USAA Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for brand_bank_cds Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates

brand_bank_cds Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates

Overall rating:
3.805 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(801 reviews) 767
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 801 reviews
5 Stars
394
4 Stars
142
3 Stars
74
2 Stars
97
1 Star
94
581 out of 80173%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
94 Questions | 196 Answers
Customer reviews for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Review 1 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Wonderful service

Written on3/29/10
Customer avatar
fromOregon
I also write about CD renewal services, which I think could be improved. In my case, I bought several CD's last year with varying maturity dates. This particular one was a 1-year CD which I wish to make a 5-year CD. It would be nice to be able to change the term on line rather than having to call.
We have almost all our various banking and insurance services with USAA and have been with USAA for more than 30 years. I love to talk to friends about the many advantages and urge them to join, if eligible.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/6/10
We heard your feedback about selecting different terms for your existing CD and have made improvements to the CD account page. You’ll notice that when you are on the CD account page, there is a new option on the page that says “Set/Change Renewal options”. This will take you to a page that enables you to select what term you want your CD to renew to at maturity. This new functionality is great for all of you who are laddering your CDs. Give it a try.

+304points
414of 524voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent Service

Written on8/31/15
Customer avatar
fromWashington State
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
Automated Service
While Holding
Strongly recommend that you lose the music and play smooth jazz or classical
Music being used presently is very depressing
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Superb service

Written on8/30/15
Customer avatar
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been with USAA for 20+ years and have always received courteous, friendly help from every representative, no matter what product I was calling about, changes in service, auto insurance questions, etc. When I call, I know I'm speaking with someone who's native language is English or their English is perfect. My inquiries have always been handled with patience and respect. I never finished the call wondering what had just been said to me. I recommend USAA to eligible friends.
I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Customer Service

Written on8/25/15
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer service is a total disaster. Why can't a company like USAA have a least average customer service? The only way most of us can reach you is by phone (sometimes) and online ( do not always get a response). And when we do manage to communicate with USAA it becomes obvious that we are pestering people that have no desire to deal with an actual customer. I have read that employees of USAA hate their jobs and can't wait to leave USAA. That probably has something to do with their attitude towards their customers. Why do I continuing being member of USAA? Because I remember the absolutely outstanding service I got in the 1970's, 1980's and part of the 1990's. I just keep hoping that management will go back to what people want. And for me that is treat customers (members) with a little dignity and respect.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/26/15
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with our members. USAA aims to provide the best products and services to our members. Feedback such as yours helps to ensure we are meeting your needs. Your feedback was shared with a representative who will reach out to you to discuss this matter further.

Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

CD interest rates are almost half of what is avai

Written on8/22/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I have a million plus in cds at USAA. As they come up for renewal I search the national market for CD rates.
Your rates are only about half of what is available locally.
If your present policy remains in effect, over a million dollars in my CD.s will be going to other banks.
that's why for an over 50 year member I am never seen such less than poor service.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/24/15
Thank you for your feedback. USAA strives to provide the most competitive CD rates. We would like the opportunity to assist you in this matter. We are currently reviewing the situation and will be contacting you shortly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Archaic rules imposed by IRS (as claimed by USAA)

Written on8/17/15
Customer avatar
Military Affiliation:Active
Military Branch:Air Force
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
It would seem that USAA accounts are opened/registered in a person's name/SSN with the IRS (probably to prevent banking fraud). If, however, you want to change ownership of an account (a spouse, a child, etc), you are unable to do so. I have 2 CDs that are not yet ready to mature and must transfer those funds to my spouse, but when I attempted to remove my name from the account (we are joint account holders), I was told I was primary and cannot. Why? Because my SSN/name is on file with that account at the IRS. Really? That's the only reason? You can't send an updated registry? I realize the IRS is broken, but wasn't aware it was so broke that sending updated information is impossible. My only option - close the 2 CDs early and transfer the cash to my spouse's acounts (paying an early termination penalty of course). Completely unacceptable.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/17/15
We understand this matter is important to you. Rest assured, your review was shared with a representative who will reach out to you to discuss this matter further. USAA aims to provide the best products and services to our members. Feedback such as yours helps to ensure we are meeting your needs.

Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

CD Withdraw

Written on8/5/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
After two years i was told i would be able to withdraw from CD. Called today and was told i could not because i wanted to open a secure credit card with it. When i did this two years ago i was told i would be able to withdraw. now i am told i can not because i have to have a $0 balance. thanks USAA for not giving me all that info.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/5/15
Thank you for sharing your experience with our members. We realize this matter is important to you and one of our representatives will reach out to you to discuss further.

