have been a USAA member for 14 years and this is by far the worst experience I have ever had. I have had 2 other VA loans in the past which I went thru local lenders with ease but I figured I bank with, credit cards, and have insurance with USAA so why not go thru them. Which brings me to the present. I am a month and a half into the very lengthy process of applying and not there is 3 working days left till I am supposed to close on my house without final approval. My USAA Rep tells me that the title paperwork is getting looked at then it goes for final approval. The part that I don't understand is that granted the title agency took its time to send over the paperwork, however: USAA has had it for 8 working days and it is no further in the process! The To Do List is my demise. I want to see the truck move. Maybe its just the Soldier in me but I am about suspense dates and timelines. Not wait till the last minute! I will update my review pending my closing date.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Disappointed with USAA Mortgage process.

Written on3/27/15
Customer avatar
BH1981
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
My experience with USAA started off promising, about a year ago (so I have had time to cool off!). The promise of lower rates, expected high level of customer service associated with USAA, etc. It was a no-brainer for us to proceed with USAA for our mortgage on a home we wished to buy. I could't be any more wrong. Their process, regardless of what they say the government requires, was awful. Long story short, don't be fooled by their lower rates. The amount of heartburn, runaround, confusion, idiocy, and lack of communication would gladly force me to look elsewhere. Which I have.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Absolutely Fantastic!!!

Written on3/19/15
Customer avatar
Shawn C
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This was my first mortgage and I was so impressed with USAA's Mortgage department! It was such a smooth process from start to finish, it was scary because it went so smooth. I was expecting bumps along the process but I was very productive and made sure they had everything that they needed. I couldn't be more pleased with USAA and their mortgage department!!! My hats off to you all!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

1st Mortgage with USAA, 2nd Mortgage experience

Written on3/19/15
Customer avatar
Steve128
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We recetly closed on a new home and we decided to use USAA as our lender. We had a great experience and our martgage processor was typically avaibale on short notice. She always kept us in the loop and I felt like I had a grasp on the status of the applciation throughout the entire process. They also had great rates and were able to execute the closing on time.
Another thing I liked about USAA was that we were able to use our lawyer as the closing agent. The whole process was very flexible and fluent (at least for a Massachusetts mortgage) which really helped us out.
I have heard of other people having issues with USAA but our experience was great. It may come down to the mortgage processor assigned to your loan, having a professional responsive person is key. As long as you regulary communicate with them and provide them the information/documentation needed on time I have no doubt USAA will shine.
If the time comes when I'm looking for a new mortgage, my first stop will be USAA.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Absolutely Terrible

Written on3/17/15
Customer avatar
AW702
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
This process has been an absolute nightmare with issues every single step of the way. My realtor has been a realtor for 29 years and he said that he has never dealt with the amount of difficulty that USAA has shown. I can never get ahold of the processor. When my realtor was finally able to get ahold of her on March 16th, she said that USAA was waiting for title info from the title company. Knowing that it shouldn't take this long, he called her again and she said that the loan processor at Usaa, was wanting quit claim deeds for mineral rights. In the state of Nevada the Federal gov. retains all mineral rights. So they're looking for a document that doesn't exist. I'm potentially going to lose the house I bought over a document that does not exist. Additionally, no one from USAA seems to know how to communicate. And of course the processor is out of the office. I am extremely disappointed in USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great experience as a first-time home buyer!

Written on3/13/15
Customer avatar
ASHLEYJ
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Utilizing USAA as the lender for my first-time buying a home was a great success. My mortgage processor answered all the questions I had lined up to ask, before I even got a chance to ask them. She was always kind and professional. I was made aware of any additional paperwork or documentation immediately and always given an explanation of why the documentation or paperwork was needed. I needed to move my closing date up one day from the originally projected date due to my husband having drill, wasn't a problem. Any time I left a message or sent an e-mail my mortgage processor got back in touch with me that business day.
OVERALL GREAT EXPERIENCE!!! I use USAA for everything and I recommend it to all of my family who qualify!
There was a week and a half where I didn't hear anything after we started and as a first time home buyer that caused me to stress a little, but other than that - GREAT JOB!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Mortgage Department is HORRIBLE!!!!!

Written on3/12/15
Customer avatar
TDJones
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Received statement Dec 14 with sufficient escrow funds. Received an acct rebate mid Dec. Felt something wasn't right, so put $ in savings. Rcv'd stmnt for Apr 15 pmnt and notice $180 increase, no notification. Look at loan info on USAA & see NEG bal in escrow acct (over $2K). Call USAA & am told that they paid a tax bill that was due in Dec (they paid it 2/13/15), then sent another tax pmnt 3/6/15 for a bill not due til June! I spoke with several USAA agents, was told my pmnt is increased to repay deficiency. I questioned why my pmnt changed because they messed up, & was told there was nothing they could do. When I suggested returning the rebate to even it out, I was told I would still pay owe $700+. Their customer service is HORRIBLE! The final phone call with a Supervisor, when I said basically you are stating that USAA made an error and I have to deal with the consequences, his response was Unfortunately, yes! I will be looking to refinance my mortgage to get away from this company
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Can't Recommend

