USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_bank_cds Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates

brand_bank_cds Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates

Overall rating:
3.87 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(775 reviews) 741
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 775 reviews
5 Stars
391
4 Stars
141
3 Stars
73
2 Stars
91
1 Star
79
574 out of 77574%customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
94 Questions | 195 Answers
Customer reviews for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Review 1 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Wonderful service

Written on3/29/10
Customer avatar
sevik
fromOregon
I also write about CD renewal services, which I think could be improved. In my case, I bought several CD's last year with varying maturity dates. This particular one was a 1-year CD which I wish to make a 5-year CD. It would be nice to be able to change the term on line rather than having to call.
We have almost all our various banking and insurance services with USAA and have been with USAA for more than 30 years. I love to talk to friends about the many advantages and urge them to join, if eligible.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/6/10
We heard your feedback about selecting different terms for your existing CD and have made improvements to the CD account page. You’ll notice that when you are on the CD account page, there is a new option on the page that says “Set/Change Renewal options”. This will take you to a page that enables you to select what term you want your CD to renew to at maturity. This new functionality is great for all of you who are laddering your CDs. Give it a try.

+300points
408of 516voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Cd

Written on3/5/15
Customer avatar
Ricardo Cd
I need to closed a Cd for 100.000 20 days BEFORE the mature day do to an emergency, and I was penalize 180 days of interest ! UNBELIEVABLE .
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

CD Rates

Written on3/4/15
Customer avatar
Brooklyn Al
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
The CD rates have been dismal for years....any hope of improvement????
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I love Usaa

Written on3/3/15
Customer avatar
shay7
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I love Usaa, but the CD rates are not that great compared to others like Service credit union. They need to get in line with the time and offer better CD and insurance rates. Loyal customers are getting better rates at other banks for their money. Just something to think about!
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Bottom of group rates

Written on2/28/15
Customer avatar
skramer
fromFl
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Marine Corps
Features 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
The rates are horrible for CD's at USAA. I pulled out my money market, and in 1 month I made more interest then I would in a year at USAA going with Ally. The CD rates are much higher as well, just waiting on the pull out date. USAA should really consider becoming more in line with online only banks, for me USAA is only available online
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Customer Service

Written on2/25/15
Customer avatar
Sioning
fromTexas
Military Affiliation:Widowed
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I reaslly do not have problems with the customer representatives; everytime I get "in trouble" with usaa, everyone seemed so cordial, attentive, and seemed to know my problems even before I said something! Keep up the good work!!!
Thank you.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

can't accept the inferior CD rates

Written on2/9/15
Customer avatar
RBZu
fromNorthern VA
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
i love usaa service normally, too, but these CD interest rates are not competitive. My credit union rates are better across the board, e.g., 2.02 percent vs 1.06 from usaa on a 5 year fixed rate cd.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Almost A Decade Of Unfair Rates

Written on2/3/15
Customer avatar
Sailor in Dunedin
fromDunedin, FL
Features 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
We are moving forty years worth of savings from USAA because the rates continue to be horribly low. Look at what USAA charges for loan rates and see what they pay for savings. A short shopping trip on the internet shows far better, but still anemic, rates at other financial institutions.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best customer service

Written on1/6/15
Customer avatar
such a girl
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
My experience at USAA today with Michele was amazing. Very personable and answered all of my questions.I am very happy with all of the services offered.
Thank you Michele!!!
Sincerly,
Deborah
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator1/16/15
USAA strives to be the best. We are glad to hear Michele was able to assist you.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

CD rates are not competitive

Written on1/5/15
Customer avatar
rick07
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have to agree completely with other reviews that your CD rates are terrible. Some local credit unions nearby have increased CD interest rates to 2% for 5 to 7 year CDs. Why would I purchase one from USAA for 1.11%?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator3/5/15
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback concerning CD rates. USAA strives to be the provider of choice and your feedback is important in achieving our goal. We value your long standing membership!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Love the product and service, but not the rates

Written on1/3/15
Customer avatar
Stephen C
fromBloomington IL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
As I found last year, I can more than double my CD interest rate by leaving USAA. This is unfortunate as I love USAA and would love to keep this money with them, but I'm not willing to pay thousands of dollars over a five year period for the privilege of loaning them my money.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Poor Rates