We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

CD's and customer service

Written on8/5/15
Customer avatar
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have been a USAA member for 56 years and very loyal. I have always had great customer service although now the wait times are too long in some areas When you expand to much and don't add enough personnel this is a risk to you usual outstanding service.
I have to agree with other comments regarding the CD interests rates which are so low that there isn't much incentive to have them. I wonder what your rational is for keeping them so low when it seems other secure places are paying higher rates.
I do realize that rates would shill be low but when you can't even get 1% interest on jumbo CD's it is very sad. I hope you can at least do something for long term loyal members.
Please don't over expand. One of the nice things about USAA has been the personalized service. It has begun to loose that touch in some areas.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/5/15
Thank you for your feedback and for your 56 years of membership. USAA strives to provide the most competitive CD rates. Rates are just one component of the many ways USAA shows value to its members. We offer a variety of Savings and Investment options that can serve various goals including earning more interest. Please visit our rate page or call (210) 531-8722 or (800) 531-8722 and speak to a USAA financial advisor for the options available.

Thank you for being a valued USAA member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Really Frustrated

Written on8/1/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Honestly the customer service of USAA has gone down the toilet. Once in a blue moon if I make it on the person I get will be ok/good. They used to be awesome. Also to do some things on here is a freaking struggle and a half. Like adding money onto my CD's. There's no instructions on how to do. There's also no real customer service support on this. Which gives the impression that you only want our money.
Here's the thing, why am I going to invest money into your other services if I can't get adequate assistance on here. Things like adding money to the CD aren't that easy. So why would I invest in something in more complication when you all don't have my six? The search option is subpar. And the automated service is annoying... beyond annoying. Active duty/vets and automated service/responses (yes I looked at the review responses) do not mix! I'm really thinking about looking into other investment areas.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator8/3/15
Thank you for sharing your experience with our members. USAA aims to provide the best products and services to our members. Feedback such as yours helps to ensure we are providing the best services to our members.

Rest assured, your feedback was shared with a representative who will reach out to you.

We look forward to your continued relationship with USAA.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

sub-standard rates. website and customer service

Written on7/18/15
Customer avatar
fromBirmingham, AL
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
I am a long term USAA member and have noticed a significant decline in products offered from a quality and competitivenss stand point as well as an even more marked decline in customer service. As a result I am taking more of my business elsewhere and recommend USAA consider what their competitors are doing to restore customer service and competitiveness. With regards to CDs specifically, the interest rates are well below those offered by other credit unions that provide service to current and former military members.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator7/20/15
Thank you for your feedback and for your over 25 years of membership. USAA strives to provide the most competitive products and services to our members. Rest assured, your feedback has been shared with the apporpriate area for consideration of future product and service enhancements.

Rates are just one component of the many ways USAA shows value to its members. We offer a variety of Savings and Investment options that can serve various goals including earning more interest. Please visit our rate page or call (210) 531-8722 or (800) 531-8722 and speak to a USAA financial advisor for the options available.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

CD rates are terrible

Written on6/29/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
USAA CD minimum rate is only .06 more than my credit union's savings account interest rate. The credit union pays more for CD amounts over $10,000 versus $95,000 for USAA.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/30/15
Thank you for your feedback and for your 40 years of membership. USAA strives to provide the most competitive CD rates. Rates are just one component of the many ways USAA shows value to its members. We offer a variety of Savings and Investment options that can serve various goals including earning more interest. Please visit our rate page or call (210) 531-8722 or (800) 531-8722 and speak to a USAA financial advisor for the options available.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

CD Rates not Competitive

Written on6/25/15
Customer avatar
fromWY
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
I like to do all of my banking with USAA as much as possible, but I recently sold a house and wanted to "park" the proceeds in a CD for a while. I quickly found that USAA's interest rates were a full 40% lower than I could find elsewhere. That's too significant to ignore; loyalty only goes so far.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/25/15
Thank you for your feedback and for your 18 years of membership. USAA strives to provide the most competitive IRA CD rates. Rates are just one component of the many ways USAA shows value to its members. We offer a variety of Savings and Investment options that can serve various goals including earning more interest. Please visit our rate page or call (210) 531-8722 or (800) 531-8722 and speak to a USAA financial advisor for the options available.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

CD Rates

Written on6/24/15
Customer avatar
fromHuntsville, AL
Features 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
First, let me say that USAA has been my "go to" for banking and insurance for about 40 years. There is not a finer institution in the country. I'll be with USAA until I join the Pine Box club. HOWEVER, I regrettably have to go elsewhere for CDs. I've always wondered why, since USAA is essentially an on-line bank, they can't compete with other highly rated on-line banks such as Ally or Synchrony. USAA rates aren't even in the ballpark; 50 to 75 % below Ally and Synchrony. I'd love to move all of my CD portfolio to USAA but I need competitive interest rates to do so.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/25/15
Thank you for your feedback and for your 40 years of membership. USAA strives to provide the most competitive CD rates. Rates are just one component of the many ways USAA shows value to its members. We offer a variety of Savings and Investment options that can serve various goals including earning more interest. Please visit our rate page or call (210) 531-8722 or (800) 531-8722 and speak to a USAA financial advisor for the options available.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