Written on3/12/15
Customer avatar
Daisy Girl
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Every step of my mortgage was a hassle. This is my 2nd mortgage. The first with a hometown bank, the second with USAA. I have so much with USAA (savings, checking, Roth IRA, Money Market, auto and home insurance) it seemed a no-brainer. I will never again go with a "big business bank."
From initial conversations with loan representatives right down to closing, I have never experienced anything as ridiculous as this experience. Every single person that had to deal with my loan - myself, our Realtor, the seller's Realtor, the Title Company, our hometown banks, even my employer - had difficulty dealing with USAA. NOTHING could be done correctly the first time. Whether a lack of communication within the company or just a lack of communication to these third parties, nothing was clear the first time. Final result - I ended up paying too much money because too many hands at USAA were in the pot and no one wanted to take the blame. Delay closing was their answer - something unacceptable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Reviews

Written on3/9/15
Customer avatar
MSW Austin
I am amazed USAA makes these reviews available to members. USAA should be applauded for such a great level of transparency. It reassures me that they will address the mortgage processing issues that are identified in some of these reviews.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fantastic Experience

Written on3/6/15
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
This was my first home buying experience, and I cannot say enough good things about it. Everything from the processor (thanks Chad), to the rate, to the insurance folks was up to snuff with what I've come to expect from USAA. The process was efficient and straight forward and getting to closing day was relatively painless given the task at hand.
This experience has confirmed for me that USAA is the outstanding institution I've always thought it to be.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Complete opposite of what I expected

Written on3/5/15
Customer avatar
agross
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
I have had 3 mortgages with USAA and each time I thought it was a fluke with the poor service. The agents were not knowledgeable, the process was overly difficult and they seemed more concerned with the checklist than commonsense. Communication between the lender and agent as well as lender and closing attorney was poor. Neither could get a call back. their hours were limited. I had to get a supervisor to fix errors made by my servicing person. This was for ALL of them. I am a HUGE fan of USAA and was super disappointed. I have all my other products through them despite their poor mortgage servicing. I unfortunately, will never use the USAA mortgage service again. That said, ALL of my of products have been phenomenal. Don't judge USAA based on their mortgage servicing, I assure you it is an anomaly and the rest of their services our amazing!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator3/9/15
We can certainly understand how obtaining a mortgage can be a frustrating process to go through. Please note we are in the process of identifying your account and we will be in further contact with you regarding your experiences.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

began with concerns, ended very happy!

Written on3/3/15
Customer avatar
JNTL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I was concerned with choosing USAA for a mortgage on our first home after reading the mixed reviews. I completed and sent in the required information right away and overall everything went very smoothly! Our realtor was "flakey" which caused some hiccups but USAA still kept everything running smoothly and kept us in the loop of everything that was still required whether it was information we needed to submit or information someone else needed to submit, I felt like I always knew where in the process we were! We also had to change processors mid-loan which concerned me a lot but everything kept moving just as smoothly. I felt I was always informed of the process, that things were done timely, that my questions were answered and I was able to reach my processor easily, there were no surprises or last minute requests. Overall a great experence.
I am very pleased with USAA's mortgage. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

excellent customer service

Written on2/26/15
Customer avatar
Bronxbomber
fromSparks NV
Military Branch:Army
I've closed on my home loan on time and the entire process went really well. my loan officer was knowledgeable and informative thank you USA for what you do!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Great features except for homeloans!

Written on2/23/15
Customer avatar
momedic
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
We were having no issues with the checking/savings accounts at all. We are able to do the home deposits and all is good. Went to purchase a home thru USAA and oh my!!! They have at least one person working on that side that has no clue, male, that drug out this process MUCH longer than was necessary. The Title company from USAA tried to take over when we already had one working with us locally, they put our insurance on our site for payment which showed OVER DUE! so I payed it, not needing to since it was in escrow! So, they had to refund that payment. It was a total mess! We will never use USAA for a home loan again but will continue using them for our checking and savings. They seem to be able to function ok with the simple tasks of banking.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Mortgage Specialist was great!

Written on2/13/15
Customer avatar
IDMT H
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Just closed on our house this week and USAA was great. I bought the house from my landlord and did not use a real estate agent allowing both of us to save a lot of money. Without the agent I had a lot of questions about the whole process, which was answered by Patricia our mortgage specialist.
Also, I was hesitant at first reading the reviews some complained of all the additional documents USAA requests. But, believe all mortgage companies do now since the housing market collapse. Just get the documents to your processor ASAP and they will work hard to get you to your closing date!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Buying a Home: Home Loans and Mortgages
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Not What it Used to Be

Written on2/13/15
Customer avatar
Informed Consumer
fromAZ
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have financed 2 homes through USAA.
In both of my experiences, the first person that my account was assigned to was pretty clueless in what they were doing. They were replaced before my mortgage closed.
USAA used to let you put in all the details and get real time rate quotes (that was the biggest draw for me). Now they make you put in your info and wait to be contacted back. That's a step backwards to me.
I used to comparison shop and find USAA was the best value for the money, it's just not always the case anymore.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator2/20/15
Thank you for your feedback. USAA is dedicated to providing a “best in class” experience. At this time, USAA is currently implementing a new mortgage processing system to achieve this goal. Regrettably, USAA members are unable to utilize the online system; however, we expect to have the new system operational in the very near future! Again, thank you for taking the time to comment and thank you for your patience while we enhance our member experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.