Written on11/23/14
Customer avatar
ERogan5877
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
The CD rates are horrible. I have two savings accounts that are paying nearly as much as the 60 month CD from USAA. I just got a 60 month CD for 60 months @ 2.4%. The other frustrating item, I open an assest management account. I put around 10k into it. I have a large account with a discount brokerage firm. I use margin often. Usaa charges nearly 8% while using markin, but pay you .10% when you have cash in your account. Basically usaa is taking your money while paying you 1/10th of a percent and charging other people 8%. Usaa how about you share the wealth. I pulled all the cash out of my assest management account and sent it elsewhere. Other banks pay decent intrest rates to anyone. The people who put their life on the line and a bank that is only for service members should get better rates than the average Joe on the street.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

CD Rates

Written on11/23/14
Customer avatar
fatherof5
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I typically try to use USAA products for all my banking, but the CD rates are horrible. I'd recommend to everyone to shop around before getting a CD at USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

CD LOW INTEREST

Written on11/2/14
Customer avatar
Geoj
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
USAA has always given me good service. However, their CD rates are only two/fifths of comparable products in the open market. Sixty percent (60%) is too high a premium to pay to buy USAA Bank CDs. Your directors may want to reevaluate this position as your current low rates are undoubtedly costing you a lot of business. I like your company. Please get competitive. Geo j
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Easy to start, terrible rates.

Written on10/25/14
Customer avatar
EndtheFed
fromVegas
Military Affiliation:Separated
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Rates are so bad, the product is useless. It is very easy to start a CD, so i gave points for website layout.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA make it easy!

Written on10/13/14
Customer avatar
LAF
I had worked for a bank in the past and found filtering my way through bank products to be so confusing. Since becoming a member of USAA we no longer have a "local" bank and have found all the products we need right at our finger tips.
~Thanks USAA for making our lives a little bit easier.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAMODERATOR10/19/14
We're happy that you're happy. We look forward to many years of providing you with excellent service!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

SERVICE AND FEATURES GREAT, RATES ARE NOT

Written on10/6/14
Customer avatar
TxJeep
fromSan Antonio, TX
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I've been a USAA member for many years and for all these years it has my "go to" financial institution. When I need a financial service I always check USAA first and, in most cases, wind up using USAA. However (and it's a BIG however), for the last several years their CD rates are not competitive. Rates matter.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

CD Rates

Written on9/24/14
Customer avatar
Vira G
fromLittle Rock, AR
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Great CSR's! CD rates are pretty good compare to local banks around the country. I read on one of these reviews, banks offer 2-5x better rates...what?... If this is true those banks must be desperate for some money, there obviously not doing so well that's why they want to pay you for locking your $$ with them. I would never trust a bank that's barely hanging in there. Good luck with trusting those banks!
I trust USAA with everything! If the CSR's where not as good as they are and if these random awesome discounts did not exist who knows I may have my business with another institution.
Current CD rates are pretty good here so I'd check them out because many banks I've researched offer less then 1% to lock your money for severrrraaalll years yes more than 7.
Good luck!
I recommend this product.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

CD rates and security are abysmal

Written on9/7/14
Customer avatar
Ctbl
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Although I was skeptical of joining USAA at 19, I did anyways because my parents who have been members for over 2 decades urged me to do so. Over the last few years since joining, my skepticisms have only been confirmed. CD rates are awful. Many banks are offering 2-5x better rates (depends on the term of the CD). For someone who is trying to pay off college debt, interest income is a big help. When the interest income of a 6-month CD is less than that of a savings account from another bank, it's time to jump ship. Over the years my parents have had many issues with customer service and plain stupid money management - what bank gives a person access to an account that doesn't have their name on it? I'm urging my family to use USAA for insurance only and to go elsewhere if interest rates and security are important to them. Just business.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator9/11/14
Thank you for your comment and your feedback. We have attempted to contact you but were unsuccessful.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

USAA is the best for FDIC - insured CD's

Written on9/2/14
Customer avatar
SportsFocusTV36
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
CD's with USAA Bank are FDIC insured so you can not lose you money no matter what.. I love USAA Bank CD's and being an awesome member..
Come and Discover what Great CD rates USAA Bank has
for you!!
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAMODERATOR9/4/14
Thank you so much for your comment regarding our CD's, we really appreciate your membership.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.