IRA CD Rates Need to Improve

Written on6/22/15
Customer avatar
fromNiceville, FL
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
I have a IRA CD with USAA because I've been a loyal USAA member since 1976 and it's familiarity and convenience are important factors for me. Why can't USAA compete better with CD rates as other institutions are rising above USAA about .5% APR in most cases? I like renewing on-line but it's giving me pause here.
I recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator6/24/15
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback on our certificate of deposit (CD) rates. USAA takes feedback from our members seriously. As such, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate area for consideration of future product and service enhancements.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Poor "updating" performance

Written on6/12/15
Customer avatar
fromTexas
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Renewed CD and added to principal amount. Nothing appeared on-line the day after. Called to ensure action had been taken.
Was told, "Yes." Was also told, "It takes from 3 to 7 days for the 'back-room' to post and update this requested action."
Member since 1961 ... and will continue. But, I am both surprised and disappointed.
Come on USAA .... you're better than this!
I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Poor rates, poor service, odd ethics.

Written on5/17/15
Customer avatar
fromDelaware County, PA
Military Affiliation:Separated
Military Branch:Navy
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
USAA was once an organization of the members, for the members. It seems that it is now of the employees, for the employees. No more "for the benefit of the member-owners".
A case in point is my recent review of this product, the USAA CD. I recently placed a review of the poor rates offered on USAA CD's and the substantially better rates offered by two different DOD financial institutions. This would certainly have been beneficial for my fellow member-owners at USAA. Alas, a paid rep at USAA called me while I was working and informed me the review had to be removed.
I would like to see USAA FSB, a wholly owned subsidiary of USAA, of which I am a part owner, offer CD rates similar to the largest credit union available to DOD officers and employees. I would also like to see it offer CD rates similar to most of the other higher yielding internet banks that are safe. Many of these rates are double the best USAA is willing to do for their owners. Leave this post up. Thanks.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

CD rates.

Written on5/9/15
Customer avatar
Hello. Before you respond with 'usaa strives to...' And 'cd rates are just one way usaa provides customers with...' Please answer the same question all the reviews posted before mine are asking which is 'why are usaa cd rates lower than just about every other bank'. Pls do not misunderstand me, I enjoy having usaa as my bank and do most everything with usaa. But these rates are embarrassing. Thanks.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/19/15
Thank you for your comment. USAA does strive to remain competitive; however, there will be times when other banks will have higher rates due to their financial situation. A Specialist will contact you within 24 hours discuss further if you would like. In addition, we will review prior responses to CD rate inquires and evaluate. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and for your feedback.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Moderator of this review site

Written on5/3/15
Customer avatar
Features 
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
The same "canned" response is given over and over in this list of reviews. It is a shame that a true response is not given. I read through the list back several years. Here's what we get in response to poor CD rates that USAA offers:
Thank you for your feedback. USAA strives to provide the most competitive CD rates. Rates are just one component of the many ways USAA shows value to its members. We offer a variety of CD options and other USAA products that can serve various goals including earning more interest. Please visit our rate page or call (800) 531-8722 and speak to a USAA financial advisor about all the Savings and Investment options available.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/18/15
Thank you for your feedback. We will review prior responses regarding CD rates and evaluate. USAA strives to remain competitive; however, other banks may have higher CD rates due to their financial situation.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

responses on reviews

Written on5/3/15
Customer avatar
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5
USAA, I am disappointed in your ability to reply to people's reviews, almost none of your responses are any help nor do they explain anything. All your responses are the same cut-and-paste segments."Thank you for your feedback. USAA strives to provide the most competitive CD rates. Rates are just one component of the many ways USAA shows value to its members. We offer a variety of CD options and other USAA products that can serve various goals including earning more interest. Please visit our rate page or call (210) 531-8722 or (800) 531-8722 and speak to a USAA financial advisor about all the Savings and Investment options available." This paragraph you use does not explain why your rates for CD's are NOT competitive to other banks. Bankrate.com shows the "Most competitive CD rates" and they are all way better than USAA. I would suggest looking into improving your CD rates and improving how you respond to peoples reviews.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator5/18/15
Thank you for speaking with us today. We really appreciate your feedback and we will review the responses you mentioned and evaluate. Thank you for your membership.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Certificates of Deposits: Bank CD Rates
Overall rating 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

CD Interest Rates

Written on4/24/15
Customer avatar
fromTacoma WA
Military Affiliation:Retired
Military Branch:Army
Features 
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5
Customer Service 
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5
Ally Bank just increased CD rates. Will USAA do the same?
Is anyone at USAA listening?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from USAABy USAAModerator4/29/15
Thank you for your feedback and 44 year membership. USAA strives to provide the most competitive CD rates. Rates are just one component of the many ways USAA shows value to its members. We offer a variety of CD options and other USAA products that can serve various goals including earning more interest. Please visit our rate page or call (210) 531-8722 or (800) 531-8722 and speak to a USAA financial advisor about all the Savings and Investment options available.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 39 Next Page>>